Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wandering Son, Vol. 1” as Want to Read:
Wandering Son, Vol. 1
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wandering Son, Vol. 1

(Wandering Son #1)

by
3.97  ·  Rating details ·  2,754 ratings  ·  293 reviews
The fifth grade. The threshold to puberty, and the beginning of the end of childhood innocence. Shuichi Nitori and his new friend Yoshino Takatsuki have happy homes, loving families, and are well-liked by their classmates. But they share a secret that further complicates a time of life that is awkward for anyone: Shuichi is a boy who wants to be a girl, and Yoshino is a gi ...more
Hardcover, 210 pages
Published July 5th 2011 by Fantagraphics (first published June 30th 2003)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.97  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,754 ratings  ·  293 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Raeleen Lemay
Jan 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
Fantastic!
Sesana
Dec 03, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: lgbt
At heart, this is a sweet, simple story about two two transgender kids, a boy who is a girl and a girl who is a boy, discovering themselves and each other. What was most surprising to me about this book is how restrained it is. It's way, way less dramatic than it could be, trading big scenes and shocking revelations for something as simple as Takatsuki modeling a headband in the mirror. For me, it made the story that much more emotionally effective.

The art is very nice to look at. But the charac
...more
Seth T.
Aug 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics
Wandering Son by Shimura Takako

I was in elementary school in 1980 and in high school in 1990. I predated by a few years the rather briskly paced evolution of alt sexualities from something horrifying to kids to something that kids could dabble in without too much fear of ostracizing. I grew up in a town whose homosexuals-per-capita population was second in the state behind San Francisco. We were all pretty well aware of how common open homosexual lifestyles were in the town. We knew about the Little Shrimp. We knew about Snea
...more
MLE
Feb 16, 2013 rated it really liked it
A sweet, and almost gentle story about identity, friendship, acceptance (of yourself and others), and belonging. Not a sexually charged, or exploitative book. It made me happy that this series was avaible to order through my library, and was part of more than one library's collection.
Lydia
... how do I even begin to review this volume?

I picked it up at the library today. I wasn't expecting to see it there, so I grabbed it at the first opportunity. The reason I was interested in this book is because it is a wonderful manga about two young trans people who become friends. I was desperate to read it because Japan's attitude to homosexuality and trans issues is a little bit of a mixed bag. Homosexuality (and everything else surrounding it) is kind of a niche, it is in and of itself i
...more
Aleksandra
Nov 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga
4.5

Delightful and charming!

I love this volume! The strongest start to the series I've read! It's slice of life manga with trans girl Nitori as protagonist and their friends, classmates and family. Nitori's best friend is Takatsuki, who's a trans boy.

The story features their day-to-day life, friendship and coming into their true self. It's been a long time since I've read a story with ten year old protagonists. I love these kids so much! It's very character-driven story, with rather slow flow but
...more
Sean O'Hara
Sep 21, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: manga, lgbt
I want to break into a school in a really conservative district and plant copies of this book in the library, just to watch the ensuing outrage from moral guardians. In terms of content, it's absolutely G-rated -- no cursing, the only fight takes place off screen, and the closest it comes to nudity is someone changing clothes off screen. But Certain People will still object.

The story concerns two fifth graders, Nitori Shuichi and Takatsuki Yoshino. Shuichi just transferred to a new school and en
...more
Lea
Jan 04, 2017 rated it really liked it

Super fast read, and my first Japanese graphic novel. I was REALLY confused by the layout, so it took me a while to figure out the story. I have a hard time with graphic novels to begin with, so this was especially challenging.

As others have mentioned, it can be a bit difficult to tell who the various characters are. I found the action and transitions a bit abrupt -- I knew what the story was going into it, which is a good thing because I think I would have been completely lost otherwise.

Ultima
...more
Chiara
Shit, this was adorable. I need the next one ASAP.
Jessica-Robyn
Nov 17, 2012 rated it really liked it
Shelves: manga-manhwa, lgbtqia
Wandering Son is a beautifully drawn hardcover manga, that feels a lot like what you would normally expect from a North American graphic novel. Whenever I think manga, I think of things like Inuyasha and Fruits Basket, but among all the shojo and action fantasy romps we also have books like this one. Wandering Son is a quiet book. It's a slice of life look into the lives of two main characters, Nitori and Takatsuki. What makes this book unique is that Takatsuki is a girl who wants to be a boy an ...more
Emily
Why I picked it up: It's on the list for the YALSA challenge I'm doing it and my friend Snow got a dreamy look in her eye when she described it.

Shuichi Nitori is a 5th grader in Japan. Most of his friends at school are girls, including the new girl, Yoshino Takatsuki. And there is a reason for that: secretly, Shuichi wants to be a girl. And Yoshino has a secret, too: she wishes she were a boy.

I loved the idea of two transgendered kids finding each other as they are on the verge of puberty. I am
...more
Kogiopsis
Dec 11, 2011 rated it liked it
This is a very subjective three stars, because I think this volume could have been a five-star read if it weren't for a few problems I had with it that may well be specific to me. The idea is interesting and the plot seems to progress slowly enough that it will be thoroughly explored over time. However, I have trouble remembering and distinguishing Japanese names, so keeping characters straight was a constant challenge - one not helped by some strong similarities in appearance.

That said, this is
...more
Andrew
Mar 01, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics, manga, children-ya
Bittersweet coming-of-age story about two adolescents questioning their gender identities. It's my understanding (based on Goodreads reviews, if nothing else) that the later volumes get a little messy in their treatment of gender and sexuality, but so far there's nothing here that gives me pause. Takako Shimura's art is simple and effective, and she captures the anxious rhythms of middle-class childhood in a way that reminds me of my own early life. Kudos to Fantagraphics for the A+ packaging of ...more
Sara
Feb 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is a very sweet story about two people.
Shuichi is a boy that wants to be a girl.
Yoshino is a girl who wants to be a boy.

The art is simple.
The story is simple, yet complex.

I'm looking forward to reading the next volume.
Theresa Marsala
Jun 07, 2016 rated it liked it
When it comes down to it I really enjoyed the heart of the story~ 2 young internally- struggling transgender kids who try to figure themselves out & how to be comfortable with their true selves, but because of culture & language differences between American & Japanese I found it confusing to follow at times. Some characters are very similar & even though there is a Honorifics guide along with a pronunciation guide to help you out, I still felt a little outta whack with who was wh ...more
Sarah
Oct 20, 2011 rated it it was amazing
A sweet, tender, and engaging look at the friendship between two pre-teens -- Shuichi, a boy who wishes he were a girl and Yoshino, a girl who wishes she was a boy. The book pulls you in with these adorable and introspective little characters, on the cusp of becoming adults but not quite there yet and not quite sure how to be what they are on the outside or the inside. Drama with friends, family, and school creates a highly realistic world. It's a natural read-alike for "With the Light" or other ...more
Kelly
Oct 18, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: my-shelf
"In the future that I want to inhabit, it will be considered a classic." That quote is from Erica Friedman's post about the anime (which I haven't finished yet) which you can find here http://okazu.blogspot.com/2011/06/hou... and I think it sums up my thoughts about the first volume of this series perfectly. It is a beautiful book that addresses a difficult subject with remarkable subtlety and grace.
Edna
Nov 15, 2011 rated it really liked it
A good book for late-elementary, early-middle school aged kids who are curious or interested in material that addresses gender-confusion. The manga formatting makes it an easy, quick and non-threatening read - the characters, ironically, look a great deal alike which fits with the "confusion" theme - I was confused and had to re-read or return to panels to confirm who was who (!). Will definitely read V. 2
Jasmine
Dec 24, 2015 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Those wanting a manga with a simple tone to a serious issue.
Recommended to Jasmine by: Tracey Dunne
I will admit the beginning is a bit jumbled and the art might be a little too plain, however it's important story, realistic characters, and relaxing tone definitely makes it stand out in the slice-of-life genre.
Charlotte Thaxter
Oct 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book is amazing and I don't see a ton of LGBTQ manga, haven't started the second book but going to next trip to the library.
Dov Zeller
Nov 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
I read this a while back and keep meaning to read the next ones in the series. I'll have to reread this one, too!
Damon
Feb 27, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga, favourites
Interesting read. Appears to be about boys who like dressing up as girls and girls who like dressing up as boys.
Bryan
Feb 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An absolutely beautiful tale of friendship. The interactions between the characters are just very heartwarming. I really liked how the main characters are 5th graders. That’s around the age I believe I really began to grasp I was slightly different than my peers. Also, one of the characters has a dream that is a reoccurring dream of mine that I’ve been having I think since the 4th/5th grade. Seeing it in this book was sort of chilling, but also very comforting. The story does some forward “time ...more
Reid
Apr 14, 2019 rated it did not like it
I really wanted to like this, to be able to say "oh, this was the series I needed when I was younger," but I can't. The trans characters are misgendered constantly (not just by the other characters, but also by the author) and the majority of the story seems to focus on the idea that they'd be better looking if they transitioned, as if that matters or is the most important reason to do it. Chiba is sooo creepy, but the way she's presented makes me think we're supposed to see her as being support ...more
Joseph Jeffery
Mar 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is an interesting manga and though the translation falls down in a few places, works well as a setup for the ongoing story.

As Nitori and Takaktsuki prepare for a play in which the boys play girls and the girls play boys, they both have feelings that they would be be better off always being that way.

This is something that has long happened in the shadows of people's minds but is now getting exposure as more children openly identify as gender-fluid or Transgender. Thus, sensitive and well wri
...more
Alice
Aug 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I feel like mainstream manga grew up and became this book. I can't wait to read more.
Shadofu
Nov 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
Vol. 1-15 (Completed series)

Who knew there was a good manga about transgender people, and gender identity in general, out there? I guess I do, now.

Apparently, Takako Shimura also wrote a yuri manga that was made into an anime (seriously, how come I never heard of it before??), so I'll be sure to check that out later.
Y
Dec 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
[read this book a billion years ago, didn't get to continue much further... forgot everything... life...]

Told myself I was only skimming it... reread the entire book without getting up to eat. Wandering Son is an accurate, honest, extremely absorbing look into trans childhood, especially as someone who didn't know for quite a while. It's a great manga, and one I'm sincerely glad got the chance to shine. Rare to see a book that's so hard to criticize, but Wandering Son's first volume leaves me co
...more
Cameron
Mar 10, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Anyone who works with kids.
Shelves: queer, manga
Wandering Son: Volume One is a graphic novel written and drawn by Shimura Takako, and published by Fantagraphic Books. The book is about two fifth graders, both who are exploring their respective gender identities. The Wandering Son series spans over 11 volumes (and counting) though only the first two volumes have been translated into English, with the third volume to be released soon (I couldn't find an exact release date, though you can pre-order it on Amazon.)

First, this book is a manga. It w
...more
Charles Hatfield
Jul 08, 2012 rated it really liked it
This is a provocative but also endearing example of manga: a school story about the friendship between two classmates edging into adolescence, one a boy who longs to be a girl, the other a girl who longs to be a boy. A nuanced, remarkably understated, and yet emotionally fraught study in gender trouble, Wandering Son explores the feelings of its leads with a light but knowing touch, braiding recurrent images, remembered encounters, dreams, and fantasies into a subtle, insinuating weave.

More than
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
She-Geeks: February 2016 Read: Wandering Son, Vol. 1 2 12 Feb 23, 2016 01:56PM  
Manga Manga Manga: Wandering Son V1 1 8 Mar 16, 2015 09:22AM  
Josei and Seinen ...: Wandering Son Discussion 4 12 Dec 16, 2013 03:15PM  
  • The Heart of Thomas
  • Saturn Apartments, Vol. 1 (Saturn Apartments, #1)
  • All My Darling Daughters
  • not simple
  • Twin Spica, Volume: 01
  • Children of the Sea, Volume 1 (Children of the Sea, #1)
  • Kevin Keller: Welcome to Riverdale
  • Cross Game 1 (Cross Game, #1-3)
  • Bokurano: Ours, Vol. 1
  • A + E 4ever
  • Emma, Vol. 06
  • What a Wonderful World!, Vol. 1
  • 7 Billion Needles, Vol. 1
96 followers
Takako Shimura is a manga artist primarily known for her manga works published in Japan which feature LGBT (especially about lesbian and transgender) topics. Originally from Kanagawa, she now resides in Tokyo.

See also 志村 貴子

Other books in the series

Wandering Son (1 - 10 of 15 books)
  • Wandering Son, Vol. 2
  • Wandering Son, Vol. 3
  • Wandering Son, Vol. 4
  • Wandering Son, Vol. 5
  • 放浪息子 6
  • 放浪息子 7
  • Wandering Son, Vol. 8
  • 放浪息子 9
  • 放浪息子 10
  • 放浪息子 11