Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Antonio e Cleopatra” as Want to Read:
Antonio e Cleopatra
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Antonio e Cleopatra

by
3.69  ·  Rating details ·  27,963 ratings  ·  1,091 reviews
"No, ti prego, non cercare pretesti per andartene, ma dimmi addio e vattene; quando per rimanere supplicavi, allora era tempo di parlare; niente partenze, allora; avevamo l'eternità negli occhi e sulle labbra, beatitudine nell'arco delle ciglia; nessuna parte di noi tanto misera che non fosse d'origine divina."
Paperback, 262 pages
Published 2002 by Garzanti (first published 1606)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Antonio e Cleopatra, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Antonio e Cleopatra

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.69  · 
Rating details
 ·  27,963 ratings  ·  1,091 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Bill  Kerwin

This play is so good, it is not merely a masterpiece: it is a mystery. The two protagonists are alternately noble and petty, wise and foolish, and yet they never seem inconsistent or self-contradictory because Shakespeare--here is the mystery--consistently maintains a tone that is paradoxically both ironic and heroic. Part of it is the language, which shifts seamlessly from mellifluous monologues adorned with cosmic imagery (comparing Anthony and Cleopatra to continents, stars,etc.) to the most
...more
Henry Avila
Sep 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Mark Antony the Roman general , right- hand man of the great Caesar, a shadow to be sure of the most famous ruler of Rome and his unsurpassed conquests in the history of the Empire , yet he Antony , had ability just not enough to overcome his weaknesses. Excessive drinking and chasing beautiful women and ignoring his duty, a bit coarse in truth. The fatal meeting with Queen Cleopatra v11, Greek in blood little of it Egyptian in what is now modern Turkey, she dazzled him floating down a river, th ...more
Dolors
Apr 22, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Seekers of sagacity and good literature
Recommended to Dolors by: John Willliams
Shakespeare does it again.
He mingles the historical with the imaginary, the public with the private, the tragedy with the theatrical to infuse life into one the most popular couples in ancient Rome; the star-crossed lovers Anthony and Cleopatra. Love and war were never more indistinguishably fused.
The fact that the Bard brings forth his masterful descriptive skills almost avoiding the use of the soliloquy, his trump car and most employed device to create poignant psychological portraits, makes t
...more
Ahmad Sharabiani
Antony and Cleopatra, William Shakespeare
Antony and Cleopatra is a tragedy by William Shakespeare. The play was performed first circa 1607 at the Blackfriars Theatre or the Globe Theatre by the King's Men. Its first appearance in print was in the Folio of 1623. The plot is based on Thomas North's translation of Plutarch's Lives and follows the relationship between Cleopatra and Mark Antony from the time of the Sicilian revolt to Cleopatra's suicide during the Final War of the Roman Republic. Th
...more
James
Book Review
4 out of 5 stars to Antony and Cleopatra, a play published in 1606 by William Shakespeare.This is one of my favorite Shakespearean plays, partially for some of the reality on which it is based. Some know the full story, others know bits and pieces. Cleopatra, famous in her own right, is the Queen of Egypt. Caeser is conquering the world. Antony rules Rome for a while. The love affair between these three, plus a former wife and the sister, Octavia, create such a beautiful and tragi
...more
Barry Pierce
Mark Antony is a real pain in the asp.
Bradley
I wish you all the joys of the worm.

You know, for the longest time, I had placed this of all of Shakespeare's plays among the highest in my estimation, for where else could I have so many references to melting or even have an early punk band write a song about it? (Melt, Siouxsie and the Banshees)

Indeed, Let Rome in Tiber melt! I really enjoyed the triumvirate of powers, the play on politics and the whole chaos of such an equal footing between Ceasar, Antony, and Cleopatra. Can we blame the woma
...more
Darwin8u
Nov 19, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017, shakespeare, drama
“Give me my robe, put on my crown; I have Immortal longings in me”
― William Shakespeare, Antony and Cleopatra

description

A great Shakespeare play, but one (for me) that is still overpowered by Shakespeare's earlier tragedies. The story is based on Plutarch's Lives (North's translation). The weight and strength of this play is, obviously, going to center on Cleopatra and Antony. They are fascinating as a couple (literary and political binaries) and Cleopatra is amazingly, spectacularly, flushed-out by Shake
...more
Loretta
Shakespeare at his best...😊.
Joudy
Jul 08, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The dotage of our general's
Overflows the measure: those his goodly eyes
That o'er the files and musters of the war
Have glowed like plated Mars, now bend, now turn
the office and devotion of their view
Upon a tawny front. His captain's heart,
Which in the scuffles of great fights hath burst
And is become the bellows and the fan
To cool a gipsy's lust.


Shakespeare used Plutarch's Parallel of the Greeks and Romans as a source for his play,the play is the thing wherein to catch the conscience of the king
...more
MJD
Jul 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Antony and Cleopatra were interesting characters. It was a fun read.
Carlo
Jul 25, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: shakespeare
I read this directly following on from Julius Caesar, expecting more of the same. Imho however the play isn't in the same class. It's lack a certain "omph" and urgency. Even the chemistry between the two protagonists only really gets going, ironically, towards the end.
David
Jul 10, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: poetry
What does it say about me that I find myself so much in Shakespeare's Antony and Cleopatra? More-so even than in Hamlet. In Cleopatra I see my many shortcomings in love: my possessiveness, my jealousies, my need for attention and affection, and most of all the need to have love proven again and again; and ultimately these are the foibles which bring about my own destruction in love. Like Cleopatra, I think I know my advantages, what angles I look best, where best to drive conversation, what acti ...more
Jonfaith
Jun 28, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Age cannot wither her, nor custom stale her infinite variety.

This sprawling play is excessively vast and devotes far too little to Daenerys, I mean Cleopatra. Political melodrama with more twists and setbacks than S7 of GoT. The saving grace of the play is the incandescent poetry which sparkles all the more by its scarcity amongst so many martial hymns.
David Sarkies
May 19, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: those who like Shakespeare
Recommended to David by: My English Teacher
Shelves: tragedy
The Final Saga of the Roman Republic
19 May 2012

This is truly a play of epic proportions, taking place in areas from the centre of Rome to her periphery, such as Egypt and the borders of Parthia. It is one of Shakespeare's later works, and the skill in which he brings so much together onto the stage simply goes to show how skillful he was at producing drama. Now, some scholars like to argue that Shakespeare could not have been responsible for so many plays of such high quality, however I persona
...more
Roy Lotz
LEPIDUS: What manner o’ thing is your crocodile?

ANTONY: It is shaped, sir, like itself, and is as broad as it hath breadth. It is just so high as it is, and moves with its own organs. It lives by that which nourisheth it, and, the elements once out of it, it transmigrates.

LEPIDUS: What color is it?

ANTONY: Of its own color too.

This is Shakespeare’s most exiting play. The many and rapid changes of scene function like the shaky, shifting camera angles in a Jason Bourne movie: both accelerating t
...more
Rowland Pasaribu
Jun 04, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Scholars believe that Shakespeare wrote Antony and Cleopatra in 1606, immediately after Macbeth, and it is one of the last great tragedies that Shakespeare produced. The most geographically sweeping of Shakespeare’s plays, Antony and Cleopatra’s setting is the entire Roman Empire, its backdrop the well-documented history of Octavius Caesar, Marc Antony, and Cleopatra. Shakespeare’s primary source for Antony and Cleopatra was the Life of Marcus Antonius contained in Plutarch’s Lives of the Noble ...more
Marnie
Apr 10, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ah, Shakespeare. How many times will I return to a review of your work, only to realise I have rated it unfairly?
R.J. Askew
Apr 03, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A WONDERFUL PIECE OF WORK


Love. Power. Love. Power. Which is the eye drawn to? It’s said women love powerful men. So does love follow power? Wealth seems to. Are powerful men happier than all the rest? And powerful women? It’s said that men are terrified of them. And if the lover loves the power more than its holder? Can love conquor power? And if it does? What of power then? Can a powerful man surrender to love and remain powerful? Behind every powerful man… Power. Love. Power. Love. Antony. C
...more
Kay Fair
Sep 25, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Their celebrity couple name would be... AntoPatra.

And essentially, that is what Antony and Cleopatra are: a celebrity couple. And just like the crazy jump-on-the-couch love of TomKat, their affection is subject to deep suspicion and speculation by the public. The romance of AntoPatra is often compared with that of Romeo and Juliet in regard to both passion and poetry. However, the circumstance of celebrity makes Antony and Cleopatra vastly, sadly different from the star-crossed young lovers of V
...more
Cindy Rollins
Shakespeare's longest play and it shows. He seems to get caught up in the history in the early acts. The history happens to be very confusing and we do not come to it with a lot of background. We have to scramble around figuring out that there are two Caesars mentioned-Octavius or Augustus and Julius Caesar the father of Cleopatra's children. To add to the confusion there is Octavia, Augustus's sister who marries Mark Antony after his first wife dies.
Add in the fact that it is hard to figure ou
...more
Rhiannon Johnson
Dec 22, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The character Cleopatra, in William Shakespeare's “Antony and Cleopatra,” possesses a multitude of contradictions. Through constant clashes in speech and action, Shakespeare constructs a complex female character. Critic Anna Jameson refers to Cleopatra as “a brilliant antithesis—a compound of contradictions” (Quint 244). Jameson recognizes Shakespeare's “deep meaning and wonderous [sic] skill in the apparent enigma” of Cleopatra (244). Shakespeare remediates the stories of Plutarch and Genesis t ...more
Jenny
May 16, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not what I expected at all. A Midsummer Night's Dream is much more exotic than this classic love story between a Roman man and an Egyptian woman. The play should really be called Antony and Caesar because it's more about their relationship than it is about Antony and Cleopatra's. The introduction in my edition notes that there are many flaws in this play and that it's too long. I agree. This doesn't have Shakespeare's usual humor or eloquence, and there are many short short scenes that could hav ...more
Trin
A horny idiot play, and not even a horny idiot play with as many memorable, great lines as Romeo and Juliet. (Also, these fools are adults! GET IT TOGETHER.)

Never and still not my favorite, but I'm about to see it live, so maybe that will improve my opinion of it.
Liz Janet
Feb 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favourites
Antony cannot keep his penis in his pants, and ends up dead. Cleopatra is a cunning Slyhterin, I like her.
Wealhtheow
Jun 28, 2007 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cleopatra: the fiercest, most fabulous queen in Shakespeare.
Marc Antony: can't even commit suicide right.
Mounir
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Mia (Parentheses Enthusiast)
This one’s a bummer on every level. Which, for a tragedy, I suppose is a good thing?

I do think Antony & Cleopatra is a very unwieldy play, though. There are so many characters, many of whom wind up changing sides or just disappearing altogether. Having several short scenes one after the other, each taking place in a different location and with a different set of characters, is head-spinning, and not in a good way. The plot seems to race ahead before Shakespeare has even had time to pin it do
...more
leynes
Apr 19, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Antony and Cleopatra

Summary

Antony and Cleopatra is a tragedy by William Shakespeare. The play was performed first circa 1607 at the Blackfriars Theatre or the Globe Theatre by the King's Men. The plot is based on Thomas North's translation of Plutarch's Lives and follows the relationship between Cleopatra and Mark Antony from the time of the Sicilian revolt to Cleopatra's suicide during the Final War of the Roman Republic.

The major antagonist is Octavius Caesar, one of Antony's fellow triumvirs
...more
Matt

Fantastic...

Cleopatra is every bit the grand, Olympian but human character on par with Lear, Othello, Richard III, and the melancholy Dane...

I want to write more about this play (with quotes! with quotes!) but I'm lacking in time at the moment...

...Still lacking the time and inclination to hold forth in grand style on this one.

But I can't resist pointing out that the adaptation the commentary praises the most is the one directed by Trevor Nunn, which was filmed in 1972 or something and is av
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Audio Book Cover for Anthony and Cleopatra 4 18 Apr 08, 2018 07:36PM  
Around the Year i...: Antony and Cleopatra, by William Shakespeare 7 24 Jul 21, 2016 12:02PM  
Beyond The Hollow...: Discussion Question #3 3 7 Jun 28, 2016 08:50PM  
Beyond The Hollow...: Discussion Question #2 2 6 Jun 28, 2016 06:58PM  
Beyond The Hollow...: Discussion Question #1 2 8 Jun 28, 2016 06:57PM  
Beyond The Hollow...: June/July 2016 1 6 May 26, 2016 11:47AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Maid's Tragedy
  • Edward II
  • The Duchess of Malfi and Other Plays
  • The Lady from the Sea
  • Alcestis
  • The Alchemist
  • 'Tis Pity She's a Whore and Other Plays
  • Caesar and Cleopatra
  • All for Love
  • Playing Shakespeare: An Actor's Guide
  • The Revenger's Tragedy
  • Plays 5: Arcadia / The Real Thing / Night and Day / Indian Ink / Hapgood
  • The Cid / Cinna / The Theatrical Illusion
  • Samson Agonistes
See similar books…
34,068 followers
William Shakespeare (baptised 26 April 1564) was an English poet and playwright, widely regarded as the greatest writer in the English language and the world's pre-eminent dramatist. He is often called England's national poet and the "Bard of Avon" (or simply "The Bard"). His surviving works consist of 38 plays, 154 sonnets, two long narrative poems, and several other poems. His plays have been tr ...more
“The breaking of so great a thing should make
A greater crack: the round world
Should have shook lions into civil streets,
And citizens to their dens.”
1098 likes
“In time we hate that which we often fear.” 799 likes
More quotes…