Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Voices of Insight” as Want to Read:
Voices of Insight
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Voices of Insight

3.93  ·  Rating details ·  67 ratings  ·  5 reviews
In this anthology, leading Western teachers of Buddhism share their personal experiences on the path of insight meditation; their understanding of the basic teachings of the Buddha; the lessons they've learned in their training with their own teachers; and some good advice on following the Buddha Dharma in everyday situations of work, family, and service.

Contributors incl
...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published January 9th 2001 by Shambhala (first published January 9th 1999)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Voices of Insight, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Voices of Insight

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  67 ratings  ·  5 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Susanne
Dec 23, 2012 rated it it was amazing
I've just finished this book for the second time and it again was a very liberating and enlightening reading experience. There is so much wisdom in it, that I could re-read it again and again. My favourite this time was Joseph Goldsteins text about the art and science of meditation. But all the others are great too. Its like, every time I reread it, I am a different person and so, different authors and essays speak to me. Sooooo good!
Forest Tong
Apr 30, 2018 rated it liked it
This compilation had a mix of inspiring stories and trite lectures. I appreciated the essays where the writers talked about their personal experiences and the people they admired.
Mark
Aug 19, 2012 added it
Beautiful collection of writings by the teachers at IMS (Insight Meditation Society) in Massachusetts. Some very moving, insightful, accessible, and sometimes very poignant and direct writings on life, death, illness, happiness, and everything that is our practice. Originally put together as a fund raiser for the late Ram Dass after he had his stroke. I highly recommend this book for Buddhists and anyone interested in the path.
Hollis Fishelson-holstine
Apr 12, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: spiritual, own
Enjoyed most of these again
Teri
Aug 19, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: own
Need to put this in the rotation of books to read for your spiritual practice.
Jasmine
rated it really liked it
Apr 01, 2015
Susan
rated it did not like it
Sep 20, 2014
James Crouse
rated it it was amazing
Jun 01, 2014
Hicham Daoudi
rated it it was ok
Jan 22, 2016
Traci
rated it liked it
Jul 04, 2012
Lisha Doucet
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2016
Lynda
rated it liked it
May 23, 2009
Beth
rated it really liked it
May 01, 2010
Bill Baer
rated it it was amazing
Sep 26, 2012
Craig Bergland
rated it it was amazing
Dec 05, 2011
Kevin
rated it really liked it
Aug 08, 2012
Anne F. Maggiore
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2013
Melissa
rated it liked it
Oct 22, 2010
Laura Qualls
rated it really liked it
Mar 24, 2018
Ha Nguyen
rated it liked it
Sep 22, 2012
Tony
rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2012
Yehudith Valentine
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2015
Sandra
rated it it was amazing
Mar 01, 2015
Jenn Barry
rated it liked it
May 11, 2015
Shaun
rated it liked it
May 22, 2011
Prefontaine
rated it liked it
Jun 16, 2017
Erin
rated it really liked it
Apr 30, 2014
Matt
rated it it was ok
Jul 27, 2011
Lovelyn
rated it it was amazing
Apr 29, 2014
Ronald Embry
rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2016
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
733 followers
One of America’s leading spiritual teachers and authors, Sharon Salzberg is cofounder of the Insight Meditation Society (IMS) in Barre, Massachusetts. She has played a crucial role in bringing Asian meditation practices to the West. The ancient Buddhist practices of vipassana (mindfulness) and metta (lovingkindness) are the foundations of her work.