Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “My Sunshine” as Want to Read:
My Sunshine
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

My Sunshine

(Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan #6)

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  4,364 ratings  ·  260 reviews
New York Times bestselling author Catherine Anderson's Coulter Family series continues in this poignant story of a love that defies all the odds...

Five years ago, Laura Townsend’s life was nearly destroyed when a head injury impaired her ability to use language and forced her to abandon a brilliant career. Despite her difficulties, she never lost her vivacious spirit or su
...more
Kindle Edition, 421 pages
Published January 4th 2005 by Signet (first published January 1st 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about My Sunshine, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about My Sunshine

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  4,364 ratings  ·  260 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
 Danielle The Book Huntress (Back to the Books)
Like the sun comes up after a dark night, so love comes into the hearts of those who thought that they had no chance at being loved. Catherine Anderson has made this kind of story her stock and trade, and she truly does it well.

In this heartwarming story, Laura Townsend is the unsuspecting heroine who will find love in a very unlikely place. Five years ago, Laura had a great life: an exciting career, a boyfriend, and lots of friends. Until she hit her head in a swimming accident, and obtained ir
...more
Sans
Dec 28, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ok, I'm going to have to break down and admit that Catherine Anderson is one of my favourite authors. I picked up the first six books in this series a few weeks ago. I was tearing my room up looking for my Doctor Who Series 5 DVD set (finally found it!) and picked this up off the floor. I opened it to a random page and was immediately sucked in. I couldn't even go back to the beginning, so I read from page 180-something to the end, then went back and read the bits I initially skipped. I wasn't e ...more
Anna Marie
Feb 23, 2014 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Ho. Mi. Gosh. When I read my first Catherine Anderson, I didn't like it. When I read my second, I rolled my eyes and hated it. My third was accidental, and the moment I read the name 'Coulter' in the book, I screamed (and read it, because I had it... but I swore never to read another stOopid Catherine Anderson book again).

And here we are. I obviously NEVER learn my lesson.

I picked this up because it's a love story wherein the heroine is brain damaged. I'm always interested in seeing how people h
...more
Penny Watson
2.5 stars, rounded up

End was ridiculous, complete with deranged lunatic showing up at the heroine's door. At the beginning of the book, the heroine (who has brain damage) explains that her memory is bad when she's stressed, and she actually forgets her own name when she meets the hero. So, I'm thinking your stress level is probably pretty high when a deranged lunatic shows up at your front door with a knife and tries to kill you. Nevertheless, the brain damaged heroine remembers all of her tai c
...more
Calypso
Nov 27, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Por algum motivo é-me quase impossível dar menos do que 5 estrelas aos livros desta autora. Adoro-os, sinto que todos me ensinam algo e acho até que são terapêuticos.

Em "O Sol da Minha Vida" acompanhamos a vida de Isaiah e Laura numa clínica veterinária. Gostei bastante de conhecer o funcionamento da clínica e também das personagens e da forma como as coisas foram evoluindo entre elas.

Quanto ao mistério presente no livro foi interessante e a minha suspeita mostrou-se correcta.

Senti que este l
...more
Apollonia
Sep 19, 2010 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: did-not-finish
I'm a speech langauge pathologist so the parts about the main character's aphasia were offensively under-researched. I kept screaming through out the book, "Aphasia doesn't work that way, dingbat!"
jenjn79
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Destiny
Jan 07, 2009 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The heroine in this story suffers from aphasia because of a brain injury many years ago. Her name is Laura. She has trouble speaking long words. She has trouble counting. She sees some numbers and letters backwards. Despite everything, she has managed to live an independent life and hold a job.

She has accepted that men will no longer be interested in her because of her speech problems. She never expects to find love again.

Enter our hero - Isaiah - a veterinarian with a warm heart that needs a go
...more
Panichaya
Oh My God!!!! Where the heck was I to not read this book much, much earlier! I saw Catherine Anderson's books at the bookstores so many times and always think 'What cute covers those books have,' but I never really paid any attention...until now!

It all started when I wanted to read novels with heroine who has some kind of disability. So I came acrossed this book!

It's one of the most romantic and sweetest love stories I've ever read in my whole life! And I love every minute I spent reading this b
...more
Miss Kim
Jun 30, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Romance Fans
I loved this one! I could not put it down over the past weekend. Isaiah is the fourth Coulter brother to have his own story. He and his twin, Tucker, have their own veterinary practice. Laura has a form of brain damage that affects her speech, from an accident 5 years before. Isaiah hires Laura to be a kennel cleaner in his office. They start as friends and grow closer. There is a mystery in the story—I didn’t have much difficulty figuring out the villain, but that’s ok. Catherine Anderson is ve ...more
Lorena
Jan 31, 2013 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I liked the story however a few things were a huge turn off for me as a person.

1. Vet wants to throw a puppy back outside on a busy street in the cold winter weather to die.
2. The crap put in about how lucrative dog breeding is and how much money you can make. Most GOOD breeders don't come out ahead they aren't about the money but bettering the breed. After vet cost, show Cost, health certifications.
3. Promoting back yard breeding and people that don't bother to get their animals fixed. (Free
...more
fleurette
This book has everything to be a great read, I even enjoyed it at the beginning. But somehow it just didn't work for me. I completely lost my interest somewhere in the middle and started to force myself to end it. And even skipping through pages didn't help. I gave up at the description of the Isaiah's and Hapless' story. I just couldn't stand it anymore. She talks him into taking a puppy he obviously doesn't like knowing he don't have time for caring about a dog. The pup destroys everything, di ...more
Wendy
Nov 20, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: romance lovers
Another Coulter family novel that truely touches your heart. Are there really strong loveing men with principals in this world? You definately read about one here. Isaiah is sexy and wonderful. Definately someone you can dream about at night. His sweet understanding and love for Laura is heart touching. You will love this book and it will restore your faith in humanity.
Petra
Dec 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Adorei!

Adoro a escrita da autora e a forma como nos transporta para dentro dos seus livros e nos dá a conhecer as personagens.
Kathleen
2.75 stars, rounded up. I honestly do not see why everyone raves about this book. It's in several BEST lists. It's not bad, but not something I would recommend or re-read. A fairly trite story with some lovely bits. It felt like an extra-long Harlequin, and a mediocre one at that. A little boring.

I liked the unusual heroine, Laura. She is a caring and strong-willed woman with a language impairment called aphasia. She applies to work for Isaiah, the local vet. I enjoyed seeing Laura come into her
...more
Michelle
I say this over and over but I love Catherine Anderson’s books. Once again she delivers a great story about Laura Townsend, an all around loved woman who suffers from speech impairment due to a diving accident, and Isaiah Coulter, a busy Veterinarian who has no time to take care of himself; both of them with one thing in common, their love for animals. Due to Laura’s disability she’s been unable to find a stable job so when she is hired as the Kennel Keeper at Isaiah’s clinic she is happy to fin ...more
June Fletcher
Oct 13, 2014 rated it did not like it
First of all, what kind of a*hole vet would tell someone to release a lost puppy back into the cold of winter? What did he think was going to happen? Would advocate docking of Rottweiler tails just because they would "look weird" otherwise (FYI they don't). Worst vet ever.

Those quibbles aside, I picked up this book because it sounded like an interesting premise, but it annoyed me halfway through. Laura is a bit of a too much, OMG she bakes, vicious dogs love her, she decorates! The author writes
...more
Michelle
This book was just ok. A little trite, and nothing about it really grabbed me. I was impressed with the author for trying to write a romance novel about a woman with brain damage. THat part was pulled off fairly well, but overall an uninspiring writing effort.
CeCe
I liked it enough to want to read more by Catherine Anderson.

The heroine has a accident 5 years that caused her to have a brain injury. She gets a job at a vet office.
Mafi
Aug 11, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2011, pt
Mais uma vez adorei o livro! Estes irmãos são um máximo :P
Em breve este livro será lançado em pt e aconselho a leitura, é um livro muito romântico onde claro o amor vence todos os obstáculos :D
Christine
Jun 23, 2010 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance
Catherine Anderson has done it again! This author has a gift for bringing wounded, imperfect people together and making us rejoice for their newfound happiness. In this case, we have a bright woman with her entire future ahead of her, who suffers brain damage as the result of a head injury. Five years later, Laura has come a long way, but will permanently suffer from partial aphasia, making speaking, reading, writing, and math difficult for her. I admit that I knew nothing about aphasia before I ...more
Maggie
May 31, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Maggie by: I love reading Catherine Anderson
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kayla
Jan 12, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This has got to be one of my favorite Catherine Anderson novels. The woman in this story, Laura Townsend, wasn't what I would call one of Catherine's regular gals she writes about. Laura wasn't running away from an ex husband, or anything. She wasn't helpless. I really liked the fact that she didn't need Isiah to save her, but in fact it was the other way around. When the inevitable split came up (as they always do in these novels) It wasn't because Laura felt she wasn't good enough, but what sh ...more
Kristen
In the 6th installment of the Coulter/Kendrick/Harrigan series by Catherine Anderson, My Sunshine, she told us another heart-warming contemporary romance to melt our hearts. Five years ago, Laura Townsend suffered a head injury that impaired her to use language and abandon at brilliant career. Now with her spirits held high, she worked at an animal clinic with Isaiah Coulter. He filled her heart with longing. Now it was up to Isaiah to prove to Laura that they belong together, while he would mov ...more
Caitlin
Apr 04, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was on vacation at the beach when I picked this book up at souvenir shop, just looking for a quick read. And man, did I pick a good one! I loved this book so much. It was a pretty good plot line, fairly interesting, and I just thought the entire thing could be summed up in one word: adorable. If you're looking for a quick, romantic, sweet read, pretty much anything by Catherine Anderson is going to fill that.
Susan
Feb 12, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Susan by: Mom or Lou (can't remember
A really enjoyable romance. I was surprised -- shocked, even -- to discover that the heroine is brain-damaged. It was very well handled, though, in her own doubts, the hero's doubts, his brother's challenges, etc.

But the story was interesting, the heroine's challenges believable, and the obstacles that the h/h face well thought out. This is one I'd keep on my bookshelf to re-read (except that it's a loaner from either my mom or my sister. bummer.).
Mary Gualandri
Nov 08, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
This was such a sweet story. I loved that Isaiah and Laura were both so realistic. I still cry every time I read it!
Andrea
Oct 15, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was sooo cute .loved the story and the characters of the Harrington clan . You will fall in love with the characters and cry at times.Best book I have read in a while .
Paraphrodite
Aug 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: listened, 2017, favorites
4.5 stars.

This was one heart-wrenching book. Until I listened to this book, I must admit I never appreciate how much we take numbers and letters for granted in our everyday life. Our heroine Laura suffers from aphasia after an accident, which means diminished cognitive abilities. She has trouble recognizing numbers and letters and so everyday tasks like looking at signs, going shopping, paying for things become quite difficult. Most of the time, she has to rely on strangers to help and also not
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Two Texas Hearts (McQuillen #2)
  • The Texan (Bitter Creek, #2)
  • McKettrick's Luck (McKettricks, #6)
  • Texas Splendor (Texas Trilogy, #3)
  • The Seduction of His Wife (Logger #1)
  • Getting Lucky (Marine, #2)
  • Too Much Temptation (Brava Brothers, #1)
  • Night Angel
  • And Then He Kissed Me
  • Wheels of Steel: Book 2 (Wheels of Steel, #2)
  • Magnolia Moon (Callahan Brothers, #3)
  • Renegade (Long, Tall Texans, #26)
  • Vows
2,115 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name. See this thread for more information.
(1)romance author:
Adeline Catherine was born and raised in Grants Pass, Oregon, USA. She always yearned to be a writer like her mother. The morning that one of her professors asked if she could use samples of Catherine’s creative writing on an overhead projector to teach was
...more

Other books in the series

Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan (1 - 10 of 11 books)
  • Baby Love (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #1)
  • Phantom Waltz (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #2)
  • Sweet Nothings (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #3)
  • Blue Skies (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #4)
  • Bright Eyes (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #5)
  • Sun Kissed (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #7)
  • Morning Light (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan #8)
  • Star Bright (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #9)
  • Here to Stay (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #10)
  • Perfect Timing (Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan, #11)
“Well? I've had a great birthday so far. Are you going to make it the most memorable one of my life by telling me you love me back?"
~Isaiah Coulter”
43 likes
More quotes…