Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Surviving the Angel of Death: The True Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz” as Want to Read:
Surviving the Angel of Death: The True Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Surviving the Angel of Death: The True Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz

4.25  ·  Rating details ·  4,379 ratings  ·  648 reviews
Eva Mozes Kor was 10 years old when she arrived in Auschwitz. While her parents and two older sisters were taken to the gas chambers, she and her twin, Miriam, were herded into the care of the man known as the Angel of Death, Dr. Josef Mengele and subjected to sadistic medical experiments and forced to fight daily for their own survival. Through this book, readers will lea ...more
Hardcover, 141 pages
Published October 14th 2009 by Tanglewood (first published 2009)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Surviving the Angel of Death, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Aimee You can find it on Archive.org
It is a free site that allows you to borrow digital copies of books for 14 days. …more
You can find it on Archive.org
It is a free site that allows you to borrow digital copies of books for 14 days. (less)
Chelsea Zinck The book Rose Under Fire may be helpful to you. Part of the book addresses the women referred to as "rabbits" who were experimented on at Ravensbruck.…moreThe book Rose Under Fire may be helpful to you. Part of the book addresses the women referred to as "rabbits" who were experimented on at Ravensbruck. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  4,379 ratings  ·  648 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Surviving the Angel of Death: The True Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz
Rebecca McNutt
Josef Megele is quite possibly one of the most sinister figures of WWII, a wolf in sheep's clothing who whistled while he marched and smiled at the children yet saw nothing wrong with using living human beings for horrific experiments. I still believe he was a psychopath who used the Holocaust as an excuse for his evil intentions, but luckily one of his victims survived to tell her own story about what it was like to be a twin in a concentration camp. Her story is not only frightening but also a ...more
Kelly (and the Book Boar)
Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

3.5 Stars

Surviving the Angel of Death is the true story of Eva Mozes and her twin sister Miriam and the place where they were raised . . .

Commercial Photography

"At Auschwitz dying was so easy. Surviving was a fulltime job. We gave them our blood, our bodies, our pride, our dignity, and in turn, they let us live one more day."

Eva and Miriam began their life as normal as you or I . . .

Commercial Photography

They were born to a middle-income family in Romania and were
...more
☮Karen
All or most World  War II books are depressing, but this one especially so for it being 1) true and 2) about 10 year old twin girls in Auschwitz.  It's a very short book but even so it took me over a week to finish it because I had to get myself in the mood for it between readings.  Well, not that I'm ever in the mood for torture, death, and denizens of evil; but I am absolutely hooked on these books about the Nazis for reasons beyond my control and when it's time for the occasional fix, it's ti ...more
Mike Mullin
Dec 12, 2010 rated it it was amazing
I read the first 84 pages in one sitting, then stopped, gasping, to remind myself to breathe. The horrors of Auschwitz weren't the part of this book that most affected me. Instead it was the beginning, in which the Christian villagers slowly turned against Ms. Kor's family, and even her best friend, Luci, joined with the anti-Semites.

But the true genius of this book is the powerful epilogue. My words can't do it justice, so here are a few of Ms. Kor's, "Anger and hate are seeds that germinate wa
...more
Lea ★
I recieved this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This review is extremely hard to write, just as this book was exceptionally hard to read.
I've read dozens of book about holocaust and saw dozens of movies on this topic, but this book had a huge impact on me. Right after first few chapters, I had to put it down just to compose myself.
I knew what I was getting myself into, and I've read about Mengele experiments before, but this was very graphic.
Eva Mozes Kor is a survivor
...more
Casey
Jan 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
“Surviving the Angel of Death: The Story of a Mengele Twin in Auschwitz” was a very good but upsetting book, and I highly recommend it for anyone who is interested in learning about survivors of the holocaust. 5 stars.


“Never ever give up on yourself or your dreams, for everything good in life is possible.

Judge people on their actions and the content of their character.

Forgive your worst enemy and forgive everyone who has hurt you—it will heal your soul and set you free.

*Never ever give up. You c
...more
BAM The Bibliomaniac
This is the short recitation of the narrator's journey through Auschwitz to forgiveness. I swear I have read a book about her organization, CANDLES, but I cannot locate it on my list. She was only 10 when she and her twin were put through Mengele's experiments. She has little to no memory of what she experienced, what was injected or scanned, but she has a vivid recollection of camp life. This may sound insensitive, but I wish the book has been longer and more detailed.
muthuvel
Oct 16, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
“If you had five Jews, and you killed three Jews, how many Jews would be left?”

This was what the author found in her math class workbook in her early schooldays living under Nazi régime. The early sweetness, living in harmony before the conquest of Nazis and the Condition of them getting worse and the evolving of the anti-Semitism in the village was pretty depressing. Sure I've had read camp experiences of people more than once but not from a perspective of 10 year old twins'. And i was totally
...more
Dorcas
I was a little worried when I picked up this book. Nazi experiments...children...just no. But something about it made me want to listen. Its a part of the camps we don't hear much about. And in this case, being a twin and therefore a "wanted prisoner" ultimately saved her life. Saved her, while so nearly killing her as well. Let's just say it bought her time. Time in which to fight for survival. And fight she did.

So how does one write a book about Nazi atrocities and make it suitable for YA? Som
...more
Kat
Mar 25, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've read a lot of memoirs in the last 10 years written by survivors of the holocaust. Shocking, haunting and enough to make your blood boil, these are unimaginable stories of loss, pain and heartbreak but also inspiring and motivating.

Surviving the Angel of Death is one of the few Holocaust books that I've read aimed primarily at a younger audience, but that doesn't make it any less shocking than accounts that are more adult-focused. In fact, being lived through the eyes of 10-year-old Eva is
...more
Hirdesh
Nov 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: history
Thanks to Netgalley and respective publisher for sending me copy for honest review.

Comprehensive ! Splendid !
It was exceptional piece of narration regarding this theme.
As many writers have described thoroughly in Historical fiction and Historical events.
Although, it's quite innovative and true story as the author foreseen and arranged herself.
It was precisely expressed the events and hardship of author and her family.
Madalina Lacatis
Surviving the Angel of Death is the story of two 10-year-old twin girls that decided to survive Auschwitz.

Throughout the book, the author describes some of the medical experiments that were conducted on them and other twins by Dr. Mengele, and the everyday battle they went through to live another day.

The book also contains details about returning to post-war Romania and the treatment they received after arriving home, where antisemitism was still present, and the Communist party was taking the
...more
Ellie Midwood
A short but fascinating account of the Holocaust. I watched many documentaries with Eva Mozes Kor and have always admired her for her strength and the ability to forgive her tormentors. It was her biggest hope that “Surviving the Angel of Death” would be taught in schools so that the future generations would learn of the Nazi atrocities and hopefully prevent a new Holocaust from happening. It’s definitely a must-read for everyone, not just people interested in history.
Alex  Baugh
Sep 08, 2011 rated it really liked it
Shelves: world-war-2
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Katlynn Parsons
Nov 01, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Everyone
I recieved this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is phenomenal.

I actually put off reading this book a couple of times, mainly because I wasn't really in the mood for depressing subjects. Which was a pretty big mistake because while this is a memoir of an Auschwitz survivor, it is one of the most uplifting and inspirational books I've read in quite a while.

Eva Moses Kor along with her twin sister, witnessed true evil, barely managing to make it out alive. They w
...more
Alissa H.
Dec 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
I'd like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with a digital copy of this book!
Wow. I read this book in one sitting. This book is both mesmerising and hard-hitting. Mrs. Kor manages to tell us of her and her sisters horrific experiences in a way that is easy to read for those who aren't educated on what was happening at the time. I am unbelievably saddened by the injustices and cruelty which she and the other prisoners experienced. I thank her for sharing this story of her brav
...more
Jen
Jan 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book was a quick read, but it was a tough one. It's geared towards young readers, so it's not brutal, but you can read between the lines and what she says is still horrifying.

The entire time I was reading this, I was saying to myself, this is doomed to happen again. We are going to repeat this history.

So depressing book about the evil people can do to others, including to children. Highly recommended for all to read, and hopefully learn from, so it never happens again. Five stars.
Toni
Jan 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
Surviving the Angel of Death was a well chronicled and detailed recount of Eva Mozes and her sister Miriam's year and a half spent in Auschwitz. Being twins and part of Dr. Mengele's experiments gave them "special privileges" to keep them alive until their release from the gates of the death camp. Just 10 years old at the time, Eva tells her story in first person and in a somewhat simplistic fashion hoping that young people would read and understand their story. As a young girl she couldn't unde ...more
Lauren Hopkins
Mar 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is written a little on the young side so I'm assuming it's meant for young adult readers, but you know what? Young adult readers need to learn about Holocaust stories too, and when confronted by big books with lots of horrifying facts, the task is super daunting. But Eva Mozes Kor brings her personal story to life for younger readers here in a way that isn't exactly RELATABLE, but in a way, it kind of is. You see Eva as more than just a victim of Auschwitz and Mengele but rather as a girl o ...more
Ellen
Mar 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A very emotional memoir targeted towards YA readers, but an extremely useful book for all readers.
Tatem
Mar 19, 2020 added it
We had to read this for class and i finished it the next day, it is so good. Very easy to follow and it is just an amazing book
Josh Caporale
Feb 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is a story I am satisfied was told. There is by no means anything satisfying about a diabolically, immoral mad doctor performing deadly experiments on Jewish prisoners during the Holocaust, but it is satisfying that a survivor has stepped forward to tell her story as to what happened. I read Elie Wiesel's "Night" a few months ago and realized that there was a very similar structure: the Jewish people lost respect from others and their rights bit by bit, taken from their homes to secluded co ...more
Marla
Jan 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
When I requested this book from the library, I hadn't realized it was written for young adults. I'm glad I read it though. The Holocaust is an important part of history and this book is a must-read. Growing up Jewish, I don't recall much discussion of the Holocaust at home or at Temple. As an adult, I have learned much more and will never forget those who suffered.
Andrew
I like the way this book is written in the first person, through the eyes of Eva, as a ten year old. It provides an insight into the torment of those tortured young people. It is a fitting record of what must be one of the worst acts of genocide.

Although this is a short volume, it certainly packs a punch. During the early pages, the way the twins and their parents had so much trust.

"Are they twins?" he asked Mama. She hesitated. "Is that good?" "Yes", said the guard. "They are tins," replied Ma
...more
Ryan Buckby
Feb 13, 2015 rated it it was amazing
this is the second book i've read on the holocaust and i am always shocked and interested in what really happened and reading these storys of people who faught to surive a horrible experience.

reading Eva kor's story has truly being a very interesting experience to read and what legnths that a 10 year old girl would go to help her sister live along with her. i do hope one day i can travel to these places and learn more of what happened in those camps.

At Auschwitz dying was so easy. Surviving wa
...more
L.P. Logan
Jun 30, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This is one of those books that you read and feel so infinitely petty and humbled afterwards; that books like these should be a part of everyone's daily reading.

We have it good.

Perhaps too good.

May we always remember those who have not, and do not have it, as good as we do. So many people have sacrificed so much to allow us to be as free, and as blessed as we are today.
Judith Valente
Jul 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
One of the most Christ-like people I have ever met was a 4’6” Jewish woman. Her name was Eva Kor. She died July 4, 2019.
Eva left this world doing what was most important to her -- leading a teaching tour at the Nazi death camp at Auschwitz. She and her sister Miriam had been among the “Mengele twins,” children experimented on by the so-called “Angel of Death,” Dr. Josef Mengele. That fact alone assured them a place in history. Decades later, Eva would leave her mark on history for a far differe
...more
Veronica
Apr 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I firmly believe that we should never forget what happened to innocent people including children during the Holocaust so whenever I see a book written by a survivor of the Holocaust, I always read it. It is sometimes very difficult to read about the suffering of people and their loved ones but I feel that I owe it to them to listen to their story.
Eva Mozes Kor, and her twin sister Miriam were only 10 years old when they were taken to Auschwitz with their family and quickly separated from them on
...more
Eloise
Dec 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
Following twins Eva & Miriam this young adult non-fiction details the child hood of the two children through Auschwitz and there encounters with 'The Angel of Death'.
I found the whole story to be utterly moving and completely inspirational.
It was so gripping and equally as horrifying.
It gives a great accounts of Auschwitz and the grotesque medical experiments the poor girls were forced to endure,
The overall message of the book had an incredible effect on me and although shockingly brutal and hid
...more
♛primadonna♛
★★★★☆½ rounded up because the novel went by quickly and was rather short but still managed to pack so much information!

"I hope, in some small way, to send the world a message of forgiveness; a message of peace, a message of hope, a message of healing. Let there be no more wars, no more experiments without informed consent, no more gas chambers, no more bombs, no more hatred, no more killing, no more Auschwitzes."



Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and the author for a copy of this book i
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Auschwitz: A Doctor's Eyewitness Account
  • The Children's Block: Based on a true story by an Auschwitz survivor
  • Parakki 10 : naiset Auschwitzin koe-eläiminä
  • Children of the Flames: Dr. Josef Mengele and the Untold Story of the Twins of Auschwitz
  • Inside the Gas Chambers: Eight Months in the Sonderkommando of Auschwitz
  • Mengele: The Complete Story
  • From Broken Glass: My Story of Finding Hope in Hitler's Death Camps to Inspire a New Generation
  • A Morte do Papa
  • Cilka's Journey (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #2)
  • After Auschwitz
  • Five Chimneys: A Woman Survivor's True Story of Auschwitz
  • I Was A Doctor In Auschwitz
  • A Noite em que o Verão Acabou
  • The Pharmacist of Auschwitz: The Untold Story
  • Here There Is No Why
  • Imortal
  • I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister
  • Rena's Promise: A Story of Sisters in Auschwitz
See similar books…
53 followers
Eva Mozes Kor was a Romanian survivor of the Holocaust. Along with her twin sister Miriam, Kor was subjected to human experimentation at the Auschwitz concentration camp during World War II. She lost both of her parents and two older sisters to the Holocaust; only she and Miriam survived. Kor founded the organization CANDLES (an acronym for "Children of Auschwitz Nazi Deadly Lab Experiments Surviv ...more

Related Articles

You might know comedian Colin Jost from his work as the co-anchor of Saturday Night Live’s Weekend Update, or perhaps you know him as Scarlett Joha...
14 likes · 1 comments
“At Auschwitz dying was so easy. Surviving was a full time job.” 15 likes
“Every night I had nightmares. I dreamed of rats the size of cats, dead bodies, and needles stuck into me. After we found out that the Nazi's had made soup out of Jewish fat, I dreamed that soap bars spoke to me in the voices of my parents and sisters, asking me, "Why are you washing with us?” 7 likes
More quotes…