Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “No Castanets at the Wells” as Want to Read:
No Castanets at the Wells
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

No Castanets at the Wells

(Sadler's Wells #3)

3.99  ·  Rating details ·  297 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Fans of Sebastian and Veronica (see A Dream of Sadler's Wells and Veronica at Sadler's Wells) will love this story about Caroline, Veronica's loyal younger cousin. Back in Northumberland, Caroline has been working on her dancing, hoping to emulate Veronica's success. In the meantime, she has also made friends with a charming young man, Angelo Ibanez, a Spanish dancer and m ...more
Hardcover
Published 1953 by Evans
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about No Castanets at the Wells, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about No Castanets at the Wells

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.99  · 
Rating details
 ·  297 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of No Castanets at the Wells
Louise Armstrong
This book really comforted me when I was young because the heroine worked and tried and worked and hoped, yet was totally rubbish right up to the end - when a twist (that I won't give away) reveals that a change of direction/focus/location can make everything come good. What a great message for a miserable, and rather unsuccessful, youngster. Don't give up: 'The game's not won or lost until the last counter's played.'

Who knows how influential this book was? I am now able to look back and think,
...more
Beth
Apr 16, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Could this be read as a book about the harsh realities of the ballet world and the people who fail in ballet - but make slightly different dreams come true? Sure.

But I read it as a book of, frankly, ridiculous privilege afforded to someone to grows up rich, decides she wants to dance, gets into a top school easily, has no problem staying with a friend in London, meets a Spanish dancer through her talented cousin, and has avenues luckily open up for her. She doesn't have to go home with her dream
...more
Daisy May Johnson
These are the most beautiful books I own. The hardback editions of the Chalet School come close to them (that is, when I can sell my liver to afford one) but somehow they never quite reach the great grace of the Sadler's Wells books. I think it all centres on that front cover and the way that they, all of them, catch light so well. These are sunlight, morning books full of warmth and glowing life. The artist, Esme Verity, is actually Hill's daughter working under a pseudonym. And she's gifted, i ...more
Speakercoret
sebelum ke radal, ngider2 bms sebentar sambil nungguin ijul n aini, eh dapet buku ini ^_^
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
kalo urutan terbit kayaknya terbitnya pesta topeng di wells dulu baru ini, tp gramed nerbitin ini jadi buku 3, buku empatnya malah pesta topeng...
bikin bingung aja -_-

---------------------------------------------------------------

Di buku ketiga ini tokoh utamanya Caroline, sepupu veronica.
Setelah veronica pergi belajar tari di well’s,
...more
Rosemary Atwell
Nov 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: re-reads
Caroline's story is not quite as focused as Veronica's, partially because characters are introduced upon whom Hill will concentrate in order to set the scene for the following two novels and also because both the main characters - Caroline and Mariella - embody a different type of struggle from the fierce determination and singular dedication displayed by both Veronica and Sebastian.

The novel seamlessly carries the Northumbrian narrative thread on from the final events of 'Veronica at the Wells
...more
Deborah
Oct 11, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When we first met Caroline, two books ago, she was the kind but rather ordinary younger sister of the awful Fiona. She's still kind but rather ordinary (well, as ordinary as you can be if you've been brought up in an ancestral hall) in this book, which I think may be why I like it so much. Veronica is mostly off-stage, so to speak, as Caroline keeps her own presence at Sadler's Wells a secret (Veronica is off touring a lot of the time, which is helpful) and this is Caroline's story: the story of ...more
Mutia
Jun 15, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wah, buku yang bagus sekali (sayang punya gw ilang)... ceritanya berlatar belakang kota kecil di Inggris, tentang seorang anak perempuan yang terobsesi jadi penari balet karena terinspirasi sama sepupunya... setelah kerja kerasnya ternyata dia menemukan fakta bahwa dia tidak berbakat dalam menari balet -yes, in ballet, talent does matter-

ternyata dibalik kegagalannya, tuhan punya rencana lain, pada akhirnya dia sukses jadi penari flamenco... dan kesuksesannya menari flamenco salah satunya ditunj
...more
Tina
Oct 18, 2015 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Prijetno. Caroline je tak lik, za katero si res želiš, da bi se ji nasmehnila sreča. Sicer je Fiona že utrujajoča, človek bi mislil, da se bo kaj razvila. Fino je bilo slišati malo več o Veronikinem uspehu in o Sebastijanu.
Pamela
Jan 17, 2008 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
No Castanets at the Wells menceritakan tentang Caroline, sepupu Veronica Weston, yang juga belajar ballet di Sadler Wells. Namun sekian lama di Wells, Caroline semakin menyadari bahwa potensinya bukan di dunia Ballet. Dia lebih menyukai tarian Spanyol yang lebih semangat dan menggunakan castanet.
Felicity
Oct 04, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: classics
This book focuses more on Caroline Scott Veronica's cousin. And how she ends up going to the Wells but feels ballet isn't right for her. Then she meets Angelo who introduces her to Spanish dancing!

I enjoyed this book more than the 2nd book but missed Veronica!
...more
Victoria
Part of my re-read of this lovely series. This book waited around for so long before getting going that I had to dock a star for slowness. Equally frustrating was the fact that it ended just as it felt Caroline's real story was beginning. At the same time, it's a story about her finding her way, which she did. The rest of it would surely just be hard work and success, so I suppose we saw the most interesting bit. Alongside that, all the time-wasting details of setting and normal life, attending ...more
Ririn
May 19, 2009 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
Seri Saddler's Wells ini favorit saya waktu mudaaa~ >w< (lebay-mode on) ...more
hhertzof
Oct 08, 2012 rated it really liked it
These are growing on me. I like the overlapping timelines.
Ratna
rated it really liked it
Jul 01, 2010
Erica
rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2019
Kaja (red panda) *:・゚✧
rated it it was amazing
Jul 10, 2012
Nataša
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2016
Rina Suryakusuma
rated it really liked it
Mar 13, 2015
Carmen
rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2017
McPhaul M.
rated it liked it
Mar 30, 2019
Mariyanti
rated it liked it
May 12, 2009
Leilani Serfontein
rated it liked it
May 24, 2014
Erica
rated it really liked it
Aug 22, 2013
Eilidh Montgomery
rated it it was amazing
Aug 24, 2016
Maja Frangež
rated it really liked it
Oct 28, 2020
Ann Darnton
rated it really liked it
Oct 12, 2017
Ratesjul
rated it really liked it
Sep 15, 2020
Leah O'connor
rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2014
Sarah Keene
rated it liked it
Jan 23, 2017
Esther Sebayang
rated it it was amazing
Apr 06, 2012
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Ballet Shoes
  • Ryan's Christmas (DCI Ryan Mysteries #15)
  • Above the Bay of Angels
  • Forget You Had a Daughter: Doing Time in the 'Bangkok Hilton'
  • Cold Comfort Farm
  • Wolf Rain (Psy-Changeling Trinity, #3; Psy-Changeling, #18)
  • Sorry I Missed You
  • What Women Want: Fun, Freedom and an End to Feminism
  • The Little French Bistro
  • Meghan and Harry: The Real Story
  • Jane Austen's Ghost
  • I Am Not Your Negro
  • Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA
  • Bird of Paradise
  • The Bride Wore Blue (The Brides of Bath, #1)
  • Midnight Marriage (Roxton Family Saga, #1)
  • A Refuge for the Chalet School
  • Salt Bride (Salt Hendon, #1)
See similar books…
28 followers
Hill attended school in Durham and then went to Le Manoir in Lausanne, on the shores of Lake Geneva, Switzerland. She obtained a BA at Durham University, and there met her husband, a clergyman. They moved to the remote parish of Matfen, Northumberland, where she played the organ in church and ran a Sunday school.

Hill's career as an author began when her daughter Vicki, then about ten years old, fo
...more

Other books in the series

Sadler's Wells (1 - 10 of 14 books)
  • A Dream of Sadler's Wells
  • Veronica at the Wells
  • Masquerade at the Wells
  • Jane Leaves the Wells
  • Ella at the Wells
  • Return To The Wells
  • Rosanna Joins the Wells
  • Principal Role
  • Swan Feather
  • Dress Rehearsal

Related Articles

Angeline Boulley set out over a decade ago to write the story she wanted to read as a young Ojibwe teenager. The result is Firekeeper's Daughter,...
5 likes · 0 comments