Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Annette Vallon” as Want to Read:
Annette Vallon
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Annette Vallon

3.83  ·  Rating details ·  958 Ratings  ·  125 Reviews

For fans of Tracy Chevalier and Sarah Dunant comes this vibrant, alluring debut novel of a compelling, independent woman who would inspire one of the world's greatest poets and survive a nation's bloody transformation.

Set amid the terror and excitement of the French Revolution, James Tipton's evocative novel is the story of a woman who has for too long been relegated to th

...more
Paperback, 528 pages
Published November 4th 2008 by HarperCollins Publishers (first published 2007)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Annette Vallon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Annette Vallon

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
BAM The Bibliomaniac
This book was just charming. I was simply enchanted by the romance between Vallon and Wordsworth, not to mention blown away by Annette's bravery equating her to a French Harriet Tubman. This novel gave me a whole new perspective on the French Revolution and how the majority of the country's population was affected.
Eric Shaffer
Aug 18, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Read this book sentence by sentence with both eyes wide open for maximum pleasure. Savor the contemporary political subtext. Ah, delicious.
Katie
Jan 14, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Annette Vallon by James Tipton is thoroughly delightful--start to finish. The story of Annette Vallon is one already wrapped in mystery and intrigue. One country wants to honor her efforts for the crown while the another wants to deny her very existance. She is the beautiful mistress of William Wordsworth, and an activist. And then James Tipton puts all of it into context. He fleshes out the heroine wonderfully, giving her a spirit that jumps off the pages.

The story takes place during the Revol
...more
Jessica
Jan 23, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was so good that I am going through withdrawls!! ...The same withdrawls as when I finished the Harry Potter series. After renting it from the library, this amazing historical novel is soon going to be added to my own library because I want to read it at least a few more times. I wanted to start it over again right when I finished it.
It takes place over 22 years of the French Revolution and although that sounds like an epic, it is not that drawn out. The fact that I learned so much cou
...more
Kelly
Jun 04, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars. This is a very good piece of historical fiction. I heard one reviewer compare the writing to Phillippa Gregory's....I did not find that to be the case at all. I like her books, but don't feel they are nearly as historically meticulous as this one.

Annette Vallon was the lover of William Wordsworth during the French Revolution. I don't want to be a spoiler so I'll be vague here - Annette's activities over a period of a decade (or more) started to seem completely unbelievable to me as I
...more
Annette
Sep 09, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Annette Vallon was the daughter of a physician. Her siblings were Marguerite, Etienne, and Angelique. The novel begins in 1785. Annette was sixteen and had just finished convent school. Her mother is in negotiations of arraigning a marriage. A music and dance instructor is hired for Annette. He is a rogue and Annette becomes a casualty. In 1789 Annette made a statement of belief that "the French Revolution began over bread". Rioting begins, uprisings, murders, looting, civil unrest. There are th ...more
Margaret
Annette Vallon has been marketed as a historical novel about English poet William Wordsworth’s youthful love affair. But Tipton’s book is about Annette, a remarkable woman who made of herself much more than a famous poet’s early muse. And it is about the French Revolution, including the Reign of Terror, which shaped her destiny.

Daughter of a respected physician from Blois, France, Marie Anne Vallon, known as Annette, spent her childhood in the final bloom of the French bourgeoisie. She wore sil
...more
Jacqueline
May 17, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The half-page preface, evocative and elegiac, is by far the most powerful writing in the book. In it, we meet an older Annette Vallon on Jan. 4, 1821, sitting in front of three diaries, remembering things past. "My memories remain fresh and cool. I remember the feel of a silk sleeve on my skin, the lightness of taffeta when I danced, and the big riding cloak when I could feel the reassuring weight of a pistol in each pocket. ... I loved a young poet then."

James Tipton’s Annette Vallon must be
...more
Amy (mrsAmy#s)
This book is really 3.5 stars for me. I liked it, but it didn't grab me. Annette is a very strong woman for her time period. She's captivating and fun to read about. But although the summary of the book might make you believe this is a love story with the poet William Wordsworth, it's really not- it's merely one part of Annette's adventurous and passionate life (although it actually did make me want to go read some Wordsworth poems). However, this might be a benefit and not a disadvantage- Annet ...more
Christina
One of the problems with Annette Vallon is you care more about what’s going on around her rather than to her. The French Revolution was an interestingly volatile time, but Annette Vallon is written so that it’s hard to distinguish whether it’s just historical fiction or a romance novel placed in historical times. Whenever Wordsworth reappears, the true historical aspect of this novel, that is the action and details of the French Revolution, dry up. One must also have quite a bit of patience as t ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Mistress of the Revolution
  • The Queen's Dollmaker
  • The French Mistress
  • Mistress of the Sun
  • Farewell, My Queen
  • Finding Emilie
  • To Dance with Kings
  • A Treasury of Regrets (Aristide Ravel, #4)
  • Courtesan
  • Louis the Well Beloved (French Revolution, #1)
  • Before Versailles: A Novel of Louis XIV
  • Abundance
  • Liszt's Kiss
  • The Secret Life of Josephine: Napoleon's Bird of Paradise
  • Versailles: A Biography of a Palace
  • Blood Royal
  • Confessions of Marie Antoinette (Marie Antoinette, #3)
  • Bluebird, or The Invention of Happiness
“I reflected, not for the first or last time, that when you are reading, others think they can disturb you because you are not doing anything.” 2 likes
“Hatred is a waste of anyone's time.” 2 likes
More quotes…