Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Death with Blue Ribbon (Carolus Deene #19)” as Want to Read:
Death with Blue Ribbon (Carolus Deene #19)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Death with Blue Ribbon

(Carolus Deene #19)

3.64  ·  Rating details ·  22 ratings  ·  4 reviews
Carolus Deene becomes involved in his latest adventure when a famous restaurateur is threatened by a protection racketeer and a well-known writer of cookbooks is murdered under extraordinary circumstances.
Paperback, 176 pages
Published August 30th 2005 by Academy Chicago Publishers (first published 1969)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Death with Blue Ribbon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Death with Blue Ribbon

Community Reviews

Showing 1-38
Average rating 3.64  · 
Rating details
 ·  22 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Death with Blue Ribbon (Carolus Deene #19)
Bev
Carolus Deene, our ex-Commando turned senior history master and sometime amateur detective, is preparing for the break before the Michaelmas term when Mr. Rolland of the Haute Cuisine Restaurant (and hotel) comes to him for help. Mr. Rolland has been visited by two very alarming customers who have demanded protection money to keep his business operating in a healthy manner. If he doesn't pay up, they have promised him a few "unpleasant incidents" which, when publicized, will leave a bad taste in ...more
Kate
Feb 06, 2019 rated it liked it
"Carolus Deene -- the clever schoolmaster-sleuth -- becomes involved in his latest adventure when a famous restaurateur is threatened by a protection racketeer. Then a well-known writer of cookbooks is murdered under extraordinary circumstances. Carolus's investigations in the pretentious world of haute cuisine lead him into great personal danger -- horrifically so when a second murder occurs, that of a member of the protection-racket gang.

Discovering the connection between two seemingly dispara
...more
Calum Reed
Jul 19, 2019 rated it it was ok
C-: By far the worst of Bruce's books that I've read (16/23). I usually enjoy the brisk tempo of the books, but this felt very rushed. There are at least three characters who divulge far too much information with barely any encouragement, and it veers too much from mystery into crime for my liking. Disappointing.
Jazz
Mar 18, 2015 rated it it was ok
After reading "Such Is Death" and enjoying it so much, I plunged into "Death with Blue Ribbon" with high expectations. Unfortunately, the book didn't deliver for me. It seemed too much about extortion and protection money and not enough about murder to make me care. It won't keep me from reading other titles in the Carolus Deene series as I do like the style of writing.
Christine
rated it really liked it
Oct 12, 2019
Rudj
rated it it was ok
Oct 19, 2020
Susan
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2015
TLBooks
rated it liked it
Dec 08, 2017
Richard Clark
rated it really liked it
Dec 15, 2018
Diane
rated it liked it
Jun 06, 2017
D. E.
rated it it was amazing
Sep 01, 2018
Sherry Sussman
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2008
dmayr
rated it liked it
May 09, 2017
Matt
rated it it was amazing
Jul 07, 2012
James
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2017
Amy
rated it really liked it
May 10, 2009
Academy Chicago
rated it it was amazing
May 22, 2012
Sandra
rated it liked it
Jul 09, 2020
Rosyx85 Rosa
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2012
Giorgia
rated it really liked it
Nov 04, 2020
Tamara
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2012
Pam Higginbotham
rated it liked it
Jan 22, 2017
Saunteringfiend
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2008
Mary
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2012
Ninie
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2013
Jenn M
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2014
George Bokos
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2014
Onconerka
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2015
Beiza
added it
Jan 13, 2016
Ilenia
added it
Jan 25, 2016
Phil
marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2016
BookDB
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2016
Carrie
added it
Jan 05, 2017
Farseer
marked it as to-read
Jul 08, 2017
Laura
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2017
AmyLeong
is currently reading it
Jul 09, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators
  • The House That Jack Built
  • The Windy Side of the Law (Antony Maitland, #9)
  • The Crooked Hinge (Dr. Gideon Fell, #8)
  • Murder by the Book (Nero Wolfe, #19)
  • Death of a Busybody (Chief Inspector Littlejohn #3)
  • A Shilling for Candles (Inspector Alan Grant, #2)
  • Wodehouse on Crime
  • To Love and Be Wise (Inspector Alan Grant, #4)
  • The Wild Island (Jemima Shore, #2)
  • Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief (Mrs. Pollifax, #10)
  • Nurse Matilda
  • Over My Dead Body (Nero Wolfe, #7)
  • Death in the Andamans
  • The World is Fat: The Fads, Trends, Policies, and Products That Are Fatteningthe Human Race
  • Ketotarian: The (Mostly) Plant-Based Plan to Burn Fat, Boost Your Energy, Crush Your Cravings, and Calm Inflammation
  • The End of Andrew Harrison
  • Mrs. Pollifax Pursued (Mrs. Pollifax, #11)
See similar books…
6 followers
Pseudonym for Rupert Croft-Cooke.

Other books in the series

Carolus Deene (1 - 10 of 20 books)
  • At Death's Door (Carolus Deene, #1)
  • Dead for a Ducat (Carolus Deene #2)
  • Death of Cold (Carolus Deene #3)
  • Dead Man's Shoes (Carolus Deene, #4)
  • Our Jubilee Is Death (Carolus Deene #6)
  • Furious Old Women (Carolus Deene, #7)
  • Jack on the Gallows Tree (Carolus Deene, #8)
  • Die All, Die Merrily (Carolus Deene #9)
  • A Bone and a Hank of Hair (Carolus Deene, #10)
  • Nothing Like Blood (Carolus Deene, #11)

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
20 likes · 17 comments