Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion” as Want to Read:
Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

by
4.57  ·  Rating details ·  7 ratings  ·  2 reviews
This backyard adventure-mystery by debut children's author K. Tempest Bradford is perfect for fans of Clean Getaway, The Last Last Day of Summer, and Sideways School.

Eleven-year-old Ruby is a Black girl who loves studying insects and would do just about anything to be an entomologist, much to the grossed-out dismay of her Gramma. Ruby knows everything there is to know abou
...more
Hardcover, 208 pages
Expected publication: September 27th 2022 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) (first published 2022)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
Average rating 4.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  7 ratings  ·  2 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion
Ms. Yingling
Jul 16, 2022 rated it liked it
E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus

Ruby is very interested in bugs, but when federal agents come to her house when she posts a picture of a bug she has found on Instagram because she couldn't identify it, she gets in big trouble. There's some thought that the bug (who ate its way through a screen to get out!) might have ended up at the house of a neighbor the kids call Witchypoo, of whom even the agents seem afraid! This seemed a little young (Ruby calls her father "daddy", and there's some talk o
...more
Ami Schroder
Jun 23, 2022 rated it really liked it
This STEM oriented middle grade reader will appeal to your elementary school age sci-fans! The main character is a likeable, curious 11 year old Black girl named Ruby. Ruby loves insects and is trying to get her bee science fair project approved but her current science teacher doubts her abilities. Ruby has a good cast of characters for her friends and the friends all rally together to solve a mystery after an uproar over an unidentifiable bug Ruby finds. The only thing I didn't like in this mid ...more
Heather
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2021
Deb
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2019
Lari
rated it it was amazing
Jan 26, 2022
Heidi
rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2022
Sarah Gailey
rated it it was amazing
Jun 25, 2022
Kendra
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2020
Marlowe
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2020
Kimberly
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2020
Shveta Thakrar
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2020
Zoe Brook
marked it as to-read
Oct 14, 2020
Jancee Tabacnic
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2020
Anna
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2020
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2020
Leo
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2020
Addy
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2020
Laura
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2020
Groza Geroev
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2020
Sylvia
marked it as to-read
Nov 24, 2020
Meg Long
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2020
Emily Thiede
marked it as to-read
Dec 13, 2020
Zach
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2020
Lisa Stringfellow
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2021
Lane
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2021
Sarah Opett
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2021
Sara Grochowski
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2021
Ashok Banker
marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2021
Leo Bancroft
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2021
Krys
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2021
Hal
added it
Apr 07, 2021
layla
marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2021
Atheer
marked it as to-read
Apr 27, 2021
Jennifer  Yoder
marked it as to-read
May 19, 2021
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Memphis
  • Miss Quinces
  • The Crooked Door
  • The Bartender's Cure
  • Yerba Buena
  • Show Us Who You Are
  • Numb to This: Memoir of a Mass Shooting
  • The Girl Who Speaks Bear
  • Garlic and the Vampire
  • Hide
  • Amethyst: Princess of Gemworld
  • Tidesong
  • Hello Girls
  • A Prayer for the Crown-Shy (Monk & Robot, #2)
  • Welcome to St. Hell: My Trans Teen Misadventure
  • The Cartographers
  • True Biz
  • The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
See similar books…
116 followers
K. Tempest Bradford is an award-winning teacher, media critic, and author of fantasy and science fiction steeped in Black Girl Magic. Her debut middle grade novel Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion will be out in September 2022 from FSG for Young Readers.

Tempest’s short fiction has appeared in multiple anthologies and magazines, including In The Shadow of the Towers and Strange Horizons. He
...more

Related Articles

  With more than 4.75 million votes cast and counted, the 13th Annual Goodreads Choice Awards are now official. Launched in 2009,...
228 likes · 86 comments