Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Imaginary” as Want to Read:
The Imaginary
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Imaginary

3.83  ·  Rating details ·  313 Ratings  ·  22 Reviews
The Imaginary was originally published in France in 1940 as L'Imaginaire. Designed specifically as an essay in phenomenology, it marks the first attempt to introduce Husserl's work into French culture and from there to the English-speaking world. Published three years before Being and Nothingness, it contains Sartre's first extended examination of such concepts as nothingn ...more
Paperback, 240 pages
Published January 1st 2003 by Routledge (first published 1940)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Imaginary, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Imaginary

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
the gift
Jun 10, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: zz1940
if you want an introductory sartre text this is it- while he is figuring it out he writes it out. sort of like a precursor to being and nothingness. he is an excellent writer, i think his rhetorical skill serves his ideas rather than obscures, he is the easiest existentialist to read.
John Kulm
Apr 29, 2009 rated it really liked it
In psychology, Sartre is sure different than the "old shaman" Jung. Being the atheistic existentialist, Sartre doesn't think we can transcend projection. In fact, since all is subjective we can only know each other through projecting ourselves onto each other.

"When will the beloved become in turn the lover? The answer is easy: when the beloved projects being loved." Actually, that quote is from Being and Nothingness. Sartre has a lot of profound things to say about love. And yet, if love is not
HuDa AljaNabi
you need a clear mind to start with this book.
Nov 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: philosophy
In the tradition of Rene Descartes, Jean-Paul Sartre in The Imaginary added his insights into the philosophy of mind through his analysis of the imaging consciousness. In particular, his discussions on the differences among perception, conception and imagining identify the nuances among these modes of consciousness. Though he didn’t have as much empirical data from neurobiology as we have nowadays in the age of AI, his ideas provide some fundamentals of the philosophy of mind that help us unders ...more
Oct 31, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I will call the different immediate modes of apprehension of the real as a world ‘situations’. We can then say that the essential condition for a consciousness to imagine is that it be ‘situated in the world’ or more briefly that it ‘be-in-the-world’. It is the situation-in-the-world, grasped as a concrete and individual reality of consciousness, that is the motivation for the constitution of any irreal object whatever and the nature of that irreal object is circumscribed by this motivation. Thu ...more
Lacan Nathalie
الخبرة الاستبطانية هي الأروع بلا شك في فهم كيف تتجلى الصورة ومن قبل ماهيتها وهل تعد الصورة هي التخيل بذاته وله أم هي رافد من روافد إنتاجه ...محاولة إقصار تلك المحاولة على فيزيولوجيا الجهاز العصبي سيحول علم النفس_او بمعنى أوضح_ سيبقيه في عرين العلوم الطبيعية كعلم استنتاجي لا وصفي( ينحو نحو ماهية الشيء قبل النزوع سريعا لمعرفة محصلته)
وهنا يجيء بنا سارتر و يذهب كعادته ما بين الفكرة وضدها ليخلق في النهاية دوامة لا تنتهي من التساؤلات
وعيب كل العيب أن نفترض أن علم النفس علم فوق إنساني يمكنه أن يجيب
Sep 05, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Più recentemente noto come L'immaginario, si intravede in questo testo di Sartre un interesse fenomenologico che spazia in apparenza a quello più propriamente detto "esistenzialista" de L'essere e il nulla, i cui concetti portanti trovano le loro basi nelle conclusioni a cui egli perviene alla fine delle sue considerazioni sul mondo dell'immagine qui affrontate.

Il termine immagine non può quindi designare che il rapporto fra coscienza e oggetto; in altre parole è una certa maniera dell'oggetto d
Nanda Alifya Rahmah
Buku wajib untuk membuka kesadaran antara ruang riil dan nonriil dalam kerangka eksistensialisme. Juga titik di mana keduanya membentuk hubungan segitiga dengan kita sebagai subjek kesadaran. Menarik mengetahui Sartre memilah lapisan hubungan antarsubjek dan imajinasi sebagai objek sekaligus ruang di mana segalanya mengada. Namun menurut saya buku ini bisa menjadi sangat sulit dipahami jika pembaca sebelumnya tidak memiliki informasi tentang definisi 'subjek' dan 'objek' dalam eksistensialisme. ...more
John Wilson
A great introduction to Sartre's later thought.
May 23, 2007 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: philosophy
روان شناسی تخیل از اولین آثار سارتر محسوب می شود که همراه "خیال"، اثر دیگری که در همان دوران، و در چارچوب فلسفه ی سارتر (اگزیستانسیالیسم و آزادی بشر) نوشته شده است. با وجودی که تقریبن همه ی آثار معروف سارتر به فارسی ترجمه شده، روان شناسی تخیل یکی از چند رساله ی مهم اوست که در فارسی ندیده ام.

در مورد ژان پل سارتر، مطلبی جداگانه نوشته ام؛
Tijmen Lansdaal
Aug 22, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: in-possession
A very intuïtive phenomenology, with lush descriptions and clear intentions. Though it never quite reaches that level of phenomenological brilliance as Husserl, it still is a fun and perhaps inspiring read. His notion of nothingness is being developed here, in ways reminiscent of Hegel. It becomes a bit naïve - especially here, the parts on nothingness and the freedom that goes along with it are oh so odd; supposedly its crucial elements.
Feb 06, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: finished
Another good piece from him, again. Honestly, this is elementary (and i please everybody to read this) and quite good as introductory for neophyte, before try to another Sartre (or another philosophy).

All you need is thinking and imagination (or sort of, this book escort you to try imagine sth)

Happy reading.
John Wilson
Quite a detailed account of the imagination from a philosopher's perspective. Mostly comprehensible. Introduces Sartre's famous depiction of consciousness as the confrontation with nothingness. The imaginary is the non-existant but attempts to postulate being.
Rusnani Anwar
Mar 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Semoga dapat menjadi tambahan amunisi soal pemahaman logika dan imajinasi.
Paulo Alvarado
May 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Ficción y realidad (y sus relaciones) son los objetos de estudio existencial para Sartre, a través del retrato, el signo, los dibujos, los sueños, las obras de arte, lo imaginario.
Ginevra Scarcia
May 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: in-libreria
Affascinante e originalissima teoria sull'immagine in prospettiva fenomenologica.
Jan 28, 2009 rated it it was amazing
My favorite Sartre book. A must read for artists.
May 03, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Read again...
Sep 14, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
One of my favourite Sartres - very intuitive, not too technical. A good introductory book.
Curtis Sommerlatte
rated it liked it
Mar 08, 2014
Maya Alexine
rated it it was amazing
May 10, 2013
rated it liked it
May 19, 2013
raz one
rated it liked it
Oct 19, 2016
Joanna Jiang
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2013
Mani Pulimood
rated it really liked it
Nov 09, 2013
rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2018
rated it liked it
Sep 24, 2008
rated it really liked it
Sep 20, 2013
Ghevf Bernstones
rated it liked it
May 15, 2012
Alysia Anne
rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Phenomenological Mind: An Introduction to Philosophy of Mind and Cognitive Science
  • Crisis of European Sciences and Transcendental Phenomenology
  • Dissemination
  • Memory, History, Forgetting
  • On Grief and Reason: Essays
  • The Future of the Image
  • The Visible and the Invisible
  • Open Sky
  • Enjoy Your Symptom!
  • Time and Free Will
  • Les Nourritures terrestres suivi de Les Nouvelles Nourritures
  • Francis Bacon: The Logic of Sensation
  • Introduction to Phenomenology
  • The Jargon of Authenticity
  • Notebooks 1935-1942
  • Critique of Everyday Life
Jean-Paul Charles Aymard Sartre, normally known simply as Jean-Paul Sartre, was a French existentialist philosopher and pioneer, dramatist and screenwriter, novelist and critic. He was a leading figure in 20th century French philosophy.

He declined the award of the 1964 Nobel Prize in Literature "for his work which, rich in ideas and filled with the spirit of freedom and the quest for truth, has ex
More about Jean-Paul Sartre...

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“The only difference between image and idea is thus that in the one case, the expression of the object is confused, and in the other, it is clear. The confusion comes from this: every movement envelops in itself the infinity of the movements of the universe; and the brain receives an infinity of modifications to which only a confused thought can correspond, enveloping the infinity of clear ideas that would correspond to each detail. Clear ideas are therefore contained in the confused ideas. They are unconscious; they are perceived without being apperceived. Only their sum total is apperceived; this appears simple to us because of our ignorance of its components.” 2 likes
“One thus arrives at a curious conception of thought. Thought has no real, concrete existence, accessible to immediate consciousness, since the datum of introspection is the image. It has no universality in act, because, if it were so, one should be able to grasp it directly. But it is a potential universality that one derives from the fact that a word can be accompanied by very different images.” 1 likes
More quotes…