Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes” as Want to Read:
The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes

by
3.47  ·  Rating details ·  3,328 Ratings  ·  246 Reviews
You[re invited to spend the weekend with three extraordinary sisters[] When she was sixteen, Dee Fortune kidnapped her two younger sisters and ran from danger. Now twenty-nine, she[s still trying to control her shape-shifting power[no easy task when Danny James shows up one Friday morning with his deadly smile and dangerous questions about the past. Lizzie is determined to ...more
Paperback, Large Print, 500 pages
Published November 1st 2008 by St. Martin's Press (first published 2007)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

romney No sequel, though Jenny Crusie and Anne Stuart wrote another 3 hander in a similar style with Lani Diane Rich - "Dogs and Goddesses".
.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
 Danielle The Book Huntress (Back to the Books)
This book, simply put, was fun! It was a nice change after my last book, which wasn't that fun. I liked the light-spirit of the story, with one of my favorite themes: family. I adore my sister, so stories with sisters who love each other and get alone are always welcome.

Can I be honest? I read this book because Anne Stuart was one of the writers. I happily tried to pick out which parts of the narrative that she wrote, and I think I did a good job. But, in the process, I thoroughly enjoyed mysel
...more
Amanda
Aug 01, 2007 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: no one.
Shelves: romance
What I learned from this book: That just because you usually like an author , there's no guarantee you will like everything they write. Gah, this was AWFUL. Jennifer Crusie's books are usually funny and sexy and a pleasure to read.

The UMF was just embarrassing. It reminded me of the bodice ripper books I used to read back in Junior High, only worse, because I expected more. It's full of instant panty-melting lust at first sight, bad dialogue and every romance novel cliche you can think of. Each
...more
Jane Stewart
Terrible! Hated it! Selfish, rude, lying, unpleasant women.

This book was full of repetitive conversations as if the authors needed filler material. Dee kept saying "we must leave." Mare repeatedly gets mad at Crash saying "you've been gone for five years." I did not like the way Lizzie told Elric to leave her forever. Then as soon as he was gone she cried because she missed him and didn't want him to leave. The plot was stupid. I can't think of anything nice to say about this book. Story brief:
...more
Kathleen
This is actually a reread. The first time I read this book I was somewhat skeptical about the ability of three authors to blend their styles together, but I love Jennifer Crusie and was on a quest to read everything she'd written ever at the time, so I read it. I did and still do enjoy it, with a couple of caveats.

First: this is a fun book. The dialogue sparkles (it's Jenny Crusie, guys, of course it does) and the stories are cute, if occasionally somewhat forced in feeling. The characters are q
...more
Jana
Nov 07, 2007 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: gave-up
Meh...
I was a bit disappointed with this one...
In the end, I finally just skimmed the final chapters just to be done with it. I ADORE Jennifer Cruise and was so excited for this one! I thought the concept was interesting and also the subject matter (I'm a sucker for witch stories, after all) but I thought the 3 sisters were lame and boring and way to hung up on their issues...the guys were not quiver worthy and to top it all off, I felt like I had to keep re-reading the first few chapters to see
...more
Kaethe
There are many witch stories out there, but many of them, I'm sorry to say, do not have happy endings. This is a book with a happy ending, suitable for fans of Charmed and Bewitched. This is also a book I gave myself for my birthday; I've decided to only buy books that make me feel good and/or laugh in delight.

These women can construct a romcom to make anyone proud.

personal copy
Katherine 黄爱芬
Kisah tiga saudari penyihir (Dee, Lizzie, Mare) lumayan kocak nih. Mereka bertiga diincar oleh bibi mereka sendiri, Xantippe, utk diambil kekuatan mrk. Xan berusaha mengecoh mereka dgn mengirimkan pria-pria tampan bagi mereka. Puncaknya saat Xan menyihir mereka sehingga nafsu libido mereka meningkat dan kemudian menyandera pasangan mereka, utk ditukar dgn kekuatan sihir mereka. Mampukah bersaudari ini menghadapi sang bibi manipulator?

Sayangnya karakter-karakter yg ada kurang terbangun, sehingga
...more
Siria
A fantasy romance about three sisters with magical powers, co-written by three separate authors. You see all the ways in which this could go wrong, right? Right. Well, Mare's story—written by Jenny Crusie—is the strongest and the wittiest, but it's nowhere near vintage Crusie. Dee's story was mostly boring (though God, let me count all the ways I never again want to read an erection described as 'rampant'); Lizzy's story irritated me, because it was full of all the smug, patronising, clichéd thi ...more
Jujubee
PNR Rom-Com done well!
This read has it all, interesting but not too over-involved plot (come on its all fun magical fantasy here); intelligent, quirky sister heroines (honest, by the end of their journey I loved each one equally); and believable, honorable True Loves in Crash, Elric, and Danny, all with their own interesting backstories.
As for a twisty backstory goes these orphaned Foutune sisters have it, with the only remaining family member, Auntie Antichrist, hot to get their magical gifts
...more
Kara Jorges
This is the story of the magical Fortune sisters, each with a gift. Dee, the eldest, is a shapeshifter. Lizzie, the middle sister, transmutes things, and Mare, the youngest, can move things with her mind. For the past 12 years, they have lived a nomadic life, fleeing when their powers drew attention, or when their aunt Xantippe found them. After Xan murdered their parents, Dee took her sisters and fled, hiding out in small towns. Now, their aunt has found them again, only she has also sent each ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Comeback Kiss
  • Cupid Cats (Dark Ones #7.5)
  • Out of Time
  • My Favorite Witch (Accidental Witch Trilogy, #2)
  • The Reluctant Miss Van Helsing
  • Star Quality
  • Sex & the Immortal Bad Boy (Immortally Sexy, #4)
  • Cinderman
  • Hex Appeal (Hex #2)
  • Awaken to Pleasure
  • Over Hexed (Hex, #1)
  • Dead Sexy
19005
Jenny Crusie is the NYT bestselling author of twenty some novels and lots of other stuff. Her latest novel, Maybe This Time, hit shelves in August, 2010.

Jenny lives on the Ohio River where she often stares at the ceiling and counts her blessings.
More about Jennifer Crusie...
“She had the underwear of a thirteen-year-old, as well, he thought. He glanced back at her. But the shoes of a courtesan.” 7 likes
More quotes…