Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Anarchy Evolution: Faith, Science, and Bad Religion in a World Without God” as Want to Read:
Anarchy Evolution: Faith, Science, and Bad Religion in a World Without God
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Anarchy Evolution: Faith, Science, and Bad Religion in a World Without God

by
3.96  ·  Rating details ·  1,622 ratings  ·  149 reviews
A provocative look at the collision between religion and science-by the founding member of the cult punk band Bad Religion who is also a professor.

“I’ve always had a problem with authority.” —Greg Graffin

The world knows Greg Graffin as the lead singer of the cult punk band Bad Religion which he founded in the 80s— what they may not know is he also also a Ph.D. and a Profes
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published September 28th 2010 by It Books (first published 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Anarchy Evolution, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Anarchy Evolution

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,622 ratings  ·  149 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Michael
Dec 19, 2010 rated it it was ok
Shelves: own
Greg Graffin, through his music, has been one of my most profound personal influences. I've been a fan of Bad Religion for going on two decades, and Graffin's lyrics have always struck me as personally and socially relevant.

It was with this level of admiration that I picked up his book. Sadly, I've found his prose to be far less inspirational or insightful than his poetry. One is left with the feeling that Graffin actually does have a valuable perspective to share in regard to his world-view, bu
...more
Bastian Greshake Tzovaras
I'm a huge fan of Bad Religion and an evolutionary biologist. So this looked like the perfect book for me. Unfortunately it's not, although I've tried hard. Graffin tries to mix anecdotes about his biography in Science & with Bad Religion along basic biology while criticising faith in a "Dawkins-light" way.

Which sounds like an awesome mix of topics comes short as Graffin doesn't succeed in weaving all those topics together. The jumps between biography/science/beliefs are abrupt and often don
...more
Jan
Oct 01, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: non-fiction
From the lead singer of Bad Religion, a book about science and religion and music and other stuff. I'm not totally sure what this book was about, but I liked it anyway. Sometimes I don't need to get the "point" to enjoy something.

I thought the book worked best when Gaffin spoke of his personal life. I enjoyed his tales about his childhood, about how he founded Bad Religion, and of how he became obsessed with evolution, which led him to eventually receive a PhD (he is a college professor as well
...more
David Boone
Jul 16, 2014 rated it it was amazing
Greg Graffin, Ph.D., punk rock's resident evolutionary biologist, tells the story of his band (Bad Religion) and his beliefs (monistic naturalism) in this interesting book that is part memoir, part punk history, and part apologetic for an evolutionary worldview. He weaves his story together really well, bridging the two disparate fields in which he splits his time. The science he presents is easy to understand, and he infuses it with additional relevance by relating the evolutionary ideas direct ...more
Rod
Apr 21, 2015 rated it did not like it
Now this was a fun challenge. Especially since I generally (I mean ALWAYS) mock Atheistic macro-evolutionary claims, bad Punk Music, and all things that poorly attempt to attack my beloved Bible. But that's no reason we can't have a blast.

Here's a game I play with all Evolutionary Propaganda: (what else would Harper/Collins bother to put out?)

Underline every evolutionary Fact that is met with a "Maybe, possibly, might have, we assume, are led to believe, appears, or plays loosely with billions o
...more
Eve Kay
Feb 03, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Unlike others, I fail to see the point of this book. I'm analysing it now that I've read it and the only conclusion I come to is that it's Graffin's way of jotting stuff down and/or therapy. By writing, I think he is processing some stuff, it just feels to me he published it just 'cause other singers from other bands have also published books.

The mentioning of Dawkins in the beginning was mean, I was hopeful to find a similar style of analysis on religion as Dawkins has in his books but Graffin'
...more
Jennifer Johnson
Feb 16, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2011
I eagerly bought this book as I've been a long time admirer of Graffin's music, which is based around intellectual lyrics and thought provoking social commentary. Therefore, I was sure his musings on Atheism would reflect the same quality. I was sorely disappointed.

Now, I feel the need to qualify my criticism because I'm not sure my views would represent those of the average person reading the book. I spent my entire adult life living with a scientist and have spent even more time listening to
...more
Misled_punk
Nov 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Since 15 I've listened to Bad Religion. My ruthless inquisitiveness didn't give me an alternative. I had to get to known the lead vocalist. Soon I found out, to my surprise, that he is a biologist! Moreover, he has a family, one divorce which by the way remarks on his book as tragedy and such a punk life I've always wanted to have.

Not only is Graffin a brilliant songwriter but he is an awe-inspiring author as well. In his book Anarchy evolution he talks a lot about personal adventures, thoughts
...more
Ashley
Feb 28, 2012 rated it liked it
It’s not often that you think of punk rock and PhD’s mixing, but they meld perfectly in Anarchy Evolution: Faith, Science, and Bad Religion in a World Without God. Co-author Greg Graffin has a PhD in Zoology, teaches Evolution at UCLA, and is the lead singer of punk band Bad Religion.

Anarchy Evolution is my February book from the backlog read for the Bookish Resolutions challenge. I’ve been reading this one on and off for a year. It’s part memoir, part celebration of the punk scene, and part app
...more
Cudjoe
Apr 15, 2011 rated it really liked it
Greg Graffin, singer for punk heroes Bad Religion and Professor of evolution, writes an interesting book that weaves, evolutionary science, music history and personal narrative. While at times the writing can be very dry especially when Graffin gets explicitly scientific, the narrative of the process of his life pushes the reader forward. And basically that might be the overall goal of "Anarchy Evolution": it's not about the particular subjects by themselves but how to understand Graffin's evolu ...more
Pete
Jun 23, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2011, usa
Graffin isn't a particularly good prose writer, but his insistence on a worldview based on naturalism and biology--and, contrary to popular belief, the inherent beauty and goodness that arises from such a worldview--is a significant statement. The intertwining of his own life story and artistic contributions with evolutionary theory is also of note. I've been reading this alongside Richard Holmes' "Age of Wonder" (which outlines the connections between various scientific explorations in late-18t ...more
Juliet
Feb 11, 2011 rated it really liked it
As a huge Bad Religion fan and a long time admirer of Greg Graffin's lyrics and the strength with which he holds and refines and defends his views, I loved this book.

But know that it's not a science textbook - don't read it if you want a definitive study of the theories of evolution, although it will point out avenues where you could learn more. Don't read it if you're looking for a history of punk, or a philosophical study of anarchy.

That's not what this is. This book is about Greg Graffin, his
...more
David Holtkamp
Jan 04, 2011 rated it really liked it
Greg Graffin is the lead singer for Bad Religion. He is also a professor of life sciences and biology at UCLA. If anybody has ever heard Bad Religion or seen their logo, they will immediately know that they are anything but religious. Graffin is a staunch "naturalist" (he hates the word atheist because it only represents something you're against). It's obvious that he doesn't believe in God, and there are parts where he strongly argues his position, but I didn't feel like that was the focus of t ...more
Myron
Oct 02, 2010 rated it liked it
While Bad Religion is one of my favorite bands and I admire Dr. Graffin, this book left me wanting more meat and less fluff.

I did enjoy stories about the early days of Bad Religion, and Graffin's thoughts on epigenetics and 'immortality', I don't think this book is meant for my demographic. Ironically, I'm a scientist and a musician.

This book, I believe, is better meant for High School students or Undergrads.

One last critism: Graffin shouldn't have used "Anarchy" in the title. I understand the p
...more
Sarah
My Review: Who knew that punk rock and evolution had so much in common? I never would have guessed I’d be reading about Darwin and Bad Religion on alternating pages of the same book. But, yet again in this life, I’ve been proven wrong. And pleasantly so! Greg Graffin’s complex experiences in the field of evolutionary biology; combined with his equally complex experiences on stage as the lead singer of the punk rock band Bad Religion highlight the inevitable- yet beautiful- anarchy of existence i ...more
Paul
Jul 05, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition


A great relation of one mans personal philosophy and cosmology. Graffin weaves scientific fact and autobiographical experiences into chapters that, though meandering, never fail to return to their original point. His conclusions are well thought out and often backed up with experiential evidence which only serves to make the message more personal.
James England
Oct 17, 2010 rated it really liked it
Very interesting take on a subject that is usually presented as dry and uninterestingly as possible by other authors. Graffin, as the singer and co-founder of the punk rock band Bad Religion as well as a evolution professor at UCLA, uses his unique experiences as references in explaining his thoughts on the subjects of evolution and God.
John
Aug 23, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: philosophy
I bought this book mainly because I'm a Bad Religion fan. That being said I am not a student of the teachings of evolution. The book is interesting enough even if it did loose me a few times but I can't say that it's a book I will want to read a second time either.
K Parker Howard
Oct 01, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Entertaining, yet satisfies my scientific curiosity. Recommended read especially when faced with evolution deniers :)
M.A. Garcias
Jun 03, 2018 rated it liked it
If you're a fan of Bad Religion (I am) and love science and nature (I do) you'll probably enjoy this book, although both topics are interleaved under a very subtle common theme. It reads more as a collection of essays put together, but as book you get to know more about Graffin's life and philosophy, the history of Bad Religion and a lot about natural history and biology evolution which are the big interests of the author aside of punk music. Can't rate it higher because it lacks structure as a ...more
Hiram Alejandro
Nov 20, 2018 rated it liked it
Acabo de terminar el libro. Empece a leerlo justo cuando fui a un concierto que dio su grupo en la ciudad de México. El libro es una mezcla sobre la vida del Greg Graffin, su formación y temas acerca de su vida como cantante y su vida como biólogo. Me gusta mucho la forma en que ha podido mezclar ambos proyectos. Sobre todo me gustó su comentario que expone en la pagina 238, sobre el tema de la vida después de la muerte, lo interpreto de esta manera:
No deberia preocuparnos lo que pasa con nosotr
...more
Douglas L Allen
Dec 30, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely loved this book. The mixing of his philosophy on life and religion, while telling the story of his life inside and out of Bad Religion is mesmerizing. Extremely well written and thought out. I am admittedly bias as Bad Religion is one of my favorite bands, but this more well more than your typical autobiography. If you are the type to question everything and true belief comes with substantial evidence, this book will keep you enthralled.
Michael Anderson
Jul 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Examines issues surrounding religion, science, evolution, and punk rock in an interesting mix of philosophy and reminiscences by the lead singer of Bad Religion, who happens to have a PhD in biological sciences (or something like that). It’s uneven, even boring in places, but brilliant in others and overall well worth reading.
Chris Simerly
Feb 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
Huge fan of Bad Religion, so I decided to read Mr. Graffin’s book! I enjoyed it a lot! Lots of Bad Religion stories mixed with evolution and naturalist information! I learned a lot by reading this book! I highly recommend!
Landon Hale
Dec 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Outstanding! This book was so informational and engaging that I couldn't put it down. It kept me interested in every page and made me respect Greg and Bad Religion so much more than I already did.
David Shaver
Mar 21, 2017 rated it really liked it
Very intelligent book. Cool concept comparing natural sciences to Bad Religion history and philosophies.
Juuso
Mar 15, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The businessman whose master plan controls the world each day is blind to indications of his species' slow decay.
Hackie Laguna
May 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
one of those eye openers. makes you question things as they are
Jenylin
Jan 18, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: society

In this book Graffin attempt to write about his Naturalist worldview, which is a perspective where one believes the world can be understood and explained through science without supernatural elements. He also tells readers how his reverence for science began and his days as an adolescence as being the lead singer of Bad Religion. Graffin tries to show how both music and science are connected.

The purpose for Graffin writing this book is to show readers that calling oneself a Naturalist has more m
...more
Len
Nov 11, 2010 rated it really liked it
There are a lot of different ways to look at the world and at life, and we each have our own opinions and thoughts on these matters, but it's still nice to find someone who shares the same worldview because in a way it sort of validates how you think about things. Greg Graffin and I look at life in very much the same way.

In Anarchy Evolution, Graffin explores his worldview while taking the reader on the journey of his life and along the way the reader learns a lot about nature, science and espec
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Is Belief in God Good, Bad or Irrelevant?: A Professor and a Punk Rocker Discuss Science, Religion, Naturalism & Christianity
  • The Atheist's Guide to Reality: Enjoying Life without Illusions
  • Not the Impossible Faith
  • The Fallacy of Fine-Tuning: Why the Universe Is Not Designed for Us
  • Darwin's Sacred Cause: How a Hatred of Slavery Shaped Darwin's Views on Human Evolution
  • The Good News Club: The Christian Right's Stealth Assault on America's Children
  • Breaking Their Will: Shedding Light on Religious Child Maltreatment
  • Thuggin In Miami (The Family Is Made : Part 1)
  • Why We Believe in God(s): A Concise Guide to the Science of Faith
  • Year Million: Science at the Far Edge of Knowledge
  • Lost Woods: The Discovered Writing of Rachel Carson
  • The Counter-Creationism Handbook
  • Women Without Superstition: No Gods--No Masters: The Collected Writings of Women Freethinkers of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries
  • Fidelity: How to Create a Loving Relationship That Lasts
  • The History of Life: A Very Short Introduction
  • Against All Gods: Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness
  • Is There a God?
  • 50 Voices of Disbelief
174 followers
Gregory Walter Graffin is an American punk rock musician and college professor. He is most recognized as the lead vocalist and songwriter of the noted Los Angeles band Bad Religion, which he co-founded in 1980 and has been its only continual member. Graffin obtained his Ph.D. at Cornell University and has lectured courses in life sciences and paleontology at the University of California, Los Angel ...more
“We should enjoy and make the most of life, not because we are in constant fear of what might happen to us in a mythical afterlife, but because we have only one opportunity to live.” 41 likes
“It's my firm conclusion that human meaning comes from humans, not from a supernatural source. After we die, our hopes for an afterlife reside in the social networks that we influenced while we were alive. If we influence people in a positive way -- even if our social web is only as big as our nuclear family -- others will want to emulate us and pass on our ideas, manners, and lifestyle to future generations. This is more than enough motivation for me to do good things in my life and teach my children to do the same.” 21 likes
More quotes…