Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Essential Henri Nouwen” as Want to Read:
The Essential Henri Nouwen
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Essential Henri Nouwen

4.47  ·  Rating details ·  95 ratings  ·  9 reviews
“We always have a choice to live the moment as a cause of resentment or as a cause for joy.”—Henri Nouwen (1932–1996)

The insights of Henri Nouwen have shown millions of people how to choose joy in any moment—even moments full of pain and brokenness.  Few spiritual writers have ever spoken so powerfully and directly to the heart as he did, in part because he compassionatel
...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published December 1st 2009 by Shambhala (first published 2009)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Essential Henri Nouwen, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Essential Henri Nouwen

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.47  · 
Rating details
 ·  95 ratings  ·  9 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Katy Whitney-noes
"Drinking the cup of life makes our own everything we are living. It is saying, "This is my life," but also, "I want this to be my life." Drinking the cup of life is fully appropriating and internalizing our own unique existence, with all its sorrows and joys."

"There is a temptation of pride [among social activists]. Everyone who wants to change society is in danger of putting himself above it and being more conscious of the weakness of others than of the weakness in his own soul. The reformer,
...more
Jeff Bleijerveld
Feb 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Another book to be read one day at a time.
Rachel Dawson
I just LOVE Nouwen. LOVE him. I picked up this little book a long time ago when I first heard of him and wanted an overview of his writings (I've since read quite a few of his books). It's broken up by topic, with quotes and excerpts pulled from all of his books, so it's a great place to start if you haven't read Nouwen or just want to read based on specific ideas or topics!
Christy
Nov 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The timing of reading this book couldn't be more perfect. This is my first Nouwen read and won't be my last. So much good stuff in here I could have highlighted everything. Important read that both Jesus followers and non-Christians will appreciate. So. So. Good.
Kathleen Basi
Jul 18, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: religious
A book to read slowly, to savor a page or two at a time. The insights he has to share are so powerful, you'd be doing yourself a disservice not to stop and meditate on them. Life-changing. Without a doubt.
Stacie Kelly-Sapper
Mar 27, 2012 rated it really liked it
I like his thinking. This book is a compilation of different bits of different books. I think I'd do better to read each book. It seems like it would flow a bit better. I know this is my personal reading style so it's not necessarily a fault of the book.
Zach
Mar 24, 2012 rated it it was amazing
With very interesting details of Henry's life, this was a great sample of his work, it made me read many more titles!
Don
Apr 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: christian-living
A very profound teacher with lots to offer in this book.
Frank Ogden
rated it really liked it
Jul 03, 2015
Candyce
rated it it was amazing
Dec 18, 2018
Aaron
rated it really liked it
Mar 28, 2012
Merrilee
rated it really liked it
May 31, 2018
George
rated it really liked it
May 03, 2012
Rich
rated it it was amazing
Dec 17, 2016
Cecilia Dunbar Hernandez
rated it it was amazing
Oct 22, 2015
Karen
rated it liked it
Sep 30, 2016
Tracy Dyer
rated it really liked it
Nov 19, 2017
Deacon Tom
rated it it was amazing
May 05, 2018
Alana Cash
rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2014
Adam
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2018
Kester
rated it really liked it
Apr 22, 2010
Carolyn Brown
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2015
Winnie
rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2015
Scott Greenwood
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2017
Michael Thompson
rated it it was amazing
Apr 25, 2014
Col
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2015
Connie
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2018
Roy Petitfils
rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2011
Soul Survivor
rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2018
Linda Wimberly
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2012
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Lifestories: Finding God's "Voice of Truth" Through Everyday Life
  • The Saving Life of Christ
  • Our Covenant God: Living in the Security of His Unfailing Love
  • Invitation to Love: The Way of Christian Contemplation
  • Scribbling in the Sand
  • Reflections for Ragamuffins: Daily Devotions from the Writings of Brennan Manning
  • Surrender to Love: Discovering the Heart of Christian Spirituality
  • Church: Why Bother?: My Personal Pilgrimage
  • The Unquenchable Worshipper: Coming Back to the Heart of Worship
  • Things Unseen: Living in Light of Forever
  • Pierre Teilhard de Chardin: Writings Selected with an Introduction
  • Tell Me the Secrets: Treasures for Eternity
  • Lost Virtue of Happiness: Discovering the Disciplines of the Good Life
  • Soul Feast: An Invitation to the Christian Spiritual Life
  • Harry Potter and the Bible: The Menace Behind the Magick
  • The Two Sides of Love
  • The Name
  • Seeds of Contemplation
1,066 followers
Henri Jozef Machiel Nouwen (Nouen), (1932–1996) was a Dutch-born Catholic priest and writer who authored 40 books on the spiritual life.

Nouwen's books are widely read today by Protestants and Catholics alike. The Wounded Healer, In the Name of Jesus, Clowning in Rome, The Life of the Beloved, and The Way of the Heart are just a few of the more widely recognized titles. After nearly two decades of
...more