Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon” as Want to Read:
The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon

(Left Behind #10)

by
4.02  ·  Rating details ·  22,773 ratings  ·  317 reviews
Street date: July 2, 2002 The Great Tribulation unfolds as the forces of evil and the armies of God prepare for mankind's ultimate battle. Millions of Christians are protected by God as the anger of the Antichrist, Nicolae Carpathia, burns against them. The biggest novel of 2002 is highly anticipated by consumers worldwide.
Audio CD, Abridged, 0 pages
Published June 17th 2002 by Tyndale House Publishers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Remnant, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Remnant

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  22,773 ratings  ·  317 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon
Stepheny
It’s hard for me to believe that I started this series a little over a year ago.The Remnant is the 10th book in the series. It picks up right where Desecration left off- with everyone’s favorite Antichrist getting ready to bomb TF out of the believers at Petra.

Acting like a child on Christmas morning, Antichrist is estatic about the slaughters of millions of believers. He launches his most aggressive attack finishing it off with a missile that is promised to wipe Petra off the map for good… but
...more
David Nichols
May 09, 2011 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Features one of the most awesomely-bad sentences I've ever read: "The perverse nightmare of the sheer volume of it lay atop him longer than the orange ball rode his eyeballs."
Mackenzie Dare
Apr 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a very interesting book. It really grabbed and held my attention! I kept looking for spare moments to pick it up to see what was going to happen next. It is filled with action and suspense. It embraced joy and astonishment at the power of God. It made me feel the awe! It was very realistic, and seemed quite close to Revelations. It is filled with countless surprises, and never failed to keep me guessing and wanting more.

It's very clean, though there was some violence. There were a coup
...more
Oceana
Aug 05, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: faith-builders
3.5/5
The beginning and the end were really engaging and fun to read, but the middle lagged for me.
I’m really anticipating the next books though!
Pamela Hubbard
The Great Tribulation continues and the Tribulation Force is now scattered all over the world as they lose their safe house. Various members go on different missions and the group at Petra continues to bask in God's favour and provision.
The first half of the book dragged...the same story went on and on and I think the first half of the book only covered 2 days. Then, the second half sped on, flying through different tribulations like darkness, sun flares, etc. I felt like the authors were tryin
...more
Amytiger
Oct 02, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
If you're looking for a quick whats-wrong-with-this review, I've got you.
I had four problems with this:
1. Having all Christian main characters was very, very risky. Give one of them an attribute that's not very godly, and people are going to say "He approves of this in Christians!" Very risky indeed. His solution? Don't take risks. Make every character feel stale and replaceable with the other.
2. The plot would get interesting and then God saves the day. That's not a problem, but it kind of chea
...more
Justin
Jan 25, 2009 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I started reading this series for the fiction appeal and really enjoyed the first 4 or 5 books. I kept reading them because I felt that I needed to finish the story and up until now I have enjoyed them a little. I did not like this one at all though. In between sermons the characters were put in impossible situations that they keep getting out of because they are being protected by God. Things like bullets and missiles shooting through planes no matter what they do doesn't appeal to me because t ...more
Richard Knight
I once found this book at Costco and decided to read it, even though it was the tenth book in the series and I hadn't read the nine books preceding it. It was okay. At the time, I didn't know it was Kirk Cameron's love child. If I had known that, I would have read it with a more critical eye. Still, it wasn't super preachy, so I didn't hate it.
Amanda
Aug 05, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
In general I have been enjoying this series, but this one seemed kind of like the authors just threw it together. In many of the other books, the time was drawn out (perhaps too much in some places), and one book might cover a few days or a few months. This one spans several years and tends to abruptly jump around in time. Every few chapters, you get an update: "Four years into the tribulation..." "Five years into the tribulation..." "Six months later..." and so on.

What I like about the Left Beh
...more
Will Byrnes
More of the adventures of the righteous in the days after the rapture. Competently written fantasy that is meant to be taken literally. I couldn't bring myself to force down another of these, so stopped here.
Donna
May 29, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: religion, dystopian
This is the 10th book in the Left Behind Series, and is just as good as the previous ones. Bible Prophecy is coming true at an alarming rate. The believers are able to (for the most part) stay a step or two ahead of the non-believers due to the judgments that continue to afflict the unsaved.

It is a dark and perilous time in the world, and the prophecy foretells worse in the coming months. I recommend this series to all who enjoy dystopian or Christian fiction.
Elizabeth Meadows
Feb 18, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2020-audio-books
Lots of action, but I'll be glad to get this series finished up.
I'm pretty sure that this is a different narrator from the last few books, but I didn't like the way he pronounced certain names either.
Rachel
There were definitely some Sci-fi type qualities to the events of this book, but each was supported in Scripture. so grateful I won't be here for these events, thanks to the grace of God in saving me!
megreadsnovels
I am committed to finishing out the series but it is taking forever. Glad to have the audio option! This series is heavy on the action.
John
Dec 29, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another good story in the left behind series! When I started this series I read straight through unable to stop!
Heitham Hammad
May 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
On to book 11 ARMAGEDDON.
Neil
This was okay. The characters all kind of run together, in some respects [well, not that they sound like "the same voice," but none really stand out, either]. That being the case, I am not sure I can say the character development was decent [although I was happy that Rayford was not as much of a jerk as he has been in previous novels]. So, I suppose that does say something - the characters are fallible, making them 'more real' as they are not perfect individuals [obviously, otherwise they would ...more
Carla René
This again, was another poorly-written work by Jenkins. I will not fault Tim LaHaye for the mistakes of the one who is supposed to be the best-selling NYT author. He should know better.

Nearly all throughout, the events that the Tribulation Force endure are thinly-contrived; merely tossed in so as to give them something to do. Jenkins takes too many liberties with plausibility, and almost seems to forget that his readers are not morons. I got highly irritated with his way of "preaching" to the re
...more
Al "Tank"
May 30, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Carpathia has his enemies where he wants them: massed a Petra, a million strong — within reach of two bombs and a missile no one could survive without a miracle.

The Trib Force’s aliases and their Strong tower safe house have been compromised, so Rayford, Buck, and all members have to flee for their lives.

Things are coming to a head and more woes are scheduled to be poured out on the inhabitants of the Earth.
----------
This tenth book in the Left Behind series is just as good as the preceding work
...more
Bnschmid
This was actually a good story,with alot of action.I enjoyed reading it.The fact that people actually believe this is going to happen is a little disturbing to me though!I've been approached by enough religious zealots,with their shiny crazed eyes to be disturbed!But it's good fiction and worth reading.
Alexander
Jun 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was the 10th book in the Left Behind Series. Overall the book was extremely intense and very hard to put down. A must read that should be on everyone's to read list.

Pros

Intense
Suspense
Character/ Plot interaction
Clift hangers
Writing style

Cons

Nothing
Niki M
Dec 06, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: christian-books
This is such a long sega, I wish that they could have put a few of the books togeather. I am starting to get board when I should be so elated that I have only one book left.
Peggy Trotter
Mar 09, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Read all of these years ago. Loved all of them.
Shelley Alongi
OK did it really take 11 chapters to get this guy out of prison? Sometimes these events just go on forever. The death of Steve was pretty sad. There are some emotional moments in the series. But they’re starting to resemble more and more and 80s by novel written in the 90s and early 2000‘s. Christian spinal. And you would think that it would have a more Jewish feel if they are going to present Christ’s to juice it sounds more like a protestant upbringing. Just my opinion and I’m kind of surprise ...more
Elorin Achiad
As the series has progressed, there is more Biblical scripture and I guess what I can only describe as "preachy" sections of the books. However, to be honest, that's kind of the point of the books (for one) and it isn't overwhelming (for another point). It isn't turning me off of the novels, it's just notably increasing.
Also, from the first book when the Rapture happens and everyone else is left behind, to the end of the Tribulation (as they call the years until Jesus comes again) is 7 years. Un
...more
Melissa Cunning
I really missed these characters, though I will say this was by far the slowest going book of the series by far. And I missed hardly seeing Rayford and not really know what he was up to. We just got glimpses here and there. It was also rather disappointing that it moved through two years of the tribulation in just the last remaining chapters too. I can't kept help but thinking there should have been much more to say there.

It did get quite interesting toward the end. My interest really did get pe
...more
Kim Justice
Jul 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Starting this review is well, easy to say the least. I started reading the first book in this wonderful series just as soon as I heard about them. Being from a christian home life growing up and as well as my husband and family this was a no brainier.

I am going to do one review including the whole series.

From the first page of the first book to the last page in the last book, I was not able to put these books down. I grew hunger so to speak for each page. I have always had a great belief in th
...more
Michele
Took me awhile longer to get through this book, just so sad as I come to know the characters in the story and then they keep dying, makes it harder to read as fast. While reading these books there are so many things that happen I really hope that people can remember to tell themselves this is just fiction. We do not really know how things are going to play out. We can be prepared for the rapture and tribulation by accepting Christ as our savior and we can read the Bible and know some of the sign ...more
Geoff Battle
Anyone who is ten books in to a series should know what to expect and The Remnant holds no surprises. The usual structure is exaggerated in this entry, with the first half following one event, without any tension or enjoyable action, whilst the latter half picks it up a bit. The final quarter is a welcome deviation from the norm, with far less dialogue which frequently feels like filler. If the authors could have used this style across the series, it would have been six books shorter and more en ...more
Steven
I think it is amazing how quickly Tim Lahaye concedes faith to reason. Once you are part of a miracle you don't have faith you have rational evidence, he keeps calling it faith but faith is belief without evidence. I assume the point it to trick people into believing without evidence by swapping the definitions. I have to give him credit, this is the first book that didn't have the magical ethnic person trope. Still mostly about white people that hate the Antichrist for doing what their god alre ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
xxxx 1 15 Apr 30, 2013 10:51PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Silenced: The Wrath of God Descends (Underground Zealot, #2)
  • Second Chance: The Search For Truth (Left Behind: The Kids, #2)
  • Prophet
  • Apocalypse Dawn: The Earth's Last Days: The Battle Begins (Left Behind Apocalypse, #1)
  • Left Behind Series Gift Set (Left Behind, #1-6)
  • Soon: The Beginning of the End (Underground Zealot, #1)
  • Shadowed: The Final Judgment (Underground Zealot, #3)
  • The Visitation
  • Left Behind: The Kids: Collection 2: Volumes 7-12
  • Fortune's Fall (#1 of The Exiled Trilogy)
  • Deadline (Ollie Chandler #1)
  • Piercing the Darkness (Darkness, #2)
  • Nine
  • The Story Hunter (The Weaver Trilogy, #3)
  • Here Burns My Candle (Here Burns My Candle, #1)
  • Daughters of Lancaster County (Daughters of Lancaster County, #1-3)
  • This Present Darkness (Darkness, #1)
  • Daughter of Cana (Jerusalem Road #1)
See similar books…
1,410 followers
Timothy "Tim" F. LaHaye was an American evangelical Christian minister, author, and speaker, best known for the Left Behind series of apocalyptic fiction, which he co-wrote with Jerry B. Jenkins.

He has written over 50 books, both fiction and non-fiction.
...more

Other books in the series

Left Behind (1 - 10 of 13 books)
  • Left Behind (Left Behind, #1)
  • Tribulation Force (Left Behind, #2)
  • Nicolae (Left Behind, #3)
  • Soul Harvest: The World Takes Sides (Left Behind, #4)
  • Apollyon (Left Behind, #5)
  • Assassins (Left Behind, #6)
  • The Indwelling (Left Behind, #7)
  • The Mark (Left Behind, #8)
  • Desecration (Left Behind, #9)
  • Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind, #11)

Related Articles

  Kellye Garrett's first novel, Hollywood Homicide, was released in August 2017 and won the Agatha, Anthony, Lefty, and Independent Publisher...
31 likes · 9 comments