Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Edge of Running Water” as Want to Read:
The Edge of Running Water
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Edge of Running Water

3.75  ·  Rating details ·  138 ratings  ·  25 reviews
The Edge of Running Water deals with the adventures of a young psychologist in a remote Maine farm house; with the death of a woman and the disappearance of an inventor. Against a normal enough background, events take on the shape of terror, with a tinge of the unknown - hints of things beyond the borderland of the natural, including the strange researches into survival af ...more
Mass Market Paperback, 256 pages
Published July 12th 1980 by Del Rey (first published 1939)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Edge of Running Water, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Edge of Running Water

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.75  · 
Rating details
 ·  138 ratings  ·  25 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
mark monday
Dec 30, 2018 rated it it was ok
Shelves: blood-and-danger
The Moral: dead should remain dead, don't trust mediums, some doors shouldn't be opened, etc.

I wanted to like this one so much more than I actually did. Its compact size and at-times frenetic pacing, the short amount of time portrayed (less than 2 days), its cult status, its marriage of science and psychic phenomena... all things I read about in advance, all things I still appreciate about it. Its title is resonant when considering what the story is leading to, both in the literal sense (a body
...more
Ben
May 05, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
The real shame here is that William Sloane only ever wrote two books...and now I've read them both. As he did with his first novel, 'To Walk the Night,' Sloane once again deftly combines mystery, sci-fi, and horror into an eloquent and suspenseful tale about an obsessed scientist trying to create a machine to speak with his dead wife. Maybe I can track down the short stories he allegedly wrote...
Alex Sarll
The outline is the same as any number of horror stories: the narrator's friend was traumatised by the death of his wife, whom the narrator also loved, and has retreated to the countryside, where he now has a strange establishment with peculiar staff, amidst wild natural beauty, near an unfriendly small town. The narrator is summoned to visit him, and learns that something rum is going on – the brilliant, bereaved scientist is now attempting to find a cure for death! Surely this is only a symptom ...more
Sandy
Aug 22, 2011 rated it it was amazing
William Sloane wrote only two novels, but they were both doozies. The first, "To Walk the Night" (1937), is a combination sci-fi/horror/fantasy/mystery tale concerning a mysterious, otherworldly woman. Two years later, Mr. Sloane came out with "The Edge of Running Water," and this one, I feel, is even better. It concerns an electrophysicist, Dr. Julian Blair, who is attempting to construct an apparatus that will enable him to communicate with his dead wife. The book takes place on a promontory o ...more
Roger
Oct 08, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: fiction
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Chris
Oct 17, 2010 rated it did not like it
Quite possibly the single most over rated piece of fiction I have pushed through in recent memory. Trite, tepid, poorly paced and anti-climactic. No tension, the atmosphere was stilted and forced and I honestly did not care about a single character in the book.

A quarter century of hearing about how fantastic this was meant profound disappointment for me. Perhaps there was a reason Sloane wrote only two novels?
Kristi Blute
Sep 06, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book. I found it in our room at the Queen Mary and ordered it online to finish. Old time creepy with a lot of suspense. Written in 1939.
Alex Bledsoe
Jan 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Just finished this, the second and last novel by William Sloane. Like his first, TO WALK THE NIGHT, it's reminiscent of Lovecraft, especially "From Beyond." But also like the first, and unlike Lovecraft, Sloane creates vivid characters and dialogue. There's more conventional suspense in this one, and a tremendous payoff to the McGuffin in the locked room, but this one seems less, somehow, than the previous. Still, in his introduction Stephen King feels the opposite, so it may be a matter of tast ...more
Josh
May 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
I always enjoy reading a book from "long ago". The edition that I got from my library was printed in 1955, with a first printing in the 30s. Anyhow, I enjoyed every page of this horror/mystery/ghost story. The setting is a creepy house at the end of a road in rural Maine. What do you get if you put an eccentric electrophysicist, a cranky medium and a university professor in the same creepy house? You get mayhem, I tell you. But, seriously, this is a well-crafted mystery that keeps you guessing u ...more
Shawn C. Baker
Dec 26, 2016 rated it liked it
Not as good as To Walk The Night, but still an excellent piece of literature. Completely transcends genre tropes (partially because they didn't quite exist to the extent they have over the last four or five decades I suppose). There is an economic pragmatism to Mr. Sloane's work that I enjoy in the same fashion I enjoy Fitzgerald and Hemingway.
Highly recommended for fans of Cosmic Horror or Weird Fiction. Especially if you're looking for something 'new' in that arena.
David
May 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great genre fun: part murder mystery, part “scientific romance” with that new-fangled electricity playing a role of its own. The tone is more literary than pulpy, and I enjoyed it quite a bit - even a little more than To Walk the Night.
Steve Knowles
Nov 27, 2017 rated it liked it
Written at the end of the 30’s. I found the writing style a bit clunky. Had its eerie moments, and some creepy atmospheric bits. It was fine.
Fox
The Edge of Running Water is the second, and regrettably last, novel of William Sloane. Both books have been largely forgotten, along with their author, in spite of them both having been ingenious in a way that some horror authors still don't manage to touch. One could be blase about the topics of the two books - especially this one - the moral of which is one well-trodden in horror literature. ( Leave the dead where they lie, leave some doors closed, etc. ) What matters isn't the contents of ...more
Boris Cesnik
Mar 11, 2015 rated it really liked it
This is an enjoyable, well written, old school, vintage sort of chiller. No blood, hardly any monster. But that's not the point...

Despite the absence of suspense, it's the atmosphere and the thinking that do the trick here. Forget any pompous description, any super SCI FI experimentation. The topic and the object of the novel are pretty much surpassed now. But this should not put you off.

Yes the story is not entirely fresh in today's canons. But the book does entertain you...in a good old way. T
...more
D-day
Dec 02, 2009 rated it liked it
Richard Sayles, an Academic from New York City travels to a small town in Maine to help an old friend, Dr. Julian Blair, who is conducting secretive research with the goal of communicating with the dead. While staying there, a local lady is killed and the locals think it is connected to the strange experiments.
The Edge of Running Water is a Horror story first published in 1939. Not surprisingly then, it has a very slow build up. There is a large mystery aspect to the story as the group attempts
...more
Beth
Feb 08, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is the second book in The Rim of Morning collection. It is another fine, intriguing novel, this one written in 1939.

It is a wonderful mixture of science fiction, horror, and whodunit. I'm truly sorry that Sloane wasn't more prolific because I thoroughly enjoyed both of his novels. They are plainly and concisely written, but still have a nice elegance to them.

Stephen King wrote the introduction (which is how I found out about these books) and I can see why he is a fan. Not everyone is capab
...more
Ray
Mar 13, 2011 rated it it was ok
Shelves: horror, swapped
After his wife dies, a grieving physics professor embarks on a mysterious experiment in a remote farmhouse. A colleague comes to visit and falls in love with the physicist's niece. Meanwhile, the domineering assistant, Mrs. Walters, has schemes of her own for the professor's research. Although this came highly recommended, the book was really only okay. It was very slow to develop and not very interesting. It picked up somewhat at the end when the professor's machine was finally revealed. There ...more
Dave Holcomb
Jun 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
As far as I know, William Sloane only wrote two novels, both suspense/mystery with a strong sci-fi/horror element. Anyone who enjoys Lovecraft, but would like something a bit more sophisticated, with real characters and a bit less of the overwrought HPL style, will enjoy Sloane. The mystery is truly mysterious, and the characters less one-dimensional than is usual for genre fiction of the 1930's. The plotting moves quickly, but gives nothing away: a page-turner.
Jed Mayer
Nov 10, 2015 rated it it was amazing
More haunting and evocative than its predecessor, To Walk the Night, this novel is a meticulously crafted, vividly realized narrative that skillfully blends weird fiction, traditional gothic horror, mystery, and science fiction.
Patrick
Oct 19, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: horror-fiction
It would have been interesting to see if Sloane had written more. This and To Walk the Night are good early works, especially for horror books published in the 30s. He was doing some interesting work, but sadly it's all he did.
Mark
Jan 21, 2014 rated it really liked it
The book is just as delightfully odd as the film that was made based upon it...The Devil Commands (1941).
Debra
Stephen King favorably mentioned this book in Chapter 2 of Berkley's 1983 paperback edition of Danse Macabre.
Pam Baddeley
Sep 03, 2015 rated it really liked it
Suspenseful story about a scientist trying to create apparatus to enable him to communicate with his dead wife and featuring a vividly created thoroughly evil female character.
Krista the Krazy Kataloguer
Subtle, early science fiction. I should read more by him.
luckinthevalley
rated it liked it
Jan 18, 2019
Rob Holden
rated it liked it
Sep 12, 2016
Ken Fox
rated it really liked it
Nov 09, 2012
Lydia
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2013
Krk
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2013
Lewk
rated it liked it
Jul 25, 2017
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • After Dark (Silver John, #2)
  • Nightshade & Damnations
  • Sound of Midnight
  • Moon Dance
  • Ghoul  (Special X, #2)
  • 30 Days of Night / The X Files
  • War of the Gods
  • Great Irish Tales of Horror: A Treasury of Fear
  • Widdershins
  • The M.D.: A Horror Story
  • Act of Love
  • Nightmares And Geezenstacks
  • Perchance to Dream
  • Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s
  • Map of Dreams
  • Hellboy Library Edition, Volume 2: The Chained Coffin & The Right Hand of Doom and Others
  • Burn, Witch, Burn! (Burn Witch Burn #1)
  • Prose and Poetry: Maggie: A Girl of the Streets / The Red Badge of Courage / Stories, Sketches, Journalism, The Black Riders / War Is Kind