Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Savushun: A Novel About Modern Iran” as Want to Read:
Savushun: A Novel About Modern Iran
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Savushun: A Novel About Modern Iran

3.93  ·  Rating details ·  6,841 ratings  ·  516 reviews
Savushun chronicles the life of a Persian family during the Allied occupation of Iran during World War II. It is set in Shiraz, a town which evokes images of Persepolis and pre-Islamic monuments, the great poets, the shrines, Sufis, and nomadic tribes within a historical web of the interests, privilege and influence of foreign powers; corruption, incompetence and arrogance ...more
Paperback, 324 pages
Published October 1st 2001 by Mage Publishers (first published 1969)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Savushun, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Samira Azizdokht دنیا مثل اتاق تاریکی است که ما را با چشمهای بسته وارد آن کرده اند . یک نفر از ما ممکن است چشمش باز باشد . ممکن است یک عده بخواهند با کوشش چشمهای خود ر…moreدنیا مثل اتاق تاریکی است که ما را با چشمهای بسته وارد آن کرده اند . یک نفر از ما ممکن است چشمش باز باشد . ممکن است یک عده بخواهند با کوشش چشمهای خود را باز کنند و یا ممکن است بخت کسی بخواند و یک نوری از یک روزن ناگهان بتابد و آن آدم یک آن بتواند ببیند و بفهمد؟...(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  6,841 ratings  ·  516 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Savushun: A Novel About Modern Iran
Ahmad Sharabiani
سووشون = Suvashun = A Persian Requiem, Simin Daneshvar

A Persian Requiem is a 1969 Persian novel by Iranian female writer Simin Daneshvar. It is the first novel in Persian written by a female author. Daneshvar uses folklore and myth in Savušun. Linguistically, savušun is a corruption of Siyâvašun, which refers to the traditional mourning for Siyâvaš, a hero in the Šâhnâme.

The story is about the life of a landowning family in Shiraz faced to the occupation of Iran during World War II. Savušun has
...more
Ahmad Sharabiani
سووشون = Suvashun = A Persian Requiem, Simin Daneshvar

Savušun (also spelled Savushun‎) is a 1969 Persian novel by Iranian female writer Simin Daneshvar. It is the first novel in Persian written by a female author.

The story is about the life of a landowning family in Shiraz, faced to the occupation of Iran, during World War II. Savušun has sold over five hundred thousand copies in Iran.

Savušun is "groundbreaking" and highly acclaimed work in contemporary Persian literature, with both literary
...more
Jenny (Reading Envy)
Most books I have read set in Iran tend to be about the revolutions of the 1970s to the present. This book is set during World War II, during British occupation, and the Brits are not exactly allies. (Iran was previously allied to Italy and Germany, so they are being occupied to keep control of the area.)

Zari is a young wife of a well-off revolutionary in Shiraz. The story is through her eyes, where she is often controlled by older women in society, managed by male relatives, and patronized by h
...more
dianneOnRBG RIPmalaiseBreak
Feb 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: own, iran
The title is a tradition, pre-Islamic, that represents hope, despite everything. The Shi’a tradition’s passion of Hoseyn, the Prophet’s (PBUH) grandson, and the tragedy of Karbala, and transformation into salvation, into idealism is an example of Savushun.

Imagine a culture 2500+ years old. Maybe it takes thousands of years to create a Hafez. To collect the memories and the wisdom; to maintain the Savushun and rhythms; to respect the place of ritual, and see the magic that ritual brings to the e
...more
Inderjit Sanghera
Mar 29, 2018 rated it liked it
Not sure if it was the translation, but just couldn't get into it.
Sally-W
Jul 27, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Memorable lines:

Zari closed her eyes, feeling as if all her life-forces had been drained and spent, like a squeezed fruit. It was as though a snake had slithered down her throat and coiled itself around her heart, with its head erect, ready to strike, and she knew that for the rest of her life this snake would stay coiled right there around her heart, so whenever she remembered her husband it could sink its fangs into her bosom.

In this world, everything is in one's own hands. Madness, fear, even
...more
Orkid
Aug 06, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: alltimes, fiction
A masterpiece of Iran's twentieth century novel. Simin Daneshvar is regarded -rightly so- as the Mother of Novel in Iran; Suvashoun touches on delicate matters of gender politics, Iran's quasi-colonial contemporary history, literature, love, pain and the birth of intellectual thought and nationalism. Definitely among my top five novels. For non-Persian speakers, the book is translated into some 17 languages to this date.
Anahita
Dec 11, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
i felt pitty to everything i had or i proud of that i felt we are always like thiss... i felt pitty to all people that they understand and they can think and i have this feeling tilll now with me... it was the one of book that made me change my think and my way to living...

i love it
Shokufeh شکوفه  Kavani کاوانی
This is one of the most important books of Iranian modern literature, the first one written by a woman , Mrs. Simin Daneshvar...a wonderful read.
Shokufeh شکوفه  Kavani کاوانی
Why heaven is so short period ? When and why did evil come into our lives ? .....That is the love story of Soovashoon or Persian Requlim.
Bahar
Aug 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Some parts of this book will stay with you for as long as you live....
Aubrey
3.5/5
Obviously, they built the hospital for the day they would need it themselves.
This book is truly a mixed bag, and I'll have to fiddle with the star rating a tad more before I'm truly satisfied. On the one hand, the work is a supremely necessary record that sheds mainstream light on a section of time and place that serves as a comprehensible origin point of events occurring today, laying out the history so concisely that the usual hemming and hawing Euro/Neo-Euro powers do when confronted
...more
Somayeh Yarali
Nov 02, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
I am very sorry that there is not more than 5 stars. I would like to give 10 stars to this novel. That was fantastic. It was so close to current situation in Iran. I just remembered the Laleh Sahabi's father in the last pages of the book. Thanks Simin, you are great.
Hanieh
Oct 22, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A great novel. From the half of the book, I couldn't put it down.
From the book: In this world everything is in one's own hands. Madness, fear, even love.
Edward
Dec 11, 2018 rated it liked it
Even though this novel was originally published in l969 (translated in l990) and is about events in Iran in World War II, it still has a contemporary feel about it. Men wage war, but women are just as involved, emotionally if not physically, and pay as high a price. This is an Iran emerging from tribalism and torn between foreign warring factions, the British and the Germans. Food and medicine are in short supply and people are suffering

The center of this book is Zari, a young mother in her 20
...more
Mariam Arafat
This book is a testament to the claim that Persian culture is timelessly poetic and spiritual. Through a deeply symbolic storyline, this book offers a very rare glimpse of the inner workings of Iran during WW2. Politics, gender politics, philosophy, religion, idealism, power and corruption are all themes that have been masterfully integrated in this moving classic. Highly recommended for lovers of Iranian culture and those who still haven't had the chance to grasp the beauty of it!
Saffa
Intresting just for someone who is familiar with "Bakhtiary-Eal" cultures, "Ashourra", and Bakhtiaries tradition...
Reihaneh Bahrami
I read it again...and enjoyed it more than first time. I think I could read it again and again and even enjoy more each time...
Farzaneh
Sep 08, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I hope to read it for second time, Now I listen he to the audio version of this book!
Atefeh
Dec 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is one of the best books I’ve ever read.
It shows the struggles of a woman perfectly.
The way she tries to do her best in the wrost situations. There so much to say but this was the most important part of it in my view.
Ardene
Jan 16, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction, iran, 2014, mena-2014
Translation ©1991, original ©1969 Savushun
Translation published by George Braziller, Inc.

I found A Persian Requiem a fascinating glimpse of life in occupied Iran during World War II. Told primarily from the view of Zari, it tells the story of what occurs when her husband, Yusef, continues his resistance to selling his crops to the British army for the third year in a row, trying to keep back enough for the peasants who work the land to eat. Yusef’s brother, Abol-Ghassem Kahn, takes a more pragma
...more
Marieke
May 16, 2013 rated it really liked it
I felt lost at the beginning of the story, unable to feel anchored by a character and unsure of what exactly was going on. But the characters sorted themselves out and the story unfolded nicely with multiple points of tension. However, I was never quite able to shake the feeling of being unsure of what exactly was going on. One of the storylines was built on intrigue, but I was never quite able to figure out the exact nature. It's possible my obtuseness was in the way, but it's also possible tha ...more
Andrew
Much like when I read Flann O'Brien, I can't help but think that I lost something by not being part of the cultural audience that Daneshvar was writing for. There are compelling moments, and compelling characters, but I can't quite grasp the whole arc that she's putting together. While I have no doubt that for many Iranian readers, this is an indisputable classic, I didn't get much out of it, and I lack the tools to say whether it was a good or a bad book.
simin
Apr 04, 2007 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
a love so deep u cant reach it so soft nothing can touch it but so real u think u may experience it one day
Andy
Oct 03, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Probably an excellent read in Persian but fatally hampered by a lacklustre English translation.
Henry Louis
May 01, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: iran
This review is mainly about the translation by MR Ghanoonparvar, published by Mage.

First the book: it is an interesting piece of anti-colonialist historical fiction, loaded with historical, religious, and literary allusions which make it hard to for an outsider to appreciate at times. It is quite heavy on the emotion, with some rather one-dimensional characters, but others are nicely drawn. It is not particularly subtle in its themes, but then again, colonialism and subjugation are not subtle th
...more
Maha
Aug 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A lovely story, mostly told through the eyes of Zari. Zari (Zahra) is a sweet young women and a mother of three who lives in Shiraz during mid forties of the 29th century. There's a lot of political tension because the English, with an army of Indians in town, have tight control on the city. With an going war they are putting pressure on major grain traders to buy all their crops with no consideration of the consequences for the local population. Yusef, Zari's husband and land owner, tries not t ...more
Anahitan13
Sep 24, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017, persian, tragedy
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kimia
Sep 09, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It was a great experience to see brave people who tried hard for their time and also the way people on those years lived and things they care.
The original book has 307 pages and its for a few decades ago of Iran and it shows different groups of people's idea. It also shows the emotional and logical parts of a family, the differences between men and women and their reasons for this differences.
I really really enjoy the parts which she wrote about women and the free people who had their idea and t
...more
J. Patrick
Apr 30, 2020 rated it liked it
Very interesting and compelling novel of Shiraz during World War 2. As an insight into the domestic lives of middle class Iranians, it is quite unique. However, the translation of this version (by MR Ghanoonparvar) is not very good. I read the beginning of the edition published by Halban Publishers is much better - that title is: A Persian Requiem.
« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
500 Great Books B...: A Persian Requiem - Simin Daneshvar 2 43 Feb 02, 2018 12:22PM  
Middle East/North...: Suvashan/A Persian Requiem 19 45 Feb 24, 2014 12:15PM  
availibility 1 40 Jan 29, 2008 06:17AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • چشمهایش
  • سمفونی مردگان
  • جای خالی سلوچ
  • چراغ‌ها را من خاموش می‌کنم
  • سال بلوا
  • همسایه‌ها
  • بامداد خمار
  • کلیدر (دوره ۱۰ جلدی)
  • عزاداران بیل
  • مدیر مدرسه
  • روی ماه خداوند را ببوس
  • شوهر آهو خانم
  • کافه پیانو
  • یک عاشقانه‌ی آرام
  • تنگسیر
  • شازده احتجاب
  • عادت می‌کنیم
  • ماهی سیاه کوچولو
See similar books…
395 followers
Simin Dāneshvar ‎ was an Iranian academic, novelist, fiction writer and translator, largely regarded as the first major Iranian woman novelist. Daneshvar had a number of firsts to her credit.

سیمین دانشور نویسنده و مترجم ایرانی است. وی نخستین زن ایرانی است که به صورتی حرفه‌ای در زبان فارسی داستان نوشت. مهم‌ترین اثر او رمان سووشون است که نثری ساده دارد و به ۱۷ زبان ترجمه شده است و از جمله پرفروش‌تری
...more

Related Articles

Thirty-four years after the publication of her dystopian classic, The Handmaid's Tale, Atwood returns to continue the story of Offred. We talked...
367 likes · 59 comments
“گریه نکن خواهرم.در خانه‌ات درختی خواهد رویید و درختهایی در شهرت و بسیار درختان در سرزمینت.
و باد پیغام هر درختی را به درخت دیگر خواهد رسانید و درختها از باد خواهند پرسید: در راه که می‌آمدی سحر را ندیدی!”
50 likes
“گریه نکن خواهرم. در خانه‌ات درختی خواهد رویید و درخت‌هایی در شهرت و بسیار درختانب در سرزمینت. و باد پیغام هر درختی را به درخت دیگر خواهد رسانید و درخت‌ها از باد خواهند پرسید: در راه که می‌آمدی سحر را ندیدی” 15 likes
More quotes…