Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lost City of Faar (Pendragon #2)” as Want to Read:
The Lost City of Faar (Pendragon #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lost City of Faar

(Pendragon #2)

by
4.17  ·  Rating details ·  29,136 ratings  ·  720 reviews
Fourteen-year-old Bobby Pendragon is not like other boys his age. His uncle Press is a Traveler, and, as Bobby has learned, that means Uncle Press is responsible, through his journeys, for solving interdimensional conflict wherever he encounters it. His mission is nothing less than to save the universe from ultimate evil. And he’s taking Bobby along for the ride.
Fresh from
...more
Audio CD, 0 pages
Published May 12th 2009 by Brilliance Audio (first published 2003)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lost City of Faar, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  29,136 ratings  ·  720 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Lost City of Faar (Pendragon #2)
Tina ➹ the girl who lives in Fandoms
Complete 5 Golden Stars

one of my favourite books in this amazing series!
One of my favourites territories
swimming under the warm oceans of Cloral with those fancy advanced toys, racing with skimmers, dropping by & drinking Sniggers at Grolo's will always be one of my bookish dreams that I want to come true.

more mysteries we solve.
more questions we ask.
I actually found a foreshadowing clue which would be revealed in book 6, Wow... Wow... Fascinating! I love rereading.
-
World building: ★★★★★/5
beauti
...more
Ahmad Sharabiani
The Lost City of Faar (Pendragon, #2), D.J. MacHale
The Lost City of Faar is the second book in the Pendragon series by D. J. MacHale. The people live on immense, floating cities called Habitats and grow food on the sea floor and in their habitats. Different habitats do different things such as producing food, making products, etc. It's an idyllic world until Saint Dane unleashes a poison that makes the crops grow large but fatal. To save the territory, Bobby battles pirates on the surface and ki
...more
Annie
Nov 07, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Annie
Reread this for nostalgia's sake. 3 observations:
1. Bobby Pendragon has a huge crush on Spader and you can't convince me otherwise.
2. The story is still compelling as hell, but the narration issues ignored by my middle-school self now leave something to be desired.
3. That being said, the plotting is MASTERFUL. It's worth sticking with a series reread just to watch it all unfold again.
~Cyanide Latte~
Mar 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: middle-grade sci-fi fans
As with the first book in this series and several other books in my shelves, I actually read this one once before, in my late middle school or early high school years, and while I didn't remember much about the first one or cared much for it in my re-read, I was definitely excited to read this one again. I remembered The Lost City of Faar much better than I did The Merchant of Death, and it still is a really good read as far as even a basic science-fiction story goes.

We open back onto the story
...more
Doris
Oct 22, 2012 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: children, teens, fans of Charlie Bone and Harry Potter
Shelves: childrens

Pendragon on his second adventure is still an oddity. He has been trained from early childhood to be a Traveler, hopping between worlds via a gate similar to the Stargate familiar to television viewers. Now, he has reached the ripe old age of 14, and is being thrust into the role without being fully ready.

In the first adventure, he was about 14 and a half, and this adventure picks up shortly after. He is traveling to a water world this time, and finds it to be nearly a paradise. The description
...more
Victoria
Jul 21, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Okay, it's official. I am now fully hooked on the Pendragon series.

Bobby Pendragon, fourteen-year-old new and confused Traveler of space and time, is headed to his next territory. This time, it's Cloral, a water territory where dry land is unheard of and the people have discovered all kinds of cool ways to use and overcome their aquatic surroundings.

But Cloral is also at a tipping point, thanks to the evil Traveler Saint Dane, who seems to have a diabolical plan for destroying Cloral's peace an
...more
Chase
Mar 28, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: all teens
Recommended to Chase by: no one (but #1 left me yearning to read more)
Pendragon: The Lost City of Farr
By: DJ MacHale

A Book Review By: Chase Pixley
Prepare for another surprising and dramatic journey through Halla with Bobby Pendragon!
The second book in the series tells about what happens after Bobby’s win over Saint Dane on the territory of Denduron. “Malos” (AKA Saint Dane) escaped to a territory called Cloral. This oceanic territory has no land and is the home of Vo Spader, an Aquaneer (think life guard/police officer) and traveler. There is only one problem th
...more
Lauren
Nov 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Aghhhhh yet another amazing book that my boyfriend told me to read. No surprise with how amazing the first book was, but aghhh it was absolutely amazing.

I loved the world in this one so much, knowing that all the land is gone and there's freaking floating cities and a myth come to life and it was amazing.

MacHale introduces another amazing supporting character and I just absolutely loved that they're all so unique and that all the worlds have been so intricate. I'm so excited to keep reading this
...more
Halley Hopson
Apr 25, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-rereads
Reread 2016

-----------

This one has always been one of my favorites in the series simply because I love the Territory of Cloral and I enjoy the introduction of the newest traveler, Spader. The ending of this always kills me but it's such a good story. Can't wait to get on with the series!
Bethany
Sep 18, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017
I love throwback audiobooks!

While I wouldn't recommend this to any adults to read for the first time, if you read them back in middle school, have another quick flip through =] It's quite fun!

From an adult perspective, I think they're GREAT for transitioning kids to longer books. There's lots of reminders about what's been going on, and the author explains every turn of events and what different things mean in the bigger picture shortly after they happen - so I could have figured it out by then
...more
Julie
Jan 23, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An entertaining fantasy. MacHale's voice is developing strength. I appreciate the strong female characters that do more than just support the male leads. Looking forward to Book #3.
Jaden V.
Pendragon: The Lost City of Faar

The Lost City of Faar continues from The Merchant of Death where Bobby Pendragon travels to Cloral in search of his nemesis Saint Dane. But in doing so, risking his life. He faces challenges he hasn’t faced before and overall puts you on a roller coaster of emotions and you can almost never guess what’s coming next.
Sam
Sep 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2020
I'm really enjoying rereading these, and this one is probably my favorite book in the whole series.
K
Dec 28, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2011
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Michael
Oct 15, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book review is about someone is writing about someone`s book that he or she have already read,so I`ll tell you about my book review that I have already read about my favorite book or the series so here it is. The book is called Pendragon Book Two:The lost city of Faar, I have already read the first book of series, which is called The Merchant of Death.It`s about a fourteen-year old boy named Bobby Pendragon who went with Uncle Press to help some people in Denduron and Saint Dane can shape s ...more
Erin
This book is the second in the series about Bobby Pendragon, who is a "Traveler" that goes to different territories (basically other worlds) and saves them from the brink of disaster. I love the sci-fi elements of the book. The Territory that Bobby travels to in this book, Cloral, is awesome. I love hearing about all the adventures Bobby goes on and the other worlds. The Bobby storylines are very engaging and exciting.

What REALLY drags this book down in the side storyline that takes place in Bob
...more
Max
The Lost City of Faar picks up with Bobby's second adventure thwarting the evil Saint Dane, whose goal is to destroy all worlds and all times. This time he journeys to the water world Chloral, where he teams up with a local named Spader and his Uncle Press. Together, they must identify the turning point Saint Dane will attempt to exploit and counter his attempt to throw this world into chaos. This book is the sequil to the first Pendragon book. In this book Bobby Pendragon has traveled to a slig ...more
Cherie
Mar 03, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Synopsis:

Fourteen-year-old Bobby Pendragon is not like other boys his age. His uncle Press is a Traveler, and, as Bobby has learned, that means Uncle Press is responsible, through his journeys, for solving interdimensional conflict wherever he encounters it. His mission is nothing less than to save the universe from ultimate evil. And he’s taking Bobby along for the ride.
Fresh from his first adventure on Denduron, Bobby finds himself in the territory of Cloral, a vast world that is entirely cove
...more
Joel N
Dec 12, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Lost City of Faar is a great book. It is the second book in the Pendragon series. The main character of the story, Bobby Pendragon is a traveler travels around territories using flumes and travels to theses territories to stop the enemy, Saint Dane from causing chaos in the territory and destroying it. Bobby, and his uncle Press go to a territory called Cloral and meet up with Spader, a boy who was soon to be the next traveler of that territory, and try to find the turning point of the terri ...more
Dawson
Mar 11, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Lost City of Faar is the second book in the Pendragon series. It follows Bobby Pendragon, a time traveler of the mythical universe Halla.
After the events of the first book, Bobby returns home from Denduron, a world in Halla, to find his house, family, and records gone. He has no. choice but to return to Halla with his uncle Press and help another world from the clutches of the evil St. Dane, also a traveler. This time, he must go to a planet dominated by water, Cloral. Cloral's citizens li
...more
Chris Johnson
Apr 06, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really, really enjoyed this book. In many ways more so than the first. Bobby is much more mature than he is in the first adventure and he seems to have accepted that he is a Traveler and "that is the way things are meant to be." The story was very well-paced, and I was actually bummed when the writer went back to discuss how things were going on Second Earth. I will say this though...I hate Andy Mitchell. I mean truly I can't stand that annoying kid. For a writer to have me display this much e ...more
Sharon
Nov 30, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
So it was a three right up until the very end. Fantastic but annoying.

Bobby talks way too much. The book could be half the size if he'd just cut down on the endless commenting. I also didn't enjoy Spader that much, and I felt like Bobby was telling me to like him because of what the character was supposed to be, rather than just showing me his awesomeness. Which, he wasn't. The world is a good idea, but it wasn't, I dunno, random enough. It could've been way more out there. And the plot was pret
...more
Jack von Quilich
This book was amazing. It is about a kid named bobby, who is a traveler, going to a place called cloral. On this place him and his uncle press meet a kid named Spandler. He is the traveler from cloral, but he doesn't know it yet. Then saint dane arrives and turns everything into chaos. The food of chloral is poisoned and Uncle press, bobby, and Spandler have to figure out how to save it. Spandlers father, The current traveler of chloral is found dead. Spandler is in shock. He finds a piece of pa ...more
Brock
Feb 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction-fantasy
After Pendragon's feat on Denduron, Saint Dane travels to Cloral to attempt to destroy the territory. Bobby and his uncle follow, upon ariving they are attacked by wild sharks, and saved by a fellow traveler. His name is Spader. Spader, Press, and Pendragon set out to find out Saint Dandes plot to destroy this planet totally covered by water. They live on floating barges, the size of cities. Spader is going to another barge to reunite with his father, Pendragon and Press follow along, what they ...more
Sharon Ryan
Picked up right where the last one left off. Still kinda like a Doctor Who mash up with something else. I haven't checked, but I hope there are too many more books in the series than what I already have 'cuz I might have to read them at least once.
Julie
Oct 09, 2008 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great pre-teen to teen series. I wouldn't be surprised if the author was Mormon. It's about this kid who's Uncle is a traveler and takes him to another world to save it from the St. Dane who is hell bent on making war on each of the planets. Each book takes place on a different planet. It's very fun and entertaining. All about sticking to your values to achieve good.
Emily
Apr 06, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: young-adult, series
i would sacrifice my curly locks of hair and bushy eyebrows to be a Faarian. this book was better than the first. the end.
Shaeley Santiago
Pendragon goes to Cloral where people live underwater. He meets Spader who becomes a good friend of his & helps battle Saint Dane's evil plot to push this territory into chaos. ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Travelers (Pendragon: Before the War, #1)
  • The Travelers: Book Two (Pendragon: Before the War, #2)
  • Charlie Bone and the Invisible Boy (The Children of the Red King, #3)
  • Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors (The Children of the Red King, #4)
  • Charlie Bone and the Time Twister (The Children of the Red King, #2)
  • The Travelers: Book Three (Pendragon: Before the War, #3)
  • Charlie Bone and the Shadow (The Children of the Red King, #7)
  • Charlie Bone and the Beast (The Children of the Red King, #6)
  • Charlie Bone and the Hidden King (The Children of the Red King, #5)
  • Sir Thursday (The Keys to the Kingdom, #4)
  • The Atlantis Complex (Artemis Fowl #7)
  • Grim Tuesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, #2)
  • The First Collier (Guardians of Ga'Hoole, #9)
  • Charlie Bone and the Red Knight (Children of the Red King, #8)
  • Drowned Wednesday (The Keys to the Kingdom, #3)
  • Midnight for Charlie Bone (The Children of the Red King, #1)
  • To Be a King (Guardians of Ga'Hoole, #11)
  • Superior Saturday (The Keys to the Kingdom, #6)
See similar books…
2,013 followers
D.J. MacHale is a writer, director, executive producer and creator of several popular television series and movies.

He was raised in Greenwich, CT and graduated from Greenwich High School. While in school, he had several jobs including collecting eggs at a poultry farm, engraving sports trophies and washing dishes in a steakhouse...in between playing football and running track. D.J. then attended N
...more

Other books in the series

Pendragon (10 books)
  • The Merchant of Death (Pendragon, #1)
  • The Never War (Pendragon, #3)
  • The Reality Bug (Pendragon, #4)
  • Black Water (Pendragon, #5)
  • The Rivers of Zadaa (Pendragon, #6)
  • The Quillan Games (Pendragon, #7)
  • The Pilgrims of Rayne (Pendragon, #8)
  • Raven Rise (Pendragon, #9)
  • The Soldiers of Halla (Pendragon, #10)

News & Interviews

November is the time for aspiring writers to get serious about writing that book! It's National Novel Writing Month, the annual event designed to...
65 likes · 14 comments
“In my few short years I learned that seeing what's positive about a situation is a lot more fun and gets you a lot further than looking for what might be wrong with it.” 37 likes
“What exactly is a French before it's fried? -Vo Spader” 16 likes
More quotes…