Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “La voce del tuono” as Want to Read:
La voce del tuono
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

La voce del tuono

(Courtney #2)

by
4.17  ·  Rating details ·  8,036 ratings  ·  167 reviews
Sean Courteney sta lasciando la foresta dopo quattro anni di caccia agli elefanti; ha con sé un carico d'avorio, tante incertezze e suo figlio Dirk, cresciuto alla scuola della savana. In città, Sean trova la guerra, tra Inglesi e Boeri, ma ritrova anche l'adorazione della madre e il rancore del fratello, antiche amicizie e odi implacabili, denaro, successo e il difficile ...more
Hardcover, La gaja scienza Longanesi #68, 446 pages
Published 2007 by Longanesi (first published 1966)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  8,036 ratings  ·  167 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of La voce del tuono
Debbie Zapata
Jun 20, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019sundaze
This book came out in 1966, was the author's third to be published, and the second to deal with the Courtney brothers Sean and Garrick. Although once again Sean takes over the story, Garrick is still involved here and there, usually with evil thoughts and actions towards Sean.

We find Sean out in the bush four years after the end of When The Lion Feeds. He and his group are returning from hunting ivory (thank goodness we were all spared the descriptions of shooting elephants this time) and
...more
Matt
Jul 04, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobook
Continuing the journey through Smith's Courtney series is a highly educational and entertaining undertaking. With the focus still strongly on Sean, the story opens as the lead-up to the Second Boer War is imminent. Sean struggles to raise his son without a wife and, in true late-nineteenth century form, never spared the rod to spoil his young Dirk. As time passes, Sean took up a post for the English and fought the Boers at every turn. Unbeknownst to him, his twin brother, Garrick, is a ...more
Eric
The Sound of Thunder is a slight departure from the previous book. This book is more of human drama than an expansive African adventure. The book picks up about four years after the ending of the previous book. Sean is a single parent (well sort of) of an infant son while he is out on the veld shooting elephants for their ivory. Sean's son, Dirk, does not go without attention as the Zulu tribesmen accompanying Sean dote on the little tyke. After four years of not seeing another white face, Sean ...more
Graham
Dec 19, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: historical, war, africa
The follow-up to Smith's first book, WHEN THE LION FEEDS, is a continuation of the same story following the cliffhanger that the first novel ended upon.

We learn more about Sean Courtney's life at Ladyburgh, his experiences in the 2nd Boer War and finally the next Courtney generation, i.e. his children by various mothers.

In my mind, the book falls into three sections. The first part flies by as it reintroduces the central characters, throws in some new personalities and sets up the second part,
...more
Bill
Well, that’s it for me. I find battles and warfare really boring and from reviews I’ve read it seems most of the book gets bogged down with this. Also, I’m not all that vested in the story. The development of character relationships were too glossed over for me to care about what happens to them. It’s too bad. I really wanted to get absorbed into some good historical fiction but it’s not happening here. I may try Wilbur Smith again someday.
Jacqie
Apr 28, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I'm reading some books about South Africa or by South African authors in preparation for a trip. So I gave Wilbur Smith a shot...

Yeesh. It's amazing how... primitive this book felt. So old-fashioned in the writing style and outlook. The main character is Sean Courtney. In the beginning of the book he's returning from a years-long elephant hunt, loaded down with ivory that he will use for the enrichment of his family. He's also got his young son with him.

This book seems firmly in the camp that
...more
Bettie
Read By: John Cartwright Duration: 15:13

Description: The game was war. The prize was a land. The penalty for defeat was death. A vibrant tale of war; of love and hatred between brothers, friends, father and son, and man and woman. The commanding figure of Sean Courtney, develops from the headstrong adventurer of "When the lion feeds", into a seasoned soldier and leader of men.
Matthew
Dec 11, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I could not put this book down. The first book in this series, When the Lion Feeds, was an instant favorite for me. This book made me fall in love with the Courtney's at an entirely new level. Every emotion represented so clearly through a family I became so connected to.
Sam
Jul 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Once again we follow the Courtney brothers as they work they way through life, Sean especially as he tries to regain his fortune before finding himself back in the army and trying to keep some semblance of himself, for better or worse. Garrick makes less of an appearance until arriving a little after halfway through when old grudges continue to cloud his judgement making Sean look like a reasonable guy (a shock in itself). The use of real historical events once again makes this all the more real ...more
Kramer Thompson
Another good story from Smith. Fairly similar to the last one except that this had a lot more warfare and a lot less adventuring. I think for this reason I preferred When the Lion Feeds to Sound of Thunder. I also found the main love story here a bit silly and unbelievable. Still, overall it was written well and quite fun to read.
Chris
Such a good series, I can't stop reading!
Tammi Morgan
I am really struggling with this book. Feel I should have brushed up on my Boer War History before attempting this. So boring and confusing as to the ranks in the army. I am also finding myself annoyed with Garrick and Sean. The misunderstanding as to what happened between Anna and Sean is wearing thin and I am almost certain that only at the end will it all be resolved. Am still going to plough through, even though I keep falling asleep before I have read a couple of pages.

Still didn't enjoy
...more
Jennifer
Oct 15, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
After reading the first book in this series, I wasn't sure I would read the second book. But book #1 ended on a cliffhanger, and I had to keep reading. I'm glad I did! I devoured this book in one afternoon and couldn't put it down!

This book moves at a quick pace and continues the saga of the Courtney family. Dripping with emotion, it made me cry, cheer and feel angry - the ability to invoke emotions is a true sign of a good book, in my opinion. It also inspired me to research more about South
...more
Zoé-lee O'farrell
Woohoo the witch is dead...I was so relived that she went the way she did nothing less than she deserved.
Nice to have a respite from dirk as well going away, such an evil child apart from his love for his dad. And did he have anything to do with Mary :(
I found the first half of the book a bit of a jumble as you flit between the boer and the English and I got confused at some points but the second half after the war I found it an easier and faster pacing book and quite exciting wanting to know
...more
James Hayward
Jan 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-i-own
second instalment of the Courtney series is an amazing read. It follows Sean through some highs and lows and also brings in his two sons who don't like each other and his daughter , the last few chapters are intense reading . You will not want to put this book down, Its drawing you in to the next installment in the Courtney series. This is my second Wilbur Smith book and I am at aww with the amount of detail and character building he gives the reader
Sandi
While not quite as good as the preceding book, When the Lion Feeds, lots of action, adventure, and larger than life characters made this an entertaining page turner.
Barry Flanders
Oct 19, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great old time adventure. I'll be reading more in this series by Wilbur Smith.
Amanda Patterson
Jul 31, 2011 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Everyone has to read at least one of his books.
Rebecca Sanders
Jan 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Am thoroughly enjoying this old Courtney series by W Smith!
Swati
Jan 31, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: owned-books
I liked the beginning and I liked the end. The war was stretched out, though. It was difficult to care about.
Graham
May 23, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A usual Smith tense historical novel with strong characters and sometimes over the top action.
Carina
Well, this book is a vast improvement on the first one! We have a strong female character for one - and granted she doesn't have a huge amount of page time but she's there, she exists! We also get some resolution to the long running feud between the brothers which was nice.

I admit that during the first book I was interested in what Garrick was doing whilst Sean was out and about and having his adventures, but given what we see of him here I can see why no major page time is devoted to Garrick.
...more
Eli
Nov 01, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Reading a book where main character is kinda a jerk is not a very pleasant experience if the storyline itself is flat and the language is boring and putting you to sleep.

I did not care for any of the Boer-war related things that happened in the first 3/4 of the book. As you can understand, nothing in the last quarter, though it was midly interesting, at least much more interesting than first three, nothing of that changed my mind. Because story didn't pull me in I felt like reading about this
...more
Larry
Dec 03, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This Courtney Family, #2. Having starting (and enjoying) “Birds of Prey”, #9 , and then a number of the subsequent books in the series order – I think I got up to #11 – I went back to pick up the early ones I missed. To my surprise #1 and now #2 are set in South Africa well after #9!? I was looking for swashbuckling sailing ship or exploratory wilderness reads and instead I got the dropping, centuries later, into the Zulu and Boer Wars. Apparently these Smith works were written and published in ...more
Brian
Apr 13, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The continuing adventures of Sean Courtney.

Unlike the meandering storyline of When a Lion Feeds, The Sound of Thunder concentrates on one aspect of African history, The second Boer War.

The early parts of the book are action packed as Sean becomes embroiled in the Battle of Colenso and the Battle of Spion Kop. During this you see other sides to Sean, making him a more complex character than the action man of When a Lion Feeds. Although a pretty girl still turns his head, especially one wearing
...more
John
Aug 26, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I might be lower on this than I ought to be, but I found it challenging to root for someone that the author clearly wants the reader to adore. The presentation of bush warfare against the Boers was great, and the development of new characters--mostly Sean's sons--was interesting. I'm not sure what this novel actually builds to, however (without revealing too much). It was enjoyable, but there seems to be only one character in the entire story to whom I unambiguously felt positive feelings ...more
Eric Wright
Wilbur Smith spins a good tale that combines a rich layer of African culture and vistas with the unfolding of history and the wreck of human relationships. I read it for the background on the Boer War and the movement toward South African nationhood, but not for the characters. Perhaps I should be more lenient towards his flawed characters which are somewhat Shakespearean in their tragic personalities, but his depiction of the main hero, Sean Courtney raises my hackles.

I do not enjoy reading
...more
Pam Herrmann
Oct 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was supposed to read “A Sound of Thunder” for book club but read this one by mistake. It was a pretty good book so I stuck with it.
Sean Courtney is fighting for the British against the burghers in the Boer War. He meets the woman of his dreams and finds out she is married to one of his war buddies.
After the war is over he goes home to find his son has turned into a terror in his absence and his brother Garry hates him more than ever before. When a fire destroys some of his crops he falls into
...more
Taryn Rai Spearey
This was just as good as book 1. we continue the story of Courtney brothers, Sean and Gerry. However, these two brothers are on oppposing ends of a war.

I found Sean's new wife, Ruth, to be sweet. I still like his other one, but, I find Ruth to be ok.


The whole conflict between Sean and Gerry was really getting on my nerves. I liked how they reunited and made up in the end. Also, I found book 2 to have a lot more action than book 1.

Already hooked on this series, and not sorry about it!
Andrew
I've read a few Wilbur Smith books now, mostly because they have to do with subjects tbhat broadly interest me (as this one did, being set during the Boer War) but I'm not sold. His characters are very melodramatic, and they seem to jump into the sack pretty quickly. 'Sound of Thunder' had a few decent Boer War scenes, but wasn't as good as I'd been hoping/expecting. Then again, I enjoy James Patterson (mostly, anyway!) so you might not want to take just my word for it.
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Sons of Africa
  • Wilbur Smith Series Reading Order: Series List - In Order: Ballantyne series, Courtney series, Ancient Egyptian series, Wilbur Smith Thrillers (Listastik Series Reading Order Book 22)
  • Lake of Slaves (The Lion and Leopard trilogy Book 2)
  • Liberation Day (Nick Stone, #5)
  • Shadow Kill (Strike Back #2)
  • 48
  • Others
  • Fuori da un evidente destino
  • Sons of the Blood (New World Rising, #1)
  • Pochi inutili nascondigli
  • Scoundrel
  • Silencer (Nick Stone, #15)
  • The Settler (The Lion and the Leopard Trilogy Book 1)
  • Dead Before Dying
  • WILBUR SMITH: Ballantyne series, Courtney series, Ancient Egyptian series, Wilbur Smith Thrillers
  • Eagle Trap
  • Echoes from the Past
  • Cry of the Fish Eagle
See similar books…
2,866 followers
Wilbur Smith is the bestselling author of many novels, each meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. His bestselling Courtney series includes Assegai, The Sound of Thunder, Birds of Prey, Monsoon, and Blue Horizon. His other books include Those in Peril, River God, Warlock, The Seventh Scroll, and The Sunbird. His books are now translated into twenty-six languages and have ...more

Other books in the series

Courtney (1 - 10 of 18 books)
  • When the Lion Feeds (Courtney, #1)
  • A Sparrow Falls (Courtney #3)
  • The Burning Shore (Courtney #4)
  • Power of the Sword (Courtney #5)
  • Rage (Courtney #6)
  • A Time to Die (Courtney #7)
  • Golden Fox (Courtney #8)
  • Birds of Prey (Courtney #9)
  • Monsoon (Courtney #10)
  • Blue Horizon  (Courtney, #11)
“the long” 0 likes
“ford.’ He turned to Saul. ‘I’m going to take” 0 likes
More quotes…