Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sarah Sze” as Want to Read:
Sarah Sze
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sarah Sze

4.47  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  4 reviews
Sarah Sze is an artist who uses humble materials to create strikingly original sculptures and astonishingly intricate site-specific installations. Her works, each of which she constructs by hand, transform everyday objects into gravity-defying works in horizontal and tower-like formations that zig-zag into the heights of the rooms that try to contain them. The pieces often ...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published July 1st 2007 by Harry N. Abrams (first published May 1st 2007)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sarah Sze, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sarah Sze

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
Average rating 4.47  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sarah Sze
John
Oct 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I've had the pleasure of seeing one of Sze's works live, namely the Chicago installation of "Proportioned to the Groove". I found it immediately captivating, and I think reading, but even more viewing, this book gives me an occasion to get into why.

Let's pretend that we don't see what is good about Sarah Sze's work and attempt to make the case. "It's a confusing pile of everyday bric-a-brack. Why can't we just have nice paintings?" What is aesthetic about it?

We know there are two easy categorie
...more
Jennifer hensel
Apr 17, 2008 rated it really liked it
great artist... uses found everyday objects to create mini worlds/instillation/a sort of object painting. This book has a great essay by Danto that addresses Sze's work within the concerns of poetry and meaning.... followed with many great images of the artist's work.
Keith F
Aug 17, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Totally incredible art installations. Piles of beautiful shit. A 3-D version of Julie Mehretu's type of work, which I really like.
Ashlyn Lee
Nov 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Wonderful analyzations by Arthur Danto and Linda Norden. Photographs are beautifully produced.
Tavia
rated it it was amazing
Jun 23, 2009
Weston
rated it really liked it
May 25, 2008
Lainie Love
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2008
Lorah LS
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2007
Cameron
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2011
Serge
rated it it was amazing
Apr 28, 2008
Andi
rated it liked it
Jul 04, 2011
Rita
rated it really liked it
Jun 11, 2012
Laura
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2018
Lindsay Reynolds
rated it it was amazing
Dec 28, 2015
Leslie
rated it it was amazing
Aug 08, 2011
Terence
rated it liked it
Apr 18, 2012
Chev
rated it it was amazing
Sep 06, 2013
Matt
rated it it was amazing
Jan 13, 2020
Dooeol
rated it really liked it
Sep 17, 2012
Brian
rated it it was amazing
Sep 15, 2009
Ashley
rated it really liked it
Mar 18, 2012
Jenny
rated it really liked it
Jan 28, 2008
Caryn
rated it liked it
Feb 22, 2020
Sean P.
rated it it was amazing
Dec 19, 2008
Joshua
rated it it was amazing
Oct 05, 2008
Melissa Earley
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2012
Marius
rated it it was amazing
Aug 27, 2008
Kristine
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2012
Sean Stevens
rated it liked it
Mar 14, 2011
Nicholas
marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2008
Gwyndolyn
rated it really liked it
Jun 18, 2009
Jon
added it
Jan 03, 2011
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
23 likes · 20 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »