Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bikini” as Want to Read:
Bikini
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bikini

by
3.65  ·  Rating details ·  22,931 ratings  ·  1,812 reviews
Un servizio di moda nello splendido scenario hawaiano si trasforma in un incubo quando una delle modelle, la bellissima e giovanissima Kim, sparisce misteriosamente e viene ritrovata morta dopo qualche giorno. È solo il primo omicidio, perché al killer non basta: Henri Benoit, infatti, uccide per piacere e per lavoro, visto che vende in esclusiva i filmati dei suoi delitti ...more
Hardcover, La gaja scienza Longanesi #924, 306 pages
Published June 4th 2009 by Longanesi
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bikini, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Amy I agree with you David. I am halfway through the audio and it is god-awful. If the graphic raping and killing of women isn't enough, the women being…moreI agree with you David. I am halfway through the audio and it is god-awful. If the graphic raping and killing of women isn't enough, the women being doormats is even worse. ("What are you doing with that big butcher knife?") Is this the same guy who writes the Women's Murder Club with four strong heroines? All these women are coddled and protected by men. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.65  · 
Rating details
 ·  22,931 ratings  ·  1,812 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bikini
Barbara
Nov 04, 2013 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition

The premise of this story is that Ben Hawkins, former cop and current novelist, is being forced by a sociopathic serial killer to write a book about the killer's life and crimes. The killer's modus operandi is to videotape the sexual abuse, torture, and murder of his victims so that a group of sick voyeurs can watch, enjoy, and pay. Thus the killer profits (literally) from his crimes.



The book starts out with the torture/murder of a beautiful swimsuit model but the killer's victims are quite
...more
Michael
Aug 17, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
No spoilers. :)

Swimsuit is the latest book James Patterson has written. I wish I could say that I've read all of his books like many other faithful reviewers, but truthfully, I've only read about ten. But from my experience with Patterson and his slew of coauthors, I know that his books tend to grab on to you from the beginning, lead you through a suspenseful and twisty storyline, and let you off safely at the end. They aren't very thought-provoking or seen as classics, but they are fun reads,
...more
Suzanne
Jun 23, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5*

Pretty decent book. Quick and entertaining enough for an afternoon read. The plot was actually intriguing and disturbing so the pages flew by. I liked the Hawaii theme. The tell all book aspect actually picked up on the pace of the story.

My quick and simple overall: quick and entertaining.
Manfred Leong
Sep 12, 2012 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
First off, what can you expect from a writer who churns out books faster than any artist or singer? badly written ones. Swimsuit is no exception. Frankly, if i can give negative stars I would.

Characters lack depth. Plot lacks twists. Storytelling lack excitment. Structure of the whole story is imbalanced. Climax is no where to be found. Ending was rushed. Makes you feel that the author just stopped caring and just want to end it so he can make his money.And worse of all, you won't know who is
...more
John
Good enough that I was able to finish it, but bad enough that I had to get myself half drunk in order to do so. SWIMSUIT is a typical Patterson novel. It's somewhat less predictable than I expected, but the storyline is a whole lot clunkier. SWIMSUIT is a novel that seems to reinvent itself every fifty pages. Just when you think you've gotten the hang of it, it switches gears and becomes something different: It's torture porn! Oh wait, it's a daughter-in-peril kidnap story! No, it's private ...more
Shawnasea
I HATE James Patterson. I only picked this book up because I felt the need to look at one more piece of evidence before I wrote him off indefinitely. It took less than 100 pages for me to stand by my original impression.

Here is an example of WHY I hate James Patterson: "He looked like the actor from the latest James Bond movie, Daniel Craig"

And another, albeit this one is paraphrased: "They slept heel to heel in their Sleep Number bed."

And that's just the way he writes. It's like freakin'
...more
Michael Shore
Jul 06, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
The fact that it took me so long to read a Patterson book was the first clue.

Swimsuit really has nothing to do with this book. And this book has nothing to do with anything it tries to do. It wants to be something, and it almost starts to become something, but then it drags, and it ends suddenly and who gives a dang at the end? Not ME.

Words, words, words, and more words. Promises of a book that never showed up. Enough with the dual authors Jimbo. Time to write your books by yourself and make a
...more
Heather
May 19, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: everyone
WOW! I know I say this about alot of James Patterson books but this one takes the cake for sure. I had my nose in the book for hours. I got the book out from the library and I had 7 days to read it. I read it in 5 days. It was outstanding. The book just kept you on your seat. You could visualize everything going on. I don't want to wreck anything for you by reading my review but this is a must read. I thought the ending was perfect and that the book was complete. Extremely well written. I would ...more
Joe Wisniewski
I generally like pretty much anything I read. It is hard to tell how much of this book was really Patterson and how much was Paetro.

So, the general underlying theme of this whodunit is pretty gruesome ... which was actually not a huge turnoff. However, the plot development just seemed to lose steam. Almost like the authors ran out of time and couldn't pull it all together in any way that was, at best, anti-climactic. It kind of reminded me of the ending of the movie remake of "War of the
...more
Wayne Wilson
Nov 02, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
If I could give this book negatives stars I would. This is the worst book I have ever finished. The violent pornographic killing of a young woman left me sick to my stomach and left an image in my mind I wish terribly was not stuck. I should have put the book down (stopped listening) right then but I felt compelled to bring the evil doer to justice.

Do not read or listen to this book. Although I have never seen any of the movies it is probably a Saw like vehicle to shock and awe the reader. I was
...more
Kirsty
Jul 03, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book. Patterson's pairings with other authors so far have been ok, but not up to the standard of his two series of books - Alex Cross and Womens Murder Club. This one though, was definitely up there with the best of them.

Kim McDaniels, a swimsuit model, disappears on a shoot in Hawaii and when the police have no leads her parents fly out to try to find their daughter themselves. On arrival they meet Ben, a crime reporter and part time novelist, who has flown in from LA. Ben then
...more
SUSAN   *Nevertheless,she persisted*
Since I felt that the chance of this book improving was slim to none,I cried "Uncle" at 46%.
This was dull read for me. There was no suspense,the characters were lackluster,the writing was....meh.
How can you have a psychological thriller with such a boring evildoer?? I read psychological thrillers to get the Dr.Lector experience. A well conceived villain should rattle you,they should be frightening, make you ill at ease.
I know this will sound creepy but he lacked finesse,he lacked that element
...more
Ruth Turner

Audiobook - Narrated by Christian Rummell - Reasonably good narration.

For the most part I enjoyed listening to Christian Rummell. It's the first audio of his that I've listened too, and apart from the fact that he was overly dramatic at times, he did a good job.

***

The story itself wasn't so bad that I couldn't finish it, but it wasn't good either.

The chapters were very short.
It lacked suspense.
The characters were bland.
The ending was weak.

I've been struggling with Patterson a lot lately and I'm
...more
Clark Chamberlain
Apr 19, 2011 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I couldn't stand this book. I'm so surprised that I finished it. It was confusing and not that the story line was difficult but I could never suspend belief long enough to buy into the story. How the story was constructed also turned me off. Characters will quickly introduced and killed off at such a high rate I had no idea who I was even supposed to care about. Then the ending came and that got screwed up too. I felt like his editor must have called and said "We need the manuscript now" and he ...more
Angie
Aug 29, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2009
Usually I will devour a Patterson book in less than a day. This one took me two days to trudge through. It felt like the book started as one story and then ended as another.

And speaking of ending...what a great disappointment. It seemed that the brakes were suddenly applied and the reader was told to get out. Perhaps there is a sequel in the future that will do more to explain things or to pick up where this lack-of-an-ending left off. Not sure I'm interested enough to read it, though.
Magpie67
Swimsuit by James Patterson and MaxinePaetro was a completely different ride. Another audio bookwith an excellent speaker too. A swimsuit shoot gone wrong in Hawaii. Henri is a paid to kill seriel killer for snuff films. He is a sociopath and enjoys his sprees. Ex-cop Ben Hawkins, now a writer for a newspaper in Los Angeles is covering the crime desk and the case on location. He befriends Kim McDaniels's parents and helps them to obtain a private investigator to find their daughter. The parent's ...more
Squid McFinnigan
This book started out ok, I got into the kidnapped girl and her parents and said to myself, "Right, here we go." Nope, things had no sooner started down one road than the writer said, enough of this, off on another trail. It jumped all over the place, main characters discarded and twists were complete u turns.

The writing was fine and I did read it all the way through to the end, which is where it went from a three star read to a two star read. It was like the ending was pulled out of a bag and
...more
Bren
I have now read..I don't know..about eight or nine Patterson books. I keep giving him a chance and he keeps letting me down. I suppose it is my fault. I should really stop b uying his b ooks.

This one looked good, especially since it was set on the beach. However nothing happens throughout most of it except a heck of alot of gore and a rising body count. There also really is not much to do with the beach.

I saw this in another of his books "The Games". Same exact thing. The cover hints the book
...more
Crystal
Jun 12, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I am a big James Patterson fan. I have read his books since Along Came a Spider and kept up with the new releases and then went back and read his earlier books. I love the Alex Cross series and the Women's Murder Club and the standalones. So I was thrilled to get an early copy of his newest standalone - Swimsuit from Miriam Parker.

Swimsuit does not disappoint either. From the first page I was sucked into Ben's story of how he came across Henri and the missing swimsuit model Kim.

Ben is a very
...more
Katie
May 15, 2011 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: NO ONE
Just awful! How do so many people like James Patterson??? I am hoping this is just the worst thing he has ever produced, because it sucked. My poor boyfriend! I made him listen to it with me on a long roadtrip and in the middle of the last disc he literally LOST IT and could not listen to it anymore. Maybe listening to it made things worse because the guy reading the book sounded like one of those cheesy movie voice-over guys with the rough, masculine, fake voice and whenever he did the women's ...more
Sandy
Feb 08, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A Siberian film all over again..

I won't say I'm a fan of Patterson but I like the gruesome nature of this book. Call me a weirdo but hey, the more red the pages get, more I tend to enjoy them. I won't say this is a strong story line but there are times I immensely enjoyed it. I strongly believe Swimsuit could've been so much more only if he chose not to run 1km in 1 minute.
Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews
another fast read (probably because of the short chapters) and an interesting look into the mind of a psychopath serial killer. I'd probably give it 3 1/2 stars but can't do 1/2 stars here
Gary
Nov 30, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
James Patterson book written by Maxine Paetro.
Another decent read straight out of the James Patterson book factory, usual formula, fast paced, short chapters and in this case it works.
Jack Shanks
Sep 04, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Once again, James Patterson impresses me. This is only the second book I have read by this author, but he is just... eccentric and captivating in the way he writes.
I am quickly learning, though, not to read his books on the train ride to university! He's incredible with detail - especially when he explicitly describes some sex scenes. I feel a bit naughty and paranoid that I'll be caught reading that in public, so I think Patterson is best kept at home for me!

I really love that Patterson writes
...more
Jordyn
With reading a mystery type book I find it difficult to relate to a character but I can relate to the parents of Kim McDaniels. While Kim was in Hawaii for a photoshoot, she was kidnapped by a man. This forced Barbara and Levon McDaniels to travel to Hawaii to look for their daughter. Through the time of trying to find their daughter, everyone was saying that Kim was gone and they weren’t going to be able to find her. It seemed so much easier to say that she was dead and try to cope with it and ...more
Bert Z
Oct 24, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
For a James Patterson book this one went to some pretty extreme and dark places. It dealt with snuff films, beheadings and a whole bevy of awfully perverted things, I was surprised it went as far as it did.

As with all Patterson books you really need to leave your sense of reason on the 1st page, his books are extremely far fetched and this one is no exception, it’s probably even more far fetched than a lot of his others to be honest. I enjoyed it for what it was, an easy read to get me out of
...more
Mike
Mar 06, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Relatively typical Patterson, although the Hawaii locale and magazine model tie-ins did give it a boost of "other than all the killings, good vacation book".

I do find myself struggling with a lot of his now in a "wait, have I read this" sort of way as they do tend to blend together a little.
Tonya Lucas
Nov 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Absolutely one of the BEST James Patterson booms I’ve ever read.
What would you do if a serial killer sought you out to write his biography?
As more and more girls turn up slaughtered and no DNA evidence is found at the scenes, how was this demented killer getting by everyone?
A gut wrenching, fast-paced phycological thriller you won’t be able to put down.
David Turko
Dec 22, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Why do I keep reading these?
John Roadman
Nov 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Liked this book alot. Just didn't like the ending lol. This book took me so long to read because I was trying to finish (Insomnia) which I finally did. Overall really liked this book. What I like about Patterson books is that you can read them so fast.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
USA Geography Cha...: Swimsuit by James Patterson 1 11 Dec 29, 2014 12:46AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Loop Holes
  • Silent Witness: The Spider's Web (A Doctor Sam Ryan mystery)
  • Silent Witness: Strange Screams of Death (A Doctor Sam Ryan mystery)
  • Faceless Strangers (Silent Witness)
  • The Race
See similar books…
285,593 followers
Official US Site
Official UK Site
JIMMY Patterson Books
ReadKiddoRead



James Patterson is the world’s bestselling author and most trusted storyteller. He has created more enduring fictional characters than any other novelist writing today, with his Alex Cross, Michael Bennett, Women’s Murder Club, Private, NYPD Red, Daniel X, Maximum Ride, and Middle School series. He has sold over 380 million books
...more