Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Astro Boy Essays: Osamu Tezuka, Mighty Atom, and the Manga/Anime Revolution” as Want to Read:
The Astro Boy Essays: Osamu Tezuka, Mighty Atom, and the Manga/Anime Revolution
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Astro Boy Essays: Osamu Tezuka, Mighty Atom, and the Manga/Anime Revolution

3.98  ·  Rating details ·  62 Ratings  ·  15 Reviews
The pioneering genius of Japan’s “God of Comics,” Osamu Tezuka (1928–89), is examined through his life’s masterwork: Tetsuwan Atomu, also known as Mighty Atom or Astro Boy, a comic series featuring a cute little android who yearns to be more human. The history of Tetsuwan Atomu and Tezuka’s role in it is a road map to understanding the development of new media in Japan and ...more
Paperback, 248 pages
Published July 1st 2007 by Stone Bridge Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Astro Boy Essays, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Astro Boy Essays

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Matt Ely
3.5 for being workmanlike but failing to be much more.

A narrow look at Astro Boy. Tezuka's life and other work are secondary as this is very focused on being a comprehensive timeline of all things Mighty Atom, whether they're interesting or not, gosh darn it! It felt like the author could have given the material broader relevance, but didn't. The book calls itself "essays" but really that's an excuse to have chapters that don't tie to a larger idea and build on one another.

It's decent. I learn
...more
Nakkinak
Mar 10, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: theoretical, comics
An essential read for every Osamu Tezuka fan and people who are interested in the origin of anime and manga. It doesn't only give detailed background on the person of the manga god Osamu Tezuka, his influences, his demons and his flaws, but also a rough but very precise info on the early history of animation from the 40s propaganda films by Mitsuyo Seo to the 80s work of Hayao Miyazaki. Furthermore it gives a good impression of some technical aspects of animation and the boundaries of limited an ...more
Tosh
Dec 10, 2011 rated it really liked it
The perfect book for me to pick up at Shibuya Tower. Somewhere between my personal desire and what others in Japan have given me, I find myself surrounded by Astro Boy toys and books. When I first started to go to Japan, Osamu Tezuka was one of the sources of understanding that culture and it was such a pleasant adventure. Frederik L. Schodt's book on the culture and history of Astro Boy is a must-read for anyone who have even the slightest interest in manga and its history.
Tezuka is without a
...more
Panoramaisland
Aug 11, 2010 rated it really liked it
I can think of no better author for this book than Frederik Schodt. He was one of the first American "otaku," a leader in early Japanese-to-English manga translations and imports, translator of works such as Barefoot Gen, Astro Boy, The Rose of Versailles and Phoenix, writer of the groundbreaking Manga! Manga!, and personal friend of Osamu Tezuka. He's done so much to establish Japan as a major cultural producer internationally that he was given the Order of the Rising Sun by the Japanese govern ...more
Sarah Hayes
Jan 11, 2011 rated it really liked it
An excellent collection of essays analyzing the Astro Boy canon and examining Tezuka's life as both a scientist and a manga-ka. A lot of great insight in one book.

One issue: I wish Schodt did not try to brush off Tezuka's overtly racist artwork (the images of black people as grass skirt-wearing savages with big lips and so forth) as just a sign of his being influenced by Disney or that he didn't intend the art to be racist. Authorial intent means jack squat when the actual finished product depi
...more
Paranerd
May 17, 2012 rated it really liked it
The Astro Boy Essays details many aspects of Osamu Tezuka's personal life, and the surroundings that led to the robot's creation. Yes, it's a history lesson, but Tezuka is a fascinating person to learn about. He was heavily influenced by old Walt Disney cartoons, and was always creating new and unique characters. The book focuses primarily on Astro Boy, but it briefly mentions some of his other works. One particularly fascinating aspect of Tezuka's manga was how he would treat his characters as ...more
Anne
Oct 11, 2009 rated it really liked it
Highly enjoyable. Schodt is a real mensch, as well as being Tezuka's long-time interpreter. Interesting stuff on how Tezuka presferred the comic Astro Boy to the anime, and was crestfallen how the rest of his works (on the Buddha, Hitler, vampires, princesses, etc.) were overshadowed by this one work. Lots of good images & photos. The photo of a model of Ab lying in state at the 2003 Robocon, lovingly attended by a phalanx of Mitsubishi industrial robots, is priceless, as is the jewel-encrus ...more
Harry
Mar 24, 2012 rated it really liked it
Astro boy made an incredibly impression on me as a young 8 year old boy. I enjoyed this work very much. Schodt did a wonderful job in exploring the person (Osamu Tezuka) behind the great creation of Tetsuwan Atomu (Astro boy), as well as the iconic character himself. This well researched book also contains excellent illustrations with an episode list in the appendix. Highly, highly recommend for fans of Anime, Manga, or the history of cartoons or anyone interested in this popular form of culture
Alicia Wright
Oct 02, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I got this book in university as research material for a project, partly... but I am a huge Astro Boy fan too and I highly recommend this to anyone who is.

I read it from cover to cover, even though I was partly reading it for reasearch. I don't really know what to say about it though. I thoroughly enjoyed it and at the same time, I learned more about Atom than any sane person probably should.
Jon Holt
Jul 11, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: research
Light read. Author is certainly one of the best people to write this, but I feel there's too much time spent on the tv show when the manga is ultimately far more interesting and will draw people to this book.
Brandon Telg
Jun 29, 2009 rated it it was amazing
I am a huge Tezuka fan and this is truly fascinating reading if you are the same. Otherwise, unless you are interested in the history of Japanese animation and comics design, you may not be interested in reading this one.
Aaron
Jan 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing
One of two books I claim as my Scriptures of anime and manga research. Schodt has never shirked his research as a manga scholar and knows his stuff.

This biographical account of Tezuka and his many creations covers a lot of ground, all of it necessary.
Olivia
Apr 22, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: biography
Anyone who loves anime and manga should read this! Tezuka started it all!
Man Solo
Mar 07, 2010 marked it as to-read
Recommends it for: everyone
This is a must read. I'm going to get back to this asap.
Jacob Fink
Jun 09, 2008 rated it really liked it
Did you know that Astro Boy pioneered shoddy animation? I didn't until I read this well written book. It's a breezy read and interesting history of first anime program!
Mary
rated it it was ok
Nov 30, 2014
Jigme Tsering
rated it really liked it
Nov 05, 2009
Nicholas Lawrence
rated it liked it
Aug 24, 2012
LHW
rated it it was ok
May 13, 2016
Remco van der Togt
rated it liked it
Sep 11, 2013
Radrappy
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2015
Chris Luton
rated it it was amazing
Oct 04, 2016
Josh Yates
rated it really liked it
Sep 14, 2017
Mary English
rated it it was amazing
Oct 31, 2017
Liver-chan
rated it really liked it
Jun 17, 2011
Matt
rated it really liked it
Jul 07, 2015
Danank kerend
rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2009
Philip Lister
rated it really liked it
Oct 22, 2012
Alvian Stefanus
rated it really liked it
Nov 15, 2016
Samuel
rated it really liked it
Apr 17, 2017
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Frederik L. Schodt is an American translator, interpreter and writer.

Schodt's father was in the US foreign service, and he grew up in Norway, Australia, and Japan. The family first went to Japan in 1965 when Schodt was fifteen. They left in 1967 but Schodt remained to graduate from Tokyo's American School in Japan, in 1968. After entering the University of California, Santa Barbara, in 1970 Schodt
...more
More about Frederik L. Schodt...

Nonfiction Deals

  • Death by Living: Life Is Meant to Be Spent
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Sometimes You Win--Sometimes You Learn: Life's Greatest Lessons Are Gained from Our Losses
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Rise of Superman: Decoding the Science of Ultimate Human Performance
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Long Tail: Why the Future Is Selling Less of More
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Quantum Healing (Revised and Updated): Exploring the Frontiers of Mind/Body Medicine
    $12.99 $1.99
  • Elephant Company: The Inspiring Story of an Unlikely Hero and the Animals Who Helped Him Save Lives in World War II
    $15.99 $1.99
  • Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life
    $13.99 $2.99
  • Funny In Farsi: A Memoir Of Growing Up Iranian In America
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Effortless Healing: 9 Simple Ways to Sidestep Illness, Shed Excess Weight, and Help Your Body Fix Itself
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Case for Faith: A Journalist Investigates the Toughest Objections to Christianity
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Map That Changed the World: William Smith and the Birth of Modern Geology
    $8.99 $2.99
  • The Autobiography of Malcolm X
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Love, Loss, and What We Ate: A Memoir
    $11.24 $1.99
“Even if there are no new Mighty Atom manga or films created, the Mighty Atom character has become a permanent fixture of both Japanese and global pop culture.” 2 likes
More quotes…