Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Only By Your Touch” as Want to Read:
Only By Your Touch
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Only By Your Touch

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  2,695 ratings  ·  137 reviews
Determined to give her son, Jeremy, the childhood he deserves, Chloe Evans has left a tough past behind and is starting fresh in the charming resort town of Jack Pine, Oregon. But protecting Jeremy becomes a dicey proposition when he seeks out the most dangerous man in town, Ben Longtree, to heal his sick puppy. Chloe has been warned to stay away from Ben. But there's some ...more
Mass Market Paperback, 443 pages
Published April 1st 2003 by Signet (first published 2002)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Only By Your Touch, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Only By Your Touch

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,695 ratings  ·  137 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Only By Your Touch
Preeti ♥︎ Her Bookshelves
This is such a heartwarming story that it touches and moves you on so many levels. It has a touch of the paranormal, but doesn’t really qualify as a full-blown paranormal. A single mom, with a adorable sickly 6 years old son moves to a small town to escape a traumatizing past, and the town’s misunderstood outcast meet and feel an undeniable pull. It was a classic case of two lost souls gravitating towards each other and forming a sweet and true bond, which really worked for me.

The h is an appeal
...more
Rachel
Overall rating: 5 "My Home" stars!

Triggers:
Cheating: (view spoiler)
Love triangle: (view spoiler)
Sex with om/ow: (view spoiler)
Intimate pasts: (view spoiler)

HEA: (view spoiler)

My review:

This w
...more
Marjorie
Oct 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
This magnificent book literally took my breath away. Ben is one of a kind, and the part of him that has Shoshone blood is a blessing for his mother, Nan, who he has been caring for. His protective instinct also expands to Chloe and her six-year-old son, Jeremy. Ben, a veterinarian, lives on Cinnamon Ridge, land in Oregon that the author knows well. The scenery is lusciously wild. Someone has always been out to get Ben and wants him behind bars to pay him back for what was not of his own doing. E ...more
Chumchum_88
This was one of the most heartwarming books I have ever read, since I read the book summary I knew I would love it, and my gut is always right.

I loved both Chloe and Ben, and of course Jeremy, and Diablo XD (I'm a wolf biased), the way both people where in love with each other but had their own different reasons to be fearful kinda clench at my heart, specially Ben... His ex wife was a bitch honestly, just cause their is something that you can't explain or file and catalogue doesn't mean he's a
...more
Hollie

I noticed several of my friends and given positive reviews for this book so I decided to give it a try. Here is my breakdown:

The pros:
* I love the characters - I think animal lovers (like myself) will adore this read
* It had a good balance of suspense
* It didn’t have an insta-love feel to it - the relationship between the hero and heroine was well developed
* Great character development
* Perfect epilogue

The cons:
* Quite over-priced at its current $7.99 price

Overall, this was a very sweet and sa
...more
Julianna
Aug 23, 2008 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Contemporary Small-Town Romance; Native American Heroes; Animals; Magical Realism
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" Only by Your Touch is a little different than Catherine Anderson's other books I've read to date, because it contains a touch of the paranormal. I'd probably be more inclined to call it magical realism though, because it melds seamlessly into the real world setting of the story and is accepted by those closest to the hero, namely the heroine and his mother. Others, however, tend to view him, at best, as a rather odd duck, and at worst, they're so afraid of him
...more
Sara
I'll say right off the bat that I went in expecting this to be bad. Mrs. Giggles called it a self-parody of Anderson's works, one review here said it was loaded with awful cliches, and the Magical Native American trope is outdated and racist.

We start out with Chloe Evans and her little boy Jeremy buying puppy supplies when they run into Ben Longtree-quite literally, in fact. He helps them, but Lucy at the checkout counter wastes Chloe's time by spitting out a bunch of rumors about the man. They
...more
Merica
May 15, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Everyone wishes they could have a fresh start in life. Chloe is a single mother with a son named Jeremy moves to a small town called Jake Pine in Oregon. There she hopes to get away from the dark past along with her ex-husband. Chloe wants to raise her son in a good enviromet, but when she gets word that there's a strange Antive Amerian who goes by Ben living aroung town, she gets nervous. Rumor has it that he was a vet and can treat and even cure any animal that strangly appears in front of his ...more
Lynsey
Aug 22, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: romance-contemp
3 - 3.5 stars...I think.

Parts of this I loved, but whilst reading I kept changing my mind about how to rate it. To be honest I'm still a little unsure. Let me try and explain.

The romance was beautifully done, as always. Ben and Chloe were really likeable and their relationship development was sweet and romantic. With Catherine Anderson I expect the love to come before the physical, and truly, she is a master at this. With other authors you can sometimes feel that they have thrown in a bit of con
...more
Linda
3.25 stars

Catherine Anderson has a gift with her very easy-to-read style of writing. I read a few of her books years ago, remembered liking them and then went onto better things. But that ease of enjoying her characters was something that came back when I started ONLY BY YOUR TOUCH. And it has a strong start.

That said, there is quite a bit going on here. You have a Chloe, a single parent with a child, Jeremy, that has medical issues. She is divorced with baggage that comes back to haunt her. Sh
...more
Christine
Feb 18, 2014 rated it did not like it
Shelves: romance
I found this book deeply troubling. Dark heroes are becoming popular these days, and we're more willing than before to forgive past transgressions, even murder under certain circumstances. But there's got to be a line and I'm afraid that this book crossed it. Ben killed a guy. The death was an accident, but he hit the man hard enough to kill him. He got angry, hit him, and killed him. It wasn't self-defense. It wasn't a freak accident. He HIT him in ANGER hard enough to KILL him. Then he got a h ...more
jenjn79
Once again, a wonderful read from Catherine Anderson. Her books never fail to capture me. She has a wonderful way of exploring characters and emotions, thoroughly engaging the reader. I didn't find this book as thoroughly enthralling and emotional as some of her other books, like Phantom Waltz and Summer Breeze, but I still loved it.

Lots of wonderful dynamics in this book. I loved Ben's character. As an animal lover myself, I loved his compassion for the animals he cared for. I just wanted to gi
...more
Jenni Lind - Bookcetera Reviews
I've read a few of Catherine's books and they are rather formulaic with boy/girl meets boy/girl and falls for them but denies the love because of external conflicts (usually in relation to a dramatic past one or both of them are trying to escape from) - but despite knowing the overall plot of her stories they are usually rather good. Light smut, nothing major, but enough fluff to make you go "awww" and want to be in a nice little relationship - at least whilst reading the story.

This one had a bi
...more
Debra
Jun 07, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sarah
Jul 07, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: super-favs, western
Ben's explanation of why the father has changed is beyond words. How Ms. Anderson continuously manages to rip my heart out and I let her is anyone's guess. A beautiful story more so due to the relationship between man and boy than the romantic storyline.
Christel
Jan 28, 2008 rated it it was amazing
One of my favorite's so far. Just the story is sweet and rememberable. Some people do have a gift when it comes to animals and so it was not surprising that C.A> uses this premise for this story. ...more
Lamija
Aug 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another wonderful book from Catherine! Loved the characters and the plot. Simply beautiful and wonderful.
Christina A. Marley
Jun 01, 2014 rated it it was ok
The love story itself was pretty enjoyable but I didn’t really like the male lead. (I don’ want to call him a ‘hero’.) Years ago, Ben (male lead) punched a guy so hard, he killed him. It was an accident and Ben did not meant to do it but he killed a guy because he couldn’t control his temper and that just made me not like Ben. Even if Ben killed a guy, it was his ex-wife I hated more. She wanted to get an abortion simply because she doesn’t want Ben’s child because he has freaky healing powers. ...more
Madison
I have come to expect just so much when reading Catherine Anderson and I now realize I set too high of expectations; this book fell flat of all of them.

Chloe is a young woman with a little boy, Jeremy, who has just gotten a divorce after her husband suffered an accident which resulted in him having abusive tendencies. (Already, this aspect of the story felt strange—an accident creating a change in personality—but I persevered!) Chloe and Jeremy move to a small town and for reasons never fully e
...more
Rhapsody
May 26, 2007 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: readers of contemporary romance
Shelves: romance
Pretty standard for Anderson, maybe a little blander and hokier than most of her stuff. Like so many of her books, you've got a strong-willed single mother who's just left an abusive husband and is trying to start over in a new, somewhat remote town. Jeremy, the little boy, wasn't as precocious and over-the-top as some of Anderson's other little kids. When Jeremy's puppy gets sick, he impulsively brings it to Ben, a vet who lives with his sick mother out in the woods. There are all kinds of bad ...more
Hollow May
This is the first book by author Catherine Anderson I've read. What did I think?! The following should tell you:

description

description

description

description

description

description

description
...more
Lara
Oct 06, 2013 rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Brandy
May 27, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: YES!!!
Absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book!!! Had a hard time putting it down. Yet, didn't want it to end. That's how good it was! GREAT storyline that kept me on the edge of my seat like a good movie!A little bit of supernatrual (where Ben is concerned.)But, not so much that it's unbelievable. It actually works and is quite believeable. (I'm not one for supernatural type stuff) but the little bit in here works. Wonderful characters. I know have a new hero crush (Ben!) :-) LOVED Ben & Chloe. Littl ...more
Bigedsgirl1
This is one of my all time favorite reads by Catherine Anderson, and I have re-read it more times than I can count. Magical, mystical, and mesmerizing are words that come to mind when describing the hero of this exceptionally memorable story. Ben Longtree is a big, tall man of mixed heritage, a quarter Shoshone Indian and has for many years been an outcast in his own hometown. The target of malicious gossip and vicious rumors, he walks tall with dignity and honor always, but he walks alone. Alon ...more
June
It was a decent book easy to read. The heroine, the hero, and their relationship were all good enough. But I couldn't enjoy the book as much as I should.


For one, I don't like stories which (view spoiler)
...more
Sheri
Feb 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I think this is a great story. I started out thinking it was about an abused single mother and child. It is, but with an original and interesting twist. there are lots of animals, a little magic, and a scary stalker. Anderson's style is easy to read. It flows so nicely.

I just have to comment on the reviewer who hated the hero having killed someone. She obviously didn't read the whole book. Near the end he explains how it happened. And it was an accident.

Re-read 11/3/16. Still liked it. Today I
...more
Kim
Jul 27, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book, I did. A simple romance, I haven't had one of those in a while. And the main character, Ben Longtree was a healer, of animals, im so jealous. I've got a way with animals, specifically dogs, but cats too, but to be able to walk into the woods and pet a bear would be awesome. Anyways, this one was good, right elements of a mystery and a bad guy, and magic and love and animals and just the right combo of all of it. it was great.
Lorka
Aug 24, 2014 rated it did not like it
I am starting to see a pattern here with this author's books. Abused heroines that are fleeing trouble, so much violent drama. Its just not my style of story. I love to relax while reading a book, not have violent scenes going thru my head. Its just me though. I don't mind a formerly abused heroine that meets her prince and learns to heal... but this author always has the tormentor still alive and chasing and trying to track down the heroine. Takes away from the romance for me.
Poongothai
Mar 24, 2016 rated it liked it
Chloe was a nervous single mother and Ben was a sweet character. He had a tragic past and did not trust easily. The romance bloomed slowly between them. Having Shoshone blood in him, he has some psychic power in him to heal animals. The wild animals come to him when they are wounded. It was an OK read for me as it had many clichés.
Rita
Jan 27, 2012 rated it liked it
Being a fan of Katherine Anderson, I thought this would be another good read. Not so much. I know it is fiction, but a man who can keep wild animals as pets and who can cure thier ills simply by his touch is just a little far fetched. I finished the book, but it was not one of my favorites.
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Always to Remember
  • Simple Jess (Marrying Stone, #2)
  • Courting Miss Hattie
  • Ride the Fire (Blakewell/Kenleigh Family Trilogy, #3)
  • His Secondhand Wife (The Copper Creek Brides #2)
  • The Promise of Jenny Jones
  • Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold
  • A Home for Lily
  • Morning Glory
  • Dancing on Coals
  • Wild Oats (Wild Oats, #1)
  • Silver Lining
  • Mail Order Meals (Brides of Beckham, #32)
  • Harper's Bride
  • What Price Paradise
  • Love in the Wind
  • Sweet Lullaby
  • Without Words
See similar books…
2,353 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.
(1)romance author:
Adeline Catherine was born and raised in Grants Pass, Oregon, USA. She always yearned to be a writer like her mother. The morning that one of her professors asked if she could use samples of Catherine’s creative writing on an overhead projector to teach was
...more

Related Articles

Take a glance at the romance section in any bookstore and you'll see a tempting assortment of shirtless hunks, breathless duchesses, ...
60 likes · 16 comments
“As the mother of a small boy, she had developed a bad habit of carrying a little of everything in her purse, not to mention all the little treasures that Jeremy had given her—pretty rocks, a wilted violet, a ring he’d made from braided pine needles. The collection was a junky-looking mess. When the stranger picked up an unwrapped peppermint candy with more hair on it than stripes, Chloe wished the floor planks would separate and swallow her. His hard mouth twitched as he dropped the candy back in her purse along with an emergency tampon whose wrapper had nearly disintegrated.” 0 likes
More quotes…