Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Swift Justice (A Charlie Swift Mystery #1)” as Want to Read:
Swift Justice (A Charlie Swift Mystery #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Swift Justice

(A Charlie Swift Mystery #1)

by
3.69  ·  Rating details ·  518 ratings  ·  97 reviews

Charlotte “Charlie” Swift prefers working alone. That’s why after eight years as an Air Force investigator she became a PI rather than a cop. She lives alone, she works alone, and aside for the occasional flirtation with sexy cop Connor Montgomery or her hunky neighbor Father Dan, she likes it that way. Then her silent partner flees the country, leaving his wife, Gigi, w

...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published October 12th 2010 by Minotaur Books (first published 2010)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.69  · 
Rating details
 ·  518 ratings  ·  97 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Maureen DeLuca
Nov 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
Every once in a while I pick up a cozy to get away from the psycho-thriller-serial killer books. I'm very glad a friend here at GR told me about this series and suggested when I was in the mood for a fun/cozy book- to try this series! Well, I'm glad a did. A cute book, I got a few chuckles here and there. Nothing really new - a PI doing what they do best- drive the 'local' detectives crazy while the PI tries to solve the case. A really fun read- and for sure - I'll pick up book number 2 in this ...more
Tim
Apr 05, 2010 rated it liked it
I liked this, but I liked the inaugural book in her other series much more. Charlie & Gigi make a nice duo. The supporting cast might be a bit too full of hunky guys...but I like the supporting cast (Father Dan, Montgomery, Gigi's bratty kids, the lady who runs the restaurant down the way whose name escapes me at the moment). I AM looking forward to future adventures...

Here are the two reasons for the three star instead of four star rating:

1) It was kind of obvious what was going on with Li
...more
Rage
Oct 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I couldn't resist checking this out of the library, but I enjoyed it more than I expected. there are so many different fun elements: I liked seeing Charlie's relationship with Gigi, her unexpected new business partner, develop at the same time as we were introduced to Gigi's life, which kind of surprisingly sucks (I'm even curious to see what happens with her bratty kids). I like Charlie's interactions with her handsome neighbor and handsome cop friend -- I want to see where both go. I don't eve ...more
Cindy Schilling
May 05, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: books-read-2015
"Swift Justice" introduces us to Charlotte, "Charlie" Swift, a PI in Colorado Springs. As the book opens, Charlie has just taken on a missing persons case, and been introduced to Gigi, the ex-wife of her silent partner. Gigi received the share of the agency in her divorce settlement and has decided she wants to be an active partner, much to Charlie's chagrin.

This was an entertaining debut, and I look forward to reading more from this author. The characters are well-developed, the cases are inte
...more
Stacey Adams
Jun 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Charlie Swift PI likes to work alone but that changes when a silent partner divorces his wife Gigi leaving her with part ownership in Swift Investigations. Gigi causes all kinds of mishaps, havoc and is a general nuisance but she tries really hard. Charlie is uncomfortable with the new arrangement and tries to deter Gigi's interest in becoming a PI at every turn. Despite their conflicts the two work in their odd way to find answers to a dilemma when a baby is dropped on the doorstep of an unsusp ...more
Dharia Scarab
Oct 25, 2016 rated it really liked it

Since I don't normally write reviews unless I have something specific to say, here's the break down of how I rate my books...

1 star... This book was bad, so bad I may have given up and skipped to the end. I will avoid this author like the plague in the future.

2 stars... This book was not very good, and I won't be reading any more from the author.

3 stars... This book was ok, but I won't go out of my way to read more, But if I find another book by the author for under a dollar I'd pick it up.

4 sta
...more
Eileen
Jul 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
This was a great quick read mystery. Many suspects to the murder and lots of action. 18 year old girl has a baby and wondering who the dad is. She is then taking the baby to someone to raise since she does not feel capable. Then there is a murder and we are wondering who did it. Funny characters and then "Charlie" gets a new partner to her investigation business. She is not happy about it. Time will tell and the new parter may be a blessing in disguise.
Laurie Allin
Aug 03, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2015
I read this book because of a challenge that I'm doing that required that I read a book that took place in my hometown (Colorado Springs). The local references were a lot of fun to read about including the victim who attended the same high school as my husband. Without the local flair I still found this book an entertaining and fun quick read and am not opposed to reading the others in the series.
Martha
Aug 30, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An enjoyable light mystery, well-written and reasonably well-plotted. I liked the gradually developing relationship between Charlie, the P.I., and her unwanted partner, and expect to read more of this series.
Sharon
May 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: finished-reading
PI with older sidekick - now I want to read the whole series!
Colleen
Jun 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book really kept my interest. I did not figure out who the culprit was which is probably one of the reasons it kept my attention. I hope there are more books in the series for me to read.
Kari Wainwright
Oct 16, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Beth Groundwater
P. I. Charlie Swift specializes in finding missing persons, being a loner, and drinking a lot of Pepsi. As the book opens, a client appears in Swift’s Colorado Springs office to ask her to find her missing daughter. A daughter she hasn’t seen since she gave her up for adoption as an infant. The teen-age daughter who recently left her own newborn on her birth mother’s doorstep a week ago.
The client doesn’t want to meet her daughter. She just wants her granddaughter returned to the teen-ager.
N
...more
Ed
Sep 05, 2013 rated it really liked it
#1 in the Charlotte “Charlie” Swift series. This debut novel was shortlisted for the 2011 Lefty Award. Author DiSilverio turns in a very fine first effort. "Charlie" Swift is an Air Force investigator turned P.I. In a great balancing act, the serious matter of tracking down the father of an abandoned baby, after the mother is killed, is offset by the comic situations arising as a result of divorced socialite, Gigi, getting half of the detective agency in her settlement and deciding she wants to ...more
Hallie
Jan 27, 2011 rated it really liked it
Author Laura DiSilverio’s debut novel, “Swift Justice” (her PI is named Charlotte “Charlie” Swift), opens in Charlie’s Colorado Springs office with a visit from Melissa Lloyd, an interior decorator who has had something unexpected left on her porch: a newborn baby. She’s had the baby’s DNA tested and it’s her own grandchild. The baby has to have been abandoned by the daughter Lloyd gave up for adoption seventeen years ago. “Find my daughter,” Lloyd says. Only she has no name, no photo, and no id ...more
Kristi | Hidden Staircase |
Meet Charlotte (Charlie) Swift, a PI who likes to work by herself. She has her own firm that consists of her and a silent partner, whose only role was funding. Now meet Gigi. Gigi is a 50-something former beautician-turned-housewife, whose husband has just left her and the kids. All Gigi has is the house, her husband's Hummer, and bills to pay. Did I mention Gigi's husband is Charlie's silent partner? He also left Gigi his half of Swift Investigations. Gigi is eager to learn the PI trade, determ ...more
Janet
Oct 01, 2016 rated it liked it
Me a while to get through this book simply because… well read for yourself.
These are notes I made halfway through the book;
Can't say I care much for the main character here, Charlie. She's just bland and unlikable, in fact that seems to be an accurate description of this book, so far. I'll hang in there though, on the hope that Gigi will provide some good entertainment further on. At least she has a good attitude and interesting personality.
As I go further into this book, the less I like Charli
...more
Kaye
Oct 01, 2012 rated it really liked it
Charlotte "Charlie" Smith, former U.S. Air Force Investigator, now PI, has her own agency, a hunky neighbor, Father Dan, and a hunky detective, Montgomery, for friends, so what could go wrong? She likes being independent. She takes a missing person's case involving a teenager who recently gave birth, the baby, and the woman who found the baby on her doorstep. That quickly becomes complicated when the woman confesses that she had a daughter when she was a teenager, and a DNA test proved that the ...more
Susan
Mar 15, 2011 rated it liked it
I'll look forward to more books in the seriers. If you like Janet Evanovich, I think you'll like DiSilverio. Not quite as crazy and Evanovichs but still plenty of fun. I like Charlie and GiGi and the rest of the cast.

"Charlotte “Charlie” Swift prefers working alone. That’s why after eight years as an Air Force investigator she became a PI rather than a cop. She lives alone, she works alone, and aside for the occasional flirtation with sexy cop Connor Montgomery or her hunky neighbor Father Dan,
...more
Dolly
Nov 06, 2010 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Mystery fans
This book introduces Charlotte "Charlie" Swift, a no-nonsense PI that strongly resembles a modern day Kinsey Milhone. The story is funny, dramatic, suspenseful and entertaining. It was a quick read and left me wanting to read more about her characters. The story was fairly predictable, but I enjoyed reading about the areas around Colorado Springs and Denver and I loved her blend of sarcastic wit, humor, and dramatic suspense. The book cover reminded me of some of Carl Hiaasen's books.

I've also r
...more
Terry
Debut in a new series featuring an independent female PI--and her eventual partner, a not-so-independent sidekick, Gigi. Plenty of snappy dialogue and funny situations make this a quick, enjoyable read. Charlotte (Charlie) Swift needs to find the mother of an abandoned baby who's been left on the grandmother's doorstep. Problem: baby's mother has been killed. And who's the father? And what's the motive? Gigi--complete with a bright yellow Hummer and a great spirit--comes to Charlie's aid more th ...more
Penny Ramirez
Mar 15, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mystery, series
What fun! I love discovering a new author/series with lots of promise. Kind of a cross between the zaniness of Evanovich and the seriousness of Grafton - a good mix.

Charlie Swift is a former Army OSI investigator who retired and opened a PI business, with the help of an invetor/partner. One day she finds a strange woman in her office - turns out the partner decided to dump his wife (the woman) for a 22-year-old personal trainer, leaving Gigi with the house, the Hummer, and his interest in Charli
...more
Amanda
Sep 30, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cozy-mysteries
Charlie Swift sounds like the kind of woman that Steve McGarrett (from Hawaii 5-0) would enjoy working with. In fact they could probably teach each other a lot.

I admit I would have agreed with Charlie on Gigi's choices for decorating the office, and I would most likely be just as annoyed as she was when Gigi tried to completely change the office. Yet Gigi proved that she can be tough enough to do the job, she is loyal and determined to make things work for her and her children (no matter how ung
...more
Pam
Oct 10, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery, colorado
DiSilverio, Laura
Swift Justice
Mystery/2010/Minotaur Books/290 Pgs
Debut -- Charlie Swift PI series
Present/Colorado Springs, CO
Characters: Charlotte "Charlie" Swift -- former USAF investigator, PI w/ focus on missing persons
Gigi -- Charlie's new partner, x-wife of Charlie's silent partner
First Lines: The bear had toppled my bird feeder again, the 2 aspirin I'd gulped w/ a swig of Pepsi weren't making a dent in my headache (note to self: don't try to match Father Dan drink for drink ever again), a
...more
Meg Fee
Nov 09, 2011 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Susan
Oct 31, 2010 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery-colorado
Years of experience have made Charlie Swift really good at locating missing persons. But her latest case, finding out who left a baby at the home of a woman who gave away her own child seventeen years ago, is going to be tough. What's making it even harder is that her silent partner has decamped, leaving his deserted wife with the need to make a living, by becoming Charlie's not so silent partner. Gigi does not have the chops Charlie has learned to use, so Charlie sends her out on the most borin ...more
Caroline
May 25, 2011 rated it really liked it
I liked Lila Dare's Southern Beauty Shop book so, when I found out that Lila Dare was also Laura DiSilverio, I figured I'd enjoy this book. Although I usually buy all my books then read them and pass them on via swap, I got this one out of my local library. Read it in two days and enjoyed every minute of it. I really like Charlie Swift and the fun of the relationship between Charlie and her new partner is great to read. All the characters are realistic and the story was complicated enough to kee ...more
Susan
Mar 08, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: adult, mystery
I picked this book up as a read-alike for Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series. I really liked it and look forward to the second book in this series. In this story Charlie is a thirty something private eye. She has a silent partner who skips town with a 22 year old and his wife shows up making the partnership real instead of silent. Charlie was an investigator for the Airforce for eight years so she knows what she is doing. The partner, Gigi, a 52 year old society matron, provides the comic r ...more
Michele
Jul 22, 2013 rated it really liked it
I was at the library and my son picked out a book for me. I brought it home, looked it up and it turns out it was the third book of a series. So, I got the first book, this one. I LOVED IT. The characters are funny, believable and loveable. Unlike Stephanie Plum, this character doesn't seem to be in heat all the time. Unlike Kinsey Milhone, she actually has a soft side. (I only quote those characters because the reviews likened this series to those two) I can't wait to read the next 2 books. If ...more
Kaitlin
Jul 06, 2011 rated it really liked it
This was a book I picked up at the library because the cover caught my attention but I am glad that I got it! I thought the book had a refreshing and unique storyline to it that had my attention all the way through. I love the way Charlie and Gigi interact with each other and got a kick out of Gigi's experience as a PI. I thought this was a great debut to the series and am looking forward to reading more by Laura DiSilverio!
Nancy Rogan
Jun 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
This was my first DiSilverio book and I really enjoyed it. Her writing style is easy-reading and fast-moving. The characters were interesting, a little eccentric, but believable and likable. I liked that the main character is an established PI with some credibility, not a bumbling, wanna be. The bumbling wanna be character is funny and lovable without being completely silly. I look forward to reading more of these as well as trying her other 2 series.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Skating Around the Law (Rebecca Robbins, #1)
  • How to Party with a Killer Vampire (Party Planning, #4)
  • The Herring Seller's Apprentice (Elsie and Elthelred #1)
  • Liar, Liar (Cat DeLuca Mysteries, #1)
  • The Miracle Strip
  • Drip Dead (A Georgiana Neverall Mystery #3)
  • Polished Off (Southern Beauty Shop, #2)
  • A Bad Day's Work (Lilly Hawkins, #1)
  • Angel's Verdict (Beaufort & Company, #4)
  • Killer on a Hot Tin Roof (A Delilah Dickinson Literary Tour Mystery #3)
  • A Date You Can't Refuse
  • Delicious and Suspicious (A Memphis BBQ Mystery, #1)
  • Feline Fatale (Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter Mystery, #9)
  • The Hidden Law (Henry Rios Mystery, #4)
  • Liver Let Die (A Clueless Cook Mystery, #1)
  • Flowerbed of State (A White House Gardener Mystery, #1)
  • Popped Off (Stay At Home Dad Mysteries #2)
  • Killer Swell (Noah Braddock, #1)
See similar books…
355 followers
I'm the author of the Swift Investigations, Mall Cop and Readaholics mystery series.

After twenty years as an Air Force intelligence officer – serving as a squadron commander, with the National Reconnaissance Office, and at a fighter wing – I retired to parenting and writing full-time.

Spying was easier.

(Laura DiSilverio is also Ella Barrick.)

Other books in the series

A Charlie Swift Mystery (3 books)
  • Swift Edge (A Charlie Swift Mystery #2)
  • Swift Run (A Charlie Swift Mystery #3)