Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Adán Buenosayres” as Want to Read:
Adán Buenosayres
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Adán Buenosayres

4.35  ·  Rating details ·  270 Ratings  ·  21 Reviews
A modernist urban novel in the tradition of James Joyce, Adam Buenosayres is a tour-de-force that does for Buenos Aires what Carlos Fuentes did for Mexico City or José Lezama Lima did for Havana - chronicles a city teeming with life in all its clever and crass, rude and intelligent forms. Employing a range of literary styles and a variety of voices, Leopoldo Marechal parod ...more
Paperback, 614 pages
Published September 28th 2003 by Editorial Seix Barral (first published 1948)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Adán Buenosayres, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Adán Buenosayres

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Fernando
Mar 11, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
Adán Buenosayres es uno de esos libros imprescindibles que deberían ser lectura obligatoria en cualquier carrera de Letras que se precie de tal. No gratuitamente es Leopoldo Marechal uno de los modelos a seguir por Julio Cortázar a partir de la lectura de este libro. Su crítica literaria salvó al Adán del olvido injustificado en 1949. Marechal, proscripto por sus diferencias con el peronismo, Borges y el desarraigo, comenzó a cobrar fuerza en su obra a partir de los años 60 con otros libros como ...more
Jonathan
Sep 07, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
From Book 3, which was, along with Book 7, by far the best of the bunch - our very drunk band of fellows is on a bit of a pissed-up expedition...

Unfortunately, not all the adventurers of Saavedra had surrendered to such wholesome lyricism. Among the seven there was one who shut his ears to the Muses’ call, his attention taken up by base speculations of a scientific nature. I refer to the illustrious and never-sufficiently-praised pipsqueak Bernini. This man (if such we may call five-foot-nothi
...more
Vit Babenco
Nov 05, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“He half opened his eyes; through the lashes he sensed the darkness thinning, an inchoate clarity, a hint of light filtering through the dense curtain. Before Adam’s eyes, in the illegible chaos filling the room, colours started gathering and pushing each other aside, and lines began to attract or repel one another. Each object sought its sign and materialized after a quick, silent war. As on its first day, the world sprang forth from love and hate (Hail, old Empedocles!), and the world was a ro ...more
Ronald Morton
Probably more like 4.5/5.0, but I'm big on rounding up.

First, the fairly obvious: Buenosayres = Buenos Aires. This is important, not to be read as Adam being a stand in for the city, but instead as an ever present reminder of the presence of the city; Buenos Aires here plays much the same role as Dublin played in Ulysses. And, much as Ulysses could have been set no where except Dublin, Buenos Aires is inextricably entangled into the fiber of this novel.

Another note about Ulysses/Joyce: this nove
...more
Mateo R.
Intertextualidad:

Menciones directas:
* La Biblia (ca. s. IV), anónimo (numerosas alusiones y citas).
* Tango "El pañuelito" (1920) de Gabino Coria Peñaloza y Juan de Dios Filiberto (epígrafe).
* Odas para el hombre y la mujer (1929) de Leopoldo Marechal (alusiones y citas de diversos poemas).
* Días como flechas (1926) de Leopoldo Marechal (alusiones y citas de diversos poemas).
* "Eleonora" (1842) de Edgar Allan Poe (alusión).
* De los sueños (s. IV a. C.) de Aristóteles (alusión).
* Lunario sentiment
...more
Florencia
Oct 06, 2017 marked it as on-hold
Reading this for an article I'm picturing now.
+600 pages. I wonder if I'll make it on time...


Change of plans.
Nathan "N.R." Gaddis
I'll go into the record here that Adam Buenosayres is one of the better candidates for that xyz-ulysses tag, that adjective "Joyce" so freely used. Here of course thankfully not that worn-out thing of stream-of-consciousness or something mistaken for soc. Nor of course is it an imitation of Ulysses because if it were, it'd not earn 'joycean'. But no there's that delightful epicly inflated language. You know, a Homeric simile for putting on your socks. But I'll let it rage that nothing can be des ...more
Faedyl
Feb 06, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Este es un librazo que todo amante de la lectura debe poseer. Es dew esos que necesariamente hay que volver a sus hojas una y otra vez, pasados los años porque encontrás nuevas cosas. Tiene unas imágenes impresionantes, sobre todo el inicio es una escena que nunca se borra de mi cabeza. Marcó tendencia en su momento, cuando en Buenos Aires había una cantidad de gente grossa escribiendo, épocas que no sé por qué no vuelven... habiendo pavada de material :P que lo parió., no me hubiera aburrido nu ...more
Juan
Dec 24, 2017 rated it liked it
Los personajes son más odiables que queribles. Ayuda haber leído la Divina Comedia antes. Hubiese costado menos entenderlo sabiendo antes quienes fueron los martinfierristas.
Sergio Andrés
Mar 18, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Este es un libro fundamental en la literatura argentina; cualquier amante, estudiante o simplemente lector empedernido tiene qué leerlo: hay cosas que son así y ya. Jamás me había topado con obra alguna de Marechal y apenas sabía que una calle de Buenos Ayres llevaba su nombre, situación de lo más injusta creo yo. Marechal hace un mapamundo increíble del arrabal porteño, de su querida Villa Crespo, con un exactitud que deslumbra. Dicho sea de paso, que lo descriptivo es, en cierto sentido, lo de ...more
Geoffrey
Jun 30, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I dunno--I'm not one hundred percent convinced this is *quite* a lost (to English readers) modernist classic. Thematic resonance sacrificed in favor of amusing but maybe not super-profound jokiness, is my feeling. I'd have to reread to say more. But it's certainly *something,* and it's certainly entertaining.
Shawn
Sep 01, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Interesting book. 4 stars for English edition with excellent foot notes explicating both novel & Argentine history.
Andres Martinez
Jun 16, 2013 rated it it was amazing
An obscure, forgotten classic...
Teresa
What is this about?
What did I read?
This is one of those books that triggered my stubborn nature and I kept reading only to reach the end with no clear idea of how I ended up there.
Gonzalo
Una de mis novelas preferidas.
Jopa
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2013
Gerardo
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2009
Milagros
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2012
Maia
rated it liked it
Sep 22, 2010
Sebastián Maestre
rated it it was amazing
Jul 21, 2017
Victoria Gutierrez
rated it really liked it
Oct 10, 2016
Matías Brasca
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2016
Juan Irusta
rated it it was amazing
Jul 01, 2016
Pía
rated it really liked it
May 15, 2016
Rodrigo Gómez
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2017
Ungernberg
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2015
Alberto Villamandos
rated it it was amazing
Apr 20, 2010
Claudia Cortalezzi
rated it really liked it
Sep 22, 2012
Eduardo María Adrogué
rated it it was amazing
Mar 24, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
The BURIED Book Club: Adam Buenosayres 3 52 Jan 09, 2015 06:03PM  
  • Don Segundo Sombra
  • The African Shore
  • Zama
  • Los siete locos (Los siete locos, #1)
  • Shantytown
  • I, the Supreme
  • The Cardboard House
  • Respiración artificial
  • Bomarzo
  • Palinuro de México
  • Los pichiciegos
  • El arpa y la sombra
  • Divine Days
  • La pesquisa
  • The Dream of Heroes
  • The Dark
  • Paradiso
  • The Runaway Soul
37787
Leopoldo Marechal fue un poeta, dramaturgo, novelista y ensayista argentino, autor de Adán Buenosayres, una de las más importantes novelas de la literatura argentina.

Fue bibliotecario, maestro, profesor de enseñanza secundaria y en la década del 20 formó parte de la generación que se nucleó alrededor de la revista Martín Fierro. En la primera etapa de su vida literaria prevaleció la poesía.

La publ
...more
More about Leopoldo Marechal...
“Temperee, riante, (comme le sont celles d'automne dans la tres gracieuse ville de Buenos Aires) resplendissait la matinee de ce 28 avril: dix heures venait de sonner aux horloges et, a cet instant, eveillee, gesticulant sous le soleil matinal, la Grande Capitale du Sud etait un epi d'hommes qui se disputaient a grands cris la possession du jour et de la terre.” 2 likes
“Entreabrió los ojos, y a través de sus pestañas le llegó algo menos espeso que la tiniebla, una claridad en pañales, cierto amago de luz que se filtraba por la densa cortina. Entonces, ante los ojos de Adán y en el caos borroso que llenaba su habitación, se juntaron o repelieron los colores, atrajéronse las líneas o se rechazaron: cada objeto buscó su cifra y se constituyó a sí mismo tras una guerra silenciosa y rápida. Como en su primer día el mundo brotaba del amor y del odio (¡salud, viejo Empédocles!), y el mundo era una rosa, una granada, una pipa, un libro.” 1 likes
More quotes…