Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “L'occhio del Golem” as Want to Read:
L'occhio del Golem
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

L'occhio del Golem

(Bartimaeus #2)

by
4.10  ·  Rating details ·  79,821 ratings  ·  1,878 reviews
Un compito tanto arduo quanto delicato spetta a Nathaniel, ora che fa parte del Ministero degli Interni. Il giovanissimo e intraprendente mago deve individuare i membri della "Resistenza", responsabili degli attentati che colpiscono Londra. Ma le sue indagini si rivelano infruttuose, come i tentativi di infilarsi nel gruppo. Sulle tracce del golem, il mostro apparentemente ...more
Hardcover, 553 pages
Published 2005 by Salani (first published September 1st 2004)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about L'occhio del Golem, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
David Nathaniel in this book is less likable than the first and so without all the backstory he comes off more like a ponce.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  79,821 ratings  ·  1,878 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Jayson
(B) 74% | More than Satisfactory
Notes: It could do with a more elaborate mythology. Improving on the first book, it’s still, for a fantasy, not terribly exciting.
Jennifer Wardrip
Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

He's rude. He's surly. He won't hesitate to tell you when your haircut looks stupid. And in over 5000 years, he's seen some bad haircuts. I'm talking about my favorite djinni, Bartimaeus, back in book two of his young adult fantasy trilogy.

THE GOLEM'S EYE is an excellent sequel to the first book in the series, THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND. In the first book, we meet Bartimaeus, an ancient creature of enormous power that can best be described as a ty
...more
Ivana Books Are Magic
I was really looking forward to reading this second novel in the Bartimaeus series. I was quite curious to see what it would be like, not just in the sense of the development of the story and the characters, but of the world building as well. I kept wondering how will this world ruled by magicians develop further? I was eager to see what place will our protagonist Nathaniel take in it, will he become like the rest of them (i.e. all the other corrupted magicians)? The world that the author create ...more
Ahmad Sharabiani
The Golem's Eye, Jonathan Stroud, 2003
The Golem's Eye is a children's novel of alternate history, fantasy and magic. It is the second book in the Bartimaeus trilogy written by British author Jonathan Stroud. The first edition was released by Miramax 1 January 2004 in the United Kingdom. 6 million copies have been sold in 36 countries. It was a New York Times best-seller in 2004. The book and series are about the power struggles in a magical dystopia centred in London, England featuring a mixture
...more
David
Mar 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to David by: Maitrey
Shelves: audiobook, fantasy
This hilarious novel is the second in the Bartimaeus Trilogy. The story picks up where the first book in the trilogy (The Amulet of Samarkand) leaves off. Most of the story takes place in London, where the government is made up of magicians. These magicians are all power-hungry, calculating, feckless, craven, jealous, and self-serving to the n'th degree.

The 14-year-old Nathaniel is an up-and-coming magician in charge of security operations in the department of internal affairs. He is blamed for
...more
Fares
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars

This series is getting better and better and I honestly have no real reason not to give it 5 stars except that I find it really hard to give 5 stars to children and middle grade books, sorry XD

Just please tell me what is better than a morally grey 13 year old boy with a djinni as a servant? You can't can you?
It's so fascinating to see this in a children's book. I usually don't like morally grey characters because I can never see the reason behind their actions. The idea to hurt people a
...more
Mary Grace Nakao
Apr 08, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My first thought right after reading the book is that it is filled with temperamental and cocky teenagers, equally self-absorbed, bickering and snotty adult magicians and one Mr. Love guru called Bartimaeus. Which actually is not a bad thing cause he cracks me up.

description
Yup, ive been doing that quite a lot when Im reading :))

Character For me, they were pretty much 1-dimensional. The magicians are power-hungry, self-obsessed, egoistic, with really nothing to brag about except they could control the Spir
...more
Alex Telander
THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND & THE GOLEM'S EYE BY JONATHAN STROUD: So I met Jonathan Stroud last Friday, author of the Bartimaeus triology, of which the first two are out: "The Amulet of Samarkand" and "The Golem's Eye." He came to the bookstore I work at in Petaluma, Copperfield's, and was pretty entertaining. He was the classic English guy writing about a doomed England of magic and magicians and the regular people known as "commoners": average English accent from near London area with some cli ...more
Sesana
Apr 25, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: young-adult, fantasy
I really liked the first book in the series, but this second one just doesn't match up. I still admire the world-building (a magical system based on good old fashioned demon summoning!) and Bartimaeus himself is still a fun character to read. But Nathaniel has become almost unbearable to read. All the magicians, in fact, read like parodies of arrogant aristocrats. It isn't entirely unjustified, in this world, but it sure isn't fun to read. Sadly, I didn't like the so-called Resistance much more. ...more
Stephen
3.5 stars. Bartimaeus is a great character and this is a fast, fun read. That said, I didn't like this installment as much as the first book in the series, The Amulet of Samarkand, which I thought was fantastic. My reasons are: (1) I thought Nathaniel (aka John Mandrake) was pretty annoying much of the time and sometimes downright unlikeable; (2) I didn't think the author expanded enough on the mythology underlying the story (i.e., the magic system, the histories and powers of the various classe ...more
Vasya
Mar 23, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am so disappointed in Nathaniel. I really am. I just miss the little boy from the first book so much. I have a feeling that he's the necessary collateral damage from the society that he lives in, and I guess that I can understand that not all of the good guys stay good and vice versa, but I really am sad that it had to end in this way.

Well, not end, there is still one more book to go before the ending of this story, but the end of this particular one. I really don't know what is going to happe
...more
Ashley
I read the first book in this series a couple of years ago and liked it, but I never got around to finishing the series. Probably should have read it closer together . . .

This was a perfectly serviceable follow up to The Amulet of Samarkand, and honestly I think my ‘meh’ reaction to it is mostly on me. The only real criticism I have of the book is that it was too long. This is supposed to be children’s/middle grade book, and it’s 562 pages with pretty small font. I suppose that wouldn’t matter (
...more
Rubi
Unless it is still very good, I think the first one in the series is much better.
Bartimaeus made me laugh a lot again, but the story is slower and less interesting. The end was very obvious too.

In this second book, the Resistance take a more important roll in the story. It is okay, but at the beginning of the book it was everything a mess switching between the magicians and the commoners, and only after a lot of pages I understood the point of such a thing.

I will read the third book soon. I hope
...more
Sonja P.
I really like this book series so far: Its definitely been one of the better things I have read recently. Its consistently entertaining, light in tone, and populated with memorable characters. The plot moves swiftly, and although there are definitely some borrowed elements, I think Stroud manages to be innovative within certain bounds. I was constantly entertained, and I really loved the snarky djinni. I also loved that they added a sympathetic character in this one. Kitty was wonderful. She was ...more
Annemieke / A Dance with Books
Reread - 27-12-2014
Laura Paraliov
Jan 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Following up The Amulet of Samarkand, this book is just as good. It continues the story of Nathaniel, now John Mandrake, a lonely and quite helpless self-absorbed teenager with an important job and status - you can see where this is going, and you know that it's not good. He has to summon Bartimaeus again and the djinn's not happy about it, but what can he do?

You also get a glimpse in the life of the resistance - who are they, what do they do exactly and how they do it, what binds them together
...more
Queen Cronut
Apr 25, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019
I didn't enjoy the sequel as much as I would've liked to.

The Golem's Eye picks up a few years after The Eye of Samarkand. Nathaniel John Mandrake has gone from an ambitious wizard with some redeeming qualities to a pompous jerk (think Percy Weasly here!). I was never a big fan of Nathaniel in the first book, I really didn't like him in this one. However, I liked it that Bartimaeus nicely foiled with Nathaniel and found their scenes together absolutely hilarious. Also, adored Bartimaeus's foot
...more
Jamie
Mar 18, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A good sequel to The Amulet of Samarkand. Bartimaeus is back. And his former, temporary master, Nathaniel. Or, as he is known to everyone else, John Mandrake. Nathaniel. once again, summons the djinni on order to save his career. However things go from bad to worse for Nathaniel. From the Resistance, golems, skeletons and inner enemies amongst other magicians, this duo has their work cut out for them. Also, this story brings in a third perspective. Kitty, the thief leader we briefly met in the f ...more
Mike (the Paladin)
These are interesting (I use that word a lot don't I? Maybe I should check a Thesaurus.) books. The "human" lead character, John Mandrake/Nathanial is definitely an acquired taste. You sort of want him to succeed, but on the other hand you see the Magicians as what they are, morally repugnant. In the first book, there seemed to be hope for Nathanial to turn out, "all right". But he's obviously turning into just another ambitious, selfish, lying, magician.

Then there's Bartimaeus, a jinn (genie, d
...more
Shannon (Giraffe Days)
The pace and ideas continue in the second installment of the Bartimaeus Trilogy with The Golem's Eye.

Kitty's character gets more exposure and "page time", while Nathaniel, now a very pompous 14 year old working high up in the government, tries to track her down as leader of the Resistance, and hopefully find a link between her and the giant clay golem trashing London. At risk of making the ruling class (the magicians) look incompetent, a lot of pressure is on Nathaniel's young shoulders.

Bartim
...more
Alexa
I think my memories coloured this book a lot. There's much more history and politics and much less Bartimaeus and Nathaniel friendship than I remembered (I guess the latter only really happens in the last book), and Nathaniel still hasn't even started letting go of his stupid prejudices.

Also, I can accept teens being heroes when most characters are teens, but a 14-year-old becoming a minister among adults is ehh. It's pushing my suspension of disbelief more than the djinnis.
Ben McBride
Bartimaeus is truly one of the best written characters I've ever encountered. However everything else about this book was extremely sub par. The characters seemed almost awkward and jilting. It was at times painful to read, Every part that had Bartimaeus was excellent, but the rest of it left a lot to be desired.
Lisa
Apr 01, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Much better than the first book. The demon Bartimaeus is hilarious! Looking forward to Book III!
Karen
CONCLUSION: it was a good read.

First, the book's contents. Each one or two chapters is of a different characters point of view, and the story progressed in a amazing way, with some flash backs and so. The whole point is about a fourteen-year-old magician Nathanial and his tasks and missions being the assistant of the head of internal affairs which concerns a disastrous magical creature and a group of thieves. Kitty, after being wrongly accused, was driven to these criminals and both she, Nathan
...more
Giota
Nov 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
Two things stood out in this book: the characters development and the world building.

The world building actually impressed me the most. We learned about the war with Prague, the political status in other cities of Europe, the campaign against America, the judicial system of London, some of the history of the British Empire, the Resistance.e.c.t and all that without any dense, info-dumping! I was impressed!

As character development goes Kitty took the cake. She also turned into one of the main cha
...more
Kathleen
I had mixed feelings about this one. As usual it took awhile to get going, but would have been worth it if the story had flowed a bit more. The plotlines, although neatly wrapped up in the end, felt awkward mixed together. It made sense until the entrance of Honorius the afrit. Emotionally, even though I have MAD respect for believable characters who act like real humans (i.e flawed), it was hard to watch Pennyfeather and his selfishly stupid and inept Resistance movement. And even though Kitty ...more
Benandkaren
Jan 02, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I maintain that the Bartimaeus books are by and far significantly better than all that Harry Potter stuff (just don't tell Karen I said that). I think it comes from not trying to write a classic... the result is of course a classic.

The Golem's Eye is the second book in this series, where once again there's trouble brewing in London and that annoying Nathaniel summons Bartimaeus to sort things out. In this installment we learn much more about the magical world and get a new POV... Kitty, a member
...more
Tom Mathews
Mar 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: lovers offantasy with humor mixed in.
This book was as much fun the second time around as it was the first time. Bartimaeus is, without question, my favorite demon, correction, djinni.
Ellinor
I enjoyed this second Bartimäus book even more than the first. The third perspective really made me devour it!
Bookish Indulgenges with b00k r3vi3ws

In the second instalment of Bartimaeus Sequence, Nathaniel finds himself in a position where he requires the services of the djinni, Bartimaeus. As a young magician trying to climb the ladders of the ministry, Nathaniel has been tasked to deal with a revolutionary group that is growing by the minute in London. Along with the reluctant Bartimaeus, Nathaniel takes on to solve the crimes rocking the city and take care of the revolutionary group at the same time. This time his life and his career is
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Missing Info 2 11 Aug 08, 2018 03:01PM  
Around the Year i...: The Golem's Eye, by Jonathan Stroud 3 17 Jan 02, 2017 03:49PM  
Who is your favorite character? 18 91 Jan 22, 2015 10:21PM  
2015 Reading Chal...: The Golem's Eye by Jonathan Stroud 2 7 Jan 13, 2015 05:05AM  
Addicted to YA: The Golem's Eye 9 84 Dec 29, 2012 06:31PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)
  • Ruler of the Realm
  • Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, #3)
  • Lamplighter (Monster Blood Tattoo, #2)
  • The Blue Djinn of Babylon (Children of the Lamp, #2)
  • A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet, #1)
  • The Magicians of Caprona (Chrestomanci, #4)
  • His Dark Materials (His Dark Materials #1-3)
  • The Opal Deception  (Artemis Fowl, #4)
  • Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War
  • The Simoqin Prophecies (GameWorld Trilogy, #1)
  • Forging the Sword (The Farsala Trilogy, #3)
  • Flora's Dare (Flora Trilogy, #2)
  • The Search for the Red Dragon (The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica, #2)
See similar books…
7,028 followers
Jonathan Anthony Stroud is an author of fantasy books, mainly for children and youths.

Stroud grew up in St Albans where he enjoyed reading books, drawing pictures, and writing stories. Between the ages seven and nine he was often ill, so he spent most of his days in the hospital or in his bed at home. To escape boredom he would occupy himself with books and stories. After he completed his studies
...more

Other books in the series

Bartimaeus (4 books)
  • The Ring of Solomon (Bartimaeus, #0.5)
  • The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus, #1)
  • Ptolemy's Gate (Bartimaeus, #3)
“Check out that one at the end. He's taken the form of a footstool. Weird...but somehow I like his style."

"That is a footstool.”
214 likes
“Hey, we've all got problems, chum. I'm overly talkative. You look like a field of buttercups in a suit.” 180 likes
More quotes…