Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Biggles in France” as Want to Read:
Biggles in France
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Biggles in France

(Biggles #9)

really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  256 ratings  ·  13 reviews
A burst of bullets struck Biggles' machine somewhere just behind him, and he jerked the control-stick back into his stomach. A Hun shot past his wing-tip, so close that Biggles flinched.'That's too close!' he muttered. 'Where the dickens are the S. E.'s?'Biggles battles through the First World War, honing his flying skills in terrifying battles against the finest fighters ...more
Paperback, 224 pages
Published July 27th 1993 by Red Fox Books (first published November 1935)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Biggles in France, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Biggles in France

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
really liked it 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  256 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Lady Clementina ffinch-ffarowmore
This is a collection of somewhat connected short stories (each spread over roughly two chapters) of Biggles’ adventures when posted at a French airbase Maranique. His quests range from friendly “contests” with other squadrons (particularly the 287th and Captain Wilkinson “Wilks”) over the number of enemy crafts brought down and the distance they entered beyond the lines, to coordinated action when needed, a run-in with a bull, a turkey “hunt” for Christmas, and even suspected spy activity. The s ...more
Deirdre
Jun 18, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The surface of this is the derring do of the adventurous World War I pilot, but underneath this is an acknowledgement that many of the pilots ate breakfast together and then didn't ever see each other again. Captain W. E. Johns is writing about stuff he knows about, he served in World War I as a pilot and knew the stories, probably just vaguely fictionalised the stories and they're here as a snapshot of a time and a place.

These are short stories, some a chapter long, others a few chapters lookin
...more
Olivia
{4.5 stars}

They just get better and better. A few pages in, I knew I would once again immensely enjoy a Biggles book. I was reading this at night and at the end of the chapter where the French pilot sits down and sobs because he ruined his plane, I couldn't stop laughing. My younger brother gave me a look, sending me into more giggles. So there's one of the main reasons I liked this one even better. There were four specific stories in it that had me laughing out loud (that is rare :))

One time Bi
...more
Alan Wightman
Feb 18, 2019 rated it liked it

Fairly entertaining, and unexpectedly wry, stories about the adventures of fighter pilot Captain Bigglesworth, his squadron, and neighbouring squadrons, fighting in France in the First World War.

There is danger and death, but this is not gritty social realism. There is no mud-caked trench warfare here. The pilots of all officers, and enjoy comfortable beds, a mess, a batman, tea, meals, a gramophone, a billiards room. Pilots improvise tactics and schedules, watched on by avuncular approving sup
...more
Joe Halder
Jun 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I love Biggles books, an acquired taste most definately.
Donnacha
Dec 12, 2017 rated it liked it
I enjoyed this book, it brought me back to my childhood. Great stories.
David Tendo
Aug 08, 2011 rated it liked it
A burst of bullets struck Biggles' machine somewhere just behind him, and he jerked the control-stick back into his stomach. A Hun shot past his wing-tip, so close that Biggles flinched.'That's too close!' he muttered. 'Where the dickens are the S. E.'s?'Biggles battles through the First World War, honing his flying skills in terrifying battles against the finest fighters the enemy can supply. But he finds war provides more light-hearted adventures as well, and this collection of stories from ea ...more
Daniel Bratell
Aug 21, 2016 rated it it was ok
A collection of short stories that all have been published in other Biggles books. I can't remember if it is one of the first books or if it is in Biggles of 266 but if you have read those books then nothing here is new.

Well, a few stories are changed/edited a bit but I don't know if that is because of the edition or because of the books. When republished in the 70s(?) the editor did a lot of change and I read that version.
Rob
Dec 09, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: library-work
Well, this book is incredibly easy to read. I think it was written as a series of very short stories, and the structure of the book does come across like that, there is no overriding story to the whole book, and sometimes threads are just cut and never mentioned again. But great fun and easy to read.
Thomas Becker
Feb 22, 2013 rated it it was amazing
One of the best Great War aviation books I've read in a long while. Right up there with "Sagittarius Rising"
Daniel
Mar 22, 2011 rated it really liked it
It was very nice, especially because it gives you an idea of how life was like in the war at a sqaudron.
Cocaine
Jan 27, 2016 rated it really liked it
Another book from my childhood days. One of the comforts I had during my times in hospital. Fantastic!
Morgan West
rated it really liked it
Oct 16, 2013
David John Pickering
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2017
Sarah
rated it liked it
Dec 17, 2015
Honzeek
rated it it was ok
Oct 29, 2012
Rpm
rated it it was amazing
Jun 10, 2012
Cam
rated it really liked it
Aug 31, 2016
Ian Patterson
rated it really liked it
Aug 31, 2012
Tt
rated it really liked it
Mar 28, 2014
Alex
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2009
Zaifaman
rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2017
Romel
rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2014
David Maddy
rated it really liked it
May 11, 2017
Lee Johnson
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2016
Sarfaraz.a.rehman
rated it liked it
Aug 06, 2015
Brett
rated it it was ok
Dec 12, 2016
Josh Bee
rated it it was amazing
Mar 18, 2012
Tim
rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2017
Jayal Yapa
rated it it was amazing
Sep 16, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Regimental Affair (Matthew Hervey, #3)
  • The Legion of Videssos (The Videssos Cycle, #3)
  • Inspector Colbeck's Casebook
  • The Roaring River Mystery (Hardy Boys, #80)
  • The Manor of Death (Crowner John Mystery #12)
  • Road Dahl Boxed Set of 6 Books: The Witches / George's Marvelous Medicine / The Twits / Esio Trot / Matilda / The BFG
  • Asterix Versus Caesar
See similar books…
67 followers
Invariably known as Captain W.E. Johns, William Earl Johns was born in Bengeo, Hertfordshire, England. He was the son of Richard Eastman Johns, a tailor, and Elizabeth Johns (née Earl), the daughter of a master butcher. He had a younger brother, Russell Ernest Johns, who was born on 24 October 1895.

He went to Hertford Grammar School where he was no great scholar but he did develop into a crack sh
...more

Other books in the series

Biggles (1 - 10 of 126 books)
  • Biggles The Camels Are Coming
  • Biggles and the Cruise of the Condor
  • Biggles of the Camel Squadron
  • Biggles Flies Again
  • Biggles Learns To Fly
  • Biggles and the Black Peril
  • Biggles Flies East
  • Biggles Hits the Trail
  • Biggles and Co.
  • Biggles in Africa