Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Super” as Want to Read:
Super
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Super

by
4.31  ·  Rating details ·  61 Ratings  ·  21 Reviews
Need a new job? Does the world need another superhero? You see the connection, don’t you? If you had the chance to save lives…could you handle the adventure? The pressure, the risk, the grotesque, the insane? Most of all, could you handle your humanity? Update your resume, ‘cause here we go. Either stick with being sucked down further into your life, or earn the lift-off o ...more
Paperback, 244 pages
Published November 10th 2010 by Emergency Press (first published November 8th 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Super, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Super

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Nefariousbig
Jan 28, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviewed
Apparently, contrary to what the voices have told me, I am NOT SUPER . I am not cut out of SUPER material, and I do not have a SUPER power. Apparently, the only SUPER powers that I have are ADHD, OCD, and something my mother calls L.A.Z.Y. I am told that without the proper SUPER medication, I will be put in a SUPER nice place, with SUPER awesome drugs, and other SUPER crazy people who have no SUPER powers either. That's just fucking SUPER! Although, it does sound a lot like my last vaca...... w ...more
Ben Loory
Oct 26, 2010 rated it it was amazing
i really loved this book; it kind of blew my mind. i even wrote a blurb for it. here it is:

Most books spiral downward, but this one spirals up, building ever more fanciful and heartbreaking worlds as it goes, chapter after chapter. In the end you’re left with a view of life–almost a philosophical system; yet it’s the most fun I’ve had reading a book in years. It’s like Shazam and the X-Men teaching Zen.
Aaron Dietz
Oct 04, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Recommends it for: people who liked House of Leaves, or who like interesting book design.
As of 2010, probably the best novel I've ever written. That I know of.
David Katzman
Apr 29, 2011 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Short story fans, superhero fans, and fans of quirky subject matter
How was it? Super, thanks for asking! I quite enjoyed this book. It’s a very fast read, actually, and I powered it down. Which makes sense given that it’s about superheroes. Get it? Powered it down? Sorry, I’ll go back to sleep.

Okay, I’m awake again. Where was I? Ah, Super. It’s quite a charming concept. You are applying for a job as a superhero with the local city government. (Turns out … superhero jobs don’t pay all that well.) The book consists of a series of these applications as you attempt
...more
Michele
Oct 04, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-in-2010
Entirely unique. Super is a nice mix of poetic justice and witty commentary on government bureaucracy - great for fans of Parks and Recreation - its told through a series of standardized tests, including reading comprehension on several beautiful vignettes, comics, and poems, which provide insight into the different super heroes and their hopes and difficulties. It's a great mix of everything - action, adventure, despair, romance, self-loathing and even a laugh out loud musical scene. I would re ...more
Pei Lin
Nov 05, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Do you like solving puzzles? Do you enjoy playing word games? Can you handle a novel without knowing which page you are on? Through standardized training documents and psychological assessment questions, you experience life as a superhero in Pike County. As you advance through levels, the layout and the content of the book get quirkier. There are stories of heartbreak, tales that make you worry about the characters – characters you care about, and humor that pokes fun at bureaucracy through the ...more
Heidi
Feb 06, 2013 rated it really liked it
I had so much fun reading this book. I intended to buy a bazillion copies - it seems like it would be a great gift book for coworkers leaving for a new job, for new college students, for anyone needing a nudge, encouragement, motivation to move in a new direction in life. I haven't bought a bazillion copies yet. I still plan to do it someday. That quantity may be a bit of an exaggeration.
Elizabeth
Dec 27, 2010 rated it it was amazing
This was a really fun read that also made me think. I loved the structure in the form of the superhero job application process. The VCR (virtual combat room) simulation exercises were hilarious. And the psychological assessments in the form of written documents for comprehension allowed for an interesting variety of forms and styles. Each one was fascinating. I particularly enjoyed the comprehension questions that followed the reading. The questions were quite funny, and they often made me think ...more
shawn
Oct 29, 2010 rated it really liked it
I've known this book since it was a baby, and now it's all grown up![return][return]I'm not the most unbiased reviewer, having helped a bit here and there, but in spite of that, I think I can say that this is one of the most clever takes on the superhero genre I've seen.[return][return]Just imagine that your superheroes worked for a government agency, not a super government agency, but one that you might find as part of your local city or county government. (Don't get me wrong! These are human b ...more
Sean Beaudoin
Dec 30, 2010 rated it really liked it
There's a lot of super hero material out there, and most of it is derivative and rote. This is a totally new take on the genre, mostly since it's not a genre piece at all. It's a really smart and regularly hilarious satire of both mind-numbing hiring processes (think Hardees counter boy application) and super hero down-time miscellany. Rubber bands and bottles of wine and corporate-style training exercises. When the action comes it's funny and unexpected, but it's really about the inherent banal ...more
Tom Hansen
Nov 22, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Super is super. I'm not a big fan of superheroes to tell you the truth, and I usually prefer plain old narratives with a good storyline. But Dietz has accomplished something extraordinary with Super, as you read levels of character depth and thematic complexity emerge very subtly, sneaking in the back door of the reader. In the hands of a lesser writer the form of the novel (documents, charts, reports, application forms, etc) would seem gimmicky, but here it is in the service of something greate ...more
Tara
Apr 26, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Huge fan. Fascinating look into the mind of a madman.
Jaime K
May 02, 2015 rated it really liked it
I won this in a goodreads giveaway. I did notice a typo with Level IV: it says that Document I is included at that level, but it's not, and not given until Level V.


Did you know that part of a superhero's orientation in Pike County, they have to learn that their fans can get them killed? Why don't celebrities have the same type of orientation? Fans might prevent me from being SUPER.
I don't know where Pike County is but I do know it's not in Iran where one of the superheroes is from.

There is a Vir
...more
Tyler
May 02, 2011 rated it really liked it
My rating should actually be about 3.5, but since I can't do that, 4 is fine, if a little high.

This is a good book, hell, it's quite a good book. It has a really cool idea to it, very original, and does it well. Anybody with an interest in superheroes (I don't hesitate to say that's most people) can find something to enjoy here.

Unfortunately I found some of it just repetitive and uninteresting. When it got to the story it was fine, but the actual resume parts and whatnot were skippable since a l
...more
Scott Waldyn
Apr 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Innovative. Unique. Satirical. Heartfelt. 'Super' is as fresh and inventive as it is an amazing superhero tale. Written as a series of job applications with various pieces of documentation to provide supplemental details, this was one of the most creative reads I've ever indulged in. A lot of thought was put into this book's construction, and though it aims to tell a story mined from the classic superhero mythos, 'Super' is the freshest take I've read.

Even if one doesn't like superheroes, this
...more
Casondra
Feb 24, 2012 rated it really liked it
Look inside and find your own superhero.
Jack Maness
Jan 09, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Great format. The story unfolds almost without narrative. Totally tantalizing.
Meghann
Jan 17, 2011 rated it it was ok
So... I am not sure how to review this book. I thought the idea was clever and enjoyed the beginning and parts of the end but the parts in the middle were a little slow. I am not sure if I am just to slow or uncool to get this fully but it felt like I was on the outside of an inside joke... not that the book is a joke but... like feeling left out not quite getting it. Could just be me though.
Louis Singley
I wanted to like this book since it was such a unique way of telling the story and for the first half I did. After that reading the forms seemed more of a chore and I barely managed to stick with it. There were better parts near the end that were more entertaining, but overall I can't really say this format worked all that well.
Becca
Mar 01, 2012 rated it it was ok
Having an application process in order to become a superhero is an entertaining concept, but I wish the book had gone beyond just listing scenarios and questions and actually delved into the applicants.
Eric Rosenfield
Sep 24, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2012, superheroes
A surprisingly readable and absorbing experimental novel about superheroes, structured around a series of exams for a superhero registration organization.
Waynmethod
rated it liked it
Mar 03, 2014
Nellie Waddell
rated it it was amazing
Dec 10, 2012
Blair T
rated it liked it
Sep 06, 2013
Grace Sain
rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2014
H
rated it liked it
Mar 13, 2012
Ben
rated it really liked it
Jan 09, 2013
Pia
rated it really liked it
Apr 11, 2014
Kyle Henry
rated it it was amazing
Sep 23, 2014
Wstr
rated it liked it
Jan 06, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book Club Discussion Guide Questions 1 4 Feb 24, 2011 12:06AM  
  • Superhero
  • Doctor Who: Prisoners of Time
  • Great Fire of London: A Story with Interpolations and Bifurcations
  • The Penguin Book of Gaslight Crime: Con Artists, Burglars, Rogues, and Scoundrels from the Time of Sherlock Holmes
  • A Greater Monster
  • Phenomenal Girl 5 (Elite Hands of Justice, #1)
  • The Man Who Turned Into Himself
  • American Junkie
  • Out Where The Buses Don't Run
  • Or Something Like That
  • Hose Monkey (Joe Serpe, #1)
  • Compendium Maleficarum: The Montague Summers Edition
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric and Discredited Diseases
  • It Came From Hell and Smashed the Angels
  • Doom Patrol, Vol. 6: Planet Love
  • Dreams
  • Aristeia: Revolutionary Right (Aristeia, #1)
  • Flee
37 followers
Aaron Dietz is the author of Super , a novel from Emergency Press about commitment, crisis, paperwork, and heartbreak. Dietz's super powers include a high metabolism and the ability to put things back where he got them. He's also pretty good at math.

As an instructional designer, Dietz has written online high school courses on computer programming, green design, and 3-D video game creation. It’s n
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »