Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “L'educazione sentimentale” as Want to Read:
L'educazione sentimentale
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

L'educazione sentimentale

by
3.83  ·  Rating details ·  15,910 ratings  ·  628 reviews
L'indolente esistenza di Frédéric Moreau, giovane inquieto e scontento, dalle vaghe ambizioni artistiche e sociali, si dipana attraverso esperienze deludenti e infelici. Una lenta usura, che non risparmia nemmeno l'amore tenero e profondo per Madame Arnoux, corrode inesorabilmente la sua sofferta e egotistica interiorità. Da qualcuno considerato il capolavoro di Flaubert, ...more
Paperback, I grandi libri Garzanti #33, 375 pages
Published June 10th 2004 by Garzanti (first published April 15th 1869)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about L'educazione sentimentale, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about L'educazione sentimentale

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.83  · 
Rating details
 ·  15,910 ratings  ·  628 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Paul Bryant
Sep 30, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: abandoned, novels
This one is often described as “the novel to end all novels” and I understand why – when you are reading it you say to yourself very frequently “if this is what novels are like I am never going to read another one in my entire life”.

From about page 50 until when I stopped, I was having these strong bibliocidal fantasies. I thought – maybe I will leave this accidentally on the bus to work. But I forgot to forget it, like that country song. Then I thought – maybe a column of army ants will chomp
...more
Ahmad Sharabiani
858. L'Éducation sentimentale = Sentimental Education, Gustave Flaubert
Sentimental Education (French: L'Éducation sentimentale, 1869) is a novel by Gustave Flaubert. Considered one of the most influential novels of the 19th century, it was praised by contemporaries such as George Sand and Émile Zola, but criticised by Henry James. The story focuses on the romantic life of a young man at the time of the French Revolution of 1848.
تاریخ نخستین خوانش: روز پانزدهم ماه آوریل سال 2009 میلادی
عنوان: تربی
...more
Fionnuala
As was the case with Madame Bovary, which I read recently, this book demanded to be commented on as I read, so I posted lots of quips and quotes in the updates.
While searching for illustrations for those updates, I began to notice strong parallels between Flaubert’s mid-nineteenth century story and Honoré Daumier’s cartoons for French illustrated newspapers of the same period. Finding so many amusing pairings between scenes in the book and Daumier’s illustrations made reading this book a double
...more
Manny
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
MJ Nicholls
An exhausting thrill-ride through the zany world of womanising socialite Frédéric, or—for the first 300 pages, at least—wannabe womanising socialite Frédéric. Because Frédéric can’t make it happen with his mate Arnoux’s missus, nor his mate Arnoux’s mistress, this frustration is the bane of his existence as he falls in and out of money, society and love. Against the backdrop of the 1848 Paris uprising this novel heaves with ornate descriptive grandeur, political commentary and violence, a frenet ...more
Alex
Mar 26, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Cabbage Patch AirPod holders
Shelves: 2019
A "sentimental education" means your first love, and if Frédéric’s not careful he isn’t going to learn shit from it. He’s an aimless, pointless little man, slowly failing to do anything whatsoever with his life. He’s in love with his friend’s wife, and you sortof wish they'd bang just so we'd all have something to watch.

“The story or the plot of a novel is quite indifferent to me,” though, Flaubert said. He wanted real life! He’s the champion of realism, the late 1800s movement away from moral l
...more
ZaRi
Jan 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: novel, classic
فلوبر در یک نامه در 1852 به لوییز کوله می نویسد:

"دوست دارم کتابي بنويسم درباره هيچ، کتابي که بر هيچ چيز بيروني که خارج از خود باشد دلالت نکند، کتابي که بتواند به نيروي دروني سبکش، روي پاي خودش بايستد، درست بدان گونه که کره زمين بي هيچ تکيه گاهي خود را در فضا نگاه دارد... کتابی بیهیچ وابستگی به دنیای بیرون، کتابی که به یمن نیروی درونی سبکش، قائم به ذات باشد، همچنان که زمین خود را در خلاء فضا نگه میدارد و از هر پایهای بینیاز است، کتابی که کموبیش هیچ موضوعی ندارد، یا دستکم موضوع آن نادیدنی است، الب
...more
peiman-mir5 rezakhani
دوستانِ گرانقدر، من این کتاب را با نامِ "آموزهٔ سهش ها" یا "آموزش عاطفی" میشناسم.. ولی آنچه برجسته است این است که هدفِ اصلی <گوستاو فلوبر> از نوشتنِ این کتاب، بیانِ احساساتِ بسیار زیادِ فرانسوی ها و همچنین برآیند ها و پی آمدهایِ شکستِ عشقی میباشد.... فلوبر چیزی در حدودِ هفت سال از عمرِ خویش را پایِ نوشتنِ این رمان نهاد
-------------------------------------------
شخصیتِ اصلی داستان، جوانی به نامِ <فردریک مُورو> میباشد.. فردریک در سالِ 1840 میلادی همراه با مادرِ خود به شهرِ "نوژان سور سن
...more
Nora Barnacle
Feb 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Floberovo "Sentimentalno vaspitanje" je knjiga koja počinje u ranoj mladosti, a završava se u ranoj starosti jednog pametnog, ali previše osećajnog Francuza sa umetničkim senzibilitetom, Frederika Moroa, na čijem primeru se pokazuje i kako ne tako surove životne okolnosti (izuzimajući Revoluciju koja je na nivou epizodnog lika u očima Frederika) vrlo lako mogu da ubuđave mladalačke snove i ambicije.

Istina, Frederik nije baš nevina žrtva: nije da se ne angažuje u cilju te propasti, sve i da je t
...more
notgettingenough

Finished. What an achievement. Writing it, not reading it.

I marvel that he has written a book with no character for which one could have a shred of sympathy and yet somehow we sit there caring what happens. I mean, really caring, reading through breakfast caring.

I kept thinking of The Great Gatsby when Nick says to Jay "They're a rotten crowd...You're worth the whole damn bunch put together." and isn't that what makes the book work, that there is somebody worthy of our caring. But here there is
...more
Geoff
Feb 23, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
*this book deserves anywhere between 4.2 and 4.7 stars


“Funny, how the things you have the hardest time parting with are the things you need the least.” (Bob Dylan)


With every work I read or reread by Flaubert, I am all the more convinced that he was the master craftsman, that he was master of attention to the tiny stuff, the small details that are layered brick by brick (word by word), the master of attention to even the mortar between the bricks, and master of raising the whole damn superstructu
...more
Bilal Y.
Apr 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Bir romancının, tarihsel gerçekliğin karakterini gölgelemesine izin vermemesini anlayışla karşılamak lazım. Ama eğer romanınızı üzerine kuracağınız karakteri kanın gövdeyi götürdüğü 1840'ların Fransa'sından seçiyorsanız işiniz hayli zor. Frederick Moreau etli sütlüye karışmasa da genç bir burjuva olarak sahnededir. Bir burjuva olması zaten tarihsel politik bir figür olduğunu gösteriyor. Ama siyasi çalkantıların olduğu yer ve zamanlarda dönemin kimi romancıları karakterlerine bu şekilde irade bağ ...more
Chrissie
I have read half. I am dumping this. I cannot bear another minute of it. A classic not worthy of its title nor its fame.

A book of historical fiction, it draws French society at the time of the 1848 French Revolution. Adulterous love affairs abound, yet they are drawn without a hint of passion! This is a book that does not even come close to fulfilling what the title implies.

The characters are flighty, self-important and totally uninteresting. They are cardboard figures drawn without depth.

The pl
...more
Perry
Jan 23, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: stela-eða-láni
While Crimes of Passion are All the Fashion, A Gentleman's Picturesque Ideations of Adulterous Procreation

Frederic Moreau comes of age in 1840s Paris. Given to flowery fancies of romance, he falls "in love" with Madame Arnoux, a lady at least a decade his senior, and becomes frustrated with the failed revolution of 1848, a Parisian fiasco. Flaubert said he set out to write a "moral history of the men of [his] generation...the history of their feelings... a book about love, about passion... in
...more
Dolors
Mar 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An educational reading indeed, either spiritually or rationally speaking.
The novel talks about the life of a young man, Frederic, during the French Revolution and the founding of the French Empire in 1848. It is said that Frederic is in fact Flaubert himself telling about some real events in his life and of course about his platonic love for an older woman, in the book, called Mme Arnoux.
We are able to follow, with a somehow ironic and pessimistic tone, a different set of characters who live th
...more
Shaghayegh.l3
Dec 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
موضوع کلی داستان ساده و چیزی نبود که قبلتر توی کتابی نخونده باشیم؛ اما امان، امان از جزئیات پرپیچوتاب و زیبای فلوبر. هروقت نیاز به جزئینگری در داستانی داشتید و حوصلهتون بهقدر کافی فراخ بود، این کتاب شما رو به دنیای دیگهای میبره. و تنها ایرادی که میتونم بگیرم موضوعات سیاسی-اجتماعیای بود که برای من خیلی جالب نبود و انگار با باقی کتاب حل نمیشد. به نوعی حس میکردم دارم کتابی از برادر داستایوسکی میخونم که اتفاقهای داستانش حول عشقی در رفتوآمد پیش میره. ...more
David Lentz
Jun 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The French word for sentiment is "sentiment" (san-tee-mon). So Flaubert is concerned essentially about what a young French man, presumably him, has learned about love and lust, affection and disaffection, friendship and betrayal, loyalty and disloyalty, admiration and disdain, and other sentiments. He writes precisely within the complex pixilist history of a turbulent political era for France as new liberal rights emerge versus the power of kings and their conservative bedfellows. There is blood ...more
Sandra
Ho letto l’ultima riga, ho chiuso il libro e sono stata colta da un’improvvisa tristezza, profonda come poche altre volte. Al contempo, però, sono soddisfatta perché ho letto un libro che non può non essere letto, imperdibile. E da ora in poi ne consiglierò a tutti la lettura. E’ “IL ” romanzo, per me. Perfetto, stupendo in ogni sua pagina, in ogni riga. Un mondo racchiuso in poco più di 500 pagine.
C’è il mondo di Frédéric Moreau, uno studente diciottenne che, intorno al 1840, lascia Parigi per
...more
Tony
Me: I don't like Flaubert.

The Chorus: What?!? What Else? Do you park in handicapped spaces? Do you not wash your hands after using the rest room? Do you chew with your mouth full? Snap your chewing gum? Do you refuse to do the Wave at sporting events? Do you ride in the passing lane even when you're not passing? Did you seriously not watch even a minute of the Kavanaugh Senate hearing? Do you laugh out loud at The Onion? Do you think it's possible the Second Amendment may be read too broadly by
...more
Kelly
Look, its Flaubert. I don't have any fault to find with this writing. But I've still got 100 pages to go and its been weeks and I have no intention of finishing this. I get these characters- way waaay too much. I want to claw my eyes out rather than spend any more time with them though.

So probably too good a job, M. Flaubert. But I'd prefer to spend time with Emma so many times over. Even at her most whiny.

Review to come.
Maria Thomarey
Aug 20, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Όταν είσαι 18 χρόνων και διαβάζεις αυτό το βιβλίο , σε σημαδεύει για όλη σου τη ζωή .
Nelson Zagalo
Tinha ficado algo apreensivo aquando da minha resenha de “Madame Bovary” (1856), mas aceitei que o problema fosse meu. Assumi que a obra tinha surgido numa fase embrionária do realismo na literatura, que tinha obrigado Flaubert a inovar e a abrir caminhos sem pauta para se orientar, e que por isso teria de ser condescendente por estar a quase dois séculos de distância. Mas ao chegar ao final de “A Educação Sentimental”, esta minha abordagem já não serve, porque passados 15 anos, Flaubert não alt ...more
·Karen·
Angry Young Men of the July Monarchy

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

There's Louis-Philippe, King of the French rather than of France, trying hard to look safely bourgeois rather than pompously regal. Wikipedia informs me to my delighted astonishment that he survived no less than SEVEN assassination attempts (you'd think he'd have got the message) including one that slithers into the realm of absurdity: Giuseppe Mario Fieschi built a device that consisted of 25 gun barrels fixed to a wooden frame, all of which could be fired a
...more
F.R.
Oct 31, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Long time friends will know I have a great love of the English novel of the nineteenth century, but, heavens, it’s a ponderous beast when compared to this work by Flaubert.

Written in 1869 this feels a far more modern novel , with a rapid pace which covers events in two chapters that it takes most contemporaneous novels a volume to deal with. Indeed it would be hard to imagine such a swift style ever use in 1800s Britain, if anything it feels more appropriate to a novel about 1960’s Carnaby Stre
...more
سوشی
Jun 09, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
خیال میکنم هنوز نمیتوانم رمان نو را درک کنم. مثل «جادهٔ فلاندر» که با هزار امید و آرزو شروع به خواندنش کردم و بعد با شلمشوربایی بیسروته مواجه شدم، تربیت احساسات هم ناامیدم کرد. در این رمان با یک جوان بیاراده، خجالتی و احساساتی مواجهیم که از اول تا آخر کتاب بین زنهای مختلف سرگردان است. هیچ کاری نمیکند، هیچ اتفاقی نمیافتد، و خواننده در نهایت به هیچ نتیجهای نمیرسد. خود فلوبر گفته بود «میخواهم کتابی دربارهٔ هیچ بنویسم. کتابی که خودبهخود در هوا معلق بماند» و همین کار را کرد. کتاب از ابتدا تا انتها شر ...more
Gabrielle Dubois
Oh, I who adore Flaubert! how is it that I haven’t liked The Sentimental Education? We wish so much we loved everything that comes from the ones we love, do we?

The Sentimental Education is the journey of a young man — Frederic, the man of all weaknesses — and other men, who dreams of great love and life, but who deliberately spoils himself in sordid loves. Indeed, the woman he loves is married and their love is impossible. Without living like a monk, the young man, whom Flaubert describes as bea
...more
Rick Slane
This was one of Franz Kafka's favorite books. A young upper class adult learns about love in turbulent 1840's Paris. Like Warren Zevon sang after reading this "I need some sentimental hygiene."
Lucas Sierra
Apr 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cuando terminé el quinto capítulo de la tercera parte tuve que cerrar el libro, pararme de la mesa, y caminar por toda la casa blandiendo en alto el puño, maldiciendo a Flaubert por haber hecho lo que hizo, por la injusticia tan aberrante que no es suya sino del mundo. La situación, si alguien quiere imaginarla con mayor claridad, incluye un apartamento con cuatro gatos en el que yo vocifero en contra del autor francés mientras mis padres duermen en la alcoba principal.

Sólo esa escena (la última
...more
Mohammad
Aug 12, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
هر قدر بیشتر شالوده ی ادم ها را امتحان می کنم، بیشتر متوجه می شوم که از بس می خواهند آزاد باشند خود را بنده می کنند و در نتیجه کوشش های بیهوده ای که برای تامین آزادی به خرج می دهند، آن میزان آزادی را هم که به دست آورده اند ضعیف می کنند
برای اینکه بتوانند در مقابل سیل حوادث مقاومت کنند، برای خود هزاران قید درست می کنند. آن وقت به محض اینکه می خواهند یک قدم بردارند نمی توانند و تعجب هم می کنند که چطور با این همه علاقه، باز نمی توانند


متن بالا دو بند مهم از «امیل» روسو بود. کتابی درباره تعلیم و تربی
...more
David
Sep 20, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Pretty much the best thing ever. Not really Maybe. Yeah, it's 500 pages long and about a guy who wastes his life and is incredibly selfish and everyone else he knows is even worse ). And yeah, not much happens, especially in the first 200 pages or so.

YET the book manages to be fucking intoxicating. The writing is precise, trenchant, etc, as expected, and perhaps because of this it is insanely simple to just get immersed in this world of 1840s Paris. (I know this is selling it on a pretty base l
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Hi, please combine these two books 3 26 Apr 12, 2019 01:25AM  
Trouble-free Ways You Can Try For Running A Popular School Website 1 1 Feb 27, 2019 04:38AM  
CA Coaching Classes 1 1 Dec 18, 2018 04:26AM  
Live Chat Lead Generation 1 1 Nov 26, 2018 03:31AM  
Science Dissertation Writing Help UK 1 1 Nov 26, 2018 02:37AM  
Sentimental Education 2 11 Nov 19, 2018 10:48PM  
Online Thesis Writing Help UK - British Dissertation Editors 1 1 Oct 15, 2018 04:44AM  
  • Ethan Frome and Selected Stories
  • Jacques the Fatalist
  • La Curée
  • Mademoiselle de Maupin
  • Lost Illusions (La Comédie Humaine)
  • بوستان سعدی
  • Pierre et Jean
  • Adolphe
  • The Charterhouse of Parma
  • La confession d'un enfant du siècle
  • The Counterfeiters
  • The Awakening and Selected Short Fiction
2,331 followers
Gustave Flaubert (December 12, 1821 – May 8, 1880) is counted among the greatest Western novelists. He was born in Rouen, Seine-Maritime, in the Haute-Normandie Region of France.

Flaubert's curious modes of composition favored and were emphasized by these peculiarities. He worked in sullen solitude, sometimes occupying a week in the completion of one page, never satisfied with what he had composed,
...more
“It’s hard to communicate anything exactly and that’s why perfect relationships between people are difficult to find.” 415 likes
“Years passed; and he endured the idleness of his intelligence and the inertia of his heart.” 34 likes
More quotes…