Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Liberator (Tarizon Trilogy #1)” as Want to Read:
The Liberator (Tarizon Trilogy #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Liberator (Tarizon #1)

by
3.52  ·  Rating details ·  87 Ratings  ·  55 Reviews
When a teenager discovers his father is working on a secret government project with aliens from the planet Tarizon, the project is compromised and Peter Turner must accept exile or be killed. Volume 1 chronicles Peter Turner's abduction and discovery that he is perceived to be the long awaited "Liberator" who is destined to save the planet from the despot, Videl Lai.
Paperback, 360 pages
Published October 1st 2009 by Top Publications (first published September 1st 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Liberator, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Liberator

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ron
Jul 22, 2015 rated it did not like it
I can’t believe I read more than a dozen pages. I knew by then I wasn’t going to like this book. Why didn’t I cut my losses?

The premise and set up seem plausible. The Goodreads.com description is accurate. The surprise is that the author has written dozens of books. The execution is deficient. Many (earth) historical errors. Lots of explaining. Lots of typos. Lots of “ly” adjectives and adverbs.

This would be a “young” reader book, but the plot features a twenty-something female seducing as sixte
...more
Vicki
Oct 28, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: adults and Young adults
the first in novelist William Manchee’s exciting Tarizon Trilogy, begins after a series of super volcanic eruptions nearly destroys all life on planet Tarizon. The planet is slowly recovering ecologically but the political situation is volatile. The fight is between the Purists who want to rid Tarizon of a growing mutant population and eliminate all non-human intelligent life-forms, and the Loyalists who want to restore the Supreme Mandate that guarantees freedom and basic rights for all humans ...more
BookMarc
If I had not read the synopsis of this novel the front cover would have put me off reading it. I think it’s those spaceships which remind me of a 70s sci-fi influence and took me back to television shows such as ‘Buck Rogers in the 21st Century’, ‘Space: 1999’ and the original version of ‘Battlestar Galactica’. It gave me the impression that I would be reading an outdated novel with very a corny plot. The first chapter of this young adult novel, predominantly aimed at males, done nothing to alle ...more
Rita
Jan 16, 2013 rated it it was ok
I didn't particularly liked how the book started, seemed like a lot of information was just dumped at the reader, made me think of a sequel. Is this a sequel?
Well that's the feeling I got, but if you just keep reading, things do get better and soon enough you are completely immersed in the story.
Other thing that I also didn't like were the descriptions of the political structure and government. They seemed too much and even repetitive. It's like the author had to keep asking me if I really under
...more
Monica
Oct 21, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Peter Turner has been abducted to Tarizon and declared the Liberator. It's a lot to take in for a 17 year old in a short period of time, especially if civil war really does break out as foretold.

Once I got past the how, why (as Peter also has to do), and who (same family of characters from the attorney mysteries which threw me at first), he was abducted, and just let myself into the story, this reality and environment really took hold.

Vivid and lush descriptions allow this new world to take shap
...more
Jordan
I received my copy of Tarizon Volume I: The Liberator through the Goodreads FirstReads program. I found the other two in the clearance section of Half Price Books and picked them up cheap. This in no way influences my review, aside from the fact that I probably never would have read these books otherwise.

In short, this isn't a terrible book. It has numerous flaws, but it at least manages to be somewhat entertaining. There may have been a day when you had few better offerings in the field of YA l
...more
El-jorro
Dec 13, 2017 rated it did not like it
Bookworm Speaks!

Tarizon: The Liberator

by William Manchee

****
Acquired: Dallas Public Library Book Sale
Series: Tarizon Trilogy (Book 1)
Hardcover: 370 pages
Publisher: Top Publications, Ltd.; 1 edition (November 1, 2009)
Language: English
Subject: Children’s Books, Science Fiction and Fantasy

****
The Story: When a teenager discovers his father is working on a secret government project with aliens from the planet Tarizon, the project is compromised and Peter Turner must accept exile or be killed. Tarizo
...more
Janelle Dazzlepants
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kalpit
Jun 14, 2013 rated it really liked it
Interesting concept and well set plot...

The Liberator is composed of all the elements varying from, spaceships, aliens, mutants, military intrigue, wars, conflicts, assassinations, advance technologies, heroes, villains and a pondering high school student Peter Turner traveling to a planet of Tarizon and surrounded by vicious aliens.
Fast paced and high action thriller pack, Just about everything a science fiction novel can offer.

Though I was not immediately pulled into the story, but the things
...more
Barb
Mar 10, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I received this as a Goodreads First Reads giveaway and had no prior experience with the author. The problem with this became apparent as the first chapter of the book draws heavily on events and characters from Manchee's previous series about the protagonist's father, Stan Turner, an attorney involved with a top secret CIA operation to hide alien presence on Earth. Confusing? Very.

The plot line is rather unique and it kept my interest. The action comes fast and steady with very few low points.
...more
Jami16
Dec 08, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Tarizon: The Liberator is an interesting book that one could read a lot into. Taken as it seems to be intended as a science fiction book aimed at teens and young adults it is quite an interesting story and the fact that the hero is seventeen years old when the story opens will definitely appeal to the younger crowd. Peter Turner stumbles onto the knowledge that aliens live among us in the US, but even more disturbing than that discovery alone is that the US government is well aware of this and i ...more
Jeff
Dec 08, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
William Manchee’s book, “Tarizon: The Liberator,” will definitely appeal to young fans of science fiction but also is a well told story of good versus evil, with a likeable, young hero that will appeal to most readers, particularly the teen to twenty-something set. While this book starts with the premise that there are aliens from another planet living among us they are not so different to put off the casual reader. They look human with the only difference that they have gills. Their planet, Tar ...more
Blue
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Nancy Steinle gummel
The Liberator by William Manchee is part of a series of books about Tarizon, a planet similar to Earth. In fact the Tarzonians have been coming to earth for 50 years.They marry Earthlings, have children and return to Tarizon when the children are safe to travel. The government arranges for an accident so the grieving spouse is in the dark. Tarizon has a prophecy that a liberator will come when Tarzons two moons peak and he will befriend a rhuz. Peter fits the bill. He was forcibly taken from Ear ...more
Erin
Jun 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Peter Turner was abducted by aliens when searching for his father. After being taken to Tarizon, the home planet of the aliens, he learns that the people believe he is “The Liberator”. The Liberator is the one who will abolish slavery and bring down the evil Videl Lai. Peter believes they have the wrong person until he begins to see signs that he is actually special and possess incredible abilities. While working for the Loyalists to take down Videl Lai, he has to know who he can trust and who i ...more
Susan
Jun 30, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: for-review
I have to admit to not reading a whole lot of science fiction books, but I just absolutely love Manchee's books featuring Tarizon. I had read a couple of his Stan Turner mysteries that featured this storyline and was thrilled to read a story from Stan's son Peter's point of view. This book picks up with Peter's kidnapping, and I enjoyed getting to experience Tarizon and this new world through Peter's eyes as he experienced it and had to figure out this new world for himself. The book is full of ...more
Deborah
Oct 18, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I recieved "Tarizon: The Liberator" as an MP3. I have not had the opportunity to have experienced hearing a book on an MP3 before. Despite my lack of knowledge and how to move to an area I had not heard before when returning to the story after a break; I did manage to hear this young-adult sci-fi story. I enjoy sci-fi and young adult books so this was a great combiation.

A teenager, Peter Turner, knows something he should not know. The aliens must either kill him, or exile him to Tarizon; where
...more
Brent Soderstrum
Dec 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
I am not a big Sci-Fi fan but Manchee tells a great Sci-Fi tale. If you have read his Stan Turner mysteries you will see some connection in that Peter Turner plays a huge role in this book-he is the Liberator. Peter is captured and taken back to Tarizon. He fulfills the Prophecy which indicates he will save the people of Tarizon.

He starts off his adventures on Tarizon by impregnating his guide-Luci. He falls for Luci but the problem is that Luci already has a mate who was selected for her by th
...more
Luc
Jun 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: givaaways
I received the book in exchange of a honest review for the author. The Liberator is one of the most breathtakingly fantastic science-fiction books I have ever read. Peter Turner was the son of Stan Turner - the lawyer working for the CIA to stand the trials for the government to cover its stealthy connection with Tarizonians ( I believe that The Stan Turner Mysteries will give you a useful background of what happened to Stan; sadly, I still have not read it yet).Unfortunately Peter was exiled to ...more
Eric Breunig
Jan 03, 2011 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sharon M.
Jan 29, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Sharon by: vickimac3097@gmail.com
This book has everything a sci-fi fan could want: an alien world, mutants, conflict and civil war, spaceships, super-technology and chapters full of action! There is even romance for young Peter.

The reader is pulled into the story, learning along with Peter the language, customs, food, technology and warfare practices of this alien culture. The vivid descriptions of the planet will feel as if readers are there assisting the earthling as he struggles with doing what he believes is morally right.
...more
Denisa Howe
Feb 09, 2014 rated it really liked it
The Liberator is not my favorite book of Manchee’s but, it is a worthy read. The Second Chair and Dessert Storm were my favorite to date. This book, I feel is more for the YA era and filled with that which they would grab hold of and wish for a movie to be made of. This is the first book of a trilogy and the story does indeed need to continue.
The world in this reading is a bit different from the world we live in. It offers a lot in what it contains. There are aliens, Peter who is one you will fe
...more
Lasaki Redbird
Mar 23, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: owned, first-reads
i won this book in first reads by goodreads.
to be honest, i am not a very big fan of sci-fi. when i saw the summary of the book, i was like okay, whats the harm in giving it a go? it looked pretty interesting. and to my fortune,it was a good book.

it has everything one would look for if one is a big fan of adventure, drama (not literally), fights,heroes, aliens and yea ofcourse, advanced technology. i enjoyed the read, and it wasnt a short read. it is probably one of the long books i read so far
...more
James
My wife won volumes 1-3 and I'm currently reading vol. 2 "civil war".

The first note I would like to make is there are editing errors in these books. It's not hard to miss them. But, past that, in total not many cons.

This book is a good start for a series. The writing style is easy to read but not too simple and definitely caters to a young adult demographic. The plot is kind of a basic sci-fi/future/militaristic story that has been done in many different versions before, but it stands on it's ow
...more
Cince
Apr 06, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Liberator by William Manchee is a good story about a teenager who learns about man's involvement with an alien planet and gets whisked away from family, friends, home and Earth in order to preserve the secret about alien existence. While the story is good, much of it a bit hard to buy. Peter, the boy taken from Earth, is way too calm about his abduction and appears to adapt remarkably easy to life on an entirely different planet, with different types of peoples and customs. I may not be male ...more
Chris Yorgason
Feb 27, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-read
I received this book free through the Goodreads First Read giveaways. On the whole it was a pretty good book. A little language at the end, which was a surprise. As other reviewers have pointed out, the editing was atrocious. I don't really fault the author for that, but he needs a new editor. The story is about a young teenager who is abducted from earth to live on another planet (also populated by humans). He ultimately becomes known as the Liberator and helps his new planet fight for freedom. ...more
Robert Davis
Military intrigue, conspiracies, the CIA, spaceships, alien abductions and a prophecy promising a teenage savior, and this is just the beginning. Tarizon: The Liberator is the first of a YA+ science fiction trilogy.

This is something of a crossover continuation. William Manchee first introduced the alien world of Tarizon in his Stan Turner mysteries, "Cactus Island" and "Act Normal."

High school student, Peter Turner, is abducted by aliens to another planet. When he arrives on Tarizon he discove
...more
Travis
Jan 15, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
I got this book as a free give away and I would have to say I liked it. It should be known though that there are some errors in the book that really should be correct. The really started to appear at the end of the book. Not sure how well of an editing job took place. But the basis of the story is great. I will seek out the next book in the series and go read it. The one major complaint I have about the book is the love story between Peter and his mate. From that aspect it was kind of reading ab ...more
April
Oct 14, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
Very interesting story. Peter is an average 17 year old on Earth, suddenly he is taken to Tarizon, a plant out of the galaxy, and told that he is the "Liberator" who will free Tarizon from slavery!
I liked how the story is told from Peter's point of view and I was able to follow his adventures as he learned and accepted the Liberator prophecy.
At first I wasn't sure if I was going to be able to keep track of all the names, places and what was going on in the story, as there is quite a lot, but a
...more
Kelly Clevinger Bernard
Jan 13, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
**I received a copy of this book through Goodreads First Reads.**

I really struggled in the beginning because I felt a lot of information was thrown at me all at once. As I kept reading the characters and story kept getting better. Sometimes I felt that Peter was not actually on a different planet in a different solar system. It felt like Tarizon was trying to be too much like Earth. Overall, I am glad I read this book but it was not as good as I had hoped. One other thing, the cover of the hardb
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • T.I.T.O.R.
  • Galaxy of Heroes (Galaxy of Heroes, #1)
  • To Cure the Humans!
  • Long Gone Daddies
  • Dryad
  • Blood and Steam (The Tinkerer's Daughter, #3)
  • Connected to the Stars
  • Corpse Prince
  • The Starlight Fortress
  • Prasanga (In the Underground World #1)
  • Forthright and Clement (The Un-Named Chronicles #1)
  • Shadow Guardians
  • The Children of Gavrilek
  • Seeds of Transition (The Genesis Project, #1)
  • A Father's Son
  • Crescent Lake
  • Zombie Cinderella II: The Ball (Zombie Fairy Tales #6)
  • The Prince of Lies (Night's Masque, #3)
163 followers
William Manchee is an attorney by trade and practices consumer law in Dallas with his son Jim. Originally from southern California, he now lives in Plano, Texas.
More about William Manchee

Other books in the series

Tarizon (3 books)
  • Tarizon: Civil War
  • Conquest Earth (Tarizon Trilogy #3)

Fantasy & Science Fiction Deals

  • Son of the Dawn (Ghosts of the Shadow Market #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Sanctuary (Nomad, #2)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Genome (The Extinction Files #2)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • The Jewel (The Lone City, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Mechanica (Mechanica, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Wired (Wired, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Bandwidth (An Analog Novel Book 1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Sufficiently Advanced Magic (Arcane Ascension, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns, #1)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Bees
    $12.99 $1.99
  • The Land: Founding (Chaos Seeds, #1)
    $2.99 $1.49
  • The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, #1)
    $12.99 $2.99
  • Fool's Assassin (The Fitz and The Fool Trilogy, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Gone (Gone, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Friday
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Dhalgren
    $17.99 $1.99
  • Moon Chosen (Tales of a New World #1)
    $8.51 $2.99
  • Homeworld (Odyssey One, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Recurve (The Elemental Series, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Deviants (Dust Chronicles #1)
    $4.49 $0.99
  • Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles, #1)
    $6.49 $1.99
  • The Kill Society (Sandman Slim, #9)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Out of the Black (Odyssey One, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Acacia: The War with the Mein (Acacia, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Menagerie
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Infinite (Gates of Thread and Stone #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Black Bird of the Gallows
    $7.99 $0.99
  • Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson, #8)
    $8.99 $2.99