Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Measure of the Universe” as Want to Read:
The Measure of the Universe
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Measure of the Universe

by
4.45  ·  Rating details ·  22 Ratings  ·  11 Reviews
"Studded with clever double entendres and puns, this makes an engaging read for language lovers" -Booklist


Literary science fiction - 36,000 words.


From the back cover:


A wide-eyed archeologist from Antares arrives in the Greek isles to study ancient inscriptions with a sharp-tongued professor of paleography. Blundering through the lexical labyrinth, they search for love amon
...more
ebook
Published August 1st 2012 by SagaSF (first published June 1st 2002)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Measure of the Universe, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Measure of the Universe

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-53)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Isis
This was an entertaining book, though it took a little bit for me to get into the story, or should I say to discern the true story as it was unfolding. Very creative blending of fact & fiction, history & science fiction, and a fascinating approach to both human history as we know it, and one potential path for humanity to travel over the coming centuries.

I found the proposed parallels interesting, up to, and including, the concept of the physical manifestation of love. There is a truly i
...more
F.T.
Nov 07, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
This is a neat story. It's intriguing, thoughtful and beautifully written. What struck me most is the author's reverence for all things language: writing, words, communication and perception. It expands on these concepts in a fascinating way, through the interaction -- and romance -- between a human woman and a highly advanced alien. Awesome. It made me think about things.
Terri
Jul 14, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I attended a reading (from this book) by the author and instantly fell in love with the light, frothy, comedic feel of the book, so I snapped up a (SIGNED!) copy. I swallowed this book down in a few hours and now I don't know what to say except, "Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!"

This book is sweet, funny, thoughtful, moving, sad, and thought-provoking. Larson does a phenomenal job making the visiting aliens both alien and advanced (beyond humans). Too often I get impatient with the "you're too dumb t
...more
Liz
Aug 09, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Wildly creative and intelligent, this is a stretch-your-preconcieved ideas kind of book. So much of what we assume is evolution is questioned. It begs the questions, "What is higher thinking? And, if we had a chance to engage an otherworldly person, would we be able to open our minds to understand a different kind of rationale?" I will also add that for all the scientific jargon used, it is a warmly human and humane story. I loved it, loved being in Greece, loved the well-rounded characters.
Barb
Feb 07, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
Consider what it would be like to work with a scientist from an inconceivably advanced culture. This book presents just such a scenario. That the science is paleography and there is also the enjoyment of playing with language in all sorts of ways. Very enjoyable.
Lkai
Feb 27, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: best-reads-ever
This is going on my top best reads list.

A story about words; crafted with precise language and entendre. A love story. A philosophical debate about superior and inferior vs advanced and primitive. Fanatisism. Commonality between disparate cultures.
Susan Larson
Sep 17, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a witty, many-layered story that manages to be light-hearted and profound at the same time. I've read it twice with pleasure.
J.L. Dobias
Dec 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: SFand SFF fans should enjoy this
Shelves: book-shelf-09
The Measure of the Universe by Ellen Larson

This novel is a well written and well rounded piece that stands alone as a great addition to any Science Fiction lovers collection. But, if you are interested there is a bit of story behind the story that can be obtained by following the web links to the author's apology.

The novel itself is short but filled with a lot of thoughtful information. The nub of the story boils down to some basic things. In the world of R.H. Herman and Dr. Aisha Thanau aliens
...more
Ellen Larson
Dec 16, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: sf
"Studded with clever double entendres and puns, this makes an engaging read for language lovers" -Booklist (click to read complete review)click to read complete review)

"Bookstore workers will hate trying to figure out where to shelve The Measure of the Universe, which cleverly weaves mystery, romance, and wordplay into a twenty-first century tale." -Strange Horizons (click to read complete review)

"Enthusiastically recommended" -MWBR" (click to read complete review)

Dr. Thanau is an interesting he
...more
Echo
Sep 17, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jared
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2013
Ricki Boden
rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2016
Charlie
rated it liked it
Jul 10, 2014
Maxwell Pearl
rated it it was amazing
Jun 15, 2015
Barbara
rated it liked it
Jun 01, 2015
Kashif Mahmood
rated it it was amazing
Aug 14, 2012
Thomas J. Hubschman
rated it really liked it
Aug 31, 2012
Adrianne D. Brand
rated it did not like it
Sep 19, 2018
Nightwing
rated it it was amazing
Dec 07, 2016
Cynthia Weitz
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2014
Divine
rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2012
J.D. Daniels
rated it it was amazing
Apr 12, 2014
Jonathan Pettit
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2012
Catherine
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2012
Jenny Housley
marked it as to-read
Mar 22, 2012
Danielle
marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2012
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2012
Jess
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2012
Andrew
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2012
Linda
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2012
Deejay Jayaram
marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2012
Mohammed Abdelkader
is currently reading it
Aug 23, 2012
Bharati
is currently reading it
Aug 24, 2012
Toufik Djouama
is currently reading it
Aug 24, 2012
Anna
is currently reading it
Aug 25, 2012
Chris Blezard
is currently reading it
Aug 25, 2012
Becky
is currently reading it
Aug 29, 2012
Camila
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2012
Michael Smith
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2012
Hanny Aguswan
is currently reading it
Sep 15, 2012
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2012
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2012
Tema
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2012
Jackie Ng
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2012
T.
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2012
Lacey
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2012
Stephanie Michelle
marked it as to-read
Dec 29, 2012
Benjamin Thornton
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2013
Amadeus
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2013
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Shut Up & Read: Free SF Kindle Download this Weenend 2 13 May 25, 2013 10:24AM  
  • Twin-Bred (Twin-Bred #1)
  • A Larger Universe
  • The Millstone Prophecy (Dax McGowan #1)
  • Bangkok Bob And The Missing Mormon
  • An Unlikely Hero (Alfie Bowman Novellas, #1)
  • Gator Aide (Rachel Porter, #1)
  • The Christmas Key: A Christmas Advent-ure
  • Pirates (Nastragull #1)
  • In the Shadow of Babylon
  • Heaven 2.0
  • Outside Context Problem (Outside Context Problem, #1)
  • The Riddle of Prague (The QuickSilver Legacy Series) (Volume 1)
  • Natural Selection
  • Human Sister
  • The After/Life
  • Travels in Elysium
  • Weak Flesh
  • The Memory Eater