Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Door to Lost Pages” as Want to Read:
The Door to Lost Pages
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read eBook

The Door to Lost Pages

by
3.37  ·  Rating details ·  291 ratings  ·  84 reviews
Step through the door to Lost Pages and escape a life you never wanted...

On her tenth birthday, Aydee runs away from home and from her neglectful parents. At first, surviving alone on the streets is harsh, but a series of frightening, bewildering encounters with strange primordial creatures leads her to a bookshop called Lost Pages, where she steps into a fantastic,
...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published May 3rd 2011 by Chizine Publications (first published January 1st 2011)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Door to Lost Pages, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Lysa Yeah not quite sure, it seemed like it was a mirror of herself looking at herself in some delusion?

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.37  · 
Rating details
 ·  291 ratings  ·  84 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Door to Lost Pages
Mike
May 04, 2011 rated it really liked it
Claude Lalumiere's The Door to Lost Pages is a short novella of interwoven stories patched together to form a fascinating and enthralling pastiche that orbits in and around a bookshop known as Lost Pages. It offers brief snippets of the worlds and mythologies housed in the mysterious bookshop and gives readers a tiny taste of the lives and souls of the people who have encountered its book lined, dog filled interior. The novella doesn't really offer a standard plot structure, though there is an ...more
Trista Siegel
Oct 18, 2011 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley
I have to say I was disappointed. On NetGalley it said that it was 200 pages in paperback but my e-reader said 95. Did I get the entire story or part of it? Because to me it felt like this was unfinished. There was no time to connect with characters or even understand. Whatever this author was trying to get at he didn't get there. The writing wasn't that great either. The beginning grabbed me and had my attention but the farther I got into the story the worse it got. Especially the last chapter. ...more
Andrew
May 17, 2011 rated it really liked it
Lost Pages wasn’t the only bookshop I frequented, but the books I found on its shelves were… unique. I never saw any of these books anywhere else. Bizarre Bestiaries. Dictionaries of dead, obscure languages. Maps to lands that may never have been. Essays on religions with unfamiliar names. Obscure mythologies. Accounts of wars no history teacher had ever mentioned. Such were the wares of the bookshop that fed my teenage dreams.


***


Claude Lalumiere’s The Door to Lost Pages is a strange
...more
Donald Armfield
First off I want to thank the publisher ChiZine Publications for letting me read this over at Netgalley.
Yamesh-Lot is the dark God. Ruler of dreams. The Lost Pages the bookstore.
The story evolves around a bookstore called "Lost Pages" What dreams are nightmares. Lucas the book store owner sees hallucinations just like Aydee who comes from a drug addiction home. Mother & father showed no love for her. She finds her way to an alley way. Other characters come along with the same visions of
...more
Jason
Apr 28, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: e-books, read-2013
4 Stars

I enjoyed this novella more than I thought I would. It is a book of stories linked through an old book shop, The Lost Pages. The themes in each of the stories is quite apparent even though none of them have any real plot or much world building or character development. They are however filled with magical prose and imagery. They are what dreams and nightmares may be. This whole novel is reminiscent of a Catherine Valente novel, almost like an adult fairy tale. It is also probably the
...more
Dreadlocksmile
Feb 15, 2011 rated it really liked it
First published in April 2011, Claude Lalumière’s novella ‘The Door To Lost Pages’ was constructed and complied from a sprinkling of previously published segments, which once woven together, became the lucid and mesmerising offering of surreal and highly imaginative fiction that is this dreamlike tapestry of interconnecting stories.

DLS Synopsis:

After tolerating her drug addicted parents for ten the first ten years of her life, Aydee finally decides to run away from home. The cold concrete of the
...more
Michelle (In Libris Veritas)
In truth I barely know where to start with this review so bare with me.

The Door to Lost Pages is a series of short stories that all revolve around the bookstore Lost Pages and the dark god Yamish Lot. These have apparently been published separately before and are now in one novel. I found this is to be a really cool idea and was really looking forward to seeing what fantastical world Lalumiere had created. They are surprisingly complex short stories and from the description of the novel I wasn't
...more
Chris Gloom
May 18, 2015 rated it liked it
The world building in the beginning of this book is insufferable and the prose is narcissistic to the point of being ridiculous but there are good moments in here and the further in you go the more rewarding the experience. The silly and long-winded art prose gets in the way of the interesting ideas and locales here. Many of the character's motivations seem abstract or nonsensical, it's hardest to empathize with the misanthropes among them and their unrealistically scathing hatred for the world ...more
Heidi | Paper Safari Book Blog
Very strange and hard to follow I'm not sure I can say I actually liked this book. It is a series of short stories that all seemed to blend together. This was quite disappointing since the first few stories were actually quite good and related to the quirky bookstore Lost Pages which I was much more interested in than some of the other stories. Not all of the stories were horrible though but the later ones do come with a caution since many of them were very sexual and erotic but not over the ...more
Chloe Hallam
Aug 26, 2014 rated it it was ok
Wanting to explore lesser known fantasy authors, I found this book at my local library. The blurb intrigued me enough to think it might be worth investing a small fraction of my -currently very available- time into. I decided to search it on goodreads and the first thing that caught my eye was the list "books that no one should read" ha. trying not to be too put off by that I borrowed it anyway.
I managed to go through it in one sitting. but only just managed to finish. Lalumiere (what a nice
...more
Tom Loock
Mar 22, 2012 rated it did not like it
Strange book. The Door to Lost Pages is a handful of previously published stories (one of which I recognized because I had read it in Interzone). Based on that story I would have never bought this one, but it was a unexpected gift. Since it is just a very small booklet, it was an extremely quick read despite 200+ pages and I finished it against my better judgement and inner resentment a quarter of the way into it. As a mass market paperback with small print this would come in under 30 pages.
What
...more
Dionisia
Me: Reading about hard cocks and hot sex (and sometimes nightmarish sex).
Thinking: But what about the books?!? When do I get to go back to that awesomely mysterious shop crammed with dogs and old books about older gods and unknown worlds??

Erotica is totally lost on me.
Amit
Nov 28, 2017 rated it did not like it
Oh please! This book gave me nightmare (not really). But seriously?...

The worst book I have ever read in my life. No! I have no desire to write a long review about this. It disgusted my choice. At first it was quite good or say promissing but then it seems as if the story now truly lost in itself. Didn't get the Continuance of the story at all. & those dialouge engaged with erotic content make me sick to my mind...

1 out of 5...
Isidore
Feb 11, 2019 rated it it was ok
Almost as much erotica as dark fantasy. Along with some clichéd plotting there are good ideas which get lost or undeveloped in this short, ramshackle novel, assembled out of previously published stories. Quite a disappointment after the unfettered imaginativeness of Objects of Desire, but fluently written and never dull.
Hannele Kormano
Feb 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
A series of interrelated short stories, centered on a bookshop of peculiarly rare books, featuring magical realism similar to Neil Gaiman or Charles de Lint.

A feeling creeps upon you while reading, as if you yourself would run into Lost Pages next time you turn a corner.
Chelsea
DNF.

I was so engaged with the beginning, the intertwining plots... and then somewhere near the middle I just had to put it down. I was skipping huge chunks, I had no interest in the plot or characters, there was no grounding... a pity, as it might have been an interesting story.
Caitlin
Mar 15, 2019 rated it did not like it
This was the weirdest book I’ve ever read. Almost couldn’t even finish it, had to force the ending, just horrible.
David H.
Sep 08, 2019 marked it as abandoned
Why I didn't finish this: I just couldn't get into this.
Jessie B.
Surreal but riveting
Amy Jenkins
Dec 30, 2019 rated it liked it
Very interesting and bizarre book.
Katie
Aug 28, 2019 marked it as not-going-to-finish
A very misleading book synopsis. It suddenly became porn.
Rebecca Schwarz
Jun 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Will be leading a book discussion about this one at Malvern Books, Austin TX on 7/12/17. Will post a review after that date.
Brian Gaston
Jul 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy
A good read with interesting characters, lore and plot.
Ashley Marie
Apr 11, 2018 rated it did not like it
I don’t even know
Karissa
Oct 04, 2011 rated it liked it
I got an ebook of this book through NetGalley(dot)com. This was an interesting collection of short stories all based around a bookstore called Lost Pages. The stories are some-what ambiguous and quite varied as far as their content goes. They were an okay read, but the writing style wasn't spectacular and the stories were all a bit vauge.

The book starts with a intro that's nothing special. It's followed by a prologue and six additional stories all featuring a girl named Aydee and a bookstore
...more
Cathy Green
Aug 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
The Door To Lost Pages opens with a battle between the Elder Gods that features a betrayal that allows nightmares into our dreaming. In our reality, the action starts when ten-year-old Aydee runs away from her neglectful addict parents and is eventually directed by a lioness to the mysterious Lost Pages bookstore, where she grows up and learns to serve the store and help those who are trying to prevent eldritch horrors from encroaching on our world.

Claude Lalumière's book is a series of
...more
Sophie
The Door to Lost pages is a collection of connected short stories, all written with a mix of the weird, sci-fi, bizarre, horror and fantasy genres. There are a handful of experiments with meta-fiction as well. Many of the stories left me with a kind of sharp heartache, a bittersweet hope that the fanciful dreamy parts of the novel are real and that the indications of a grim reality are the only fiction the author intended.

The book pulled me in easily. The prose is very simple and kind of
...more
Joanna Paula Cailas
I'll never look at a rooster the same way again. :D Green, blue and brown.

Ignore that. There are no pastoral scenes here, and no mentions of roosters at all. There's magic, all sorts, and self-discovery, all sorts. No shortage of gasp-inducing scenes and sentences. I love the lioness! Rawr! I cheered when she swiped at that couple (and then shuddered when she did more than swipe). There's this girl. One moment, she's a starving and abused little waif. The next, she's a ward of the lioness
...more
Laura
I was drawn to The Door to Lost Pages because among other things it sounded like a wonderful bookstore, one you'd like to find on a little side street and explore. The chapters in the book are really more short stories that are loosely strung together with Aydee and the store as common elements.

Bestial Acts introduces Aydee as a 10 year old leaving home and encountering supernatural beings that in turn give her comfort and lead her to the store. The other chapters have different main focuses,
...more
Meg
Sep 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy
It's not very often that I give a 5 star rating. Even if I think that the book was great, written well and kept me reading the whole night it'll probably still get a 4 stars from me. For a book to get a 5 stars from me, it has to touch me, it has to be something I'll read over and over, it's something that I'll want to convert world for. The Door to Lost Pages is one of those books for me.
Now let me add a word of warning here. This little read isn't for everyone and it has its problems but I
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Witch & Wizard (Witch & Wizard, #1)
  • The Gift (Witch & Wizard, #2)
  • World Made by Hand (World Made by Hand #1)
  • The Fire (Witch & Wizard, #3)
  • The End of the Alphabet
  • The Secret Sharer
  • Kings of Colorado
  • In Our Time
  • A Child's Alaska
  • Code Talker: A Novel About the Navajo Marines of World War Two
  • No! I Don't Want to Join a Book Club: Diary of a Sixtieth Year
  • The Living Dead (The Living Dead, #1)
  • The Summer Without Men
  • The Unnamed
  • Castaway Survivor's Guide
  • Edible Wild Plants: A North American Field Guide
  • Yuck!: A Big Book Of Little Horrors
  • America's Hidden History: Untold Tales of the First Pilgrims, Fighting Women, and Forgotten Founders Who Shaped a Nation
See similar books…
43 followers
Claude Lalumière is the author of the story collections Objects of Worship , Nocturnes and Other Nocturnes , and Altre persone / Other Persons and of the mosaic works The Door to Lost Pages and Venera Dreams: A Weird Entertainment . He has edited fourteen anthologies, including two Aurora Award—nominated volumes in the Tesseracts series. His first fiction – “Bestial Acts” – ...more