Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Where the Truth Lies” as Want to Read:
Where the Truth Lies
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Where the Truth Lies

3.67  ·  Rating details ·  1,363 ratings  ·  185 reviews
On the surface, Emily Meckler leads the perfect life. She has three best friends, two loving parents, and the ideal setup at the Connecticut prep school where her father is the headmaster. But Emily also suffers from devastating nightmares about fire and water, and nobody knows why. Then the enigmatic Del Sugar enters her life, and Emily is immediately swept away—but her ...more
Hardcover, 308 pages
Published September 28th 2010 by Walker Childrens (first published August 24th 2010)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.67  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,363 ratings  ·  185 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Where the Truth Lies
Sierra
Oct 20, 2010 rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Karina Halle
Apr 29, 2013 rated it liked it
You know those movies that look really exciting/interesting in the trailer and you're like "oooooh, that's gotta be good!" Then you go see the movie and you're like "yes, yes, interesting!" and then about half way it starts going down another path. The boring, safe and predictable path? And then the movie ends and you were like, "it was okay, but if I wrote the film, I would have made it about this and done this and this and this and..."

That's what Where the Truth Lies was for me. Really
...more
Lauren
Sep 26, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Where The Truth Lies is one of the most beautifully and elegantly written books of the year, one that deals with situations present in most teens' lives, if not their friends- first love, break-ups, pregnancies...

Where the Truth Lies starts of at the beginning of Emily Meckler's junior year of high school. Emily has always been the good girl. She has three best friends, a picture perfect family life with two parents (something most of her friends don't have), and the right to a boarding school
...more
Mona Daiban
Jun 26, 2011 rated it it was ok
This book is very surprising, to say the least. I expected it to be more in-depth, and I expected to connect with the main character as I normally do with characters in well-written novels.

I didn't like some of the characters, the first one being Emily. She's just naive and stupid and clueless. Another character I dislike is Stephani. She is pushy and bossy and irritating and just plain weird. I didn't get how Emily could be best friends with Stephani but at the same time dislike her and
...more
The BookWhisperer
Jul 01, 2010 rated it really liked it
This is a very clever tale of love, lies, and secrets. The whole story seems to be interwoven with lies and betrayals; beyond my wildest imagination. The level of emotion throughout the story was unexpected, and will keep readers on the edge of their seats. An overview shows that this story is broken up into three parts. Having completed the novel I like to think of the separate parts as THE RELATIONSHIP, THE SHOCK, and THE UNRAVELING. The first part proved to be a little discouraging and I was ...more
Amanda
Sep 08, 2010 rated it really liked it
Recommended to Amanda by: Good Golly Miss Holly
Shelves: arc, adoption
This is one of those books that every teenage girl should read.

Emily is a good girl. Her father is the headmaster of her swanky Connecticut boarding school, and she has a pretty good life. It's not perfect - she could do without the night terrors or burning to death in a fire or drowning in the rain - but about as close as you can get. When a new boy is admitted to Stonybrook, Emily is naturally curious. The school has a long waiting list, and no one has ever been admitted after the beginning of
...more
 Tina (Fantastic Book Review)
4.5 out of 5 Stars

I must admit after reading the synopsis of this book, I was highly intrigued about finding out the deal behind Emily's nightmares. The passionate relationship with Emily and Del turned up the knob on my interest even more.

Once I started reading this book, I found myself wrapped in a whirlwind as Emily tried to navigate around the secrets clouding her life. This book pulled at my heart and I even had a tear or two by the last page. This book is emotionally compelling and
...more
Sara Grochowski
Apr 30, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
Lately I've been reading a lot of books that are good, but not great. All that changed with WHERE THE TRUTH LIES. Jessica Warman had me totally and completely engrossed in Emily's story. I even spent dinner explaining to a patient friend what was happening in Emily's life - how compelling, yet shady I found the curiously named Del Sugar, my hypotheses about the secrets the various characters were hiding, and my fears regarding how the novel would end. I was, in short, consumed.

Poor Emily... she
...more
Jessica
Apr 14, 2012 rated it it was amazing
This book by Jessica Warman is incredibly complex and surprising; and in my opinion, wonderful. Emily is the main character whom suffers from terrible nightmares, and she doesn't know why, and everyone around her appears to be clueless as well. Her father is a headmaster in a boarding school, she has lived there all her life, and attended the school starting in grade seven. This book takes place when she's a Junior/Senior.

I've read many reviews on how people have said that the book doesn't go
...more
P.J.
Jul 12, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Book 44 for 2010. I loved this one. I couldn't stop turning the pages and had to find out how it ended. Highly recommended for seventh grade and up for those interested in mystery, romance, and realistic fiction.
Jessica
Aug 13, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc, i-own, read-in-2010
Where the Truth Lies is a wonderfully written tale involving Emily, a junior, who begins her school year with many firsts, obstacles, and discoveries. The story begins with us getting to know Emily, her friends, and the details of the dreams that leave her breathless most nights. I thought that this book would focus heavily on these mysterious dreams Emily faces but I was wrong. While this is an important aspect of the story, Where the Truth Lies contains way more than this mystery. Early on ...more
PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
I loved/hated WHERE THE TRUTH LIES; it grabbed me and wouldn't let go. Compulsively readable, this contemporary YA novel takes a lot of artistic license and required me to put stop rolling my eyes and concentrate on my Kindle. I finished reading in a day.

The writing: Jessica Warren writes beautifully using the perfect mixture of dialogue, plot and description. She made me love and root for Emily, the narrator. I discovered her reading BETWEEN and scooped up a few of her books for $1.99 on
...more
Andrea
Jan 16, 2011 rated it liked it
Where the Truth Lies was...unexpected. One thing I can say for sure is that it turned out to be nothing like what I thought it would.

First of all, I didn't exactly like the characters. In the first place, Emily made a lot of stupid choices, and basically managed to screw up her previously perfect life. I had a bad feeling about Del from the start (especially considering how fast their relationship began), and though he wasn't the best morally, he was a very interesting character. The fact that
...more
Fiona
To everyone, Emily has a perfect life. She attends a prep school where her father is the headmaster of and has three best friends. However, for most of her life she has been having nightmares frequently, about either water or fire, but doesn't know why. She goes to therapy frequently but nothing helps.

Enter Del Sugar , a new boy in school with a mysterious background and has an attraction to Emily. She doesn't understand why he likes her, but nonetheless is compelled by his bad boy charm.
...more
Kelsey
Jul 06, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arcs
Wow, I had no idea, at all, what to expect from this novel. The summary was pretty vague as were the reviews I'd read. From the first page I was awed by this novel. The characters, the writing, the plot... everything was presented so beautifully and each page always introduced a new plot twist that never ceased to surprise me and make me want to keep reading. Where The Truth Lies was a tangled, and amazing, read that proved that no one is ever as they seem and how one wrong choice can change ...more
Maggie61
I read most of this book in a day.
There is so much going on, so many secrets, so many complex characters and some twists and turns along the way.
Emily is the headmaster's daughter at a boarding school. She suffers from violent nightmares that seem to have no explanation. She has friends that she has had for years and then the "bad boy" comes to the school mid term. We all know the appeal of the bad boy and for emily if is no different. As she becomes involved with damaged Del, her
...more
Eva Leger
Jul 23, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: y-a, b-fiction
This is exactly how I like my YA books. If the first one or two YA books I picked up years ago had been like this and The Twin's Daughter I'd have been reading the genre long before now.
I was only a few pages in when I came to GR and added Breathless. I didn't add it because it's a "companion novel" but because of Warman's writing in this book.
I didn't want to turn that last page. It's a lovely feeling to want a book to go on. I found myself wishing the book was three times as long as it is.
...more
The Bookologist
Oct 26, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Emotionally evoking, Where The Truth Lies brings you in a world of secrets and a whirlwind of relationships, friendships, and family. The story was very realistic with all the characters and the problems they encountered all throughout.

Warman's writing is extremely beautiful and emotional. She really can capture someone's attention in just a snap. I was impressed with her writing from the very beginning and did not stop reading it until the very end.

The plot was very intense and suspenseful.
...more
Kailia
Jul 13, 2011 rated it liked it
I’m not sure about this book. I wasn’t going to write this review at first but then I thought, why not. Here’s why:

The plot: While I was completely engrossed in Emily’s story, I still do not feel that I was connected to her. Some of her actions and decisions really, really bugged me to the point where I just wanted to slap her and get her to stop! Her relationship with Del Sugar, for me, was not well developed and happened really suddenly. I have to say that it didn’t even feel like a
...more
Stacey
Jun 26, 2012 rated it did not like it
It seems that I have a problem with Jessica Warman's books. This is the second book by her that I have read, and my opinion of it is as low (if not lower) than the first book I read by her (Breathless).
The one thing I cannot stand with both books, is the protagonists. I won't delve into Breathless, since this review is for Where the Truth Lies, but I will say they both made terrible and unforgivable decisions.
Emily, the main character of this book, began out okay, I had no problem with her. But
...more
Trisha W.
Jul 12, 2010 rated it it was amazing
First of all, I love the cover of this book. After reading the book the cover makes more sense, like the big building in the back.
I really enjoyed this book. It was a great read. I really liked the character of Emily, because her dad runs the private school she goes to she is expected to be the good girl, but when Del Sugar comes along, Emily is anything but good. Her father forbids her to hang out with him, but she does anyways, sneaking off with him at all hours of the night by crawling out
...more
La Femme Readers
Oct 14, 2010 rated it it was amazing
My Rating: 4.5

Where The Truth Lies was a novel about friendship, family and detrimental secrets. These underlying lies had the capacity to spin an individual's life into a web of uncertainty and distrust. In presenting this concept, Jessica introduced a sequenced plot with nail-biting anticipation. Another well-executed aspect was the evolvement of main and secondary characters. The combination of personality qualities and flaws eased my character connection. Emily, daughter of her school's
...more
Jessy
Where the Truth Lies was not what I was expecting. It's about Emily Meckler and her cigarette smoking friends at this posh boarding school in Conneticut. Everytime they were together they were smoking cigarette's out the bedroom window or getting high on "mexican red hair."

Emily and her friends (Grace, Steph, and Franny) have a very weird relationship. They kept wanting to cuddle with each other in bed and if one of them misses the "cuddlepalooza" then they have to have another one to include
...more
Samantha
Nov 12, 2011 rated it liked it
I really don't know what to think of this book. It wasn't bad, but I don't know if it was good. I think what threw me off is that this book as so much going on in it. It covers nearly two years of Emily's life but isn't any longer than your average book. This meant that a lot of things were brushed over, I think the book could have been a lot more emotional.

Sometimes I felt like the teen life was spot on... then other times I just felt like the author was just trying too hard. The very laid back
...more
AmandaSOTP
Jul 02, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-2010
I fully expected this to be a typical teen romance with a little bit of family drama thrown in. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this wasn’t entirely predictable and while there were some parts where I thought Emily wasn’t exactly doing the smart thing, in the end, I feel she made some good choice given her circumstances.

The story slowly reveals more and more about Emily’s perceived idyllic life as the daughter of a prep school headmaster. She’s grown up on the campus and now lives in the
...more
Ginny
So, in this tale we have Emily, who suffers from night terrors. She dreams of fire and water to the point that she doesn't sleep. But what do the dreams mean? Things change and Emily's life unravels when Del Sugar shows up as a new student mid-way through junior year. At the end of the unravel, Emily learns the truth.

Jessica Warman has a way with words. Every sentence draws me in and hooks me. Before I realize it, I have read half the book, and don't want to stop. At times I did become a bit
...more
Kelly
For me, this was about a 2.5. It's okay and the story's interesting, but there are some issues at hand here, primarily in pacing, timing, and melodrama. There is a real readership here, though, so I know I'll be a minority opinioning.
On the plus side, I do like Warman's style a LOT. She's much more literary than others in this genre, and this book is a perfect readalike to Nina de Gramont's "Gossip of the Starlings."

Full review here: http://stackedbooks.blogspot.com/2010...
Miss
Feb 02, 2013 rated it it was amazing
This is my favorite by Jessica Warman! She shows us that even those who seem to be perfect are still humans in the end. And humans are not perfect! Emily starts off as this golden goody-two-shoes, and then she becomes a liar, then a mother who gives her baby up for adoption. She made alot of bad choices, but she followed her heart. And she found the truth she'd been seeking from the beginning.
Laura
Jun 20, 2011 rated it did not like it
I picked this book just for its cover.
Worst . Mistake . Ever .
I have no idea why I read this through.
It was horrible.
Flimsy story line.
All the characters were basically the same.
And they always wanted 'cuddles' that distrubed me.
swiftpuppy13
Apr 25, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Great book except it is more suited for older teens...
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • One of Us Is Next (One of Us Is Lying, #2)
  • The Disenchantments
  • The Poison Garden
  • Hysteria
  • Unspeakable Things
  • Fracture (Fracture, #1)
  • Darkest Hour (The Mediator, #4)
  • Haunted (The Mediator, #5)
  • After Nightfall
  • So Much Closer
  • My Side of the Mountain (Mountain, #1)
  • The Twilight Wife
  • Into the Forest
  • The Rules of Survival
  • All the Truth That's in Me
  • Twenty Boy Summer
  • Wake Me After the Apocalypse
  • Seabound (Seabound Chronicles, #1)
See similar books…
369 followers
Jessica Warman is the author of Breathless, which received three starred reviews and was an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, and Where the Truth Lies. The idea for Between came from an incident in her childhood, when a local boy went missing after a party on a yacht (he was eventually found, alive).