Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge: A Desk Reference for the Curious Mind” as Want to Read:
The New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge: A Desk Reference for the Curious Mind
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge: A Desk Reference for the Curious Mind

4.19  ·  Rating details ·  250 ratings  ·  14 reviews

A Complete Revision and Thorough Updating of the Ultimate Reference from the Newspaper of Record

 

Whether you are researching the history of Western art, investigating an obscure medical test, following current environmental trends, studying Shakespeare, brushing up on your crossword and Sudoku skills, or simply looking for a deeper understandi

...more
Hardcover, Second Edition, 1328 pages
Published October 30th 2007 by St. Martin's Press (first published November 5th 2004)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  250 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge: A Desk Reference for the Curious Mind
Spike Gomes
Feb 07, 2016 rated it really liked it
Since I'm attempting to get on Jeopardy, I decided that a wide review of knowledge was necessary, and so I picked the second edition of this book at a used bookstore. Well, I certainly don't recommend trying to read this cover to cover as I did. It's really not made for that sort of thing, though I can tell you this: some of the section writers are far better at others in providing an overview of their field of expertise, and more than a couple don't know how to take an ideologically neutral sta ...more
Daniel
Apr 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I didn't read the entire thing because it's longer than the Bible, but a great reference for curious people to learn new facts daily. I just open the book to random pages, learn some interesting info for half an hour and close it till the next time. Did you know Japanese is spoken on the small island country of Palau? Now I do thanks to this book!
Sherif Fahmy
Aug 26, 2013 rated it really liked it
This is a great book, together with "An Incomplete Education", this is my go to reference when I want to learn about a certain topic. I haven't read it from cover to cover, I just zoom in on the topic I want to learn about. Has served me very well so far.
Lindsay
Jul 16, 2008 rated it it was amazing
This book (along with Bartlett's Roget's Thesaurus) was all I really wanted for my birthday. I know, I know... I'm a book nerd.

The Guide to Essential Knowledge is the most awesome and non-boring reference book I have ever perused. (No, I did not read all eight billion pages)
Jon
Aug 01, 2011 rated it really liked it
yea, has a lot of good info in there
Abby
Feb 23, 2009 rated it it was amazing
i didn't read the whole thing because its like a DICTIONARY. this thing is huge. its not a book were you read the whole thing but you could try if you really wanted to.
Sam Motes
Jan 05, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a truly a massive collection of trivial knowledge on a vast area of topics. Not deep enough in all areas obviously but a good high level over view of a wide swatch of areas of knowledge.
Stephenie
Aug 27, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Everyone
I love this book. Words can not express how awesome it is.
Sumi
Nov 20, 2008 rated it liked it
Shelves: trivia
Covers a broad range of subjects and yet I still felt it was missing something.

In terms of readability I prefer 'An Incomplete Education'
Joe
Oct 29, 2016 rated it really liked it
Pretty weak narrative
Cari
Dec 30, 2007 rated it liked it
great to flip through... would probably take a year and a half to actually read the whole dang thing. Great for the bathroom! :)
Daisy
Nov 11, 2007 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: all nerds like me!
Very helpful book!
Catherine
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2015
lori uyematsu
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2015
Andrew Bartels
rated it it was ok
Dec 14, 2013
A.E. D'orsay
rated it it was amazing
Apr 27, 2017
Ash Friend
rated it really liked it
Feb 01, 2015
Georgia
rated it really liked it
Nov 06, 2014
Jeff Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Dec 24, 2016
Ricardo Rodriguez
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2013
Gregory
rated it really liked it
Dec 14, 2016
Matt
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2020
Desiree
rated it really liked it
Jun 26, 2008
Theodora
rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2020
Sydney Zekley
rated it really liked it
Jun 21, 2014
TED STOCKWELL
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2014
Dan Emery
rated it really liked it
Oct 05, 2014
Maria
rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2015
Kathryn Featherston
rated it it was amazing
May 21, 2014
Eilir Rowan
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: Sheet Music for Flute with C.D
  • Harry Potter And The Order Of Phoenix: A Summary About This Novel Of J.K Rowling!! (Harry Potter And The Order Of Phoenix: A Detailed Summary-- Book 5, Box Set, Novel, Rowling)
  • The Kingdom (Fargo Adventure, #3)
  • The Wizard of Menlo Park: How Thomas Alva Edison Invented the Modern World
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5, Part 1)
  • David Pogue's Digital Photography: The Missing Manual
  • Selections from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: Piano Solos
  • Harry Potter And The Half Blood Prince: (Piano Solo)
  • Inheritance (The Inheritance Cycle, #4)
  • Brisingr (The Inheritance Cycle, #3)
  • The History Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained
  • The Code of the Woosters (Jeeves, #7)
  • The Merchant of Venice
  • The Bastard (Kent Family Chronicles, #1)
  • Einstein: His Life and Universe
  • Daughter of the Siren Queen (Daughter of the Pirate King, #2)
  • The Orchid Affair (Pink Carnation, #8)
  • The Garden Intrigue (Pink Carnation, #9)
See similar books…
141 followers
The New York Times is a daily newspaper published in New York City and distributed internationally. Founded in 1851, the newspaper has won 112 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other news organization. Its website receives 30 million unique visitors per month.

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
15 likes · 11 comments
“Perhaps Aristotle’s most widely-read work is his esoteric treatise on aesthetics, the Poetics. According to his analysis of tragic poetry (a section on comedy was either lost or never completed), the theatrical audience experiences katharsis (“purgation”) of the heightened emotions of pity and fear as the tragic hero, a basically good but flawed aristocrat, is brought down by his own “error of judgment.” 2 likes
More quotes…