Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Se stasera siamo qui” as Want to Read:
Se stasera siamo qui
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Se stasera siamo qui

by
3.19  ·  Rating details ·  220 ratings  ·  24 reviews
Una riunione tra quattro amiche del cuore per festeggiare la loro amicizia: un quarto di secolo di intimità condivise, tradimenti superati, differenze appianate. C'è Claire, con i suoi uomini sempre sbagliati; e la certezza che la vita non le darà mai l'unica cosa che ha sempre voluto. Nora, la casalinga perfetta, che ha tenuto nascosto un segreto alle amiche per più di ...more
Paperback, 317 pages
Published September 18th 2008 by Guanda (first published 2007)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Se stasera siamo qui, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Se stasera siamo qui

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  220 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Se stasera siamo qui
Kat A
Feb 14, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Another book from the Irish short stories compilation. Good story, intriguing ending, but ultimately a book for 40 something women. I'm just not there yet. I found I couldn't relate to the characters very well, with their marriage and children trials and tribulations. It's sad, I've grown out of the 20 something chick lit, but there doesn't seem to be anything between that and the 40 something wife and mother stories. The four women have incredible bonds, but I guess I am looking for more of a ...more
Simo
Jul 12, 2015 rated it liked it
Libro che fatica ad ingranare, ma una volta dentro la storia si riesce a proseguire bene. Alcune parti le ho trovate ripetitive ed inutilmente prolisse; alcune emozioni, soprattutto trattandosi di una narrazione tutta al femminile, sarebbero potute essere descritte in modo più dettagliato e profondo. Tuttavia, la storia è carina e per la prima volta non mi ha infastidito il continuo cambio di punto di vista nella narrazione. Certo, per chi come me è eccessivamente curioso, risulta snervante la ...more
Blanche
Jan 19, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Dunne's prose is very readable and functional. The story is light, but well enough constructed. The majority of the characters are believeable. However, much keeps me from rating it higher:

1. The four first-person narrators had voices that sounded less similar. As it was, a third-person narrative would have been more effective.

2. There were less telling and a lot more showing.

2.a. If something that was told in one chapter was not immediately shown in the next chapter. Georgie mentions
...more
Sian Taylor
Good story, but with a completely unbelievable ending. The twist at the end just didn't sit well at all.
Tittirossa
Feb 02, 2018 rated it did not like it
Lamentosa e lagnosa storia di 4 amiche (o pseudo tali, visto che si tengono segreti i segreti più intuibili!) raccontata con piglio d’aria fritta in salsa di banalità (l’ho letta perché di solito Dunne scrive meglio, e poi è ambientata a Dublino, e io non so resistere a qualcosa ambientato a Dublino). Ci sono queste 4 ragazze, che nell'idea dell’autrice dovrebbero rappresentare – presumo, altrimenti non si spiega – i 4 archetipi femminili: Georgie, non bella ma grintosa (l’Antipatica ...more
Antonella
Apr 17, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: esimio_2018
Un libro carino, ma senza grosse pretese. E' la prima volta che leggo quest'autrice e sono rimasta piacevolmente colpita dallo stile narrativo, mentre la storia sa di già letto. L'amicizia di queste quattro donne si basa su segreti, parole non dette e condivisione del vissuto quotidiano. Quando le prime crepe iniziano ad essere visibili, ognuna segue la propria strada, lasciando indietro le altre per sempre o per qualche anno. Le protagoniste si vogliono bene, si lasciano, si riprendono, ...more
Alisea
Aug 05, 2017 rated it liked it
La prima cosa che ho apprezzato in questo libro è la diversità di punti di vista per la stessa vicenda ossia le quattro voci narranti. Mi è piaciuto molto questo modo di raccontare l'amicizia al femminile e la diversità delle protagoniste permette di riconoscersi nell'una o nell'altra. Non è però la Dunne de La metà di niente: forse rimane troppo in superficie e la conclusione della storia è un po' forzata
Claudia Sesto
Apr 09, 2014 rated it liked it
"....Sento ancora l'amarezza che invase la stanza quella sera, quando ognuno di noi si trovò a contemplare l'intrico di perdite, sofferenze e di mezze verità che avremmo dovuto attraversare nei mesi, forse negli anni a venire."
Quattro amiche si ritrovano e fanno il punto su ciò che hanno vissuto insieme.
Leggendo scopriremo che dietro al loro grande rapporto di amicizia si nascondono gelosie, invidie, segreti, ma anche tanta complicità, intesa e alleanze, un racconto degno dei migliori telefim
...more
Roberta
Oct 20, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2008
Incostante e incompiuto

Mi aspettavo molto da questo romanzo. Mi aspettavo un'intima descrizione della quotidianità femminile, limpidezza di scrittura e armonia di intreccio.
Purtroppo questa storia di quattro amiche (una delle quali fra l'altro non è nemmeno un'amica, ma un'intrusa) non raggiunge lo scopo. Un po' confusionario nella sua coralità, il romanzo parte in sordina per poi acquistare velocità grazie ai misteri di cui l'autrice costella la vita delle nostre eroine.
Il ritmo di lettura
...more
Windy
Apr 14, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
At first I wasn't sure I was enjoying this story of 4 women, spanning 25 years. I wasn't warming to the characters and found their worries a bit shallow.
However, as each woman tells the story from her viewpoint, sometimes repeating episodes, I became more compelled to find out the secrets each woman was guarding.

Because they each speak with their own voice the characters are clearly drawn and I found myself liking two of them a lot and disliking the other two. I always believe an author does
...more
Federica
Jan 17, 2009 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: women-s-books
Four women, who know each other since they were young, tell the story of their friendship and relationship from their own personal point of view. They are now in their forties and a lot has happend since the time they were children (Georgie and Maggie) and University students (Claire and Nora).

While I was reading I sometimes felt like the 5th friend who listens to the stories and problems of the other 4 women and sometimes I identified myself with one or the other depending on the situation.

...more
Krisz
Jan 01, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The story started really slowly and I didn't mind putting it aside for weeks. It only got interesting when Nora's narrative started. That was the only part I could relate to. But still, that was predictable too. I'm a bit fed up with cliches: if you can't tell it in a way that's original, please don't bother!
There was nothing new in the book: adoption, abortion, friendships, betrayal - this has all been said. And the very end of the book, Georgie hitting it off with Robbie, duh. I was really
...more
Sue Hunter
Oct 11, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The ups and downs of friendships.

4 women initially meet at university. After university they go in their separate directions, they decide to keep in touch, with regular evenings together.

The four women are really quite different characters, and this sometimes leads to friction. Secrets may or may not be shared, and sometimes judgements are made not knowing the full story. The biggest secret, kept for a couple of decades, makes everyone completely re-evaluate their feelings about Nora.

There are
...more
Elalma
Jun 16, 2012 rated it liked it
Eravamo quattro amiche al bar ma certo non volevamo cambiare il mondo. Questa stata la prima impressione leggendo il libro che scorre via veloce, perch naturalmente le vicende si accavallano e a tutti piace guardare un po' dal buco della serratura le vite altrui. Cos si assiste al solito clich delle amiche -non amiche, un po' invidiose, poco casalinghe, forse, ma certo anche disperate. Diverte, fa trascorrere il tempo ma lascia davvero poco ...more
Judith Yeabsley
May 06, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A book very close to home with 4 women who have been friends since their early 20's and are now in their 40's. I found though that their lack of honesty and concern for each other reduced the value of them and their friendships. It was a good book and I would read more of the author's but I am disappointed the women although complex were essentially so shallow emotionally.
IlariaTa
Da divorare quando ti vuoi allontanare dal mondo e ti serve qualcosa di appassionante, ma non impegnativo, che sai portai leggere tutto d'un fiato - perché non hai altri impegni, se non quello di stare sprofondata nella poltrona fino all'ultima riga.

"Se stasera siamo qui" è stato il libro perfetto per me, per il momento in cui l'ho letto.
Anna Rossi
Oct 22, 2014 rated it really liked it
Le storie di quattro donne che si intrecciano. Quattro modi diversi di vedere la vita e l'amore.
Un sottile gioco tra segreti e mezze verità, mentre il filo dell'amicizia continua a legare i loro destini e loro scelte.
Rana
Dec 29, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I really wanted to love this book as it was my first Catherine Dunne experience. Sadly, I just did not get this book. It might have been too predictable or too slow for my liking. I will definitely read more of her work and I'll keep my fingers crossed.
toria (vikz writes)
This book would be Okay of you like this sort of novel. But, I don't. If you like light women's fiction, then this is for you. However, it's not quite my thing. So, I'll give it 2
Hazel McHaffie
A good example of a writer slowly unravelling her characters (four women friends) but as a whole this one didn't really appeal to me.
Cecilia
Oct 19, 2012 rated it really liked it
I surprisingly really liked the book, but I think the finale was a little bit rushed.
Louise Ludbrook
A good story with an interesting twist at the end.
Vrinda Pendred
I'm amazed at what a poor rating this book has received. It's not stellar by any means, but it was quite good for what it is - definitely enjoyable.
Marina
Jan 18, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
si legge bene e si vuole sapere come va a finire. storie di 4 donne che si intrecciano, amiche ognuna con una sua personalità e una sua vita
Chiara
rated it it was ok
Oct 07, 2019
Carolyn Costigan
rated it really liked it
Jun 07, 2016
Judievine Grace
rated it it was amazing
Sep 25, 2014
Bridget Morrissey
rated it it was amazing
Nov 10, 2018
Bahar
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2013
Daniela
rated it liked it
Sep 05, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Eros e amore
  • La ragazza nella nebbia
  • How Music Got Free: The End of an Industry, the Turn of the Century, and the Patient Zero of Piracy
  • Heaven (Casteel, #1)
  • La casa di campagna
  • Soumission
  • When All Is Said
  • Death on the Cape and Other Stories
  • My Sweet Audrina (Audrina, #1)
  • A Partisan's Daughter
  • The Maid's Courage
  • La chimera
  • Copycat (Kitt Lundgren, #1)
  • One Night in Italy
  • The Importance of Being Aisling: Country Roads, Take Her Home
  • How Green Was My Valley
  • In the Days of Rain: A Daughter, a Father, a Cult
  • My Life in Houses
See similar books…
81 followers
Most writers serve a very long apprenticeship.

I became a fulltime writer in 1995, but I’ve been writing ever since I can remember. From short – very short – stories as a child to the usual excruciating poetry as a teenager: I’ve probably being putting words on paper for almost half a century now. What a thought.

As a child, it took me a few years to learn that there was a difference between reading
...more