Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle” as Want to Read:
The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

by
4.02  ·  Rating details ·  161 ratings  ·  9 reviews
This vivid biography, written by John Dickson Carr, a giant in the field of mystery fiction, benefits from his full access to the archives of the eminent Sir Arthur Conan Doyle—to his notebooks, diaries, press clippings, and voluminous correspondence. Like his creation Sherlock Holmes, Doyle had "a horror of destroying documents," and until his death in 1930, they accumula ...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published November 11th 2003 by Da Capo Press (first published 1949)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  161 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Joanna Peterson
Aug 13, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fascinating, sympathetic look at the life of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In dealing with the biography, the author also gives a good overview of British history during ACD’s lifetime. I can now say all I know about the Boer War I learned from this book.
The author intrusion was a bit distracting at times.
Riju Ganguly
Feb 28, 2015 rated it liked it
Blame it on Graham Moore!

While the urge to read about Sir ACD has gripped me occasionally, this time, with all his talk of missing papers, Bram Stoker, Oscar Wilde, and turn of the century London, he made me try to read the book which enjoys a special reputation. It's not only Sir Arthur's first "authorised" biography, but also written by John Dickson Carr, a giant in the arena of mystery-writing.

Well, to cut it short, this book has been structured like a novel, and is a faster read than most aw
...more
Neil Davies
Apr 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
Very well researched and fascinating book about a fascinating man. The only two things that stopped it getting five stars were
(1) the constant use by the author of the phrase 'this biographer' when referring to his own opinion or something he discovered. I found this an irritating and rather pompous way and would have preferred a simple 'I'.
(2) his attitude towards those who were less than enthusiastic about any of Mr Doyle's writing. It's obvious he is a fan of Doyle which is fine, but he coul
...more
Bonnie Staughton
I really love all characterizations of Sherlock Holmes so I was really interested in reading the biography of Arthur Conan Doyle. Most of this book by John Dickson Carr I thoroughly enjoyed though there were 2 places when I was thinking "why am I reading this?". One when Mr. Carr describes the Boer War and then when he discusses the political scene. Both of these subjects eventually got around to Sir Arthur. Thankfully. I never knew that Sir Arthur was an inventor or that he believed so much in ...more
Stacy
May 02, 2013 rated it it was amazing
I loved the approach to this biography of Arthur Conan Doyle, Dickson Carr wrote it in story fashion, so it is a breeze to read and feels more like fiction with the cleverly woven anecdotes. An added bonus is that it is written by someone who lived in his time and didn't have to research the societal norms or historical background because he was there. Beautifully written, well researched - Carr had access to the family letters and Conan Doyle's notebooks before they got tied up in decades of le ...more
mr. 阿創
福爾摩斯探案系列小說,可說是我閱讀的啟蒙,長大後照例要收藏一套,市面上福爾摩斯版本林立,有注音版、刪節版、精裝版...先人板板...要從中擇一,實在考驗腦汁。

經過種種評估考量後,我的候選名單剩下遠流四冊精裝版,跟這臉譜十冊版。最後我選擇了臉譜淘汰遠流的理由有三:臉譜九冊分印,遠流四冊硬塞,此其一;臉譜統一由王知一翻譯,遠流譯者各冊不同,此其二;第三是臉譜版這本市面難尋的《柯南‧道爾的一生》,可供讀者在閱讀完福爾摩斯之後,重新認識這名幕後作者的一生,大增收藏價值,則是我選擇臉譜版的主因。

當然,我買的時候正在促銷,臉譜版十大冊價錢比遠流四冊精裝便宜兩百塊,看倌們,選擇應該很明顯了吧,哈哈。
Linda
Apr 11, 2010 rated it really liked it
Fascinating bio of interesting man that dabbled in spiritualism and medicine and traveled widely.
Kevin
Mar 10, 2009 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: fans of Sherlock Holmes or Professor Challenger
Fans of Sherlock Holmes or Professor Challenger should be sure to read mystery writer John Dickson Carr biography of Sir Arthur, they'll be glad that they did.
Beth
rated it liked it
Feb 14, 2014
Mjni
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2012
Alistair Duncan
rated it liked it
Aug 22, 2012
Abdubosit Tadjiev
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2013
John
rated it it was amazing
Apr 07, 2013
Jeffrey Keeten
rated it really liked it
Mar 23, 2011
Nancy
rated it really liked it
Feb 01, 2012
Loretta
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2009
Chesshistorian
rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2008
Harmony Jovet
rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2015
Beccadg
rated it it was amazing
Dec 24, 2016
Ian Rodwell
rated it liked it
May 08, 2013
D. E.
rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2018
Books4m
rated it it was amazing
Dec 16, 2012
TaylorB
rated it it was amazing
Jun 10, 2019
Cássia Raphaela
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2018
Peter
rated it really liked it
Aug 16, 2012
akklspph
rated it really liked it
Jul 10, 2017
Shane
rated it really liked it
Jun 14, 2012
Martin
rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2012
Susan Davidson
rated it liked it
Aug 28, 2010
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Emily of New Moon (Emily, #1)
  • Post-Divorce Bliss: Ending Us and Finding Me
  • Martha Berry, a Woman of Courageous Spirit and Bold Dreams: A Biography
  • Merry, Rose, and Christmas-Tree June
  • Welcome to the United States of Anxiety: Observations from a Reforming Neurotic
  • Byron: Life and Legend
  • The Cowboy Wally Show
  • A Father Before Christmas (Bless Me, Father Book 2)
  • Father In A Fix
  • Father Under Fire
  • Bless Me Again, Father (Bless Me, Father)
  • La especie elegida: La larga marcha de la evolución humana
  • Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom (Death Note, #1)
  • Sherlock Holmes and The Missing Snowman
  • Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
  • A Scandal in Bohemia (The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, #1)
  • Plato at the Googleplex: Why Philosophy Won't Go Away
  • The Boscombe Valley Mystery (The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, #4)
See similar books…
262 followers
AKA Carter Dickson, Carr Dickson and Roger Fairbairn.

John Dickson Carr was born in Uniontown, Pennsylvania, in 1906. It Walks by Night, his first published detective novel, featuring the Frenchman Henri Bencolin, was published in 1930. Apart from Dr Fell, whose first appearance was in Hag's Nook in 1933, Carr's other series detectives (published under the nom de plume of Carter Dickson) were the b
...more

Related Articles

It’s time to turn your attention to something dark and twisty, to a story (or two or three) so engaging, the pages just fly by. In short, it’s...
38 likes · 5 comments