Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hanging Hill” as Want to Read:
Hanging Hill
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hanging Hill

3.87  ·  Rating details ·  4,762 Ratings  ·  526 Reviews
What if you found yourself divorced and penniless? With no skills and a teenage daughter to support? What if the only way to survive was to do things you never thought possible, to go places you never knew existed …

These are questions Sally has never really thought about before. Married to a successful business man, she’s always been a bit of a dreamer. Until now.

Her siste
...more
Hardcover, 428 pages
Published April 14th 2011 by Bantam Press (first published July 1st 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hanging Hill, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Dima This is what Mo Hayder has on her facebook account in regards to the sequel and the ending: "A lot of you are asking about Hanging Hill and if there…moreThis is what Mo Hayder has on her facebook account in regards to the sequel and the ending: "A lot of you are asking about Hanging Hill and if there is going to be a sequel. I know why you’re asking – it’s the ending isn’t it???!!! the truth is it was a deliberate choice to leave it like that and not in order to usher in a sequel – though I’m delighted you liked the characters enough to want a sequel. So no – the ending is like that because I’m evil and because I believe YOUR imagination is better able to fill in the spaces than mine is!"
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMoHayd...(less)
This question contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
Juliette I think... 1. Nial wrote it on the passenger seat, meaning the message for Sally's daughter, not for Sally. 2. My guess is that he was going to call…moreI think... 1. Nial wrote it on the passenger seat, meaning the message for Sally's daughter, not for Sally. 2. My guess is that he was going to call in an anonymous tip if the investigation ever got too close to him, but he was more than willing to let his friend take the blame.
That's what I came up with, but I'd like to know what others think as well...(less)

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Dannii Elle
No! No! No! That cliffhanger ending might have just ruined my life! And a little internet research tells me that a sequel isn't even on the cards!

Hanging Hill is the story of two sisters, opposites in everything and estranged until dark events bring them back together once again.

This is a classic Hayder novel, where I read this lightheaded from holding my breath in anticipation for the next fright I am sure to receive. And this never lets up throughout the whole novel! I have said it before but
...more
Gatorman
Sep 14, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Before the last ten pages or so I was about to give this terrific police procedural mystery 4 stars. It is, as always with Hayder, very well-written with an emphasis on a troubled protaganist trying to deal with major emotional and personal issues while trying to solve a brutal murder of a young girl. The dueling stories of two very different sisters was engaging and weaved together nicely. As I approached the ending, I was thinking that the story, while quite good, was not on the same level as ...more
Bill Khaemba

“I'm a post-menopausal woman who's lived in a man's world for twenty years. A more cynical, cruel creature it's hard to find.


Crime fiction is one of those genres that just feels right, when I get into the story and try to piece everything together. It especially difficult to come across one that takes the classic tropes and weaves it smartly but Mo Hayder has proven once again that she can own it. I came across her through a 7th book in the Jack Caffery  crime series, not knowing it was t
...more
Sharon Bolton
May 10, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I’m a big fan of Mo Hayder, particularly her Jack Caffery/Flee Marley series, but this stand-alone didn’t quite hit the spot for me.

Hanging Hill is the story of two sisters, estranged for many years but drawn together by the brutal murder of a teenage girl. DI Zoe Benedict is part of the investigation team. Sally Benedict is a struggling single mum whose daughter, Millie, was not only a friend of the victim but is also involved in some pretty unsavoury activities herself.

One of Hayder’s great
...more
Mary Gilligan-Nolan
Aug 26, 2011 rated it liked it
Went into the library this week, and there was "Hanging Hill", I could not believe it. I thought I'd be waiting months to get this in paperback. So, I was looking forward to reading it, being a big fan of Mo Hayder. Now, I' not quite sure where to start. I have mixed feeling about it. I was hooked on the story, but in part, it did not live up to my expectations. The editing was dodgy, an "eight-milligram camera chip"? come on, please, what the heck was that about, and there was reference to "a c ...more
Kelly Roll
Oct 21, 2013 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: listened-to
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Trish
Aug 31, 2012 rated it liked it
I had never read anything by Mo Hayder before, though I had seen the name. I had always thought the author was a man. Hayder is a mystery writer who earns one-word endorsements from other mystery writers: “Stunning,” “Haunting,” “Disturbing,” “Terrifying.” All of these could apply to Hanging Hill. What struck me, however, was the size and complexity of the vision—she doesn’t implicate just one policeman, nor find just one psychopath—there are several. Evil swirls all around us, every day. And ea ...more
Barry
Aug 07, 2013 rated it really liked it
Hanging Hill was a little different than other Mo Hayder books that I have read, although I enjoyed it as much or more than her other works. It was a bit more realistic than her previous books which often required the reader to suspend reality or, at least logic, for a bit. The unreality of her earlier books did not make them any less wonderful to read but I felt that the greater reality which marked this one made it all the better.

As has the been the case with all of her work, Hanging Hill was
...more
Carol
Jan 15, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: e-audible
Better than average mystery/thriller with a twist in the end. The story is told from the point of view of two sisters, estranged for many years, seemingly from jealousy or maybe parental favoritism…it wasn’t clearly revealed. The novel is an enjoyable thriller but it does require the willing suspension of disbelief. I’m not sure that all of the narrative threads tied together neatly but the ending was a shocking revelation.
Siobhan
Oct 06, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I’ve been meaning to read this one for so long.

I’m a big fan of Mo Hayder’s Jack Caffery series. He is one of my favourite police officers. The books sit up there in my favourite police procedurals. I’m crossing my fingers regarding what will come next. Due to this, I’ve spent a long time wanting to read one of Hayder’s standalone novels. Of the three – The Devil of Nanking, Hanging Hill, and Pig Island – this one always stood out to me the most. I was going to pick it up no matter what, but one
...more
Eva
Jan 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-2017
This ending made me so mad!!!!
This woman really knows how to write a good suspense thriller. I have read 250 pages in 1 sitting, because its just so good! The characters are good, the build-up is good and that plottwist, my oh my....
Steve
Jun 06, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This is the first book I've read by Hayder, and I'm already looking for her others. She writes like an upscale Denise Mina, with dark secrets and horrible twists and turns, but the story takes place in Bath, England instead of seamy Glasgow. Her style is evocative and lyrical, too, without calling attention to itself. It reminds me of a slightly lighter version of Dennis Lehane's earlier novels.

I'm guessing this book is a standalone because the main characters all have backstory that would have
...more
Big Book Little Book
Mar 09, 2012 rated it really liked it
Karen: www.bigbooklittlebook.blospot.com
Oh how I love Mo Hayder. She's one of those authors where if I see that she's released a new book, I'll instantly purchase / borrow the book without even bothering to read the synopsis as I just know I'll enjoy it!

For those of you who have not yet found Mo's literary charms but like crime thrillers then a word of warning. Mo's stories are pretty dark and disturbing and she is one of the few writers that actually made me so scared when reading her earlier w
...more
Barbara Elsborg
May 23, 2012 rated it really liked it
I've read everything she's written and while I didn't enjoy this one quite as much as some of the others, it was still a great read. I think what I like so much about Ms Hayder's books is her ability to draw you straight into the story. Her prose reads as though its all taking place in front of you - sometimes you wish it wasn't! Her characters are always interesting and well rounded though I'd have liked a little more about the male partners of the sisters.
The blood and gore bits were - er - v
...more
Shiela
This was my first Hayder novel and wow, I was totally sucked in and was always kind of unsure which direction the novel was going (which I guess made it even more compulsively readable). I can't even pinpoint what exactly I really enjoyed, but if her series is like this, it is going to be an entertaining next few weeks. I guess my one gripe would be the motive of the actual killer seemed kind of weak considering the lengths the characters went through but other than that...

Very dark, very distur
...more
Bill
Feb 11, 2012 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: Endoart@mac.com
Recommended to Bill by: Endoart@mac.com
Well, everyone has to decided what brings them the most pleasure from reading so if you like, nail gun murders, complete dismemberment with a chain saw and putting the parts into plastic bags, reviewing the worst of hard core pornography of women in bondage or being humiliated and the murder and pornography of very young teen age girls then this is the book for you.
If not, I'd leave this book on the shelf for a long time. Wish I had! YUK!
Diane S ☔
Usually love Hayder, her darkness of her psychological novels are usually top notch. In this one while the darkness was still there, in the subject matter matter especially, the novel was just not as tight as hers usually are. She tended to ramble a bit and some of the characters were just annoying.
Miles
Apr 11, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviews
It’s fairly obvious to me that Mo Hayder is an author who takes a great deal of satisfaction and enjoyment at watching her readers suffer as they gorge over her opulent and polished narrative. Hanging Hill, Hayder’s eighth novel is as disturbing and dark as they get – but boy is it a compelling read – put it down at your peril!

As I worked my way through the book I found myself comparing the experience to that of a good old fashioned horror movie – you just know something bad is going to happen a
...more
Barbara
A very annoying narrator. I disliked her children and teen voices and all the men sounded alike. The story involves two estranged sisters - both dysfunctional. One is a police officer and it's hard to decide which of the sisters is more messed up. I have enjoyed reading Mo Hayder so maybe my problem with this story was the narration.
Stephan van der Linde
Out-stan-ding!
This is why Hayder is my most favorite writer.

I can say a lot about this book, but I won't. Just that it is superb.
Big recommendation for all Hayder-fans!

Dark, ominous and realistic as life. (Hayders trademark)
Tremendous plot and ending which is still haunting me.

By the way, this is Hayder's third book without DI Jack Caffery.



Dave Szostak
Feb 09, 2017 rated it it was ok
Inadequate thriller from the usually very frightening Hayder. The narrative is riddled with coincidences and the obligatory 'surprise' ending leaves a moralistically sour note. Readable, but unfulfilling, suspense fare.
Ilse
Jan 01, 2014 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
ok als doornsee whodunnit maar ondermaats voor Mo Hayder. Geen ziekelijke geesten en twisted denkpatronen die haar overige boeken zo typeren. Totaal a-typisch boek voor haar :-(
Yv
Jul 25, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Wat een leuk boek!

Sally en Zoe zijn twee zussen die elkaar al jarenlang niet meer hebben gezien of gesproken. Zoe is politie-agent en heeft nogal wat problemen in haar persoonlijke leven, Sally is sinds anderhalf jaar gescheiden en knoopt als schoonmaakster de eindjes aan elkaar vast. Wanneer haar dochter Millie geld van een vreemde leent om op schoolreis te kunnen en hij het geld met rente terugwil, gebeurt er toevallig iets in het landhuis waar Sarah werkt en waardoor de zussen elkaars pad wee
...more
Stefanie
Ik kwam niet verder dan een paar hoofdstukken, ik vond het erg slecht geschreven (of misschien echt vertaald). Meestal kan ik daar doorheen lezen, maar dit irriteerde me mateloos. Erg jammer. Heb het boek wel bewaard, misschien lees ik het ooit nog.
Catherine
Mar 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: books-i-loved
I really enjoyed this book. This is one of my favorite authors and she didn't disappoint me with this one. A fast moving psychological thriller that leaves you wanting to keep reading to find out what happens next. Characters were believable and events included relationships as well as plot threads. Also, not an author who leaves everything neatly tied up at the end. The plot centers around 2 adult sisters who have become estranged - then their paths cross when a teen that one sister knows (sinc ...more
???!!!
Jan 25, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 5-stars, 2013, audio
Didn't expect this book to be this good! I could place Mo Hayder among my favorite authors like Val McDermid ang S. J. Bolton now. I first read her "Gone" and couldn't say I enjoy it like most of the critics did. I fact, I couldn't understand what the rave was about. But this book turned every first impression I had with Mo. It contains every element I seek and adore for a good mystery thriller novel. The atmosphere, scenery, characters, plot, intensity, imagery and even to the extend of using o ...more
Nicola Mansfield
Jul 02, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is Mo Hayder's most recent standalone and now means I have caught up with her and read every one of her books. I have to admit that this was a slow read and comparing it to her other books I was going to give it a three. That is until the ending! Wow, what a rush the last third was and what a shocking twist ending!! She needs to hurry up and write a new book as I don't see anything coming up yet.
Vivienne
Set in Bath this stand alone thriller has all the hallmarks of Mo Hayder's work. It was a page-turner, filled with many twists and surprises and was also quite disturbing in content. At the heart of the novel is the relationship between Zoe and her estranged sister Sally and it was interesting to see how this played out against the background of the case. .

I enjoyed it very much and tipped my hat in admiration of how well Hayder managed to deliver one last very chilling twist.

Charlotte
Aug 11, 2013 rated it really liked it
OMG! Just when I had the ending Mo Hayder flips the table over, gives you a different ending but not quite. She's leaves you hanging... guessing... knowing. WOW. Very impressive writing behind this murder mystery. You will dig the characters. They are easy to relate to. As you read through the chapters you FEEL. This is writing at it's best... because you do feel, and you form questions and opinions. You doubt. You think. You want to know more. I won't spoil this... just read it.
Miloš
Jun 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Really good story. unexpected in many ways. I like it. And at the end? Man...
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Spoilers!!! The ending... 2 52 Oct 04, 2014 10:07AM  
Hanging Hill Mo Hayder 3 44 Feb 04, 2013 09:25AM  
  • Good As Dead (Tom Thorne, #10)
  • The Last 10 Seconds (Tina Boyd #5)
  • Dead Scared (Lacey Flint, #2)
  • The Creeper (Brennan & Esposito, #2)
  • Like This, For Ever (Lacey Flint, #3)
  • Merciless (Jessica Balzano & Kevin Byrne, #3)
  • The Redeemed (Jenny Cooper, #3)
  • Fever of the Bone (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #6)
  • The Missing
  • Children of Wrath (Willi Kraus, #2)
  • Catch Your Death (Kate Maddox, #1)
  • Birthdays for the Dead (Ash Henderson, #1)
  • Tuesday's Gone (Frieda Klein, #2)
  • Finders Keepers (Exmoor Trilogy, #3)
  • Cold in Hand (Charles Resnick, #11)
  • Dead Man's Grip (Roy Grace, #7)
1,710 followers
Mo Hayder left school at fifteen. She worked as a barmaid, security guard, film-maker, hostess in a Tokyo club, educational administrator and teacher of English as a foreign language in Asia. She has an MA in film from The American University in Washington DC and an MA in creative writing from Bath Spa University UK.

Mo lives in Bath with her daughter Lotte-Genevieve.

Series:
* Jack Caffery

Mystery & Thrillers Deals

  • The Shadow District
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Play Dead (Elise Sandburg Series Book 1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Weight of Lies
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Thief Taker (The Thief Taker, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Things We Wish Were True
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Adversary (A Chris Bruen Novel Book 1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Daisy in Chains
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Jury Master (David Sloane, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Look Behind You (Kendra Michaels, #5)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Last Town (Wayward Pines, #3)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Wayward (Wayward Pines, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Pretty Little Things
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Social Death
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Murder at the Flamingo (A Van Buren and DeLuca Mystery #1)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Wings Of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge, #2)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Pretty Dead
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Mother Knows Best (A Margie Peterson Mystery)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Damage Control
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The North Water
    $9.99 $3.99
  • Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, #5)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Watchers Of Time (Inspector Ian Rutledge, #5)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Bone River
    $3.99 $0.99
  • As The Crow Flies (DI Nick Dixon #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Jaws
    $10.99 $2.99
  • The Widow File (Dani Britton, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Blacklands
    $11.99 $2.99
  • The Prisoner of Heaven (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, #3)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Romanov Cross
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Girl from Krakow
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Killing Ruby Rose (Ruby Rose #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • A Purple Place for Dying: A Travis McGee Novel
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Dead Water (Shetland Island, #5)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Pines (Wayward Pines, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Newsmakers
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Intrusion (A Chris Bruen Novel)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Brighton
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Lowcountry Bonfire (Liz Talbot Mystery #6)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • The Widow's Watcher
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Livia Lone (Livia Lone, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Word of Honor
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Among the Mad (Maisie Dobbs, #6)
    $9.99 $3.99
  • A Blood Thing
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Baltimore Blues  (Tess Monaghan, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Vanishing Girls
    $9.74 $1.99
  • Aftermath (Inspector Banks, #12)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Girl in the Moss (Angie Pallorino, #3)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Broken Grace
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Carved in Bone (Body Farm, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
“Wine?" said Zoe. "At two in the afternoon?"

"I've decided to become an alcoholic. Just for the duration of my middle years." She filled a glass and rested it on the edge of the washbasin. "That's yours.”
1 likes
“I'm a post-menopausal woman who's lived in a man's world for twenty years. A more cynical, cruel creature it's hard to find.” 0 likes
More quotes…