Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Le due verità” as Want to Read:
Le due verità
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Le due verità

3.79  ·  Rating details ·  12,222 ratings  ·  936 reviews
Un terribile rimorso affligge il dottor Calgary. Per colpa sua, infatti, Jack Argyle è stato condannato per l'assassinio della madre ed è morto in prigione. Il dottor Calgary è sempre stato a conoscenza dell'innocenza di Jack: all'ora del delitto il giovane era con lui, ma lo studioso non aveva potuto testimoniare in sua difesa perchè all'epoca delle indagini si trovava in ...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published 2003 by Mondadori (first published November 3rd 1958)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Le due verità, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
This question contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
Orinoco Womble (tidy bag and all) <spoiler>That's rather the point of their relationship. He did when they first got married but the crash put him too much in her power. She…more<spoiler>That's rather the point of their relationship. He did when they first got married but the crash put him too much in her power. She "mothers" him now and he doesn't like it but can't do anything, as it's her family that has the money that supports him. He's also rotten at business, as is said more than once. Probably if he'd remained healthy the marriage would have broken up over money or at least become embittered. Mrs Durrant is basically selfish; as long as everything goes her way, she's happy; but then she learned that from her mother. Phillip feels a certain affection for her, but he enjoys messing with people, which is why he kisses Hester--to see how H. will react; and then when his wife is a witness he's more tickled than upset. He doesn't kiss Hester to stop her killing herself; it would be much more effective to say, "Look girlie, I'm in a wheelchair and I haven't topped myself, have I?" but he'd rather play games.</spoiler>(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.79  · 
Rating details
 ·  12,222 ratings  ·  936 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
carol.
Jan 12, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Christie fans, fans of psychological mysteries
You really have to admire 1950s for their marvelous plot devices. Amnesiacs, mistaken identities, and in this mystery by Agatha Christie, a man with a concussion fails to provide an alibi, and shortly after recovering, heads off to Antarctica for a research expedition. Barring that somewhat awkward premise, Ordeal was an interesting psychological mystery that kept me engaged.

Dr. Calgary, the Antarctic research scientist, discovers through old newspaper articles that he was the missing alibi for
...more
Simona Bartolotta
“That was the trouble with people who had no legal sense of discretion. They insisted on saying things which were much better not said.”

Every time Christie makes her stories revolve around a big and extraordinarily dysfunctional family, I invariably find myself utterly spellbound. The same happened with Appointment With Death; but the mystery in the latter was certainly more satisfying, as I see it. I would have liked -and expected- a more imaginative solution, I think.

In brief, not one of Chris
...more
Sandy *The world could end while I was reading and I would never notice*
EXCERPT: Calgary came to the end of the nice new road with the nice new houses on either side of it, each with its eighth of an acre of garden; rock plants, chrysanthemums, roses, salvias, geraniums, each owner displaying his or her individual garden taste.

At the end of the road was a gate with SUNNY POINT in Gothic letters on it. He opened the gate, passed through, and went along a short drive. The house was there ahead of him, a well-built, characterless modern house, gabled and porched. It mi
...more
BrokenTune
Sep 26, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
‘All right. It’s your say so–and you’re sticking to it. Jacko didn’t kill her. Very well then–who did kill her? You haven’t thought about that one, have you? Think about it now. Think about it–and then you’ll begin to see what you’re doing to us all…’

I've been reading away on my Agatha Christie project for a while, and although the books tend to, with exceptions, follow a formula, there are other issues or themes that Christie discusses in the different books. This could be anything from discuss
...more
Nandakishore Varma
This is one of those standalone mysteries written by Dame Agatha which features none of her favourite sleuths - and it's fantastic and insanely readable. Jacko Argyll, the black sheep of the Argyll family who has been convicted for the murder of his mother, dies in prison after protesting his innocence for two years: an alibi involving a hitched ride which he could not prove in court. However, it turns out that for once, Jacko had been telling the truth: Dr. Arthur Calgary who had given him a li ...more
Repellent Boy
Desisto. Es imposible pillar a esta mujer y adelantarte a sus pasos. Me he llevado todo el libro pensando que este me gustaría menos que los demás, porque creía saber la solución y me parecía muy obvia. Tenía la idea de que ya le había cogido el punto y había ido viendo donde ponía las pistas. Pero para nada. Como siempre me he vuelto a quedar impactado con el final y no tenía nada que ver con lo que yo creía. Y lo fuerte es que siempre deja pistas. No se las saca de la manga al final. Y nunca l ...more
Erin *Proud Book Hoarder*
“How can I go on living here and suspecting everybody ?”

I usually avoid comparing movies to books as in comparing apples to oranges....but since I graced my teeth on this Christie story first through Prime's version of the haunting tale, I can't help but constantly compare when reading and reviewing. I knew when watching the three-part series that Christie would not have been racy enough to put in the themes of child abuse, abortion and molestation in her book, and I was right when reading this
...more
AMEERA
💔💔💔
Issa Deerbany
Jan 21, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: agatha-christie
رائعة أجاثا كريستي
دليل البراءة يظهر بعد عامين وبعد موت المتهم في السجن والذي اتهم بقتل أمه
وصف رائع للنفس البشرية بعد ان كانو يعيشون في أمان مزيف
على العائلة ان تواجه محنتها من جديد

استمتعت بها
mark monday
Choose Your Own Adventure!

Did you kill the Argyle matriarch? ‘Tis true, she was an awful sort. A control freak: dramatically highly-strung and passionately venomous, her grasping hands ever eager to twist and to bind, to bind you and others to her. She is played by Faye Dunaway in tiny flashback sequences and that is certainly apropos casting. Mama Argyle was ever so unfair to you. She never let you do what you wanted, it was always her, Her, HER! She deserved to die, damn it! The world is a bet
...more
Zaphirenia
Aug 01, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Για τη δολοφονία της κυρίας Αργκάυλ δεν υπήρξε κανένα μυστήριο. Ο θετός της γιος Τζακ συνελήφθη αφού έγινε γνωστό ότι της ζήτησε χρήματα που δεν του έδωσε και στη συνέχεια την απείλησε. Τα χρήματα που της είχε πάρει βρέθηκαν επάνω του και κανείς δεν ξαφνιάστηκε μια και ο νεαρός Τζακ ήταν, κατά κοινή ομολογία, "κακός σπόρος". Όλα όμως ανατρέπονται όταν δύο χρόνια μετά τη δολοφονία και αφού ο Τζακ έχει πεθάνει εμφανίζεται ένα ακλόνητο άλλοθι για τον συλληφθέντα. Τότε η αλήθεια, που τόσο βολικά έχε ...more
Vikas Singh
Jan 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
One of Christie’s must read thrillers. Written in her true who-dun-it fashion the plot has an interesting beginning. True a murder has been committed and innocent person is jailed where he later dies. The stage is set and there is usual bunch of suspects. It is not the police but an amateur sleuth who finally solves the case. Great read.
Shabbeer Hassan
A classic Christie tale which explores the central theme - "If you love someone dearly, how far would you go to protect them". Instead of Poirot or Marple, we have a bespectacled geophysicist investigating a crime to which he was an alibi to the hanged murderer, in a family which is dysfunctional at its core and only a thin veneer of sanity covering it up. As you read, our protagonist peels those layers to reveal the true murderer and the hidden crime of many years ago.

My Rating - 3.5/5
Maria Gad
Aug 28, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
يمهل و لا يهمل
هذة الكلمات هى أفضل ما يمكننى وصف هذة الرواية
بعد مرور عامين من القبض على متهم بتهمة قتل والدته تظهر أدله تثبت غيابه عن مسرح الجريمة. يتم فتح التحقيق من جديد ليتم اكتشاف أسرار جديدة
لكل مذنب جزاء و لكل برىء مكافئةو من يقدر على منافسة أجاثا كريستى, تلك الكاتبة العبقرية
فى تحليل الدوافع البشرية
Chaitra
Ick. Not one of Christie's best. Not even close. It's the standard detective story set-up: a murder, a finite set of would-be-murderers, no one has a motive/everyone has equal motive. The twist here is that a man has been convicted, and has died in prison before his alibi turns up.

As far as mysteries go, it's a fairly decent book. But several other things bugged me:
1. Arthur Calgary, the hero. This is the alibi, the scientist who turns up two years too late to provide evidence that the convict
...more
Amina
Jun 03, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is my first three stars rating for an Agatha Christie book (and I can't believe it)
I liked this one, but it was kinda disappointing, the events were a bit dull, I could figure out half of what happened pretty easily, but the second half in the end was great.
Katherine
”’It’s not the guilty who matter. It’s the innocent.’”

4.5 out of 5 stars

I’m beginning to think that I prefer Christie’s standalone titles over her more famous Poirot novels. While I’ve mildly enjoyed those, I adored And Then There Were None. And the completion of this novel confirms my suspicions, because this book was fantastic.

Dr. Arthur Calgery, having just come back from a years long expedition to Antarctica, finds himself in a dire situation. Before he left, he offered a lift to a hitchhi
...more
Bruce Beckham
I think my watching of the BBC adaptation shortly before reading it hampered my judgement of this book. However, I still believe I would have rated it ‘disappointing’.

I had heard that the plot had been altered for the screen version – hmm, worth investigating – but I couldn’t get out of my head the paradox of the location (‘Sunny Point’ and ‘Drymouth’ – filmed in Scotland? Come on!) – nor the actors’ faces that were emblazoned on the cover of the new paperback edition I bought.

The ‘original’ sto
...more
Laurel Young
Feb 22, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Agatha Christie claimed that, of all her many novels, Ordeal by Innocence and Crooked House pleased her best. Crooked House is one of my absolute favorites, but I had rather forgotten how very good Ordeal by Innocence is. The premise is gripping: an innocent man convicted wrongly of murdering his adopted mother has died in prison, but new evidence shows that he had an alibi. This means that the murderer is still at large, but it must be a member of his family. The closed setting of the family ci ...more
Kavita
Apr 10, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery, uk
I am not sure how to rate this. On one hand, it had all the elements I love in a murder mystery - murder within the family, a large number of suspects, family drama, and some humour. But Ordeal by Innocence also bashes you on the head with Christie's private views about adoption and heredity, which are basically utter nonsense. Every chapter contained a polemic, expressed by different people, against adoption and how a mother can never be a mother unless she gives birth. It's annoying to read, e ...more
Kate (GirlReading)
An entertaining mystery and one in which I didn’t entirely predict ‘whodunit’ but also didn’t care all too much about who did it either. The characters were okay but all felt very similar and somewhat flat. However, it was an entertaining read, just not as gritty or addictive as I was hoping it would be, having read and loved another of Agatha Christie’s titles a few months previous to this.

TW: discussion of suicide, ableism, sexism
Jaksen
Apr 01, 2018 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Yeah, I'm giving it two stars due to an enormous plot hole. I mean it's so big you can fit a submarine in it, or maybe a battleship, a couple of cruisers, a destroyer. (I so want to play classic Battleship lately.) Seriously, I'll put it in the spoiler tags. Meanwhile...

I went on a Christie campaign in the 80's and read everything my local library had. (There was no inter-library system at the time.) I thought I'd done good, read almost every Hercule Poirot, Miss Marple and those Tuppence-and-wh
...more
Bill Lynas
In many Agatha Christie stories there is a crime & a large number of suspects. Here she shakes things up a little by having the murderer already sentenced & in prison. He then dies of pneumonia & (if that wasn't enough) someone comes along to prove he was actually innocent.
Unfortunately far too much of the novel is taken up with characters discussing who the real murderer might be & this soon becomes so repetitive that I no longer cared who committed the crime.
I think the story w
...more
Meave
Aug 08, 2010 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Classism time in classism town. More precisely, "adoption is unnatural, adoptive children and parents never truly and properly bond the way biological children and parents do, and all good women desperately long to have their own babies" time in [ibid.:] town. Also a lovely running theme about how the one daughter who's half-black and half-white, to whom everyone refers as "half-caste," is all inscrutable and cat-like as has no sense of time because she's half-black. With Aggie, it's all nature, ...more
Caidyn (SEMI-HIATUS; BW Reviews; he/him/his)
3.5/5

I liked this better than the miniseries.

The miniseries isn't bad, keep that in mind. It's actually very good and I really liked watching it. However, it's very melodramatic and packed full of *~controversial~* stuff that misdirects and kind of links in with current events, such as the #MeToo movement. And, when I decided to read the book after watching it, it really came across as campy.

Mr. and Mrs. Argyle get married and Mrs. Argyle wants to have a family. However, they couldn't get pregna
...more
Ariel
This is one of the last Christie's I'll be reviewing for the Cool Down With AC challenge this summer. I fell a little behind schedule when I needed a break from the Christie a week schedule I was on. This is one of the stand alone novels and was one Agatha Christie's top ten personal favorites making a must read.

In this novel we have Dr. Arthur Calgary, who after having suffered a concussion, suddenly remembers an important piece of information in a murder case. Unfortunately by the time he deli
...more
Lisa
Oct 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio, top-author
3.5 stars
A classic murder mystery. This is a standalone mystery and I would have preferred a bit of Hercule or Miss Marple but the characters in this are still very strong and made for a good story.
Settle in and enjoy!
Nancy Oakes
like a 3.7 rounded up.

plot, no spoilers here: http://www.crimesegments.com/2018/09/...

While I see that a lot of readers don't agree with me, I found Ordeal by Innocence to be quite a good read. I get that for many people the draw in a Christie novel is Poirot getting his little grey cells all stirred up or waxing his moustaches, or Miss Marple innocently knitting away while taking stock and careful observation of everything and everyone while the cops tend to flounder, but really, the non-detect
...more
Marija Simić
Aug 31, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Crime, Mysteries ...: Ordeal by Innocence by Agatha Christie 4 18 Dec 10, 2018 06:14AM  
Play Book Tag: Ordeal By Innocence/Agatha Christie/5 Stars 3 12 Nov 13, 2018 07:20AM  
Kindle English My...: Ordeal By Innocence 7 14 Apr 17, 2018 10:04AM  
Goodreads Librari...: incorrect ISBN attribution 3 20 Jan 13, 2017 05:06AM  
Agatha Christie L...: November 2015 - Order by Innocence 19 52 Nov 29, 2015 07:52PM  
  • The Burden
  • The Scoop and Behind the Screen
  • The Unexpected Guest
  • The Case of the Duplicate Daughter
  • The Life and Times of Hercule Poirot
  • Last Ditch (Roderick Alleyn, #29)
  • In the Teeth of the Evidence (Lord Peter Wimsey, #14)
  • The House of Green Turf (Felse, #8)
  • Agatha Christie and the Eleven Missing Days
35,258 followers
Agatha Christie also wrote romance novels under the pseudonym Mary Westmacott, and was occasionally published under the name Agatha Christie Mallowan.

Agatha Christie is the best-selling author of all time. She wrote 66 crime novels and story collections, fourteen plays, and six novels under a pseudonym in Romance. Her books have sold over a billion copies in the English language and a billion in t
...more
“How can I go on living here and suspecting everybody ?” 20 likes
“He felt lost without his hatred–lost and afraid.
About Mickey Argyle”
5 likes
More quotes…