Jump to ratings and reviews
Rate this book

The Incompleat Enchanter #1-3

The Compleat Enchanter

Rate this book
The Mathematics of Magic was probably the greatest discovery of the ages - at least Professor Harold Shea thought so. With the proper equations, he could instantly transport himself back in time to all the wondrous lands of ancient legend. But slips in time were a hazard, and Shea's magic did not always work - at least, not quite as he expected...

This omnibus volume contains three episodes of the Magical Misadventures of Harold Shea:
- The Castle of Iron (1950, novel)
- The Mathematics of Magic (1940, novella)
- The Roaring Trumpet (1940, novella)

The stories in this omnibus were previously published as two books: 'The Incomplete Enchanter' and 'The Castle of Iron'.

416 pages, Mass Market Paperback

First published January 1, 1940

Loading interface...
Loading interface...

About the author

L. Sprague de Camp

533 books255 followers
Lyon Sprague de Camp, (Pseudonym: Lyman R. Lyon) was an American science fiction and fantasy author and biographer. In a writing career spanning fifty years he wrote over one hundred books, including novels and notable works of nonfiction, such as biographies of other important fantasy authors. He was widely regarded as an imaginative and innovative writer and was an important figure in the heyday of science fiction, from the late 1930s through the late 1940s.

Ratings & Reviews

What do you think?
Rate this book

Friends & Following

Create a free account to discover what your friends think of this book!

Community Reviews

5 stars
845 (34%)
4 stars
861 (34%)
3 stars
639 (25%)
2 stars
115 (4%)
1 star
16 (<1%)


Can't find what you're looking for?

Get help and learn more about the design.