Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Always in My Heart” as Want to Read:
Always in My Heart
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Always in My Heart

by
4.02  ·  Rating details ·  1,673 ratings  ·  71 reviews
Two years ago, Ellie Grant would have fallen apart at any reminder of her ex-husband, Tucker. But now she doesn't bat an eye when "their song" comes on the radio. She's unfazed by the thought of Tucker's perky new girlfriend. Ellie Grant is over him. And things are better for Tucker as well. The single life agrees with him. And certainly they've both done a good job of bei ...more
Mass Market Paperback, 420 pages
Published August 1st 2002 by Signet (first published 2002)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Always in My Heart, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Always in My Heart

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,673 ratings  ·  71 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Always in My Heart
Karla
Jan 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars!

This was a gut-wrenching beautiful book of second chance love. There’s something special about getting another chance to be with the one you love again that gets me every time.

I was a bit worried at first with the MC Ellie and Tucker they had quite the resentment towards each other. But after their kids set them up to be together and in the wilderness of Oregon I started to see their defenses come down. Honestly, it’s hard for me to judge them on everything that happened in their marr
...more
Catherine
After starting this book, I was almost positive that I wouldn't like it. The heroine, Ellie, seemed like a bitter ex-wife who was trying to play at being a martyr-mom. Everything she did was for her kids. She lived and breathed solely to be there for them and never thought of herself. Her whole life was for them and she was critical of her ex for not being as dedicated as she was. She apparently hadn't even been able to shave in two weeks because the time she'd waste on that was precious time sh ...more
Booklover
Completed this book today must say such a beautiful story of giving love a second chance,a try to re-build the family that is broken after a tragedy followed by divorce

Tucker and Ellie Grant divorced after the death of their oldest son, whom each felt guilt and blame over the tragic accident that killed him. 3 years later, the two remaining sons, run away into the mountains refusing to come back until their parents get back together, forcing Tucker and Ellie to spend time together tracking the
...more
Mohade$eh
Feb 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
After reading 80% of it I wanted to give it 4 stars but when I finished I chose whole 5 stars because you can learn a lot of moral points about family, loss and love and a parents be so sensitive and responsible about your children's feelings. And on top of all TALK! lots of distresses and misunderstandings are results of assuming instead of just talking.

PS. thank u Karla for sending this book to me ♥
Sara
Sep 20, 2012 rated it really liked it
This book reminds me of one of those unrealistically perfect Hallmark movies with a tiny bit of Lifetime thrown in there. Giant tragedy strikes a family and tears husband and wife apart, but after a few days in the wilderness they're back in each other's arms and it was like the divorce never happened. Kids pull a stunt that nearly gets one of them killed near the end, their wacky plan works and they don't even get a slap on the wrist. Love interests that mainly serve as plot devices to drive th ...more
~Nichole~  Sizzling Pages Romance Reviews
Another emotional yet beautiful and healing second chance story from my new favorite author.
There's nothing more traumatic than what this couple went through. To get past all the pain, guilt and shame they had to literally climb a mountain. I cried so many tears for every character.
True love like this is why I read.
Very happy epilogue.



Safety
Safe with exceptions. They were each others one and only.
Divorced for 3 years Ellie and Tucker were both celibate. They both had recently started dating du
...more
Cc
May 29, 2017 rated it it was ok
There is NO cheating or betrayal in this book! I do not understand some reviewers taglines at all. Ok, mini rant over. Well written, if somewhat over dramatic second chance love story after the loss of a child. I didn't see any triggers and the death of child is treated with all the respect it demands. The fact that the kids had to resort to this to get thier parents to speak to one another really highlighted the immaturity of said parents. I didn't enjoy this, hence only 2 stars. But.... I will ...more
Dinjolina
Jul 31, 2011 rated it really liked it
I love this book!
I just did a re-read of it, an realized i was still in love with it.

Oh and a big Hooorah! for the author that did not make the hero go around the block after his divorce. The premises that this couple oly had each other in their beds all their lives made me smile a sappy smile because it never happens in cont romances.
Good for you to think out of the box,Mrs.Author. :)
Rashika (is tired)
Are you sure the main characters are in their 30s because in that case I am probably in my 50s.

I have no idea how those kids came up with a plan like that... I feel stupid.

And.. wow.... how good could their relationship be if they faced so many communication problems? I do not understand.

I am confused.



...more
Francette
Jun 21, 2018 rated it did not like it
Wanted to read and finish this book because I love old school angst and this book was promising it strong. But!!!when 10% in the obvious female villain was trying to force the H into sex when they were ona search for his runaway kids and he didn’t use that very obvious reason to turn her off?? Um, my kids are missing in the forest. Their mommy is here. The last thing I am going to do is initiate sex with you on DAY ONE OF THE SEARCH. That he even feels bad for turning her down at this point is r ...more
Angela  Wilson
Okay

This was just an okay read. It was too long . I do think I paid too much for this book. I would NOT recommend this book because of the price.
Jennifer Defoy
Mar 27, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2012-reads
I did like this book, but it took me forever to read. It was almost the end of the book before I got "hooked". The writing was good enough to keep me going, and the story itself was pretty good I just couldn't get into the groove with this one.

I can't even imagine being in Ellie's position. How she managed to keep going, given everything that she's been through was a feat in itself. Then to have to deal with her kid's hair brained plan... There would be two sorry kids if that was me. At the beg
...more
Liz
Mar 22, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: everyone
I loved this book. I got so attached to the characters. I hurt, cried, laughed and loved right along with them. I loved this book so much I'm going to start reading more of Catherine Anderson's books. What a wonderful read, I couldn't put it down. Having children myself made this book even more enjoyable.
Maria
Jan 23, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to Maria by: Jayne Ann Krentz
Shelves: romance
A heart-wrencher, this book had me crying and laughing and pulling wholeheartedly for all the characters in this family of four. If you enjoy backpacking as I do, that was an added plus.
Maggie Shanley
Jan 19, 2018 rated it liked it
Catherine Anderson never fails to elicit an emotional reaction. Perhaps not the best choice to take to the Doctor's office today...he came into the exam room while I was wiping my eyes and prepared to increase my medicine! This book starts off kind of amusing but then gets intense as Ellie and Tucker Grant, divorced parents of boys, go off to find their runaway kids in an Oregon wilderness. The whole family collapsed when Sammy the eldest child died three years ago, now to get their parents atte ...more
Ess
Feb 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
I loved reading this book!! It had angst, legitimate reasons as to why the marriage didn’t work and very mature for their age kids (lol). I feel like it would have been five stars had it not dragged a bit. I believe it could have been wrapped up a bit faster and also I would have liked to read more from children’s point of view once the conflict is resolved and their plan actually works. But overall great read!
Brenda
May 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A beautifully written story.A family tore apart by the death of their son.Having lost a brother I know that this can and does happen.I really connected with this story.Made me laugh,cry and wanna scream..Tucker and Ellie loved each other,But couldn't stop blaming themselves .Their 2 sons take matters into their own hands..
JiMina Heart
A very vexing story and heroine!!!
Nerissa
Apr 01, 2018 rated it liked it
well written. Good plot. Good characters. Bit boring at times.
jeanie goins
Sep 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
amen!!! Love your stories keep it up PLEASE!

I love all your books . You write from your heart and I never read them without crying ! Thank you!!!
ALBERTLDERUSHAJR
Loved it.

Heartbreaking beautiful. Your heart just goes out Ellie, Tucker and the boys. Read the book.
It was my first book by Ms. Anderson. Will definitely read more.
Zee
Apr 20, 2019 rated it liked it
2.5 stars. Book was too slow not your usual Catherine Anderson
Kay
May 04, 2019 rated it really liked it
All I can say about this novel is that I hope to never, EVER have children. What a nightmare.
Ida Lukasik
Oct 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was such and emotional book. Ellie and Tucker torn apart by the death of their eldest child. The 2 remaining boys wantes them back together hatch a plan. Must read to see it unfold
Saunders
This will appeal to contemporary readers who like a bit of angst in their read. It was too contemporary for me and not really my kind of read. Felt more like an expanded Mills & Boon story.

Pretty pricey at almost £6.00 for a book that was written many moons ago (2002).
...more
Melissa Rob
The only reason I couldn't get into this book was because it was too clean for me. I need my H's to curse when needed damnit!!! Probably a great book just not for me.
★¸. • * ° * ༺*Blanka*༺*°°*•.¸. ♥★



Two years ago, Ellie Grant would have fallen apart at any reminder of her ex-husband, Tucker. But now she doesn't bat an eye when "their song" comes on the radio. She's unfazed by the thought of Tucker's perky new girlfriend. Ellie Grant is over him. And things are better for Tucker as well. The single life agrees with him. And certainly they've both done a good job of being civil to each other, for their sons' sake.

But the kids aren't buying it. Zach and Kody are convinced that, deep down, thei
...more
Sheri
Oct 07, 2011 rated it it was amazing
This is a wonderful book. The best of those I've read by this author.

Elle and Tucker are each other's one and only. They were each other's first and remained deeply in love and committed until the accidental death of their oldest child. The story opens three years after the death. Tucker and Elle are divorced and their family fractured. Individually just beginning to come to terms with their grief, neither realize their two sons' lives are falling apart.

The kids decide to get mom and dad back t
...more
Debby
Aug 11, 2015 added it
Shelves: romance
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Change description 2 12 Oct 23, 2015 06:44AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Sarah's Child (Spencer-Nyle Co, #1)
  • Separate Beds
  • Just the Way You Are
  • What Price Paradise
  • Unforgiven (Unforgiven, #1)
  • The Divorce (The Relationship Quo, #1)
  • Frayed Silk
  • A Husband's Regret (Unwanted, #2)
  • My Biggest Mistake
  • This Heart of Mine (Whiskey Creek, #8)
  • The Fourth Child (Family Matters #3)
  • Passionate Bid (Blue-Eyed Four, #1)
  • Some Enchanted Season
  • The Perfect Sinner (The Perfect Crightons, #6)
  • Hate to Love You
  • A Home for Lily
  • Bond of Hatred
  • Restored (Shattered, #2)
See similar books…
2,362 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.
(1)romance author:
Adeline Catherine was born and raised in Grants Pass, Oregon, USA. She always yearned to be a writer like her mother. The morning that one of her professors asked if she could use samples of Catherine’s creative writing on an overhead projector to teach was
...more

Related Articles

Take a glance at the romance section in any bookstore and you'll see a tempting assortment of shirtless hunks, breathless duchesses, ...
62 likes · 16 comments
“Afterward, she hooked a limp arm around his neck, buried her face against his shoulder, and whispered, "Don't ever get hypothermia with anyone but me.” 2 likes
“We are like guests on this Earth, either we get to be nice or we get to be bad” 1 likes
More quotes…