Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Piece de Resistance (French Twist, #3)” as Want to Read:
Piece de Resistance (French Twist, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Piece de Resistance

(French Twist #3)

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  1,073 ratings  ·  113 reviews
Having earned her chef’s hat, Lexi Stuart bids au revoir to her glamorous and deliciously satisfying pastry mentorship outside of Paris and returns to her hometown of Seattle, Washington. There, she finds life unexpectedly complicated.

She’s put in charge of a high-end catering bakery called Bijoux, which should be her dream job, but there’s a catch: She has to make this la
...more
Paperback, 291 pages
Published September 15th 2009 by Waterbrook Press (first published 2009)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Piece de Resistance, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Piece de Resistance

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,073 ratings  ·  113 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Piece de Resistance (French Twist, #3)
Andrea Cox
Oct 01, 2017 rated it did not like it
by Andrea Renee Cox

While I enjoyed portions of this book and it was a pretty good finale to the French Twist series, I was majorly disappointed in one thing that tainted the entire book for me. There was a mention of a homosexual relationship: "A minute later, a pair of suited men walked up to the booth. Were they a wedding party? I'd heard there were alternative couples here too." (p. 45) I realize this type of thing is something we deal with in society, because we live in a fallen world. Howev
...more
Bluerose's  Heart
Dec 21, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Lexi is back in Seattle, working at her dream job. It's a little more difficult than she imagined with responsibilities she didn't realize she was taking on with the job. She's determined to make it work, though, and quickly! It's only a matter of months before she could lose it all.

In Piece de Resistance, Lexi has to work through her feelings for both Dan and Phillipe. I had my pick, and anticipated who would win her heart pretty early on in this book. It still warmed my heart to see it all com
...more
Kristen
Nov 05, 2009 rated it it was amazing
I don't like tying myself down to a series, which is hard to find in christian fiction. However, I read the first book in the series thinking I'd read it and stop there. That didn't happen! I finshed the first book at work one day and went to 4 different book stores before I could find the second book. I just finished this one and I am so happy with the ending. I don't see why we can't have a fourth book in the series with Lexi's wedding! A happy, large affair, I can just imagine! Come Ms. Byrd. ...more
Kara
Mar 31, 2015 rated it liked it
Cute enough that I finished in a few hours. I liked the way everything turned out and the whole series made me hungry for French treats! :)
Brenda
Jun 02, 2009 rated it really liked it
Shelves: chick-lit
Oh, how I LOVED this book! I got it in the mail yesterday, and decided to finish the other book I was reading first, since I had less than 100 pages to go. But then I picked this up, and didn't stop reading except to sleep and go out to dinner with friends (and I would have rather been reading!). It also took every ounce of strength I had not to flip to the back of the book to see how it ended. I don't know why I feel such a connection to these characters and this story, but I do.

This is an exam
...more
Jasmine
Well, it was a decent series. And giving a book a D to close a series seems pretty harsh. Nevertheless, the ending was the worst book of the series. For one, it was a fairly slow book with limited subplots outside of Lexi deciding which man she wanted in the love triangle and scratching through the starting of Bijoux. She didn't even end up with the guy I thought she should have... which didn't help. Book characters just never listen to me.

OFFICIAL RATING: D - While I won't consider this a "stri
...more
Loraine
Bryd concludes her French Twist series with Lexi, Phillipe, and Celine all back in the US at the Delacoix's new catering and wedding cake store, Bijoux. Lexi has been made manager and it's up to her to get the store on the feet and producing a profit. But it's not as easy as Lexi thinks especially when her heart is in the baking not the bookkeeping. At the same time, she is still torn between Phillipe and Dan and which one is the man that is God's best choice for her.

Lexi's growing confidence i
...more
Stacy
The last book in a wonderful Christian chick lit series. I'm so glad I bought them all, as I enjoyed every one immensely. 4.5 stars, or even close to my Harry Potter only 5 star rating :) Great characters, good stories, and a satisfying ending to wrap it all up :) I'll miss these characters and these books :)
Emily
Feb 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing
five stars for the series! The book itself... 4 stars. the romance touched my heart, very surprising as I'm not used to that in my typical trashy romances I read ;)

I found myself cheering right along with Lexi and was thrilled at her successes and stepping stones of learning. recommend this series to anyone who wants a light hearted read that's full of good feels.
Bess
May 10, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: borrowed
Super cute! Nice ending!
Danielle Turko
Sep 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Lexi is finally coming home after spending several in france going to pastry school and working. Well, mostly working. When Phillipe was around work may not have been at the forefront of her mind. Now Lexi has a chance to move back to Seattle and run her own kitchen, specialiing in wedding cakes and Phillipe will be her boss. What she doesn't know is that she only has until the end of the year to drum up enough business to make ends meet, and she's in charge of the budget and marketing aspect. T ...more
Crystal
Aug 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely loved this series! I had the first book sitting unread on my kindle for years. It had a lot more depth than I initially thought. I guess the age old adage is true to not judge a book by its cover. I fell in love with the characters and love how there is so much woven into the story without being too much. The flow of writing works well, the characters are not as predictable and even the annoying ones are written so that they grew on me. There are so many life lessons and many hit ho ...more
Emily F
Aug 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Cute Ending

This was a cute end to a series I've enjoyed. It was great to be back in Seattle and see the challenges that accompanied that, along with beginning a business. It was fun to watch the protagonist explore these new horizions and continue to explore her Christian faith. I liked the depth and lessons throughout the story, that were woven in. My main complaint (and the reason this is four stars) is the romance and the love triangle. The love triangle kind of dissolves throughout the book,
...more
Rose Maniscalco
Oct 23, 2018 rated it liked it
While I loved the premise of this series, I felt like this book was more like a what not to do to make your business successful manual for most of it. I still didn't get any real love connection with the characters and it felt like it didn't really matter which one she chose because she had no real feelings on the matter.

This book was even heavier with the religion, so if that is your thing, you will probably like it. I just feel like when an author tries to go too heavy on the Christian theme,
...more
Diana Rego
Nov 29, 2018 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I had high expectations for this book having read the earlier two books in the series and I really was hoping for a great ending. I felt like the end was a bit of a copout. It's not that I didn't like the characters it's just that it didn't seem like the right ending for how the story was building. If I had known this is how it ended, I might not have started reading it in the first place.
Jules Pool
Feb 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
So sad the stories over! Why can’t there be a fourth book! I loved this series. Sandra did an amazing job. I was hesitant at first but I am so glad that I decided to read it. It’s totally worth it and I highly recommend it!

Jules
Danielle Gonzalez
This was a cute trilogy. Lexi goes from Seattle to Paris to chase her dreams for her career and love. Lexi has a close relationship with God, and I like the way she goes to Him during both good and bad times.
Laura Lawless applegate
Sweet conclusion to the trilogy

A sweet conclusion to Lexi's story. I appreciate the drama and the way she works through her spiritual life. Very fun weekend read!
Lisa Cole
Feb 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent

I loved this whole series. The characters were believable and the storyline kept me coming back for more. It felt like I was there in person.
Ruth
Oct 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: contemp
Lexi is still working to make her life work. This story is fun if you like French food, cakes, and want to find God's guidance in your life. Finally the HEA!
Cathy
Having earned her chef’s hat, Lexi Stuart bids au revoir to her glamorous and deliciously satisfying pastry mentorship outside of Paris and returns to her hometown of Seattle, Washington. There, she finds life unexpectedly complicated.

She’s put in charge of a high-end catering bakery called Bijoux, which should be her dream job, but there’s a catch: She has to make this lavish bakery into a successful business in just a few, short months, which will require more than her ability to make an amazi
...more
Mikayla
The book Piece de Resistance is a continuation to Let Them Eat Cake and Bon Appetit, also known as the French Twist Series. Lexi has finished Chef school in France and has moved back home to Seattle to work in her own wedding cake bakery. She finally gets a place to live and starts setting up the bakery but things aren't going like Lexi had planned! She doesn't have enough money to do hardly anything and not enough business to earn the money they need to keep the bakery open, and Lexi hires a wo ...more
Holly (2 Kids and Tired)
Aug 10, 2009 rated it really liked it
The third in the French Twist series. I enjoyed the first one, Let Them Eat Cake, but found it very light. I haven't found a copy of the second one, Bon Appetit to read yet.

This one was a lot of fun and I enjoyed it much more than the first one. While I think that reading all of them in order is probably a good idea, my not reading the second one didn't detract too much from the story. Having the back history of Lexi's experience in Paris would have been helpful, but the story moved along well
...more
Kristie Kercheval
May 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
This the third book in the series. I listened to others on audiobook, which was helpful in hearing the french words pronounced correctly. When I read this one I could still hear the reader's voice in my head. Overall it is a lighthearted book on love and pursuing your dreams. Lexi's dilemmas are relatable. There's one guy who has shown a little interest in her who rides a motorcycle, and another one pursuing her that is less mysterious and more predictable. Then she has to decide how much of Fra ...more
Carly
Sep 30, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Well, it’s a happy day and a sad day. A happy day because I just finished reading Piece de Resistance and I loved it. It’s a sad day because now the French Twist series is all over. I have loved this series since the very beginning and I will miss these characters and all the wonderful cakes!

Piece de Resistance was everything I hoped it would be and more. There were some delightful surprises and adorable new characters. All the loose ends were tied up and the book ended exactly the way I was hop
...more
Renee
Nov 21, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kindle-book
I have two words for this series--tres magnifique! Piece de Resistance is the icing on the cake of the French Twist series. In the style of the first two books Sandra Byrd weaves a tale that's both uplifting and inspirational while keeping a fun, and sometimes flirty, feel. Having followed Lexi through 2 books you would think you would be able to see things coming but still I was more than 1/3 of the way through the story before I could decide whether Lexi would choose bachelor #1 or bachelor #2 ...more
Christy Lockstein
Aug 13, 2009 rated it really liked it
Pièce de Résistance by Sandra Byrd is the third and final volume in the French Twist series following Lexi Stuart in her quest to become successful in work and love. It picks up immediately after Bon Appetit with Lexi returning home from Paris to Seattle to start a pastry and wedding cake shop, Bijoux, under the Delacroix family banner. Torn between the affections of her suave French boss Philippe and his adorable daughter Celine and all-American lawyer Dan, Lexi isn't sure which mans holds the ...more
Ricki
Mar 20, 2015 rated it it was ok
This book was fine while I was reading it, but I was dissatisfied with the ending. I didn't really "feel" anything about this book--I never really connected with Lexi as I had in the first book of the series, and I never felt emotionally invested in the choices she had to make between the love triangle guys or whether she should stay in France or Seattle.

When it ended in an engagement (spoiler? though it seems obvious from the book cover), it didn't feel to me like the characters were ready to b
...more
Rebecca Evans
Sep 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Very satisfying end to the series. I really enjoyed the way she figured out what to do with integrity and compassion, and how her spiritual journey was described through the books.
Brooke (i blog 4 books)
Feb 10, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2016
What a fun conclusion to this series!

Lexi's faith is a central theme throughout the series, and I really appreciated the way she looked to God as she was making difficult decisions. The Bible was a "go to" for her from the beginning of the series, and not just a last resort when she encountered difficulty. What a great example!

The author did a great job of bringing resolution to each aspect of the story. It seemed there were several times when I could have easily gone either way on a decision
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Madison Mega-Mara...: Pièce de Résistance 1 5 May 08, 2013 05:29AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Before I Called You Mine
  • Take a Chance on Me (A Misty River Romance #0.5)
  • Wooing Cadie McCaffrey
  • A Bound Heart
  • Things Left Unsaid
  • Stay with Me (A Misty River Romance, #1)
  • Brunch at Bittersweet Café (The Saturday Night Supper Club, #2)
  • Then There Was You
  • Vendetta (The Nikki Boyd Files, #1)
  • A Rumored Fortune
  • The Happy Camper
  • Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Destination Wedding #1)
  • Between Two Shores
  • Sensible Shoes: A Story about the Spiritual Journey (Sensible Shoes #1)
  • Behind the Scenes (Apart from the Crowd, #1)
  • City of Bones: The Official Illustrated Movie Companion
  • A Sweethaven Romance
  • The Stolen Letter (Scottish Bookshop Mystery #5)
See similar books…
730 followers
Bestselling author Sandra Byrd has published fifty books over her editing and writing career. Her traditionally published books include titles by Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster, Tyndale House Publishers, WaterBrook Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House, and Bethany House Publishers.

Sandra’s series of historically sound Gothic romances launched with the best-selling Mist of Mid
...more

Other books in the series

French Twist (3 books)
  • Let Them Eat Cake (French Twist #1)
  • Bon Appetit (French Twist #2)

News & Interviews

You might know comedian Colin Jost from his work as the co-anchor of Saturday Night Live’s Weekend Update, or perhaps you know him as Scarlett Joha...
31 likes · 3 comments
“I felt free this time, knowing I had a job and that I wasn't going to be graded. I could simply experiment and create. The thought occurred to me that if I always lived under the certainty of God's provision instead of the certainty of Lexi's worry, I might always feel this free.” 2 likes
“My mom would never ride an ATV,' he said. 'But you did.'

'Is that a good thing?' I asked.

He traced my lips with his fingertip. 'Yes.'

My body melted like a candy bar on the dashboard.”
1 likes
More quotes…