Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Four Immeasurables: Practices to Open the Heart” as Want to Read:
The Four Immeasurables: Practices to Open the Heart
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Four Immeasurables: Practices to Open the Heart

by
4.25  ·  Rating details ·  80 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
The Four Immeasurables—the cultivation of loving-kindness, compassion, empathetic joy, and equanimity—is a rich suite of practices that open the heart, counter the distortions in our relationships to ourselves, and deepen our relationships to others. Alan Wallace presents a unique interweaving of teachings on the Four Immeasurables with instruction on meditative quiescence ...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published September 16th 2010 by Snow Lion (first published February 1st 2004)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Four Immeasurables, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Four Immeasurables

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Ulf Wolf
Mar 15, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am a Theravada Buddhist whose practice is centered on Ānāpānasati. Most of what I read is Theravada oriented, such as the Pali Canon, etc.; with one exception: B. Alan Wallace (Buddhist with a strong Tibetan orientation).

I have read several of his books and I greatly enjoy his scholarship and very great scope of knowledge—including insights about the Theravada tradition as well. I just finished The Four Immeasurables and I will gladly share that it is my favorite of B. Alan Wallace books read
...more
A.B. McFarland
Jan 28, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
By the title you might think this is going to be sappy, superficial book, but nothing can be farther from the truth. The four immeasurable qualities (lovingkindness, compassion, sympathetic joy and equanimity) cannot surface fully unless we can understand and soften the unsavory tendencies that keep us from these positive feelings. I especially enjoyed his descriptions of the near and far enemies of the four immeasurables, because sometimes it is easier to learn about something by getting a grip ...more
Sandra
Apr 03, 2008 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
B. Alan Wallace is a serious Buddhist practitioner and student. He spent years as the interpreter for the Dalai Lama so his credentials are pretty impeccable. Although his writing style is bare and rather dry, the content of the book is valuable. His discussion of lovingkindness is one of the best I've ever read.
Renate
Jan 28, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book is based on a series of lectures given by Wallace. According to its cover it should be a very accesible and practical book.
I don't fully agree.
Wallace tries to make Tibetan buddhist philosphy less enigmatic for westerners and comes a long way. But it took me quite a bit of attention to grasp the concepts and the terminology, this is not a bedside table book in which I can easily read a few pages before going to sleep. I tried, but had to re-read the lot the next time.
He gives good, p
...more
Sandi
Jul 08, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is an excellent book on the Four Immeasurables, very readable and has practical application.
Mark Gelula
Has a carefully written series of chapters on the practice of Shamata, which should be practiced before practicing the Four Immeasurables. I am on the final instructions of those practices.
Rubi
Sep 25, 2009 is currently reading it  ·  review of another edition
Very good.
Hollis Fishelson-holstine
One more view into how to achieve my aspirations for living a Boddhisatva
read again
Danae Lund
rated it it was amazing
Mar 12, 2017
Lily Revere
rated it it was amazing
Jul 05, 2014
Katie
rated it liked it
Jul 05, 2012
Christopher DeGraffenreid
rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2017
Jason Tsukahara
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2012
Sara
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2017
Antranik Sefilian
rated it it was amazing
Oct 16, 2016
Vince
rated it it was amazing
Nov 30, 2011
Marcia
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2011
Lynette Monteiro
rated it liked it
Sep 27, 2013
Christe
rated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2017
Janette
rated it really liked it
Apr 29, 2017
Sarah Fender
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2018
Jennae
rated it it was amazing
Oct 16, 2018
Andrew
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2014
Ritzzo Perez
rated it really liked it
Aug 30, 2014
Lynngosnell
rated it liked it
Feb 28, 2018
Thea Nicholas
rated it really liked it
Jun 09, 2015
Jason Comely
rated it really liked it
Sep 15, 2018
Andrea Bonilla
rated it it was amazing
Aug 03, 2015
Mama C-Love
rated it it was amazing
Jun 22, 2018
Sara
rated it it was amazing
Dec 31, 2012
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
“The mind that reaches out to other people, to the environment, to provide what it seems to lack itself, is a mind that is ignorant of its own resources for peace and happiness.” 1 likes
“An indispensable ingredient for spiritual maturation is the cultivation of fortitude: strength, forbearance, and patience.” 0 likes
More quotes…