Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Long-lost Map (Ulysses Moore, Book 2)” as Want to Read:
The Long-lost Map (Ulysses Moore, Book 2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Long-lost Map

(Ulysses Moore #2)

4.01  ·  Rating details ·  2,824 ratings  ·  132 reviews
Jason, Julia, and Rick have crossed through the Door to Time into ancient Egypt, a land of labyrinths, riddles, and secrets. But when the passageway collapses around them, Julia ends up back at home, in the present - with the door shut tight behind her. Now the boys are trapped in the past, and there's just one way to get back to Argo Manor. They must find the long-lost ma ...more
Audio CD
Published June 1st 2006 by Brilliance Audio (first published 2005)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Long-lost Map, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Long-lost Map

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.01  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,824 ratings  ·  132 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Long-lost Map (Ulysses Moore, Book 2)
Ana
Feb 03, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Im FLYING through these books!

This one was so much better than the first one! Really loved every character!

I just wish Julia didn’t lose the key in the end, she shouldnt have dropped it for real, she could have simply pretended.
And the boys could have been smarter in the end, regarding the map but i’m sure it will all work out

Other than that, LOVED IT
Bonnie
This book was better than the first in the series. That one all felt like a gearing up to this one.

At the end of the last book, twins Julia and Jason, and their friend Rick found a magic boat that took them to ancient Egypt. That's where they are at the beginning of this book.

Very soon after they reach Egypt, Julia finds herself back at Argo Manor in the present, but Jason and Rick cannot get back. They find out Ulysses Moore, the previous owner of Argo Manor, had also been in ancient Egypt, an
...more
Tyas
Dec 13, 2009 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
Finally I finished reading the second book! I really love Jason and Rick. Not that I don’t like Julia, but her role is not too big in this book, she being returned to Argo Manor as she walked through the door in an attempt to escape a falling wall in the City of Punt. (If you have forgotten, that’s the city to which the magic ship Metis, hidden in a grotto under Argo Manor, brought the twins and Rick at the end of the first book.)

Even so, she underwent a great shock, when during a fight with Man
...more
Eirini Robin
Apr 27, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Eirini by: Yannis
Wish I was younger to first read this book and the previous one! It is gonna fit perfectly to any kid 8-13 that seeks for adventure and has got a vivid imagination :)
Yet at the age of 18+, I found it quite nice and easy-to-read-on-a-boring-day. It made me feel much better as it brought back reading memories of similar series of books like "The Five" and so on... I thought that the writing style was rather simplified but, really now, what on earth was I expecting??? It is not actually adressed to
...more
Alex
Apr 03, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The adventure continues, for the twins and their friend. This time, the action gets divided in two parts: Ancient Egypt and the old Argo Manor.

In both settings there are difficulties for the heroes to overcome. Although with Julia, the story gets more informative, allowing for some answers to the previously unsolved questions of the first book. And with Jason and Rick, more mysteries are presented.

The bad guys get "baddier", and there's also the chance to see things from their point of view, whi
...more
FotiniP
Aug 23, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Actual rating: 3.50
It was okay, not quite as good as the first one but luckinly I hadow expectations starting this book and it fullfilled those. I don't usually read these kind of books, I'm more of a young adult reader, but it wasn't bad and I'd recommend it if you like this genre
Filipe
Sep 27, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
definitely the 1st book is better
Kellam Venosky
Mar 10, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Perfect blend of Egyptian mythology and betrayal. Such a great read!
Mark Buxton
My name is Rick, and I was so excited yesterday to be invited into Argo Manor, that huge, strange house up by the ocean cliffs. Twenty-four hours later I find myself in ancient Egypt, standing in a dark room full of hundreds of slimy snakes. Jason and I can't get back through the time-traveling door until we solve the riddle clues left by Ulysses Moore. We must find a map hidden in The Room That Isn't There, but everyone says the room and map don't really exist. That doesn't make sense. A young ...more
Christian Fils-Aime
What I like about this book is that it has multiple themes. It has adventure. It has mystery and it kind of has a subtle sci-fi aspect because it has time travel. If you are like me and you are reading this for a project, this is perfect since it takes place in Ancient Egypt. It has lots of vocabulary, some of which I probably never would have heard of if it wasn’t for this book. But if you do want to read this book it is the second book in a series so you might get confused at some point, if yo ...more
Madelief Albers
Jun 20, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the second book in one of my favourite childhood series. Whereas the first book might be a bit slow for some readers, the second one is packed full with action. We slowly learn more and more about the mysterious Mr and Mrs Moore and their adventures.
Cory
Jan 18, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is quite cheesy, and I'm not totally on board with the characters yet, but the series is growing on me.
Claud10
Jun 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Even though it's a series for younger people I love it, it has a lot of adventures and fun times. I can't wait to read the next one.
tarun mishra
Jul 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Got to know just now that it's a long series... An awesome one though
Daniel Lim
Aug 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
In this book you might find out that world is not fair. And you will never forgive Ovlivia Newton for what she did at last. I'm still mad at her even I'm on book six.
Jaden
A lit book but i think they should have the books before this at the back so people know what book was first.
Eva Fontcuberta
I think it doesn’t have any excitement. I started this series because I love the authors other series but I don’t like this one.
Swaraj
Apr 22, 2020 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
pretty good
Jane
Jun 12, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another good MG book. I read this aloud to my 9 year old brother and he thoroughly enjoyed it! The twists and turns are great.
Bianca
Also cute and...most of the scene's are in ancient Egypt!
Becky B
Sep 13, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: kids who like fantasy or time-travel
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Maya Mich
Nov 22, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When Jason and Julia move into their new house at Argo Manor, all they expected was to continue their normal lives, but what they did not know is the danger, thrill and adventure that is coming their way. Their is far more than meets the eye to their new house and the mysterious previous owner, Ulysses Moore and his wife. In "A Door to Time", the first book of the series, Julia, Jason and Rick discovered a magical door in Argo Manor. This was a door that held many secrets and great adventure fo ...more
Lillian
I chose this book because I found it in my library, and I decided to read it. Plus, my sister told me it was a pretty good story! This story is about three friends named Jason, Julia, and Rick. Jason and Julia are brother and sister and Rick is their friend. The three friends find a door called the Door to Time. They step inside it and find themselves in the past. But, when something goes wrong, Julia is sent back home in the present day and Jason and Rick are stuck in the past with no way out. ...more
Michael
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Lady Knight
I fully intend to finish reading this series, but this book was definitely not as good as the first one.
The whole gang is back and the book picks up exactly where the last one left off. The kids are in Ancient Eygpt (the land of Punt to be exact), or will be as soon as they get the door open. Maruk, a girl their age, helps them out by breaking down a wall in a storage room in the House of Life (a grand building that contains a copy of every important written document every made - or close enoug
...more
Windy Teha
This book is a light and fun read. A perfect read for children, specifically the ones who love mystery. Because while they'll enjoy the adventures of the kids in this book, they'll also being educated by learning new things.

Personally for me, it's so refreshing to read such book. I've been reading heavy books with teenager/adult as main characters so much that i forgot how much i miss being a kid reading kid books. So it's giving me a nostalgic feeling.

But the cons of this book is that you'll
...more
Rachel
Sep 09, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book takes place for the majority of the story in ancient Egypt. Because of that, there is a lot of talk of gods and tarot cards. Mostly it was written in the sense of historical or religious, not having much to do with the plot, other than the kids seeing statues of Egyptian gods.

One character says to call him either Mammon or Lucifer, which I saw no purpose to as it was very clearly written that he was a man, not a demon or the like.

I quite enjoyed the story, seeing nothing specifically
...more
Abbi
Jan 05, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Samantha
Oct 31, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2012
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
fantasy 2 8 Oct 08, 2008 08:35PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Karolcia
  • Tajemnica klejnotu Nefertiti (Kroniki Archeo, #1)
  • L'albero di Idhunn (La ragazza drago, #2)
  • L'eredità di Thuban (La ragazza drago, #1)
  • Dzieci z Bullerbyn
  • Pusta noc (Żniwiarz, #1)
  • Syzyfowe prace
  • Felix, Net i Nika oraz Gang Niewidzialnych Ludzi (Felix, Net i Nika, #1)
  • Ghost Hunter (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, #6)
  • La bambina della sesta luna (La Bambina della Sesta Luna, #1)
  • Oath Breaker (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, #5)
  • In Desert and Wilderness
  • O psie, który jeździł koleją
  • Outcast (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness, #4)
  • Sepatu Dahlan
  • Surat Dahlan
  • El coleccionista de relojes extraordinarios
See similar books…
P.D. BACCALARIO was born in Acqui Terme, a beautiful little town in the Piedmont region of Northern Italy. He grew up in the middle of the woods with his three dogs and his black bicycle. He loves seeing new places and discovering new lifestyles, although, in the end, he always returns to the comfort of familiar ones.

Other books in the series

Ulysses Moore (1 - 10 of 18 books)
  • The Door to Time (Ulysses Moore, #1)
  • The House of Mirrors (Ulysses Moore #3)
  • The Isle of Masks (Ulysses Moore #4)
  • Kamienni Strażnicy (Ulysses Moore #5)
  • La Première Clef (Ulysses Moore #6)
  • A Cidade Escondida (Ulysses Moore, #7)
  • El Señor De Los Rayos (Ulysses Moore #8)
  • Il labirinto d'ombra (Ulysses Moore #9)
  • El país del hielo (Ulysses Moore #10)
  • Ogród Popiołu (Ulysses Moore #11)

Related Articles

Children's books featuring bold and brave girls are both becoming easier for parents to find, and also cover a large range of...
130 likes · 47 comments
“Is er eigenlijk iets wat jullie wél weten? - Maruk” 0 likes
“Je hebt toch gehoord wat die oude man zei?'
'Zeker weten. Hij zei: "Har! Har!" En daarna spuugde hij in die bak.”
0 likes
More quotes…