Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blue Skies (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #4)” as Want to Read:
Blue Skies (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #4)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blue Skies

(Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan #4)

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  4,235 ratings  ·  186 reviews
Carly Adams feels as if she's been given a new lease on life. Born with a rare eye disease, she was blind until a recent operation restored her sight. Now, she's eager to experience everything the world has to offer—including the sweet talk of a handsome cowboy who rouses her with desire. But she isn't prepared for the consequences, especially when a night of searing passi ...more
Mass Market Paperback, 407 pages
Published January 6th 2004 by Signet (first published 2004)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blue Skies, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Blue Skies

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  4,235 ratings  ·  186 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Rhapsody
May 15, 2007 rated it did not like it
Recommends it for: people who like beating-the-odds love stories
This book irked me a little. I didn't like the way a lot of the characters behaved, and when they started behaving better, it got a little too sappy for me. Carly, the heroine, just had surgery that's given her vision after being blind all her life. Two weeks after the surgery, she goes to a bar and gets knocked up by Hank Coulter. She was told that getting pregnant right after the surgery would be very bad and now she's going to go blind again, can't afford to take care of the baby on the way, ...more
Becky
Wow....what a beautiful story. Hank is a 32 year old rancher who trolls a country western bar every weekend looking for the next one-night stand. He feeds women lines, uses them and then and disappears the next morning. His pick-up one drunken night is Carly, a 28 year old virgin who had a recent operation leading to temporary sightedness. Major consequences of his callous, deceitful approach result. I really enjoyed his growth, but major slut shaming during the book (virgins don't deserve such ...more
Rachel
Overall rating: 4.5 stars!

Triggers:
Cheating: (view spoiler)
Love triangle: (view spoiler)
Sex with om/ow: (view spoiler)
...more
Miss Kim
Jun 30, 2008 rated it liked it
Ok, I couldn't spare more than 3 stars for this one. I was about one third through Blue Sky and the story line was SO irritating me. The heroine, Carley, has an eye disease that has caused her to blind since birth. After college, she has a surgery that restores a good percent of sight. She has been able to see for about 3 weeks when she goes to the bar with her friend, and proceeds to get hammered, then she sleeps with a stranger in the back of his truck. I forgot to throw in that she was a virg ...more
Michelle
I really like this book! So far every book in the series has been EXCELLENT! Anderson's stories are always so tender and sweet. I love her less than perfect heroines who find their prince charming in the hunky cowboys who’d move heaven and earth for them!

I was so drawn into the story at page one. Carly was blind all her life but recently went through surgery to regain her sight so when she first sees Hank Coulter at a local bar she thinks he’s the most gorgeous man she’s ever seen. When he walk
...more
Christine
Jun 18, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: romance
Absolutely fabulous love story...human, beautiful, tragic, and perfect!

Full disclosure: I am legally blind, a far cry from the blackness that our heroine, Carly, has had to deal with her entire life, but it does make me feel drawn toward blind and visually disabled characters. On the other hand, I am also very, very picky about how those characters are portrayed. So often, I feel like perhaps the author put a blindfold on and tried to walk around for a few hours, without really getting to know w
...more
Erika

Overall rating: 4 to 4.5 stars

Cheating: (view spoiler)
Love triangle: (view spoiler)
Anything sexual with om/ow: (view spoiler)
Amount of Sex In The Book: (view spoiler)
Overall Steam Factor/Chemistry (between 1-10): (view spoiler)
Themes that may be triggers for some: (view spoiler)
HEA: (view spoiler)


My re
...more
Jessiaca Evans
Jun 02, 2015 rated it did not like it
This book is very stereo typical. As a blind person, I don't think I need special ropes and things to get around the ranch independently. I would do just fine on my own. Also, if I could see for the first time, one of the first things I would not do is go to a bar. Oh, and as far as the hunky cowboy, give me a break! Granted, Carly is a grown woman, but, someone has kept her sheltered quite a bit. If she doesn't know the ins and outs of men or the birds and the bees, at least a little bit by now ...more
Calypso
3.5

"Mais Perto do Céu" é mais um livro da minha escritora preferida de romance: Catherine Anderson. Este livro apresenta-nos a história de Carly Adams e Hank Coulter.

Carly é uma jovem mulher de 28 anos nascida com uma doença rara nos olhos tendo crescido cega e recuperando a visão através de uma operação, e é pouco depois de a ter recuperado que Carly conhece Hank Coulter num bar onde foi com a sua amiga Bess. Hank é o tipo de homem que gosta de se divertir e procura relações fugazes nos bares,
...more
Mafi
Nov 01, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2011, favorites, pt, library
Acabei este livro agora e é LINDO! Chorei baba e ranho mas a história é linda! Adoro este tipo de romances que me fazem acreditar que o amor pode vencer todas as barreiras. Amei este livro.
Sem dúvida que a Catherine é uma grande escritora, as personagens são de uma realidade e sensibilidade tremendas, envolvem-nos na história com as suas qualidades e defeitos.
Krista D
Mar 12, 2012 rated it it was ok
Carly is finally able to see after receiving eye surgery. After a one night stand, she ends up pregnant with the hero's baby. The pregnancy, however, could cause her to go blind again. I liked the book and the plot, but I felt that there was too much blame on the hero for accidentally getting her pregnant.
Bookishbreeze
Sep 05, 2017 rated it did not like it
This book is bad, even for the shallow HR in disguise I was expecting (and even looking forward to). But the biggest, headliner reason why I think so seems to differ wildly from most others. In short: the H is a complete piece of crap, at least before I reached my limit and stopped.

Most people's reviews that I've read so far have complained about the heroine in this book, and I couldn't possibly say for myself if she was intolerable or not. She was just naive as hell and dumb from what I read, b
...more
Carla Marques
Apr 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebooks
Gosto muito deste estilo de livros e já tinha saudades pois ultimamente tenho lido mais crime e ficção.
Opinião completa em: http://aviciadadoslivros.blogspot.pt/...
Tonya Lucas
Sep 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Catherine Anderson It’s always been my favorite romance author whether she’s writing contemporary or historical. Blue Skies still after reading it twice, is one of the most beautiful love story’s I have ever read.
Carly and Hank will melt your heart, have you grabbing for tissues, and reaffirm that love and trust is truly a recipe for a remarkable love story.
Aisha
Oct 10, 2015 rated it liked it
In the beginning of the book, I thought Hank Coulter was the most irresponsible, annoying, selfish, and thought-less person ever. I truly hated him. However, as the book progressed, we see what a sweet, nice person he could be.

There were multiple times during the book that his words and actions towards Carly was so sweet and emotional that I could not hold back tears. Still, he was a too forceful a guy. I HATED that about him!!!

Carly is a sweet and nice person who has eye disease. As a result,
...more
jenjn79
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Trang Nguyen
I can see Anderson has a ongoing rhythin in the Kendrick/ Coultier series with women who have disabilities or who are recovering from a battered past. These. Cowboys come into rescue and are challenged when the fears of their potential wives, soul mates don't make it too easy on them.

This particular story deals with Carly, who is blind and is also very inexperienced in the boy department. After regaining her sight, she falls for the hunkY cowboy, Hank. After a drunken night of not so great plea
...more
Fernanda
3.5 *
apesar de não ser tão cativante quanto os anteriores teve o,seu mérito. uma história com algum drama mas também a vida real não é cor de rosa. uma história de conquistas diárias e sobretudo de confiança e de amor.
no fundo uma mensagem bonita em que a vida não é mais de que um conjunto de momentos que nos tornam felizes e fortes.
Debra
Jun 07, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Blue Skies is such a great book!
I laughed, cried and yelled at this story.
I fell in love with Hank. All the Coulter brother's are hard not to fall in love with. The way the he fall's in love with Carly was so sweet.
Julianna
Jun 16, 2008 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Fans of Disabled Heroines, Beta Heroes, Contemporary Romance
Reviewed for THC Reviews
"4.5 stars" Blue Skies is another tender, emotional romance from Catherine Anderson's pen. In the tradition of Phantom Waltz, an earlier book from the same series, Ms. Anderson has created a disabled heroine, one who is this time blind. I was very impressed when I found out through the author's note at the end of the book that Blue Skies was inspired by a real-life young woman who had contacted her following the release of Phantom Waltz. This lady suffered from the same r
...more
Katherine 黄爱芬
Setelah Phantom Waltz, saya menyukai novel-novel author yg walaupun heroine-nya cacat, mereka memiliki tekad mandiri. Dan hero-nya, Ya Tuhan, idaman banget-nget-nget...

Kali ini Carly Jean yg sejak lahir memiliki masalah penglihatan atau "lattice dystrophy" atau kelainan katarak. Cerita diawali Carly bertemu dgn Hank Coulter di bar dan saat mereka mabuk, tidak sengaja Hank baru tau Carly perawan di jok belakang mobilnya.

Resah sudah hati Hank. Dia berusaha mencari tahu keberadaan gadis ini tapi ni
...more
Stephanie Jenkins Ortiz Cerrillo
Catherine Anderson delivers an absolutely beautiful love story in Blue Skies. The details into the eye disease that the main character, Carly Adams, has and the fact that Anderson wrote this book after a fan that wrote a letter warmed my heart. I have MS and I wish more authors would write stories with characters having chronic illnesses and diseases.

Carly Adams is 28 years old and has only had her eye sight restored for a few weeks when she goes out to a honky tonk with her best friend, her ro
...more
♛ Jarusauskas
DNF 72%.

Casi terminando el libro y todavía no puedo simpatizar con la heroina.

Ay sí, nació ciega.
Ay sí, tenían que darle direcciones cuando subía una patineta.
Ay sí, ningún chico se le confesó nunca.
Ay sí, cometió la idiotez de acostarse con un ebrio una noche y quedó embarazada.
Ay sí, dicho hombre quiere hacerse responsable pero como no recordó su nombre a la primera, ella piensa que tiene derecho a negarle responder por su bebé.
Ay sí, se va a quedar ciega otra vez.

Pero como ella es la protago
...more
Judy
Nov 30, 2018 rated it liked it
In this lovely romance I learned a little about lattice dystrophy, a rare condition of the eyes which can cause blindness. Although I googled it I didn't find a lot.

Carly Adams was born blind with both lattice dystrophy and cataracts. Although surgery gave her sight, it would not last forever. The insight which this story gave me into the world of the blind was both heartwarming and heartbreaking. Not only how a blind person experiences the world but how difficult it is for a sighted person to c
...more
Monika

I can't believe I put this book on hold for so long. It was a perfect sweet story, exactly what I need right now.
Angela
Jun 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
Sesuai judul buku ini, Blue Skies adalah warna mata Hank Coulter dan Carly Adams. Keduanya saling tertarik ketika mata mereka saling memandang. Bertemu di sebuah bar bernama Chaps. Ketika Hank melihat Carly, ia mengerahkan segala jurusnya agar wanita itu mau bersamanya malam itu.

Ternyata semua berjalan tidak sesuai dengan harapan Hank. Dalam keadaan mabuk, Hank meniduri Carly yang ternyata masih perawan. Dan ketika pagi datang, Carly sudah pergi. Seminggu kemudian Hank menerima kabar kalau Carly
...more
Sara
Aug 16, 2014 rated it it was ok
I didn't expect much from this book when I read the back cover, so at least I wasn't disappointed. Carly Adams just had surgery to correct a lifetime of blindness, enjoys a night at the bar with her friend Bess and winds up being deflowered by Hank Coulter. Without a condom.

Surprise surprise, she gets knocked up and the pregnancy will fuck up her eyes again. The whole situation is teeth-gratingly annoying to read through. Carly's a stubborn ass who whines about her stupid pride, Hank's just an a
...more
Susan
Apr 10, 2010 rated it it was ok
The heroines of this series often have interesting and unusual histories (paralysis, brain damage, domestic violence, agoraphobia), and this one is no exception. Carley has lattice dystrophy, a childhood blindness that she just had surgery for, and she can see for the first time. Then she gets pregnant, which causes the disease to return with a vengeance.

This story just has too many out-of-character moments to be among Anderson's best. Carley's life-long best friend takes her to a skanky cowboy
...more
Novia Liu
Aug 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: stay-in-heart
this is the first time I read a story when the heroine had a physical disability
and I love it...

I adore Hank
how he tried to fixed everything, the way he fought for his love
and I can't count how many times I cried for him
my heart hurts for him and how many times I wanted to throw a brick to Carly's head

"These hands will be yours, from this moment forward, yours in times of sorrow to comfort you, yours in times of hardship to sustain you, yours in time of danger to protect you. With your help, th
...more
Christina A. Marley
Jun 01, 2014 rated it liked it
It was an okay read. But I didn’t much care for Carly or Hank. I found her a little annoying. Hank was a lot more likable than her. Although his actions weren’t ideal, I understood him a little better than Carly which is why I found her so frustrating. She meets Hank at a bar and they have sex in the back of his truck that same night. She was a virgin so of course by the laws of Romancelandia she winds up pregnant. Hank spent a lot of time in this book feeling bad for what he did. I thought it w ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Sweet Lullaby
  • A Convenient Wife (Montana Mavericks: Historicals #3)
  • A Little Bit Pregnant
  • The Texan (Bitter Creek, #2)
  • Pieces of Sky (Blood Rose, #1)
  • The Seduction of His Wife (Logger #1)
  • Claiming His Pregnant Wife
  • Ghost Walk
  • To Kiss a Texan (McLain, #2)
  • The Tenderfoot Bride
  • Angel Creek (Western Ladies, #2)
  • Calder Pride (Calder Saga #5)
  • Night Angel
  • Outsider (Long, Tall Texans #30)
  • A Stone Creek Christmas (Stone Creek, #4)
  • What Price Paradise
2,110 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.
(1)romance author:
Adeline Catherine was born and raised in Grants Pass, Oregon, USA. She always yearned to be a writer like her mother. The morning that one of her professors asked if she could use samples of Catherine’s creative writing on an overhead projector to teach was
...more

Other books in the series

Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan (1 - 10 of 11 books)
  • Baby Love (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #1)
  • Phantom Waltz (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #2)
  • Sweet Nothings (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #3)
  • Bright Eyes (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #5)
  • My Sunshine (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #6)
  • Sun Kissed (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #7)
  • Morning Light (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan #8)
  • Star Bright (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #9)
  • Here to Stay (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #10)
  • Perfect Timing (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #11)
“That my eyes are yours as well. When you go blind, I’ll draw pictures with words so you can still see all the beautiful things. You told me once that the most gorgeous thing you first saw was the Central Oregon blue sky. That’s my vow to you, Carly—nothing but blue skies for the rest of our lives, even after you go permanently blind.”
.
He bent at the knees to catch her up in his arms. As he carried her toward the cabin, she gazed up at his beautiful face, drinking in every hard line and chiseled plane so she could remember it later. If she were given a choice of one thing she could remember and take with her into total grayness, it wouldn’t be a sunset or a gorgeous blue sky.

It would be her memory of the love she saw shining in Hank Coulter’s eyes.”
0 likes
“With Hank at her side, she would never really be blind again. His eyes were hers, just as he’d vowed. When they grew old, they would take walks at sunset, and she’d be able to see everything. His gift to her—pictures painted with words. Love wasn’t about easy, according to Hank. It was about sticking through thick and thin. He would always be with her, unless death took him first, and even then, Carly knew she’d never be left in complete darkness again.

She would have the love of this man to light her way.”
0 likes
More quotes…