Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ricochet” as Want to Read:
Ricochet
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ricochet

by
3.97  ·  Rating details ·  18,072 ratings  ·  817 reviews
The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Seeing Red presents a spine-tingling story of murder and betrayal in high society Savannah, where a homicide detective finds his career—and life—on the line.

When Savannah detective Duncan Hatcher is summoned to an unusual crime scene, he knows discretion is key. Influential Judge Cato Laird's beloved trophy wife, Elise, has fatal
...more
Audio CD, 0 pages
Published October 28th 2008 by Simon Schuster Audio (first published January 1st 2006)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ricochet, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Anthony Gazzolo Here you go Claudia, The reviews for this movie can be found on Rotten Tomato, as you know the book is pretty darn good. am almost finished reading. B…moreHere you go Claudia, The reviews for this movie can be found on Rotten Tomato, as you know the book is pretty darn good. am almost finished reading. But I thought I would do my good deed for today. And your it. https://www.amazon.com/Ricochet-John-...(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.97  · 
Rating details
 ·  18,072 ratings  ·  817 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Ricochet
Mo
Jan 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

Desire, such as he’s never felt before pulsed through him



I really enjoyed this one. The last SB book I read was a bit of a letdown so I was a tad wary of starting another one by her.

"Do you play?"



Love her male characters. Duncan is a cop. Dedicated to the job. Tough, gruff, grouchy. Loved his partner too, Dee Dee – would love her to get a HEA.

"I don’t believe we get to choose who we fall in love with, do you?"



As with a lot of suspense/mystery novels, we are better off knowing less ab
...more
♥Sharon♥
Oct 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
My love affair continues with yet another fantastic book by Sandra Brown. I will say though for this one it took a little longer for me to lock in to the love but it happened and that is all that is important! :)

In Ricochet we are taken to beautiful Savannah, Georgia and Lady’s Island, South Carolina. SB writes so descriptively that you can close your eyes for a moment and imagine that you were there.

 photo c1946ad7a0ac0bcb289167fa7e97e895_zps516fbb40.jpg

The main characters were awesome. I really enjoyed both Duncan and Elise. The secondary char
...more
Mei
Jan 09, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: contemporary
A very good and interesting story. I love how Ms. Brown's stories are complicated and how she resolves the complications! :)

So, why only 4 stars?

It's because the romantic part of the story seemed rushed. I couldn't feel the connection between Duncan and Elise. I couldn't understand, besides the insta-lust, why Duncan fell in love with Elisa.

They didn't have very much contact, they didn't interact enough, he hated her, didn't trust her, suspected her of murder and of being a money-grabbing cold w
...more
Jonetta
Sep 16, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Things get started when Detective Duncan Hatcher is called to the home of Judge Cato Laird's home where his wife, Elise had shot and killed an intruder. What follows during the investigation is lots of intrigue and subterfuge.

It's an interesting story with a slow start and an exciting second half. The ending had me in a twist and confused so that's a plus. However, I found it difficult to connect with anyone, especially Elise and Hatcher's partner, Dee Dee. He also ran hot and cold so often he
...more
fleurette
I was struggling with this book for almost a year. The suspense part is actually quite good and it is the only reason I finally finished it. Really, there were few times when I was seriously thinking about giving up.

It's all because the romance part is so unrealistic and annoying. There are no feelings between Duncan and Elise. I just couldn't believe there is anything between them. Also, I like Duncan only in the slightest part and I completely don't care about Elise. They don't look real to m
...more
Cheri
Jun 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved this book. The twists and turns kept me reading all through this long rainy day.
NMmomof4
2.5 Stars

Overall Opinion: This wasn’t nearly as good as I had hoped. I liked the mystery aspect and how it took a while for everything to be revealed. I just didn’t like the romance. At all. It was major instalove that didn’t make any sense other than lust. It actually irritated me because it felt so out of nowhere and majorly undeveloped. I didn’t feel like we got into much depth with the characters and that might have also contributed to not feeling their connection to each other. Overall, It
...more
Jane Stewart
2 ½ stars. It was not fun. I was angry at Elise for more than half the book.

Elise asks Duncan for help and says her husband wants to kill her. When Duncan asks what her husband’s motive is, she won’t tell him. Therefore, he has no reason to believe or help her. Finally at about the 3/4 mark, she tells him “why.” Then Duncan helps her and the story becomes interesting. I would cut a lot of the first 2/3 or so of the book. There was too much hypothesizing, pondering, and wondering. I did enjoy the
...more
Rachel
Overall rating: 4 stars!

Triggers:
Cheating: (view spoiler)
...more
Carol Storm
Jun 13, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
All the way through this book I felt certain that it would be a five-star read, but the last forty or fifty pages really felt like a let down. Sandra Brown's crime novels always combine the sensuality and raw sexual energy of a great romance novel with the hard-hitting action of a classic crime novel. The problem is, in the last fifty pages the romance wins out over all the realistic crime drama. Villains who have been fearless, deadly and resourceful for years start making stupid mistakes just ...more
Ingie
3 Stars - Just okay

Maybe was it the audiobook narrator but Ricochet wasn’t as good as most of Sandra Brown’s suspense romances usually are for me. I had a hard time to believe these characters and didn’t like the heroine as much as I should. Mr Dennis Boutsikaris is a new narrator for me and I by now know I don’t like his way to do female voices, he at last did it a less enjoyable book.

Recommendation: read instead for audiobook listening to this one. I’m sure it actually is a much better s
...more
Lisa - (Aussie Girl)
I love Sandra Brown's twisty romantic suspense novels although Ricochet wasn't one of my favourites. Loved the hero Duncan Hatcher... but what was he thinking! The insta love/lust just didn't ring true for me and when the reasons for Elise's machinations were revealed the plot wasn't as strong as some of Sandra Brown's other suspense masterpieces.
Vintage
Smaller plot holes than usual with this suspense/mystery.

The male protagonist is a detective, but rather than going for the old hard-boiled Sam Spade type, you get a piano playing, Boy Scout detective that has morals and ethics. Does he make mistakes? Oh yeah, but he's a good character.

The tension begins when he meets the wife of a judge he's at odds with. The judge's wife is under suspicion for shooting an intruder and lines are crossed, but who is the real bad guy?

No more from me as this is on
...more
Jackie
Jan 16, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 rounded to 4. The last third of the book was really great! Not so much the first 2/3s. Still an enjoyable read
Sarah
Dec 16, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I picked this up in an airport last weekend, and I believe it's the first Sandra Brown novel I've read. Which is impressive, because she's got more than 70 novels in print under a couple of different names. Ricochet is a character-driven mystery novel centering on Duncan, a detective with a rock-solid moral core and Elise, a beautiful trophy wife who may or may not have committed murder. As Duncan investigates the shooting, he is increasingly attracted to and drawn in by the lovely and mysteriou ...more
Randy
May 31, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I've been reading mostly suspense lately, including a lot of romantic suspense, or "suspense with romantic elements". Unfortunately, too much of it has been mediocre to virtually unreadable. Then I came across a copy of Sandra Brown's "Ricochet" on our shelves at home. I hadn't read anything by Brown yet, but my wife had read "Ricochet" several years ago and enjoyed it, adding it to our "keeper" collection. I picked it up and was hooked in the first few pages. The pacing in the book is just righ ...more
Vanessa
5++ Fur Elise Stars!!

“Do you play?”
He heard himself saying, “Sometimes.”


Oh my goodness. This author is just TOO GOOD!!!! I say this as my bleary-eyed self struggles to type, riding on three hours of sleep because I read the entire second half of this book yesterday and stayed up WAY too late to do so.

Absolutely incredible!! I think Ricochet is my new favorite by Sandra Brown, topping even Envy.

And DEFINITELY the most romantic, sensual, steamy book of hers I've read to date. LOVED
...more
Tapasya
I had high hopes for this book, but it was just “meh” for me.

I liked it for most part, but for some reason, it just didn't completely capture me. It had a good start but then went slow pace that left my mind wandering as I read.

AH
3.5 stars

This signed book was won in a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Ricochet takes place in Savannah, Georgia. Detective Duncan Hatcher is investigating a murder at a prominent judge’s home. The judge’s wife Elise admits to killing an intruder but Duncan wants to investigate further. To make matters worse, Duncan is attracted to Elise.

I must admit that I really enjoyed reading Ricochet. Ricochet was a very readable book, full of mystery and suspense, sexual tension, and many plot twists.

I l
...more
Jaime
This wasn’t Sandra Brown’s best, but it’s not her worst, either. The good was Brown’s ability to build suspense – she’s one of the best. But not all of the characters worked for me. Duncan was a little too ruled by his hormones, and sometimes had mood swings that didn’t make much sense. His partner, DeeDee, was essentially the stereotypical homely girl who automatically hates anyone who is pretty whether she has a reason to or not. Elise is intended to be a mystery. You’re never quite sure which ...more
ツ Renée
My first book from Sandra Brown. I loved this story. The twists and turns were engaging and the chemistry between Duncan and Elise was delicious. Elise was my favorite character. She was regarded as a brainless piece of arm candy by everyone even Duncan, but she was so much more. I enjoyed watching her quiet strength unfold and her fight to get her life back.
Laylaw
Oct 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Full review to come, but I have to just say, Duncan.... Love that man!
NiteReader
They can't all be winners, right?
Lea's Audiobooks Hensley
Relistening. Terrific story but narration leaves a lot to be desired. Still thoroughly enjoying this second listen. But in the end, I didn't care for it as much as the first time around. That terrific feeling lessened. The narrator is average at best and it is sometimes difficult to tell if the hero or heroine is speaking - a particular that will cause my opinion of an audio to plunge. Also saw some real plot holes this time around. Content 4 stars and narration 3 stars. 8/2015

AudioGals review:
N
...more
Marleen
Jun 09, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: bib-dilbeek
Ricochet is a moderately enjoyable thriller (rating it between 2 and 3). The plot's just interesting enough to keep on reading. There’s a mystery in this novel about the major female character, Elise Laird, and about whether her motives are good or not. I found that aspect of the mystery intriguing, but I thought the author took too long in developing it. In my opinion there are too many long passages in the middle of this book where the police characters speculate about who did what, and why. O ...more
Sara
May 16, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: thriller, mystery
I don't know why, but the whole time i was reading this book I kept thinking that Sandra Brown has some kind of patter with her mystery/thrillers: murder some people, place the blame on some faulty character who insists is innocent and that someone is framing them/trying to murder them, confuse reader about the moral code of all the characters & finally conclude the story with the most ovbious solution that one of the morally-inept characters was trying to push off on us from the beginning.
And,
...more
Buscadora
May 07, 2015 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Ugh. I did not like this novel. It's no mystery as to why. I'll just say that for most of the novel I'm 100% in DeeDee's camp. I did not like Elise's character in any way whatsoever. I don't care what her reasons were for marrying Cato, but the things she did and the saintly way she was portrayed was downright annoying. At every turn, she manipulates men with her body and then lies and more lies. Near the end, we get the reason as to why but it felt too little too late. I had already written her ...more
Cristina
Jul 30, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: r-suspense
I normally love Sandra Brown books but I thought this one was poor. The plot, storyline and characters were incredibly weak. It was utterly boring and so full of stupidity that I was hardly able to read it all the way through. A downer all the way. The worst part was Elise's character. I had not simpathy for her. She was unpleasant, deceptive and dishonest. A pain in the neck. And don't even get me started on the unrealistic romance and the infidelity angle. Sorry, I absolutely hate cheating in ...more
Lea Kane
Judge Cato Laird declares a mistrial, letting known criminal Savich walk free. Detective Hatcher loses it and Cato gives him two days in jail for contempt. At a party, he sees the judges wife and drunkenly makes crude comments only to find himself the lead investigator in a fatal shooting involving the judges wife, Elise, the very next day. It's definitely messy, especially when he cannot stop fantasizing about her. The mystery behind the shooting captured my interest but I was frustrated with D ...more
Linda D
Blah Blah Blah - summer easy peasy read. I'm onto the formula now so I need to take a Sandra Brown break. Plus this narrator was not my favorite, unlike Slezak and Stephen Lang who are my favorites.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Sanda Brown Super...: Ricochet 2 10 Jul 30, 2014 12:06PM  
MURDER MYSTERY 3 23 Feb 06, 2014 04:22PM  
Live Video Chat with Sandra Brown 38 49 Aug 07, 2013 05:01PM  
* Questions for The Six 44 79 Nov 17, 2011 05:58PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Above and Beyond
  • Not Even for Love
  • A Kiss Remembered
  • The Devil's Own (Hellraisers, #2)
  • Eloquent Silence
  • Bittersweet Rain
  • Led Astray (Hellraisers, #1)
  • Words of Silk
  • A Treasure Worth Seeking
  • The Silken Web
  • Honor Bound
  • Hidden Fires
  • Seduction by Design
  • Two Alone
  • Dream Man
  • Love Beyond Reason
  • Prime Time
  • Hunter's Moon
See similar books…
14,112 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.

Sandra Brown is the author of more than sixty New York Times bestsellers, including STING (2016), FRICTION (2015), MEAN STREAK (2014), DEADLINE(2013), & LOW PRESSURE (2012), LETHAL (2011).

Brown began her writing career in 1981 and since then has published over seventy nove
...more

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
50 likes · 31 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“last to know, but he usually wants to know.” “Knowing wouldn’t have made a difference” 0 likes
“She tried the word. “Not this time. ‘Abdicate’ doesn’t fit. Besides, that’s eight letters.” “Then I don’t know.” 0 likes
More quotes…