Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Stephen King's N.” as Want to Read:
Stephen King's N.
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Stephen King's N.

by
4.23  ·  Rating details ·  13,230 ratings  ·  320 reviews
There is something unearthly and mysterious deep in Acherman's Field in rural Maine. There is a Stonehenge-like arrangement of seven stones with a horrifying EYE in the center. And whatever dwells there in that strange, windswept setting may have brought about the suicide of one man...and harbor death for the OCD afflicted "N.," whose visits to the field have passed beyond ...more
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published October 20th 2010 by Marvel Comics (first published August 2008)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Stephen King's N., please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Stephen King's N.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  13,230 ratings  ·  320 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Mario
May 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: graphic-novels
This is by far the creepiest and scariest graphic novel that I've read. But it's Stephen King, what else did I expect?

I should also say that I loved every second of reading it. I loved art style, how the story was told, jumping from person to person and I loved the ending. It really gave me the chills.

If you're a fan of King's work (or just horror in general) I would definitely recommend.
Carol
4.5 Stars

Holy Crap! I do so enjoy reading a few graphic novels every year, and this one....check out the amazing cover....is just that....amazing!

My first thought....Oh No! Standing stones....a circle of 8 standing stones....or are there only 7? Did I count the stones each time they appeared in a panel? Yep!

We all know what happened at the stones in Diana Gabaldon's OUTLANDER....(if you've read the novel)....and Oh Boy, they sure do look familiar....but we're not in Scotland and there's no hu

...more
Becky
OK, so when I saw the cover to this graphic novel and was reminded of the Predator, I knew I had to own this.



Your dreams will thank me. :D

I loved the story that this graphic novel was adapted from. It was so creepy and ominous, it's a thing of beauty. And reading this GN back to back with Dark Tower: Last Shots shows just how much Lovecraft has influenced King over the years. I love it, how he takes the homage torch and runs with it. It's fantastic. The only thing that would make it better was
...more
Jared Millet
Nov 15, 2010 rated it really liked it
Now that was messed up. This graphic novel adaptation of King's short story isn't just creepy, it's insidious.

There's a field in the backwoods of Maine (of course) where there are eight standing stones. Except when there are only seven. If there are seven, something horrible will break free into the world. If there are eight, the world is safe - for a time. The story follows a succession of people who come to learn about the stones and take on the burden of counting them, over and over, to make
...more
Sarah
Jul 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
This is a graphic novel adapted from Stephen King's novella of the same name found in his collection: Just After Sunset.
I enjoyed this- the art work was great and dynamic, and the mystery sucks you in right from the start.  It starts with a letter from a woman to an old friend talking about her brother's death.  From there we flash back to where it all started.  

The brother was a psychologist working with a patient who developed OCD after visiting Ackerman's field in Motton, Maine.
It wasn't quit
...more
Jim
Jun 22, 2014 rated it really liked it
Can a field make you obsessed? mentally ill? No right? that whould be crazy! When the patient only known by the name N. tells that he changed after visiting Ackerman’s Field in Maine, the doctor doesnt believe him. Well... he should

When you hear the name Stephen King, you expect something good, scary and good. N. will not disappoint you. The story ( nice job on the adaptation ) with the art are combined very well and the result is one of the scariest graphic novels.
Sud666
Aug 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics, horror
N. was a pretty damn good story. I was not familiar with the SK short story behind this one.Marc Guggenheim does a good job adapting the story to comic format and Alex Maleev's art is very fitting to the story.

Ahh the story. I won't spoil it, but a brief overview might help. Dr. J Bonsaint is a psychiatrist who is helping a patient named "N".
N has OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder). As the Dr. listens to his tale it turns out there is a place called Ackerman's Field. After visiting this place N
...more
Mizuki
Feb 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comic, pretty-good
Stephen King's N is based on Mr. King's short story. The narration, the artwork and the coloring is great (the coloring is more subtle and it isn't too bright and annoying like the other standard comic), the story is spooky and it also has a H P. Lovecraft's touch to it (cosmic horror and insanity, anyone?).

Plot Spoilers Warning below!

However! I totally don't get what the story is about, three people just go to this field which supposedly is the gateway to Hell and monsters *even knowing the da
...more
Stepheny


When I first read Just After Sunset there were only a small handful of shorts in it that I actually liked. King’s short stories for me have always been hit or miss. But N. was an instant favorite. N. was compulsive and addicting. I loved it from the start and it finished strongly too- another of King’s big Hit or Miss topics.

When I made my trip to Bangor in April I was able to visit a real bookstore…and a real comic book shop! Now, this may seem like nothing to all of you who live where there ar
...more
Chris
This graphic novel had awesome artwork, and the pacing of the story was done nicely. I didn't find it to have quite the impact of the original King story, but that's not surprising. I mean, King is my favorite author and the visuals in his writing is rarely matched.

That said, this was an enjoyable read before bed. Though I do hope I didn't catch N's "cold".

I didn't count how many words were in this reviews...honest.

Really.

80.
Todd Nesbitt
May 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: graphic-novels
I read the short story first and then decided to order this Graphic Novel. By the way, the short story collection by Stephen King which this story is included in is called "Just After Sunset" and the first printing included a animated DVD of webisodes for this story - very cool.

This Graphic Novel really comes alive with the incredible detail involved in the illustrations and the dialogue is easy to follow and flows very smoothly. The story is very disturbing, in my opinion, as you follow the two
...more
Rebecca McNutt
Jun 11, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: horror, fiction
Really interesting book that differs slightly from Stephen King's usual work, yet it still has all the memories of his best older novels, the same nostalgia and eerie horror that makes readers love his writing to begin with.
Julio Bonilla
Aug 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I like how this story changes perspective in the final chapter. Photo-realistic artwork wasn't the best.

Everyone gets obsessed with the Stone Henge, pushed to the edge where they ultimately die! All because Mr. N.'s story about how he got OCD. N is for Nathan.
Peter (Peer105)
Oct 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars. The original story is one of my favorites from Stephen King. This graphic novel adaptation stays very true to the source material while also adding a bit more.
Michael Benavidez
Jan 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A Stephen King graphic novel adaptation that isn't the Dark Tower (or the Stand, which I haven't read), hell yeah it's gonna get 5 stars.
I have not read the original story, and honestly I don't know if I can now. It's kind of like watching the movie adaptations and then reading the book, and having those interpretations in your head as you read. This is like that, sorta. I say sorta because I don't know close this is to the original source material.
First off, the art is freaking amazing. It's
...more
Thomas Edmund
May 20, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Let me start by saying this is a great graphic novel. Scary/disturbing art and a compelling story.

The problem for me is the overall plot arc, however I'm not sure if this is a criticism of the original King short story or this graphic novel! My gripe is that despite an awesome haunting premise, the story essentially just repeats itself 4-5 times with mildly increasing horror each time, but relying largely on melodrama (i.e. horror at the events of things, not relating to any particular character
...more
A Voracious Reader (a.k.a. Carol)
*Book source ~ Library

Ackerman’s Field. It should be a peaceful place of Nature, to sit and enjoy the view, have a picnic or toss a Frisbee about. But no. What is it about this particular place and why does it affect some people and not others? Real or delusions? Who’s brave enough to find out?

Well, this isn’t creepy at all. I don’t read Stephen King. Ever. Or watch movies (except for the bits and pieces I’ve accidentally seen over the years) adapted from his books. Because heebie jeebies. But w
...more
Jordon Greene
Feb 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: horror
That was crazy freaky! Definitely a great intro into the graphic novel / comic world for me. Just read it, but don't visit Ackerman Field.
Sonya Serial Reader
Aug 21, 2016 rated it liked it
more like 3.5/5 stars
I was not disappointed. This graphic novel is one of the creepiest, most insidious ever. Why does a field haunt some people, drive them mad and lead them to suicide? Who is this N person? And what is this evil thing living in the field? Would it ever end? This novel is about all that and more, the adaptation is gorgeous. Every page was perfect
Narmeen
Sep 03, 2015 rated it liked it
2.5 stars for story.
4 stars for art.
Marina Balinska
Nov 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Scary... Yes, I'm definitely Stephen King fan! It's a short story and I'm thankful for that, because I'm not sure I can read more and not get scared by any noise I hear. I bet I'll have nightmares these days. Still, it's worth it!
Mike
Sep 12, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: horror
I picked up a read the graphic novel adaptation of Stephen King’s N. some time ago and after digesting the work several diverging thoughts crossed my mine. The first was “this is awesome,” followed shortly by “if this was awesome was the short story awesomer”, and lastly concluded with “this would make a really neat short film or single episode of an anthology show.” N., published by Marvel as a four issue mini-series is adapated from the short story of the same name seen in Just After Sunset.

Th
...more
Stephen Arvidson
N. is a graphic adaptation of a short yarn by storytelling icon Stephen King (later published in his 2008 collection, Just After Sunset). Something unearthly and terrifying inhabits Ackerman's Field in rural Maine, at the epicenter of a monolithic, Stonehenge-like arrangement of seven stones (or is it eight?). A gateway to another reality? A tear in the fabric of the universe? Whatever dwells there in that strange, windswept curtilage may harbor death for the eponymous "N.", a psychiatric patien ...more
Adam Smith
Sep 19, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: manga-comic
Is it possible to catch madness like a disease?

It began with a field. A little unremarkable field in the middle of nowhere. A field with a circle of standing stones that seemingly change number at random. Sometimes there are eight stones, sometimes there are only seven. Anyone that visits the field finds themselves compelled to count the stones lest some dark force escapes. One by one, the counting madness spreads, forcing its victims to keep counting, but is any of it real or is it all just in
...more
Slayermel
Jan 05, 2011 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: any Stephen King Fan
This was a great story I just happened to stumble across in the library, I had no idea Stephen King even released it. The story is creepy and makes you think. I actually sat here and counted the rocks in almost every panel as I read through the book. The illustrations capture the story perfectly and add to the eeriness of it all. My only complaint is I wanted more answers; I hate having to come up with what happens next on my own. :0(

The story is basically about a rock formation that is located
...more
Scott
Jun 25, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5*s
The graphic novel adaptation of King's short story. Quite a creepy paranormal mystery here that builds with intensity with each turn of the page. A dark compulsion consumes these characters and it is this uneasiness that heightens the anxious narrative. I really enjoyed this, but the ending let me down, so I'm dropping my rating a bit. Overall, fantastic artwork throughout and well worth reading.
Amber
Jan 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing
I read this while browsing around books a million today and it was pretty good. It's a stephen king short story about people who pass away after discovering stonehenge in a field near chester's mill. It was freaky scary! Def check it out if you are a stephen king fan.
JCUZZ
Mar 07, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Definitely the strangest story I've ever read but a good strange story it was
Jedhua
My Brief Bookshelf Overview: gave-up-before-finishing, grim, mature, steady-storytelling-style, story-not-intriguing-enough
Michelle Morrell
From the short story collection "Just After Sunset," this is the graphic adaptation of the story "N." Creepy, liked the art.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Madison Mega-Mara...: #103: Stephen King's N by Marc Guggenheim 1 3 Nov 05, 2013 08:31PM  
Stephen King Fans: N-printed graphic novel 4 97 Sep 25, 2012 02:52PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Dark Tower: Fall of Gilead
  • The Stephen King Universe: A Guide to the Worlds of the King of Horror
  • Haunted Heart: The Life and Times of Stephen King
  • Nightmares in the Sky: Gargoyles and Grotesques
  • The Stand : No Man's Land (The Stand. #5)
  • The Stephen King Companion
  • Stephen King: The Art of Darkness
  • The Lost Work of Stephen King
  • Bare Bones: Conversations on Terror with Stephen King
  • Stephen King Illustrated Companion Manuscripts, Correspondence, Drawings, and Memorabilia from the Master of Modern Horror
See similar books…