Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Summer Breeze (Keegan-Paxton #3)” as Want to Read:
Summer Breeze (Keegan-Paxton #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Summer Breeze

(Keegan-Paxton #3)

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  2,831 ratings  ·  150 reviews
The year is 1889, and Rachel Hollister hasn't set foot outside her house in five years. Ever since a savage attack left her family dead, she's cordoned herself off from the outside world, afraid to let anyone into her home—or into her heart. But now trouble has appeared on her doorstep—and suddenly she has no choice but to let a handsome rancher invade her well-guarded exi ...more
Mass Market Paperback, 421 pages
Published January 3rd 2006 by Signet (first published January 1st 2006)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.13  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,831 ratings  ·  150 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Kathrynn
A little history:
It looked to me like this was a transitional book as the author moves this series from western to modern romance. This book begins in 2005 and introduces readers to Tucker Coulter when he discovers a journal written in 1889 that belonged to Rachel Hollister/Joseph Paxton. Joseph Paxton is the half brother to Ace Keegan (Keegan's Lady) and has brothers, David and Esa Paxton, and a step sister, Eden O'Shannessy. This one has a brief mention of Patrick O'Shannessy (Caitlin's brothe
...more
Mou
Jun 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
It was a good read. I give 1 star for the book title and 1 star for the epilogue’s letter. The mystery and suspense were perfectly played out. From the start I know the killer isn’t obvious one, but I couldn’t guess either. The Author did a great job to build Rachel and Joseph characters and the chemistry between them is great. The bonding of these characters was built slowly and I am glad author didn’t rush for it. Overall, it’s a beautiful romance story.
Kristyn
Nov 22, 2012 rated it it was amazing
One of the hardest questions anyone can ask me is "What is your favorite book?" But the ultimate tough question for anyone to ask me is "What is your favorite Catherine Anderson book?" Should you ever ask me that question, you will see in my face just how crazy I think you are... but I think I finally know the answer to this conundrum:

Summer Breeze. Summer Breeze is my favorite Catherine Anderson book. There is only one way to describe it and that would be lovely. It is heartbreakingly lovely i
...more
Ipshita
Jun 02, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: historical, western
4.5 stars
Joseph's letter in the epilogue scored a full one star from me. I'm such a romantic sap.
Linds
This book has a good premise but I didn't care for it that much.

After seeing her family massacred the Rachel has become agoraphobic the last five years and is unable to leave her house. After Rachel's hired hand is shot Joseph comes to look after her (against his will) because he promises her hired hand he will.

This is not a bad book, but I never got very invested in the story. Joseph is kind've a galoot. He doesn't come off as especially witty or intelligent. He also fights and denies his feel
...more
Nhi Nguyễn
OMG!!!!! What an AMAZING read!!!! I don't know why I purchased this book a long time ago and then waited until now to read it! Silly me :D

Before "Summer Breeze", the only book by Catherine Anderson that I'd read was Annie's Song (and it was an utterly emotional and beautiful read! ^^). So I didn't know what to expect in this book or if Ms. Anderson could be my new favorite romance author. But after "Summer Breeze", I know she can, and she has :D

It was so lovely to see how Rachel and Joseph - str
...more
Jodi
May 09, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2013-read
This delightful historical romance about a rancher and an agoraphobic neighbor is heartwarming, sweet and funny. I'm writing this weeks after I read it, without the book in front of me, so names are escaping me but our hero isn't looking for a wife or love or any other frippery. He sees how happy his older step-brother is with his wife and son but likes not having complications. Running a ranch is complication enough. The young woman in question has retreated inside her home to the point where h ...more
Mareli
Jul 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars because it was really slow at the beginning. But the story is so good, with that little child who suffered witnessing the deaths of all her family and began a great wonderful woman full of love and caring, it's worthing 5 stars!

And the epilogue.... well it brought tears in my eyes! Very very sweet!

Julianna
May 11, 2008 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Catherine Anderson
Reviewed for www.thcreviews.com

"3.5 stars" Summer Breeze was a pleasant read, but the first 2/3 of the book was rather slow and at times, mundane. In my opinion, this was due in part to story limitations because of Rachel's agoraphobia. She interacted with few characters other than Joseph, and all those interactions were limited to her safe, barricaded room. Hence, most of this part of the story felt like little more than an average frontier couple going through their daily routine. Around the t
...more
Katherine 黄爱芬
Sejak bencana yg melenyapkan seluruh keluarganya, Rachel Hollister menarik dirinya dari dunia. Namun kehidupannya terusik dgn tertembaknya Darby, orang kesayangan Rachel, mengakibatkan Joseph Paxton hrs menggantikan Darby menjaga Rachel. Dan yg tidak terduga, mereka saling jatuh cinta. Sayangnya misteri yg melingkupi kematian keluarga Hollister blm tersingkap, sehingga membayangi kebahagiaan mereka.

Yg membuat unik novel ini adalah heroine-nya, Rachel mengidap penyakit kejiwaan agoraphobia krn k
...more
Tully Ehlers
Mar 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
Sweet story, love conquering fear. Joseph is such a remarkable character, but Rachel is wonderful. And they are a great couple.
jenjn79
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Angela Noviana
Rachel mendeka selama 5 tahun dan tidak pernah keluar dari dinding dapurnya karena setiap kali dia melangkah keluar, dirinya akan pingsan. Hidupnya tenang dengan kondisi seperti itu sampai dia bertemu dengan Joseph Paxton.

Joseph berjanji kepada Darby untuk menjaga nonanya karena pria itu ditembak dari belakang dan sedang dalam proses penyembuhan di rumahnya. Sebenarnya dia agak menyesal karena Rachel adalah wanita gila. Namun, ketika dia pertama kali melihat wanita itu, dia sudah menginginkan Ra
...more
Mariachiara
Oct 02, 2011 rated it really liked it
Titolo: Summer Breeze

Autore: Catherine Andreson

Inedito in italiano

Trama: 1889. Rachel Hollister non ha messo piede fuori di casa, un ranch in mezzo alle prateria, da ben 5 anni. Vive tra l'altro non nell'intera casa ma solo in una stanza e mezza e tiene barricato tutto il resto. Il terrore l'attanaglia al solo pensiero di uscire. Ma non è sempre stasta così, tutto ebbe inizio cinque anni prima quando tutti i suoi famigliari durante un pic nic furono uccisi a colpi di pistola da un misterioso omi
...more
Sara
Sep 20, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: guilty-pleasures
This book is nothing super remarkable. Standard Anderson fare; broken heroine, studly hero, love at first sight, lots of drama and a happily ever after. But I couldn't help liking it a bit anyway.

Rachel's trauma is more than the usual Evil Ex or rape Anderson's heroines tend to be saddled with. Instead the poor woman's been hiding from the world since she watched her entire family die. She has trust issues with just about EVERYONE, and only lets Joseph into her house because she has no choice. A
...more
Julie
Oct 21, 2012 rated it liked it
Some people love Catherine Anderson and some people aren't as impressed. I have accumulated a few of her novels over time, mainly from bulk lots on eBay. But, I had never gotten around to reading any of them. When another book club site featured C A as author of the month, I thought I would try to work one into my reading plan. Obviously, I got a late start.
This book is evidently a part of a series, but can be read as a stand alone.
The book starts off in present day with the discovery of an old
...more
Gwen
Jul 23, 2007 rated it liked it
Shelves: romance
Anderson frames this sweet historical love story with a prologue and epilogue set in modern 2006 where a family member comes across the diary of Rachel Hollister and Joseph Paxton, allowing the modern reader to travel back in time just as the family member does. Although she does a good job of describing the small Colorado town, ranch life, and community ties, she doesn't bog the reader down with minute details of any specific tasks. Instead she concentrates on the feelings and emotions of Rache ...more
Lyndsey
Jul 20, 2013 rated it it was ok
This woman is so helpless, which kind of annoyed me. But have no fear, there's a strong, compassionate cowboy to save the day!
Kristi
Sep 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this book a little more than the other one in this series. I now want a courtyard! :-)
Joseph and Rachel -a forever kind of love.
Darlene Wilson
Aug 05, 2018 rated it liked it
The year is 1889, and Rachel Hollister hasn't set foot outside her house in five years. Ever since a savage attack left her family dead, she's cordoned herself off from the outside world, afraid to let anyone into her home—or into her heart. Confirmed bachelor Joseph Paxton grudgingly offers to take up temporary residence at the Hollister ranch—even though it's obvious Rachel doesn't want his protection. But once he catches a glimpse of his beautiful young ward and her remarkable spirit, he'll d ...more
Genieve Ong
Feb 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I am beginning to admire this author more and more.... She had a way of touching the readers emotion and the story flows are just to engaging that it made me craved for more.. I never expected to cry and yet I did on the epilogue of the book... Joseph's letter to Rachel made me sobbing and shaking with emotions... The letter is so emotional....
Jeanne (love2cook)
Sep 25, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: romance
While searching in his Mother's attic Tucker Coulter came across the diary of Rachel Hollister. This is the story of Rachel who lived in the late 1800's. A story that will make you believe in the power of love. A very good romance story.
Kaylee Wilke
May 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I never thought I would like romance novels, but with the historical background of the book it helped me fall in love. Very well written, and am excited to read more of Anderson!!!!
Jan Tomalis
Oct 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Great book! Kept me interested to the end!
Kalie Alinger Cameron
Aug 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This was my very first Catherine Anderson book and I feel in love with her writing. Such an easy read to get lost in.
Sarah
Rachel has PTSD and agoraphobia and hasn't left her cabin in five years, and Joseph comes by to rescue her. Sweet-ish. A couple stars off because the dialogue was ridiculous.
A.  Madelynn
Jul 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A sweet book! Joseph's letter.....no words.
Andrea
Jun 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Great Book!
Rs
Jan 30, 2019 rated it liked it
A decent read although i enjoyed Ace's story much more....
2.75
Leah


Basically, this was me while reading this book.

I started this book thinking that it was going to be Tucker's story. After I finished reading My Sunshine, I figured that I'd be learning more about the older twin. I probably should have read the description of the book but sometimes, I like to feel adventurous and just dive into a book without any idea as to what I'm getting myself into. I'm getting a sense of Catherine Anderson's theme when writing books - and those of you who've read her books a
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • To Kiss a Texan (McLain, #2)
  • Never Love a Cowboy (Rogues in Texas, #2)
  • Mountain Wild (Wild, #3)
  • Redemption (Devereaux, #6)
  • Colorado Dawn (Runaway Brides, #2)
  • Foxfire Bride
  • A Taste Of Heaven
2,115 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.
(1)romance author:
Adeline Catherine was born and raised in Grants Pass, Oregon, USA. She always yearned to be a writer like her mother. The morning that one of her professors asked if she could use samples of Catherine’s creative writing on an overhead projector to teach was
...more

Other books in the series

Keegan-Paxton (5 books)
  • Keegan's Lady (Keegan-Paxton #1)
  • Beautiful Gifts - Hadiah Terindah (Keegan-Paxton, #1.5)
  • Early Dawn (Keegan-Paxton #4)
  • Lucky Penny (Keegan-Paxton #5)
“A ghost from her past, part of a world to which she no longer belonged but had never stopped missing.” 13 likes
More quotes…