Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Batman: Battle for the Cowl” as Want to Read:
Batman: Battle for the Cowl
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Batman: Battle for the Cowl

(Modern Batman #181)

by
3.74  ·  Rating details ·  6,629 ratings  ·  213 reviews
"Batman: R.I.P." and FINAL CRISIS saw the end of Batman. Now, months following the disappearance of her protector, Gotham City sits at a precipice and it may be too far gone for Nightwing, Robin, Commissioner Gordon and the rest of the city's heroes to save the day. Amid the fires, rioting, looting and gang warfare, one question rings out from the souls of Gotham's despera ...more
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published November 24th 2009 by DC Comics (first published July 1st 2009)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Batman, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Batman

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.74  · 
Rating details
 ·  6,629 ratings  ·  213 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Batman: Battle for the Cowl
Jayson
(B+) 77% | Good
Notes: The writing lacks confidence: drowning narrative in action, cameos and moments, it’s all poster shots and cutscenes.
Chelsea 🏳️‍🌈
3.5 stars

So, I greatly enjoyed a lot of this!

I was on a kick of finding more interactions between Jason Todd and Dick Grayson. I really love the contrast between their personalities and their views on what the cowl should be. To Dick, it's a great honor and a burden: Bruce warned him away from it, he never felt worthy and he feared it turning him into a darker figure. Jason saw it as a potential to inspire fear into the hearts of Gotham's criminals. He always thought Bruce didn't go far enough.
...more
Scott
Dec 05, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Though his name is right up there in the title, this is (understandably) a Batman-less volume. The first-half is the good, physically action-oriented title story - it's not called 'battle' for nothing - starring Dick Grayson, Jason Todd, and Tim Drake, plus a slew of brief cameo appearances by other mid-level DC heroes and villains. The latter section, Gotham Gazette, was not as good and less interesting with its largely civilian-level (Vicki Vale, Harvey Bullock, Leslie Thompkins) approach.
Shannon
Batman is “dead” which should be little surprise to those following the build up to to this result or who read the blurb of this graphic novel (so I don't consider it a spoiler). In this installment Gotham City is going downhill now that all the bad people know the Dark Knight is slain so even though the deceased Batman's lieutenants try to control the situation it obviously gets out of control.

A lot of characters in the Batman world make their appearances but this time around I won't say who as
...more
Lashaan Balasingam (Bookidote)
After the events in Batman R.I.P. and Final Crisis, Battle for the Cowl now welcomes us to a new era where nothing seems bright. With the disappearance of Batman, the mantle of the Bat is left hanging and chaos reigns in Gotham. Every villain in the book sees this as a golden opportunity to take control of one of the darkest cities out there, and establish brand new order that will satisfy their evil desires. The story essentially goes on for three issues and features a special a Gotham Gazette ...more
Mizuki
2.5 stars. This time it's a case of 'it's-not-the-book-it's-me' because to be honest I dislike the artwork and the only thing keeps me reading is the main storyline about how Nightwing (Dick Grayson) and Co. deal with the aftermath of Bruce Wayne's death and Gotham city going out of control.

This main story alone can easily win 4 stars. However, I found almost all of the side stories pointless, therefore the rating has to be lowered.

What a shame, Batman: Life After Death had worked like a charm
...more
Chris
At just three issues long, Battle for the Cowl doesn't overstay it's welcome, with writer and penciller Tony Daniel doing what he needs to do and getting Dick Grayson into the cape and cowl.

Although I wasn't reading comics at the time of Bruce Wayne's death, it still feels like Dick was the only logical replacement for him, so I appreciated the shorter length (i'm not just saying that because he's my favourite, honest!). In fact, despite the covers and promotional art showing a wide array of Bat
...more
Sam Quixote
Dec 27, 2011 rated it liked it
Following the events of Batman RIP, Gotham is thrown into chaos as the Black Mask returns to wreak havoc upon the city and free the cavalcade of villains from Blackgate and Arkham that Batman put away. Meanwhile, Dick Grayson refuses to put on the cowl while a new Batman in the form of Jason Todd appears in Gotham, guns blazing. As the Robins, Grayson, Tim Drake, Jason Todd and Damian converge, along with other assorted superheroes, the battle for the cowl begins...

Tony Daniel's artwork througho
...more
James DeSantis
May 26, 2017 rated it liked it
This was pretty entertaining (and super easy) read. Batman is dead (Don't worry guys it's only for a year.) and now the fight for his cowl is on. Actually, it's just Jason being a asshole and trying to take the mantel from all the other robins. So let's talk what works and what doesn't.

What I liked: The art is pretty solid. Action is smooth and no complaints on that end. I like that all the robins are dealing with the death of their father figure (or father) in this book in different ways. I al
...more
Anne
Jun 01, 2011 rated it liked it
Pretty good story, but I was kind of hoping for more out of it. I think this is what I get for reading books out of order.
Kenny

Batman: Battle For The Cowl has taken a lot of hits over the years. I actually enjoyed it. Tony Daniel has done a good job writing a compelling story.



There may always be a Batman, but it will not always be Bruce Wayne under the cowl. Enter Batman: Battle for the Cowl , one of the most anticipated comic books to be released this year. Following Bruce Wayne's time and space displacement in Final Crisis , Batman: Battle for the Cowl is the story of a Gotham City that thinks its prote
...more
JB
Oct 18, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: my-dc-collection
I love everything about this story! Seeing the effect of the death of Bruce Wayne/Batman on the people closest to him. I have a couple of favorite parts in this book. Tim saying: "It has to be one of us, Dick". Alfred beating Dick Grayson in a little fight with bamboo sticks. Tim wearing the cape and cowl. Damian taking the Batmobile for a joyride with some female company. And Oracle getting rid of the girl by remotely activating the ejector seat of the Batmobile. I loved the part where Alfred s ...more
Sesana
Mar 22, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: comics, superhumans
The copy for the book sets it up as an epic battle for control of the Batman identity between Dick Grayson, Jason Todd, Tim Drake, Catwoman, Two-Face, and Batgirl. Catwoman and Two-Face aren't actually battling for the cowl, Dick spends almost the entire book adamant that he doesn't want it and nobody else should have it, Tim didn't seem too attached to it, and I could swear that Batgirl wasn't even in this book. It's really more about the chaos that ensues when Batman isn't around to take care ...more
Ryan Stewart
Re-read: With Bruce Wayne thought dead, who will rise up to wear the cowl as Black Mask unleashes hell on a Batman-less Gotham?

Three Robins -- Dick, Tim and Jason -- have their own ideas or reluctances and the Battle for the Cowl ensues.

Honestly this story has gotten both better and worse with time. On the good side, the concept and elements of the story are great. There are some seriously badass moments, too, and it really shows these characters wrestling with not only one another and the Black
...more
Logan
Jun 07, 2014 rated it really liked it
A great batman read! So Bruce Wayne is 'dead' and now the big question is who will be Batman? The book mainly focuses on Tim Drake, Dick Grayson and Jason Todd as the three Robins fight for the cowl! Jason Todd is badass in this, his suit is cool and it's nice to see a batman who actually uses guns! I remember when this story orgianlly came out it filled my families house in with many debates about who will be batman! Overall great story!
Diego López Ocón
May 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
It's good, the only problem is that it is a brief story, it happens so fast and is short. Still great, but take my advice, Don't read the tie-ins, they're a waste of time.
Aaron
Dec 15, 2010 rated it it was amazing
With DC Comic's most recent shakeup, heroes and villains alike are settling into a whole new world. One of the biggest changes was the death of Batman, a.k.a. Bruce Wayne. This has left a vacuum in Gotham City as many of Batmans enemies clamor to take over the city. Nightwing (the original Robin) along with most of the bat-family (Batwoman, Huntress, Oracle, Batgirl, Robin, and Catwoman) is doing what can be done to try and hold the line. Even the help of allies such as Black Canary is just not ...more
John Yelverton
Aug 05, 2011 rated it it was ok
The book series took a distinct turn toward awful with this addition. I respect the writing, but the story never should have been written in the first place.
Donovan
Jul 06, 2019 rated it liked it
Gotham in chaos, it’s fast and flashy, firefights and fistfights, infighting and gang feuds. The Bat-Family learns what it means to be the Batman, especially when he’s gone.
Panos
Aug 22, 2011 rated it it was ok
BATMAN: BATTLE FOR THE COWL (2/5)

Has any of you ever wondered who would become Batman in case Bruce Wayne ever died? It's not an irrational possibility; the man does a dangerous job and despite his vast abilities, his life is constantly on the line. Naturally, a comic book hero is never supposed to die, especially when he is of that magnitude. But just in case Wayne ever...went away, who would protect his beloved city from the homicidal lunatics that swarm it?

Some years ago, Chuck Dixon and Doug
...more
Arturo
Oct 30, 2012 rated it liked it
Shelves: dc-2006-batbooks
4 years later and I'm changing my rating from 4 to 2.5 stars and actually adding a review. I have had to flip through this book literally 6 times in those 4 years because I couldn't remember what happens. It's such a forgettable collection. Iv been stuck in this Batman Era for lack of motivation to read what comes after, and each time I make an attempt to move forward.. Hey wait what was this about?

After 'Batman R.i.P.' Gotham is without a Batman and in chaos. Gotham needs a Bat and Nightwing a
...more
Joshua Adam Bain
Feb 05, 2014 rated it really liked it
I only have one bad thing to say about this book...it was simply way to short!

Tony Daniels tells a great story of "the student" taking "the masters" place. If anyone was fit to be Batman after Bruce died, it was always going to be Dick Grayson. And this is where that happens. But whats this?! Former dead/psycho/awesome Robin/Red Hood Jason Todd also wants the cowl? And he wants to be super brutal at it? And Tim Drake is also stepping out wearing the infamous symbol? Good lord what a hoot nanny o
...more
Louis Skye
Jul 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
That was epic! Another of the comic series that I've read about but not actually read. Glad I finally got to read it.

Set after the events of Batman's death, the Gotham heroes come together to fight an ever-increasing wave of crime in the city. It seems that the criminals once terrified of the caped crusader are now having a field day in his absence. Nightwing tries to lead the heroes against them but it seems that nothing short of Batman's return will bring peace. So, which hero deserves to take
...more
Joseph Dinas
Oct 05, 2019 rated it liked it
Not very interested not well explained good action but doesn't seem a 100% true to the way many other batman comics/volumes have been. A very Unforunately missed opportunity that should be rewritten.
Madeleine Morrison
Dec 02, 2010 rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novel, batman
Battle for the Cowl plus the two Gotham Gazette issues included in this volume make for a nice bridge between the events of Final Crisis and the post-Bruce Wayne Batman world.
Battle for the Cowl, itself, was a three issue mini-series written and drawn by Tony S. Daniel. It's just long enough to say and show what needs to be shown. I always assumed by the cover and the title that this was going to be a much more "epic" story/battle. But, the title doesn't lie, it IS a battle for the cowl - I had
...more
Mario
May 20, 2010 rated it did not like it
Batman:Battle for the Cowl was the most superfluous Batman event of all time. First of all, in the end, Nightwing took up the cape and cowl, like EVERYONE EXPECTED FROM THE MOMENT BRUCE WAS PRESUMED DEAD! Many people may already know that Dick already did the Batman identity back in the mid-90s. However, this book pretends that event did not take place, and prolonging the inevitable conclusion.The story was highly predictable and had a boring and poorly rendered ending;like a Michael Bay's film. ...more
Nicholas
Dec 16, 2010 rated it liked it
Whhhaat? No Bruce Wayne Batman? It's true. This is a short work - three volumes collected in one, and each focuses on a different Robin and a different perspective on the absence of their mentor. From the beginning it's pretty much a foregone conclusion that Grayson is going to pick up the mantle, nevertheless, the book delivers in its portrayal of the conflicted elder son who wants to strike a path of his own, but finds himself more and more the product of his upbringing. The most touching mome ...more
Tiara
Jul 16, 2011 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Gloria
Apr 03, 2009 rated it liked it
Shelves: comics
I'm reading this in floppy form as it's released. Currently I have read issues 1 and 2 out of three. I have also been following the tie-ins (Gotham Gazette, issues in Batman, Detective Comics, etc.). The action is moving right along, which is nice. I guess that's what happens when the main series is only three issues long.

Update: I finished the third (last) issue. I found it confusing that there was apparently some action that happened between issues 2 and 3 that was missing. That stuff probabl
...more
Joy
Aug 16, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: 21c, superhero, comics
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Batman & Robin, Vol. 2: Batman vs. Robin
  • Batman: R.I.P.
  • Batman & Robin, Vol. 3: Batman & Robin Must Die!
  • Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne
  • Batman: The Resurrection of Ra's al Ghul
  • Batman & Robin, Vol. 1: Batman Reborn
  • Final Crisis
  • Batman: Heart of Hush
  • Batman and Son
  • Batman Incorporated: The Deluxe Edition
  • Batman: The Black Glove, Deluxe Edition
  • Batman: Under the Red Hood
  • Batman & Robin, Vol. 4: Dark Knight vs. White Knight
  • Batman Incorporated, Volume 1: Demon Star
  • Batman Incorporated, Volume 2: Gotham's Most Wanted
  • Batman: Time and the Batman
  • Batman: Red Hood - The Lost Days
  • Batman: Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader?
See similar books…
72 followers
Tony Salvador Daniel is a comic book author and illustrator.

For the science fiction writer, see Tony Daniel.
...more

Other books in the series

Modern Batman (1 - 10 of 217 books)
  • Batman: Year One
  • Batman: Shaman
  • Batman and the Monster Men
  • Batman and the Mad Monk
  • Batman: Prey
  • Batman: The Man Who Laughs
  • Batman Confidential, Vol. 5: Dead to Rights
  • Catwoman/Batman: Trail of the Gun
  • Batman: Gothic
  • DC Comics Presents: Batman - Irresistible

News & Interviews

  Tami Charles is a former teacher and the author of picture books, middle grade and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made...
27 likes · 41 comments
“If only Jason could have reached out to us. Any one of us. He could have saved himself. But you know what? Some people don't want to be saved. Because saving means changing. And changing is aways harder then staying the same. It takes courage to face yourself in the mirror and look beyond the reflection. To find the you that you should have ben. The you who got derailed by crul childhood events. Events that took your life's natural trajectory and twisted it. Changing it into something unmaginable... or even incredible...... giving you thecourage to embrace your birthright, you destiny, and finaly realize... that you ARE BATMAN.” 18 likes
“Look at me. Do you see terror? Do you see fear? Or is it just your own reflection?"

"You're right. I see my reflection in your eyes--And it's kicking your ass!”
5 likes
More quotes…