Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Motive” as Want to Read:
The Motive
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Motive

(Dismas Hardy #11)

by
4.01  ·  Rating details ·  3,009 ratings  ·  184 reviews
It starts with a double homicide. Because of the high profiles of the victims - a politically connected socialite and his glamorous fianc?e - the mayor of San Francisco herself demands that a high-ranking detective be put on the case. And so Abe Glitsky is thrust into the controversial investigation. Dan Cuneo, the officer already working the case, is immediately wary of G ...more
Audio CD
Published December 1st 2004 by Brilliance Audio
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Motive, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Motive

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.01  · 
Rating details
 ·  3,009 ratings  ·  184 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Motive
Ms.pegasus
May 11, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone who loves well-written mysteries
Shelves: fiction, mystery
Flames engulf a picturesque, renovated San Francisco Victorian in the opening pages of this mystery. The entire first chapter is a mesmerizing drama pitting the fire against wave after wave of arriving fire fighters. As the fire is contained but not yet totally extinguished, Arnie Becker, the lead arson investigator begins initial questioning of the onlookers. "But suddenly Becker's partner in the Arson Unit, J.P. Dodd — twenty eight years old, Army-trained, competent yet relaxed, appeared at h ...more
Tom Swift
Apr 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoy this series. Dismas Hardy is a great character. If you like fast paced legal thrillers, this series is for you. I have read several of this author's books and they are always good. I am seeing him speak tomorrow night at my local library, so I am looking forward to the event.
Mary
Oct 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Love Dismas Hardy and his friends and family. This was a tricky one as the suspect was an old flame of his from High School. Good read.
Samantha
Sep 16, 2007 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Lescroart fans
I have read every Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky book of Lescroart's and love them, but sometimes even the heroes should NOT come out on top.

I enjoyed much of this book, but was very disappointed with a lot of it. Of course, the poor defendant is completely innocent, right? Of course, the detective who has a grudge against the heroes completely f**ks up the case and is proven to be the inept cop that Hardy & Glitsky want him to be. Of course, one of the victims isn't really who they're supposed to be
...more
Kendra
Okay, sometimes I need a mindless page turner to get me through a long layover or boring bus ride. This book helped with that. It's definitely captivating, and I like that it is set in SF (makes me nostalgic) but this will be my last Lescroart book. His characters are just so one-dimensional, and I can't stand the way he writes about women. Most of the women are written fairly weak-willed, and lacking in professional capabilities, but (surprise surprise) most are beautiful despite aging or pregn ...more
Fredrick Danysh
Apr 16, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When a heavy contributor to the San Francisco mayor is found murdered in his burning home, an ambitious maverick detective with a background of sexual harassment and a grudge against Dismas Hardy's childhood girlfriend, Hardy must prove the detective abuse of his position and inadequate investigation. Meanwhile personal problems arise if the circle of Hardy's family and friends. A good police and trail procedural read.
Barbara Nutting
May 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Read 2008
Linda
Dec 09, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery-crime
Political patronage and crony-ism rear their ugly heads when San Francisco's mayor asks Abe Glitsky, recently promoted to a lieutenancy, for a personal favor. Now a lieutenant, Glitsky reluctantly agrees to return to the streets to investigate a house fire, in which a double homicide occurred. The victims, an influential lobbyist and his fiancee, were friends of the mayor, but she tells Glitsky very little about the nature of their connections. There's bad blood between him and the detective ass ...more
Joy
Apr 29, 2009 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: legal, keepers
Another great legal thriller (Dismas Hardy series).
Teresa Schrader
Feb 01, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I always read this author. Sometimes it's formulaic, but this was a good one.
SoulSurvivor
May 26, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: somerset-library
Best book by Lescroart I've read thus far !
Patsy
Jul 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Hardy and Glitsky are embroiled in a murder that begins in the upper echelons of San Francisco society, where money and political influence collide. . . .

It starts with a double homicide. Because of the high profiles of the victims—a politically connected socialite and his glamorous fiancée—the mayor of San Francisco herself demands that a high-ranking detective be put on the case. And so Abe Glitsky is thrust into the controversial investigation.

Dan Cuneo, the officer already working the case,
...more
Linda Munro
Apr 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The discovery of two bodies each with a bullet hole in the bed of its head in the midst of a ravishing fire leads Abe Glitsky and Dismis Hardy down a long, politically charged, controversial path; a path that could lead to the one secret that could bring both men down!
Glitsky is called by the Mayor who directs him to insert himself into the case. Dan Cuneo, the officer already assigned the case distrust Glitsky and lets his disdain for the man shine through. When Cuneo targets a witness who went
...more
Marsha
Feb 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime, mysteries
This is another series that I have ignored for too long, particularly knowing, as I did, how much I like and get fulfillment from the books!
This particular book is divided into three parts. The first part, as I recall it, is more of an introduction to the characters and situation than anything else. The second part is a trial, and the third part sort of ties up loose ends and gives motivation and the reason for the whole situation. It was done well, but original alliances and character likes and
...more
ElaineY
REVIEW OF AUDIOBOOK; MARCH 8, 2017
Narrator: David Colacci

Rating: 5 stars!

A prime example of what's one person's poison is another's prime rib.

The police procedural/courtroom drama/action thriller lover in me was in 7th heaven with this installment. I may have hated Catherine but relieved that Lescroart did not allow Dismas to make a fool of himself (okay, only a little) over her. I doubt if I could have continued listening if Dismas had become besotted with his high school sweetheart all over a
...more
Andrew Langert
Oct 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: best-of-2018
This is the 10th Lescroart novel I’ve read, so I really like his work. This one, published in 2005, is rock solid.
The crime in this one is obviously arson, but also a murder-suicide or double murder as two burned occupants of the house also had bullets put through their heads. The crime investigation is interesting, the courtroom drama featuring defense attorney Dismas Hardy is very strong and the twist at the end is well-played.
I like a lot of things about Lescroart, but I especially appreciat
...more
Mike Nesemann
I was initially disappointed in this book. He seemed, for me, to introduce too many highly improbable historical relationships that kept popping up in the present. Then there was the seemingly unfiltered sharing of every piece of evidence by the Detective with his lawyer (non-DA) friend, wife, and even daughter. I am a retired MD and I guess confidentiality is reflex. But once he got to the meat of the legal maneuvering, it was fast-paced, surprising, and seemed believable. Note: I have no legal ...more
Jane Giardino
Jan 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed "The Motive" very much. The last time I delved into the Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky oeuvre I read the first 2 books in the series; for sure, Lescroart improved as he went along. I like the wry humor, the commentary on the Bay Area, details of family life as well as the courtroom and police procedures, although there is at times more detail than I would wish in my desire to know whodunit.
I guessed way early who the murderer was, with no clue why or how. To be honest the WHY was quite far
...more
Myrna
Jan 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Really liked the story. (this is the 3rd book I have read in this series) The character Dismas Hardy is interesting. The story takes a number of twists and turns and keeps your interest. Beginning w/the fire of the Victorian House in SF and the bodies found. The author takes you thru the investigation,
suspects, and trial. It turns out very different than expected as does the ending. The author includes some of the day to day living of Dismas, his wife and family as well as the Chief of Police.

I
...more
Terri Floccare
I love the Dismas and Abe show, but this was not my favorite of their novels. The first two parts are interesting, but the third part seems like an overlong afterword to the story. Granted it ties up all the loose ends, but it's written in a completely different style all together. While I love Dismas and Abe together, individually I think they are just average. The third part was mostly all Abe.
Rae Marland
Feb 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have read most of his books, like the characterization and knowledge of his area and topic. In this book, however, there was one problem. Not sure if it was just with the kindle edition or not. I found myself lost and having to go back over and over some areas to find out where I was. There was no break in changes from character to character, nor from scene to scene. Really distracted from the novel.
wally
Aug 04, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: lescroart
finished this one on the 2nd of august 2020 good read four stars kindle owned really liked it...but toward the end i wondered about bail...subject never came up...seems a bit strange that it did not but it did not. enjoyed the main characters, a few of the family members seems flat, place settings, can't really say there was anything that made them remarkable or rememberable...is that a word? heh! soooooo rememberable...should be.
Barbara
Aug 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well, this one kept me guessing right up to the revelation. Nicely done! Some of this series can drag, but this one had everything going for it: a true mystery, constant guessing as to who they killer was, and other subplots about main characters that did much to develop those characters more.

I'm in it for the long haul- on to the next!
Joseph Braithwaite
Most of the book was great, well developed characters and story. The part I had trouble with was the ending, the ‘Third Act’ should have been written into the main part of the story as it seemed to be an after thought approach to closing everything down in the end.
Mark
May 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Solid legal & police procedural again from Lescroart...Dis & Abe work to defend one of Dis’ high school girlfriends accused of murdering her father-in-law who’s going to marry a mysterious French woman...pages do turn! ...more
Mary Ann
Sep 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
House fire & double homicide. —a politically connected socialite and his glamorous fiancée—the mayor of San Francisco herself demands that a high-ranking detective, Abe Glitsky, participate in the investigation ...more
j.m.foster
Nov 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
They did it again1

I know when I start Dismas and Glitsky I will not do anything until the very satisfying conclusion. And it is a treat to feel part of both their families. Not too many books with an inside look at the police and the lawyer.
BrkrDave
Mar 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An excellent addition to the series. The book has excellent character interaction, a good (if somewhat predictable) plot, courtroom drama and written superbly so I always wanted to read the next chapter. I enjoyed the book thoroughly.
Star Merrill
Jul 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed this book, as long as Dismas and Abe were bantering, not so much at all the repetitious court exposition. Still, there was a shocking conclusion that I didn't see coming. So kudos to the author.
Susan Grace
May 09, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another enjoyable read from John Lescroart and the Dismas Hardy series. This one started a little slow for me with WAY to much focus on Abe Glitsky. I understand that there needs to be a lot of set up in the novel in order for Dismas to come in...still, I like to get right to Dismas.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Fury (Butch Karp, #17)
  • Bloody Genius (Virgil Flowers, #12)
  • Counterplay (Butch Karp, #18)
  • Proof Positive (Amanda Jaffe, #3)
  • The Jury (Paul Madriani, #6)
  • Fair Warning (Jack McEvoy #3)
  • Twisted (Petra Connor, #2)
  • The Associate
  • Double Tap (Paul Madriani, #8)
  • The Night Fire (Harry Bosch, #22; Renée Ballard, #3; Harry Bosch Universe, #32)
  • Wyatt's Revenge
  • Compelling Evidence (Paul Madriani, #1)
  • The Honor of Spies (Honor Bound, #5)
  • The Last Innocent Man
  • Dead Watch
  • Born to Run (Jack Swyteck, #8)
  • The Last Trial (Kindle County Book 11)
  • Shadow of Power (Paul Madriani, #9)
See similar books…
962 followers
John Lescroart (born January 14, 1948) is an American author best known for two series of legal and crime thriller novels featuring the characters Dismas Hardy and Abe Glitsky.

Lescroart was born in Houston, Texas, and graduated from Junípero Serra High School, San Mateo, California (Class of 1966). He then went on to earn a B.A. in English with Honors at UC Berkeley in 1970. In addition to his nov
...more

Other books in the series

Dismas Hardy (1 - 10 of 18 books)
  • Dead Irish (Dismas Hardy, #1)
  • The Vig (Dismas Hardy, #2)
  • Hard Evidence (Dismas Hardy, #3)
  • The 13th Juror (Dismas Hardy, #4)
  • The Mercy Rule (Dismas Hardy, #5)
  • Nothing but the Truth (Dismas Hardy, #6)
  • The Hearing (Dismas Hardy #7)
  • The Oath (Dismas Hardy, #8)
  • The First Law (Dismas Hardy #9)
  • The Second Chair (Dismas Hardy #10)

News & Interviews

You know the saying: There's no time like the present...unless you're looking for a distraction from the current moment. In that case, we can't...
4 likes · 1 comments