Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cowboy Trouble” as Want to Read:
Cowboy Trouble
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cowboy Trouble

(Acquainted with the Night #1)

by
3.47  ·  Rating details ·  1,110 Ratings  ·  109 Reviews
A cowboy like that could break your heart...

Fleeing her latest love-life disaster, big city journalist Libby Brown's transition to rural living isn't going exactly as planned. Her childhood dream has always been to own a farm-but without the constant help of her charming, sexy cowboy neighbor, she'd never make it through her first Wyoming season.

Handsome rancher Luke Rawli
...more
Paperback, 387 pages
Published March 2nd 2010 by Sourcebooks Casablanca (first published January 1st 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cowboy Trouble, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cowboy Trouble

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Shawna
3 stars – Romantic Suspense

This should have been titled “Libby Trouble” because city girl heroine Libby, who moves to small town Lackaduck, Wyoming to heal her broken heart and start a chicken farm, is absolutely exasperating. If not for Libby’s hunky rancher neighbor, sweet cowboy Luke, I wouldn’t even be giving it 3 stars. He’s such a caring, endearing, sexy hero and frankly, I couldn’t fathom what he saw in Libby, other than the fact that she’s a relatively attractive, available woman in a on
...more
Pamela(AllHoney)
I love the cowboys :) And Luke is worth loving. He lives with his parents and, in his case, it's a good thing. Libby bugged me a little but, overall, she wasn't so bad that it ruined the story. Not really much of a mystery, though. I guessed the who-done-it early in the story. The story moved at a comfortable pace, allowing the reader to get to know the characters.
Karla
Sep 09, 2012 rated it really liked it
Enjoyable read. I like this author's writing, and liked this book better than the first one. The book was funny, had some suspense, was spicy and two likeable characters.
Brande Waldron
Mar 07, 2010 rated it really liked it
What is a girl to do when your ex leaves you for your boss and you look back to realize that the life you knew isn't the one that you wanted to begin with. This is the story of Libby Brown, crime scene, Big City journalist who has decided to move to Wyoming and live her dream. To have a chicken farm. In Joanne Kennedy's book Cowboy Trouble you are immediately captured by Libby, frankly she cracked me up. Always cautious and on her toes, the Big Bad City trained her well to always keep her eyes o ...more
Romancing the Book
May 18, 2012 rated it really liked it
Posted on Romancing the Book's blog
Reviewed by Desere
Review Copy Provided by self from Amazon

I am sure by now we all know that Joanne Kennedy writes the most incredible cowboy stories with the hottest of men! But what about when you take a seriously yummy cowboy, add a heartbroken I am never going near a man again woman add a small town never solved mystery and what do you get ….. one heck of a book!

Libby loves a good crime story and no matter what she will always get to the truth and do anythin
...more
April
Oct 01, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Free Kindle download. I liked the book in general and would probably read the author again. My biggest criticism about the book is that the story is kind of predictable, much more so than the usual romance, especially a romance with a touch of mystery in the plot. I mean to say that yes, I knew which of the two "love interests" she'd end up with — i.e., which of the two men was the hero — but it was more than that; I also knew very early on which of all the possible suspects was the bad guy, the ...more
Patty
May 08, 2010 rated it really liked it
I knew I was going to like this book when I read the first line: "A chicken will never break your heart."
heh
Having chickens I know this to be true.
I don't, though, have a cowboy but that's OK.
The story begins when Libby Brown, an investigative journalist for The Atlanta Journal Constitution, leaves all she knows and moves to a tiny town in Wyoming. She's going to have a chicken farm and report for the local newspaper. There is not much going on around town but there is one big unsolved crime; Th
...more
Kristina
Mar 16, 2010 rated it it was amazing
This book had my heart at "chicken farm" . Having raised chickens previously in my life I knew I would like the book! After starting the first chapter i thought to myself..."This is what country songs are made of! " Our main character Libby lost her job, her boyfriend, and her dog died. It was the perfect start to a cowboy romance.


The story line was great...city girl moves to the country and has to make her way on her own. The Mystery in the book was really interesting and kept the story moving
...more
Barb
Feb 15, 2014 rated it really liked it
Fleeing her latest love life disaster, big city journalist Libby Brown's transition to rural living isn't going exactly as planned. Her childhood dream has always been to own a chicken farm—but without the constant help of her charming, sexy, cowboy neighbor; she'd never have made it through her first Wyoming season.
Handsome rancher Luke Rawlins is impressed by this sassy, independent city girl. But he yearns to do more than help Libby out with her ranch...he's ready for love, and he wants to go
...more
Jess the Romanceaholic
A free read on Kindle.

What worked for me:
*it was kind of nice to have the hero fall hard for the heroine right off the bat

What didn't work for me:
*I figured out "whodunit" waaaay early on - much sooner than I think I was intended to.

See, and that's all I've really got without spoiling anything lol It was a quick, easy read, with just enough angst to keep things interesting. Plus, while I did figure out the twist early on, it had enough "well, who was it?" to keep it from getting too boring (plus
...more
Carrie
Not bad, but I found I kept putting it down to read other things, so I gave up. May try again some other time.
Tracy
~* 2.5 Stars *~
Fleeing a romance gone wrong and still smarting from the death of her beloved dog, journalist Libby Brown lands in Wyoming to follow a childhood dream to own her own farm. Jaded against men, determined to go it alone, the sheer scope of the landscape scares her a little, but a new job writing for the local paper on top of her soon-to-be booming chicken ranch gives her purpose.

Her neighbor, the tall, sexy cowboy Luke Rawlins gives her pulse a swift kick, but she's so leery of men t
...more
Becki Davies
Sep 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
Took a little time to grip me, but once it had me I was hooked although I guessed the ending I still enjoyed this read.
Susan
Dec 22, 2016 rated it liked it
Good book. It started off really well. Libby has come to Wyoming to start over after a series of personal disasters. Her dog died, her boyfriend was cheating on her with her boss, and she lost her job. So she decided to follow a childhood dream and become a chicken farmer, She's just arrived at her new place when her nearest neighbor shows up to introduce himself. Luke is good looking, laid back, and quite taken with his new neighbor. He's glad to help her out with whatever she needs, and hopes ...more
Sandy M
Jan 19, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: western, contemporary
This is my first Joanne Kennedy book. I love a good cowboy story, and I do like the hero, Luke, along with the heroine, Libby. There’s some good humor throughout. The storyline starts out nice and easy, fun, then evolves into a mystery while keeping the humor strong and amusing. But something happens later in the book that takes too much away from what’s gone before.

Libby has had it with men and city living. Her boyfriend has taken up with her boss, leaving her vulnerable and pissed off. She hig
...more
Robin Reynolds / October Woman
Over the last year or so I've gotten more and more into the cowboy genre, to the point where I'm actively seeking out and grabbing books that look like they fit that genre. I recently discovered Carolyn Brown and LOVE DRUNK COWBOY, which I really enjoyed. During my last trip to the library, this book practically jumped off the shelf at me. Well, one of this author's books did, anyway - I had to immediately pull out my phone and look up the author on www.fictiondb.com to check if it was a series ...more
Readers Roundtable
Jan 12, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Sydney’s Review:

Joanne Kennedy has hit the ball out of the park with Cowboy Trouble. She has managed to entice the reader with the turn of every page while keeping you on the edge of your seat. I loved how she gradually brings the reader into the plot of the story while allowing you to watch the heroine, Libby Brown, come into her own not only as a woman, but as a part of the small town community.

Libby is fiesty, yet vulnerable when it comes to love and giving her heart away. Luke Rawlins hit th
...more
Wendy Hines
Jun 24, 2013 rated it liked it
Libby Brown has decided that chickens are the way to go. Coming from a bad relationship, her boyfriend leaving her for her boss, she decides to leave it all and move to Wyoming and raise chickens. Chickens don't care if you love them and they won't break your heart.

Luke Rawlins is a handsome cowboy who lives on a neighboring ranch. He's just being neighborly when he brings Libby a casserole and helps her unload her belongings. But something about Libby tugs at his heart and he'll do whatever he
...more
Ellen
Dec 12, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, contemporary
It was easy to tell this is Kennedy's first book.

I didn't like the set-up over the murderer it was very obvious that (view spoiler)
...more
Cheryl
Feb 14, 2010 rated it liked it
Ever since Libby Brown was a little girl, she has dreamed of running her own farm. Libby leaves the big city and purchases her first farm in Wyoming. She decides to raise chickens.

Luke Rawlins is Libby’s next door neighbor. He is quick to show Libby that she is a greenie and needs his help. First lesson…no is no such thing as a farm in Wyoming…only ranches.

Libby appreciates Luke’s help. Of course it doesn’t hurt that Luke is easy on the eyes. It seems for being a newcomer, Libby has made an en
...more
Kimberly Lewis
Feb 28, 2012 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this book and I have to say that it has one of the best opening sentence's I have ever read..."A chicken will never break your heart." I love it! This novel had a lot of mystery and suspense going on and I found that very entertaining. Libby uses her big city reporting skills to help solve a young womans disappearance, and just some of the situations she got herself in had me sitting on the edge of my seat. It kind of felt like I was watching a scary movie and I was telling her ...more
Babs
Jan 21, 2012 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Western romance
Libby moves to Wyoming after her dog dies and learns her boyfriend is sleeping with her ex boss. She has sworn off men and wants to make her dream come true by having a chicken farm. As she us unloading her truck her sexy neighbor Luke comes over to help. She likes what she sees but is not taken in by him at first. She has gotten a job at the local paper and finds out about Della, a girl who has gone missing for 2 years now. She meets the local Sheriff, Cash who is a hottie as well. She has both ...more
Mandie Kok
The author unsuccessfully tried to merge a cheesy romance with a murder mystery.

Libby wants to start a new life, but unfortunately for her she moved to a town filled with deranged bachelors. The men here are so creepy that it raised some concerns about the author's own experiences with men. Poor Libby has to deal with overt sexual advances and nearly all the male characters in this story try to feel her up. Grabbing strange women and trying to kiss them is apparently as acceptable as saying "how
...more
Rage
May 04, 2015 rated it liked it
I actually liked the writing a lot. I just thought the leading lady, Libby, was the weakest part of the story. She's an investigative reporter coming out of a bad relationship, so she's suspicious of men in general and everyone who might have abducted/murdered local missing teen, Della. On her first day in her new home, she meets handsome and sweet cowboy, Luke (he's written as a thoroughly stand-up dude), who spends the rest of the story trying to convince her that he's not a lying monster. She ...more
Ciara
Apr 17, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: books-i-ve-read
How lucky for me to grace a romance novel about a big city journalist moved out west to live her dream, especially considering I am a big city journalist moved out west to live her dream! That's right-- I'm the girl in the photo on the cover! That photo was taken a few years ago while working as Head Wrangler at a high-end dude ranch-- alright, so my dream didn't include chickens, it's more about the horses. Nevertheless, true to Libby, I do love chickens. In fact, my favorite pet chicken, Henny ...more
Kerste
Jul 04, 2010 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: cowboy hero, romance suspense fans
Recommended to Kerste by: Goodreads
I did enjoy this book. I liked the two main characters. I am not a big cowboy fan, nor am I big mystery/suspense fan. And maybe because of that, I felt a little jerked around with everyone being a plausible suspect in the disappearance of a certain young lady. The hero was amazingly sweet and I loved seeing the story from his point-of-view, made it a little difficult to get all wound up when he became a suspect towards the end of the book. That was definitely a "What?!" moment. But maybe that's ...more
BBMoreB ~
Mar 06, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own
I really like cowboy romances; I expected something similar to Carolyn Brown's Honky Tonk series - this book had the sexy cowboy but the similarities ended there. The formatting was terrible; paragraphs were misaligned and also words that had spaces within them - this was very distracting and took away the easy of reading.

The story was sometimes difficult to follow, like transition paragraphs were removed. Making the story appear jumbled and I often found I had to flip back a couple of pages - f
...more
Lillian Angelovic
Jan 17, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: kindle
Disclaimer: I don't read a lot of romance novels and I'm usually very unimpressed by the formulaic writing and poor storytelling. But I LOVED the concept of a city girl and a chicken "ranch" in Wyoming, so I figured I'd give it a try. Unfortunately, all through the first half there were too many things that shot down my suspension of disbelief. A rancher who knows nothing about chickens? A school admin who has never heard of the victim in the area's biggest news story in years? And Libby's reaso ...more
Vikki
Dec 29, 2010 rated it really liked it
Shelves: romance-novels
I was pleasantly surprised and impressed by this book. It was a free download for my new Kindle so I really didn't have anything to lose by giving it a try. I expected it to be a feel good romance novel, nothing more. However, it was 'something more'. Although the primary genre is definitely romance, there's a strong crime/thriller element too. Even though I guessed the 'whodunnit' correctly early on, it didn't matter as there was still plenty of suspence.

This isn't the best book I have ever rea
...more
Anna
Jan 23, 2011 rated it liked it
I got this book for free on Kindle, and it was pretty good--especially for the price! Don't know if I would go out of my way to look for more from this author. But considering most of the inane fare that is on television, reading this was way more entertaining than the average sitcom.

Libby, our heroine, left Atlanta with a broken heart and is sworn off men... but of course, on her first day out West she meets a handsome cowboy who just happens to be her neighbor. There are some interesting side
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • One Lucky Cowboy (Lucky, #2)
  • Marry Me (Reidsville, #2)
  • Big Girls Don't Die (In the Heat of the Night, Book 2)
  • The Matchmakers
  • Once a Cowboy (The Cowboys, #3)
  • Sweet Water
  • Lone Star Trouble
  • Roped
  • Going Cowboy Crazy (Deep in the Heart of Texas, #1)
  • Catch of a Lifetime (Tritone Trilogy, #3)
  • An Unlikely Place for Love: The Disguises of Kate Tanner (Virginia Historicals #1)
  • The Bite of Silence (Biting Love Series)
  • Down In Texas
  • Taken by the Cowboy
  • Wild Desire (Wild, #2)
  • Romeo, Romeo (Domestic Gods, #1)
  • Twas the Night
169 followers
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82001
Laramie County

Books (Most Recent Publications First)

 photo 9781402283697_zpstbcecphj.jpg  photo 9781402283666_zpsqotwi7qv.jpg CowboyToughCoverSmall photo CowboyToughCoverSmall_zpsacac8d9d.jpg Cowboy Crazy Cover photo cowboycrazy-300_zps70ac7db3.jpeg

Photobucket Joanne Kennedy,Cowboy Fever,Western romance One Fine Cowboy Cowboy Trouble

Author Website:  www.joannekennedybooks.com
Author Email:      Joanne@JoanneKennedyBooks.com
Facebook:      http://www.facebook.com/pages/Joanne-Kennedy-Books/114277591920110

Biographical and Professional Information

Joanne Kennedy's fascination with Wyoming’s unique blend of past and present leads her to write contem
...more

Other books in the series

Acquainted with the Night (6 books)
  • One Fine Cowboy
  • Cowboy Fever
  • Tall, Dark and Cowboy
  • Cowboy Crazy
  • Cowboy Tough
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »