Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Le Fiabe di Beda il Bardo” as Want to Read:
Le Fiabe di Beda il Bardo
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Le Fiabe di Beda il Bardo

(Hogwarts Library)

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  362,535 ratings  ·  13,243 reviews
«Le Fiabe di Beda il Bardo sono una raccolta di storie scritte per giovani maghi e streghe. Sono state popolari favole serali per secoli, perciò Il Pentolone Salterino e la Fonte della Buona Sorte sono altrettanto familiari a molti studenti di Hogwarts quanto Cenerentola e la Bella Addormentata nel Bosco lo sono ai bambini Babbani (non magici)… Siamo oggi lieti di pubblica ...more
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published December 4th 2008 by Salani (first published December 4th 2007)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Le Fiabe di Beda il Bardo, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Drea Kreth Open the front cover towards the left if you are reading a book written in English. Continue turning pages until you come to a page that has words on…moreOpen the front cover towards the left if you are reading a book written in English. Continue turning pages until you come to a page that has words on it. Begin to read the words. (less)
Yamini Moriya Yes, You can read it but first you have to write t because there is no such book till now

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.08  · 
Rating details
 ·  362,535 ratings  ·  13,243 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kai
Apr 02, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“No man or woman alive, magical or not, has ever escaped some form of injury, whether physical, mental or emotional. To hurt is as human as to breathe.”

The first time I heard of The Tales of Beedle the Bard was - of course - in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. And I laughed out loud, crying and giggling for minutes when I first heard of Babbity Rabbity and Her Cackling Stump.

My favourite tale is The Fountain of Fair Fortune. It just warms my heart every single time I read it. It's quite the
...more
Jayson
(B) 75% | More than Satisfactory
Notes: Nothing special but no complaints, just a solid set of bonus stories that remind you how fun Harry Potter books were.
Luca Ambrosino
English (The Tales of Beedle the Bard) / Italiano

«There was once a kindly old wizard who used his magic generously and wisely for the benefit of his neighbours»

Directly from the Hogwarts Library, with commentaries by Albus Silente, here we have a collection of stories for young witch or wizard, the equivalent of muggle fables for muggle kids (namely un-magic children). And muggle Arianna, my daughter, cannot but appreciate the umpteenth bedtime reading on the Rowling's universe. In fact, she lis

...more
SR
Sep 19, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, meta
Apparently I'm getting this for Christmas. ROCK ON.

...Having not read this yet, my favorite part was that on the day it showed up on Amazon it immediately placed above Breaking Dawn for most preorders ever received (currently in system, obvy). It was like, okay, everyone who says Smeyer is the new JKR. Smackdown.


Finally read, years later: Loved it.
Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin
Gah! The Tales are awesome and the illustrations are spectacular =) Well, what did you expect with those two! Just gonna leave some pics down below ↓



The one below is a big pull out pic in the book! OMG!





























There are tons more but don't y'all think I added enough pics? I do, I'm tired now! Enjoy!

Happy Reading!

Mel ♥
Leslie
Dec 18, 2008 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: borrowed, fiction
I felt very warm and fuzzy reading new JKR. How can I not love an alleged children's writer who mentions murder, mutilation, cannibalism, adultery, and bestiality all within the span of 110 (ultra-short) pages? The stories are on the meh side, but Dumbledore's commentaries showed a smart, literary eye that reminded me briefly of Pale Fire. I'm all, "Hey, JK, you did your thang." Be that as it may, I'm a bit offended by the Dumbledore's anti-anti-Muggle bias. I see nothing wrong with witches and ...more
Liza
Dec 22, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own
I actually started this a few nights ago and would read one story each night but completely forgot to add it to my currently reading shelf! I absolutely loved these stories, as well as Dumbledore's commentary. I learned some new things, and connected a few others. They were such a phenomenal addition to the books, especially Deathly Hallows. I will forever love The Tale of the Three Brothers, and it will always be a classic tale for me. I can't believe how much effort J.K. Rowling put into every ...more
Sean Barrs the Bookdragon
This didn’t work at all for me. It felt too gimmicky. It felt like it was trying too hard to be part of wizarding universe rather than actually being part of it. Dumbledore’s notes were here in an attempt to guide the reader though in actual fact they just made the experience much worse. They felt more patronising than anything really.

That being said, it’s a fun attempt to create a foundation for Rowling’s already vast and complex fantasy world. But I don’t think it needs it. If you look at Tol
...more
Pooja
Aug 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 100-pages
Reading a Hogwarts' library's book with the fables taken from ancient times in it along with the notes and guidance of Dumbledore himself, is a magical feeling beyond explanation.



With every J.K.Rowling book, before reading it, I instruct my mind that you are holding a brilliant collection in your hand, and so it turns out to be.

The five legendary tales in The Tales of Beedle the Bard, took me to the time I used to hear tales from my grandparents when I was a kid and they were with me.

Most intri
...more
C.G. Drews
Oct 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was my very first time reading this one! And may I just say that the illustrations (by Chris Riddell) are the absolute best. I stared mostly at them. Like hm, yes, the fairy tales were great, bUT THOSE ILLUSTRATIONS. I will forever be disgruntled that not all books of ever are illustrated. The characters' expressions! The detail! the lush double-page spreads! If you're going o read Beedle the Bard, I say 10/10 go for the Illustrated edition. 😍

As for the stories... I'm glad Dumbledore was th
...more
April (Aprilius Maximus)
If you know me, then you may know that I've tried to read fairytales from the Grimm Brothers, Hans Christian Anderson, and from the collection of Arabian Nights and have been unable to finish any of them because I honestly didn't like the stories and thought they were overly preachy and odd.
This, however, will be the book of fairytales that I read to my future children. I fucking loved it. The stories were a mix of wonder and darkness, of hope and love, and the extra notes from both Dumbledore a
...more
Archit Ojha
Mar 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebooks
A sense of completion.


"The fairy tales of the wizarding world for the muggle readers."

The tales are what the children of the wizards and witches have grown up reading. I loved the connection this book establishes with the main frame of the story. The tale of three brothers and death no doubt was heard and was fabulous.

What made the book immersing was the moral giving stories that fills the young magical mind with the essence of good and bad. The teachings and controversies drawn from the interpr
...more
Amy
Dec 27, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Now, I happened to be at a Wal-Mart at 11:53 pm on December third, the day before this book was to be released. Upon my arrival to the inside of the store, I saw a table decorated with a single blue balloon, and a plastic tablecloth. Taped across the front of the small buffet table was a sign that said "Join us at 12:01 for Tales of Beedle the Bard!" Needless to say, I squealed aloud with delight, and my best friend blushed with embarrassment at being seen in public with a squealing Harry Potter ...more
Helene Jeppesen
Jan 01, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
What a great and cute addition to the Harry Potter series! Fairy tales from the wizarding worlds which very much look like our fairy tales, but which are unique as well. I especially loved the tales about the hairy heart and the three brothers, and now I'm quite eager to watch the upcoming movie as well :) If you love fairy tales and if you love Harry Potter, I'm pretty sure you're going to love these tales as well!
Nina
Jul 06, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2018
Such interesting and sometimes also adorable stories! I really enjoyed reading this book and I think I'll never stop laughing about "Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump". That title is just amazing!

instagram || my blog
Meg
Dec 03, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: oct-dec-08
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Emma Giordano
Finished my first book of 2015 and my first book of the Winter Biannual Bibliothon! This was a really great, short, fun book to start off with.
Nathan
Dec 13, 2008 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Not much to this book. Rowling uses double spacing, huge margins and mediocre pencil art (that she drew) to stretch out what should have been some short stories published on the internet, a magazine, or saved for inclusion in a bigger book. The tales are all very concise, you can tell she tries hard to make them deep and classical, but they fall short, and most fail to draw you in or make you interested. After each story is a boring (almost arrogant) review by Dumbledore, who tries to convince y ...more
Anne Goldschrift
Ach Albus ♡
Ahmad Sharabiani
The Tales of Beedle the Bard (Hogwarts Library), J.K.(Joanne kathleen) Rowling
The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a book of children's stories by British author J. K. Rowling. There is a storybook of the same name mentioned in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the last book of the Harry Potter series. Rowling wrote five stories for the book. One, "The Warlock's Hairy Heart", is not mentioned in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows; three others, "The Wizard and the Hopping Pot", "The Fountain of
...more
Rinda Elwakil
لمحبي هاري بوتر ، حكايات بيدل الشاعر :)

For the love of Joanne Rowling

For the love of Hogwarts

For the love of Potter-heads

For the love of memories

and for the love of magic..

Always.

200_s
picture upload sites



نسخة مترجمة :
https://www.scribd.com/doc/221737268/...
Elena Salvatore
Jul 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: novellas, non-ya, 2016
I just love fairytales that takes place in the universe the series originates from but I do wish we get a full,giant story book.
description


Dumbledoor left Hermione 5 stories with his commentary that we get to read.
The Wizard and the Hopping Pot.
The Fountain of Fair Fortune.
The Warlock's Hairy Heart.
This is a bit creepy but also the one I enjoyed the most reading.
Babbitty Rabbitty and her crackling Stump.
and of course
The Tale of the Three Brothers that we all know and love.

description
Maria
Feb 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
What a beautiful, special book. Jk never ceases to amaze me with her ability to immerse us all into her vast Wizarding World. I truly enjoyed this book so much, as a huge Potterhead myself, I felt the magic in me for this one hour it took me to finish it. Furthermore, Dumbledore's comments added more to the fantasy, to the imagination, they added a background to the five stories that were told. These five stories, so different from our own Muggle fairytales but also so alike, convey lots of impo ...more
Bradley
Dec 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-shelf, fantasy
Strangely enough, I loved this one a lot more than all the other short stories by Rowling. Perhaps it's because they're actual stories with characters and even moral underpinnings, or perhaps this collection just hit the spot. :)

I enjoyed Albus's voice here, but in the end, I think I simply enjoyed the tales for themselves. Little dark fairy tales. :) I have nothing bad to say about little dark fairy tales. :)
Nat Price
Sep 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a wonderful little book!
I especially enjoyed Dumbledore‘s words of wisdom.
Zainab
Wow, I was so emotionally invested in this that I genuinely could not put it down.
Dumbledore's notes really make it hard for one (or me) to believe that the Harry Potter world doesn't exist.
Absolutely brilliant!
Trish
Mar 20, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
As some people know, it took me one hell of a long time to become a fan of Harry Potter. But once I did, I was completely sucked into that world. So when The Tales of Beedle the Bard came out, I was such a huge Potterhead that I had no choice but to buy this enormous special edition. I've included a number of photographs in this review to give you a good impression of just how special this special edition actually is.





The actual book has small iron works which make it quite heavy and just add to
...more
Mai
Nov 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The most beautiful fun you can have is when you know more about a once loved book that you couldn't departure easily.
Unlike many authors, JKR knew better than to abandon her hard work of creating such world, so she spoils her readers with more every chance she gets and as a reader and basically a girl who grew up with Harry Potter books as her only friends, I am grateful for what she presents.

One of my favourite tales is of course The Tale of the Three Brothers as I always hear Hermione's voice
...more
Ronak Gajjar
Jan 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018, favorites
description Magic causes as much trouble as it cures.
Indeed true!
The most striking part of this one – Notes from Prof. Dumbledore
The difference between Muggle and wizard fairytales is the remarkable one. The interwoven miraculous perceptions in-between both the worlds justifying the importance of each along with paradoxical messages to be followed – not to be drawn or indulged or exploit the power bestowed upon.
Each tale withstands its own ground and particular significance along with the beautiful illu
...more
Faye*
Feb 06, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
2.5-3 stars
Meh. I read this in one sitting and it was okay. The stories were just okay and the commentary felt mostly redundant. I guess it would have been better to read this while reading the 7th book, maybe I would have found it more relatable and entertaining. I'm still glad I finally read this, I have been wanting to for years.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
#AYEARATHON: The Tales of Beedle the Bard | 2019 Discussion 4 14 Feb 10, 2019 01:16AM  
#AYEARATHON: The Tales of Beedle the Bard | 2018 Discussion 2 22 Jan 05, 2018 02:47AM  
Goodreads Librari...: Misspelled name 3 18 Dec 03, 2017 07:48PM  
LITERARY HURRICANE: Os contos de Beedle, o bardo (Novembro/2017) 1 6 Nov 02, 2017 02:23PM  
Word game!!!! 105 202 Aug 02, 2017 10:22AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Other Worlds
  • Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There (Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, #2)
  • A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet, #1)
  • Lord of the Flies
  • Speak
  • Witch Week (Chrestomanci, #3)
  • His Dark Materials (His Dark Materials #1-3)
  • Conversations with J.K. Rowling
  • The Handmaid's Tale
  • City of Stars (Stravaganza, #2)
  • The Princess Tales, Volume I (The Fairy's Mistake, The Princess Test, Princess Sonora and the Long Sleep)
  • The Shamer's Signet (The Shamer Chronicles, #2)
  • The Great Snape Debate
  • Trickster's Queen (Daughter of the Lioness, #2)
  • Book of Enchantments
  • Beacham's Sourcebook For Teaching Young Adult Fiction: Exploring Harry Potter
  • The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, #2)
  • Shadowgate (Dragons of Deltora, #2)
See similar books…
199,625 followers
See also: Robert Galbraith
Although she writes under the pen name J.K. Rowling, pronounced like rolling, her name when her first Harry Potter book was published was simply Joanne Rowling. Anticipating that the target audience of young boys might not want to read a book written by a woman, her publishers demanded that she use two initials, rather than her full name. As she had no middle name, she ch
...more

Other books in the series

Hogwarts Library (3 books)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  • Quidditch Through the Ages
“To hurt is as human as to breathe.” 2312 likes
“No man or woman alive, magical or not, has ever escaped some form of injury, whether physical, mental, or emotional. To hurt is as human as to breathe.” 257 likes
More quotes…